Thursday, October 14, 2021

Meet Me Under the Kissing Bough - blog tour/giveaway

 


Meet Me Under the Kissing Bough by Josi S Kilpack, Anneka R. Walker, Sarah L. McConkie

Publisher: Covenant Communications

A CHRISTMAS ROMANCE COLLECTION

We wish you a merry Christmas and a happily ever after! This special holiday historical romance anthology featuring three heartwarming novellas proves that no matter the obstacles, ’tis the season for love.

Meet Me under the Kissing Bough
by Josi S. Kilpack
Deborah Winfrey hasn’t had the heart to host a holiday party since her husband’s death. But this Christmas, it’s time to move forward. The festivities bring renewed life to her home, and the attentions of two very different men promise a chance at new love.

Healing Hearts for the Holidays
by Anneka R. Walker
Julia Hunt is strictly forbidden from associating with the family in the nearby manor—including the handsome younger son, Esmond, who quickly steals her heart. With Christmas around the corner, an old bundle of hidden love letters may be the key to her own happily ever after.


A Christmas Correspondence
by Sarah L. McConkie
In this novella inspired by the timeless tale A Christmas Carol, John Charleston finds himself on an unexpected journey in the company of the insufferable Lady Caroline Morleigh. But the magic of the season has a way of softening even the hardest of hearts.

My review

Each story is delightfully heartwarming and enjoyable. Full of heart, romance, and lovely, enduring characters. I loved each story and I really enjoyed that I could read one, have a satisfying, great story. Then start another and love that just as much.

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, September 30, 2021

Redemption by Traci Hunter Abramson - blog tour/giveaway

 

Redemption

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: September 20th, 2021

Paperback/ebook: 314 pages

FTC FYI: I received an eARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads summary

Gage Stewart has spent five years trying to overcome his past. Once an abused and troubled teenager, he has worked tirelessly to move beyond the fateful day he was manipulated into holding a group of teenagers hostage. Now, with a new identity and a college degree in criminal psychology, he accepts an unlikely job teaching others what to do during mass shootings.

At the hotel where his class is held, Gage is immediately drawn to Skyler Prescott, the daughter of the wealthy hotel owner. Gage and Skyler quickly discover a shared desire for normalcy, and their easy friendship soon develops into something more. But after a night out ends in horror when a gunman opens fire in the crowded venue, they make an alarming discovery that threatens more than their relationship. The attack was little more than a publicity stunt to draw out the real target: presidential candidate Senator James Whitmore. Unwilling to become someone’s scapegoat, Gage must now work in tandem with the very men who ended his own life of crime before it began—the Saint Squad.

Review

I am convinced Traci Abramson has magical powers. Magical powers that consist of amazing writing skills, the ability to keep you reading a book until you finish that day/night, and she always leaves you wanting more. Redemption is an action-packed thriller from start to finish. Just when you think a big climax ends and you will get a break in the action, another starts immediately and leaves your heart pounding. I don't think I will ever get tired of reading The Saint Squad, or Guardian books for that matter. While you are turning pages quickly with all the amazing action, there's a sweet, budding romance blooming. Gage and Skyler both have a past and I enjoyed getting to know them and watch them overcome and triumphAll the enduring characters you love from this series are here and better than ever!

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

GoodreadsAmazon author page



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 27, 2021

An Engagement of Sorts by Alene Wecker - blog tour/giveaway

 

An Engagement of Sorts

Author: Alene Wecker

Publisher: Covenant

Published: August 2021

FTC FYI: I received an ecopy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

Much to her mother's dismay, spirited Anne Fletcher spent her youth seeking her father's approval by hunting and riding. More comfortable in breeches than ball gowns, Anne sees the freedoms she once enjoyed slowly taken from her in the name of fashioning her into an eligible young lady. When her parents try to force her into marriage, Anne makes a desperate attempt to salvage her last vestige of independence. If she is to marry, she will do so on her own terms.

Anne strikes a deal: if she cannot secure a man for herself, she will agree to marry the husband her parents approved. She soon finds herself in the last place she would ever choose―that stifling parade of etiquette, the London Season. Anne's plan is in motion. Now all she needs is a man willing to masquerade as her fiancĂ©.


Review


This book was a delight and very fun from start to finish. I loved Anne. Oh, the things that would go through her head and oh, the things that she would say. I had a big smile while reading this book. My favorite thing about this book was the way it was written. There is humor, romance, great character development and growth. I am excited for this author's next book.

Content warning: attempted assault.

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 20, 2021

Song of Salzburg by Jen Geigle Johnson - blog tour/giveaway


Song of Salzburg

Author: Jen Geigle Johnson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: August 2nd, 2021

194 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

Publisher's Weekly says, "The romance is chaste, slow-building, and sweet, and Johnson makes both characters’ love of music palpable. This is a treat."

When talented violinist Freya Winter is chosen to take part in a musical celebration alongside some of the best instrumentalists in the world, she is thrilled. Performing in front of royalty is a breathtaking opportunity, but her true motivation for traveling to Salzburg is to fulfill an unlikely dream: to meet and train under the renowned Salzburg Maestro, a master musician shrouded in mystery.

Freya travels aboard the Orient Express to practice with the newly formed orchestra in Salzburg, and nothing can distract her—not her mother’s illness, nor her father’s domineering ways; however, when a handsome passenger becomes a regular fixture on her journeys, Freya feels her focus blurring. Conversation with Erich is easy, and their shared love of music draws them undeniably closer. But even as they open their hearts to each other, the harsh realities of her family life intrude on the future she’s envisioned, and Freya feels her dreams slipping through her fingers, threatening to rob her of everything she cherishes most.

Review

This book! Wow, it was such a delight to read. I loved everything about it. Song of Salzburg is a perfect addition to the Romance on the Orient Express series. Freya was a wonderful character. Her love and the passion she felt for her music was inspiring. I really loved her growth. My heart just ached for her when she didn't even have the courage to get on the train, yes the "nudge" from Erich helped her step on, but I appreciated and enjoyed how her confidence grew. She would seek any opportunity she could to improve and even earned some spending money. I loved the "mystery" around Erich too. When we first meet him on the train, we don't know his name, but his kindness and their "longing glances" were so fun to read. Their connection was truly a pleasure to read and their relationship grew.

I would 100% recommend this fun series. They can be read in any order. 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads




a Rafflecopter giveaway 

Friday, August 13, 2021

Heart in the Highlands by Heidi Kimball - blog tour/giveaway

 

Heart in the Highlands

Author: Heidi Kimball

Publisher: Covenant Communications

273 pages

FTC FYI: I received a digital ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

An arranged marriage was never what Callum Darrington, future Duke of Edinbane, imagined for himself. But with the well-being of his uncle’s family hanging in the balance, Callum strikes a bargain with his father and reluctantly agrees to tie himself to a stranger. The reality of the lovely Lady Katherine is more than he could have hoped for, and their wedding heralds a bright new future for the couple—until Callum discovers his father deliberately deceived him. Callum lashes out, setting in motion heartbreak not even he could have foreseen.

Four years later, Callum is ready to piece together the marriage he so carelessly destroyed. But their years apart have hardened Kate: she is not the naive and trusting young woman she once was, and she has no intention of allowing Callum a foothold in her life or her heart. Despite her coldness, Callum works to regain her trust and rebuild their marriage, not realizing Kate harbors a secret that could change everything—and this time, there is much more at stake than just her heart.


My review


I haven't read all of Heidi Kimball's books, but she is quickly becoming a favorite. This book was fantastic. It was wonderful. Full of heart, hope, love. The character growth is outstanding and well-written. The setting was also written to a T. The author is able to capture every aspect of this story so perfectly.
Note to self: read more of Heidi's books.

5 out of 5 stars. One of the best books I've read this year. 

Purchase links


Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book


Author links


Amazon author page / Goodreads







Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Murder Takes a Selfie by Shannon Symonds - giveaway!

 


If you like Nancy Drew and Agatha Christie, you will love Esther and her best friend Sophie in Murder Takes a Selfie, book one, of the By The Sea Cozy Mystery series. 

.

Best friends from a small beach town leave the library to race against time when a student’s selfie looks like the last one they’ll ever take.

 

Enter our Launch Celebration Giveaway and win a $200 Amazon Gift card so you can buy more books! https://www.cozymysteriesbythesea.com/

 

Murder Takes a Selfie on Amazon: Kindle or Paperback

This book is also FREE on Kindle Unlimited!

 

Follow the author at: https://www.facebook.com/cozymysteryreaderswriters

And: https://www.facebook.com/shannonsymondsauthor

 

On Instagram:

@Cozymysteriesbythesea @cedarfort

Friday, August 6, 2021

Cover reveal - Fire and Ash by Heather Frost

 I am excited to share this amazing cover with you!

First the flames . . .

When Desfan Cassian, the future ruler of Mortise, skips his fifteenth birthday celebration so he can gamble in the slums, he knows his father won't be pleased. Then again, the serjan hasn’t been happy with him in years. And while Desfan anticipates a reprimand for his latest transgression, he doesn’t expect to be thrown out of the palace and exiled onto a patrol ship for the next year.

Then from the ashes . . .

Furious to be trapped on the same sea that stole his family four years ago, Desfan is fully prepared to hate his new life. After all, the Phoenix is run by a strict captain, and Desfan's annoying new bodyguard, Karim, is his constant shadow. But when Desfan learns that a group of dangerous pirates may have been behind the deaths of his mother and sisters, he's suddenly committed to hunting down the truth—no matter the risk.

He will rise.






***Fire & Ash is a novella set in the world of the Royal Decoy series. While it is a prequel story, it is best enjoyed after reading Royal Spy.***


Other Details:

Releases October 28th

Available for Kindle Pre-order Now: 

Link: https://amzn.to/3jAruLF

Paperback coming soon!


Friday, July 2, 2021

Time's Dagger by Margot Hovley - blog tour/giveaway

 

Time's Dagger

Author: Margot Hovley

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 2021

228 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

After a rough stint at work in the ER, Dillon Kelly is more than a little ready for a vacation when he packs his bags and sets off on a camping trip in the wilds of Ireland. But when a mysterious dagger covered in druidic markings appears in his backpack, Dillon finds himself hurtled into the fourteenth century. Thrust into the legends and politics of ancient Ireland, he is rescued from suspicious locals by a beautiful young woman named Ailish.

Ailish has always dreamed of being a bard, but there’s just one problem: women aren’t allowed. Determined to follow her heart, Ailish has fooled everyone into thinking she’s a boy—everyone, that is, except for Dillon. He’s agreed to keep her secret in exchange for her help in finding his way home to his own time. Despite the impossible barriers between them, feelings beyond friendship soon blossom. But more than just their budding romance is in danger. Ailish isn’t the only one who recognizes the dagger’s druidic significance, and there are those who would stop at nothing to harness its time-bending powers. 

My review

This book is very, very enjoyable. A wonderfully adventurous read. There were some moments that had my smiling a lot and laughing out loud. I really like books with time travel and although I don’t know how much I’d enjoy living in Medieval times, I really love reading a book in this time period. Humor, adventure and romance! It doesn’t get much better.

4 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 1, 2021

Once I Was Engaged - Movie Spotlight/Giveaway


From the creators of Once I Was a Beehive, called ONCE I WAS ENGAGED! When Bree Carrington gets engaged while at BYU Hawaii, her loving but over-the-top mom goes all out to create the wedding of the century. But both mother and daughter must overcome the pressure of perfection when this happily ever after story doesn’t go quite as expected.

Coming to Utah theaters July 21, 2021, and Idaho, Arizona, and Las Vegas theaters August 6th. Tickets are on sale now: www.onceiwasengaged.com (scroll to the bottom and click 
Buy Tickets Now)

 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Nora and the Sacred Stones by Laura Hatch Rupper - spotlight

 

Nora and the Sacred Stones

Author: Laura Hatch Rupper

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 2021

Summary

Trespasser, Thief, Assailant—these were never titles Nora planned on. She was just trying to protect her sister. With the help of her little brother and his best friend, Nora embarks on a life-or-death quest that could rock the very fabric of their society.

After breaking into the royal palace, Nora discovers that the ancient power of the sacred stones is more than just a legend. But in her desperate attempt to help her sister, Nora may have awoken something deep inside the earth—a power she doesn’t fully understand. As Nora flees, she accidentally encounters Prince Kyn, heir to the Liardian throne. She narrowly manages to escape, but now the young prince knows who she is and what she looks like.

Eager to prove himself to his father, Prince Kyn leads a mission to find Nora and bring her back to House Liard. Unfortunately, his search is riddled with obstacles he never saw coming. Kyn soon realizes he needs Nora’s help more than he could have possibly imagined. In fact, the whole world does.

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle 

Author links

Goodreads / Facebook

Friday, June 25, 2021

An Unlikely Pair by Traci Hunter Abramson -- blog tour/giveaway

 

An Unlikely Pair

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: June 7th, 2021

304 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Summary

After a family tragedy, aspiring ballerina Amaliya Marcell is adrift. When she is forced to leave behind everything she knows, the lost young woman struggles to build a new life in an unfamiliar city. But when she meets a handsome world-class figure skater, she finds a glimmer of hope.

After his sister’s unexpected retirement from figure skating, Tyler Linden is devastated to give up his shot at the US national championships. His only hope is to find a new partner, a task that proves nearly impossible—until he observes a beautiful young woman at the local ice rink.
Struck by her grace and poise, Tyler takes an unthinkable risk and asks Amaliya to become his new partner. To both of their surprise, she agrees. The path to the championship won’t be easy, but Amaliya and Tyler quickly establish a solid partnership and a profound connection—both on and off the ice. But competition at the championships is fierce, and when the time comes, they will be forced to put everything on the line if they hope to achieve their dreams.

Review

Like Traci's well-timed mysteries, this book was hard to put down. I absolutely love how Traci writes her mysteries, because they're always paced so well. I felt this book, although a slow-burn romance, read the same way. There was one aspect of the story that slowed it down for a just a bit, but when that was gone, the story picked right up and stayed strong. I loved the ice-skating. Even though that was never in my cards, I did dance, once upon a time, so it was fun to see both sides of the ballet and ice-skating. I really liked Tyler and Amaliya. They had a fantastic chemistry that makes you cheer for them. Not just for their relationship, but in their ice-skating too. 

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book



Excerpt 

Washington, DC

January 1982

 Frigid air, skates scraping against the ice, the scent of stale popcorn. Amaliya Marcell sat in one of the twenty thousand seats of the Cap Centre and laced up her figure skates before she tugged her leg warmers into place and watched while twenty hockey players worked through their last drill.

As soon as they finished, they joined her father at center ice.

The great Robert Marcell. Amaliya still missed watching her father compete, but his transition from player to assistant coach to head coach had allowed her to enjoy her routine of spending time with her dad at work. She could hardly remember a Saturday when the Washington Capitals were home and she hadn’t been here with him.

Travis, the goalkeeper, stepped off the ice and gave her a disapproving shake of his head. “You’re wearing the wrong skates again.”

“You sound like my dad.”

“Coach knows what he’s talking about,” Travis said.

“Maybe for you, but I don’t think I’m going to be joining a hockey team anytime soon.” Amaliya stepped past him. “Figure skates are more my style these days.”

“Too bad. With a bit more practice, maybe you could score on me.”Amaliya’s eyebrows lifted. “I scored a goal on you last week.”

“That was a lucky shot.”

“That’s what he always says,” her dad said as he joined them.Amaliya grinned. “Yeah, I know.”

“Travis, get some rest. It’s the kid’s turn to play.”

“Kid?” Amaliya stepped onto the ice and twirled to face her dad. “I hate to break it to you, but I’ll be an adult next week.”

“Don’t remind me,” Robert groaned.“Good luck, Coach.” Travis started toward the locker room.

“Thanks. I’m going to need it.” Robert turned his attention to Amaliya and spoke in French, his preferred language, thanks to his upbringing in Quebec. “Are you going to play a little one-on-one with your old man?”“Don’t you have to check on your players?”

“I can spare a few minutes.” He tapped his stick against the ice. “Show me what you’ve got.”

“Okay.” Amaliya combined her years of ballet training with growing up on the ice and executed a spin that resembled a pirouette.

“When you skate like that, you look like a ballerina on the ice.”Amaliya laughed. “I am a ballerina on the ice.”

“Honey, I hate to break it to you, but most ballerinas can’t do that once they put on ice skates.”

“If you say so.” She skated backward so she could still see her dad. “You’re going to let me skate while you’re in your meetings, right?”

Robert grabbed an extra hockey stick and held it out. “Play a little hockey with me first, and I might be persuaded.”Amaliya made a quick stop and returned to her father. She took the offering and grinned. “Deal.”


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, June 17, 2021

Inventing Vivian by Jennifer Moore - blog tour/giveaway

 

Inventing Vivian

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Paperback/ebook 224 pages

FTC FYI: I received an eARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Summary

Ladies of London’s High Society are known for their social graces and poise. Vivian Kirby boasts neither of these enviable qualities, though she does offer impressive conversation on chemical compositions. Unfortunately, it appears that not many men want a brilliant wife. So it is that Vivian finds kinship with a group of young women who embrace each other’s differences: The Blue Orchid Society.


After an extended stay in China, Lord Benedict has returned transformed to his family’s estate, where an encounter with Vivian, whose scientific knowledge he once undermined, leaves him determined to make amends. He arranges to help forward her research—anonymously, of course. Through letters, Vivian establishes a warm friendship with her secret benefactor, even as she’s unexpectedly drawn into a murder investigation that forces her to work alongside Benedict to unearth the truth. Soon, Vivian fears she may be falling in love with two men, never suspecting that they are one and the same.

Review

The Blue Orchid series is quickly becoming a favorite. I love how different and special each of the ladies are. Vivian is no exception. Her love of science is her drive and I loved her passion and even her stubbornness. However, Lord Benedict stole the show for me. He was wonderful and kind and a true hero. I very much enjoyed the Chinese elements in the story. Jennifer Moore does a fantastic job of telling a lovely, captivating story, all while giving you extras that keep the pages turning.

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Eye for an Eye by Stephanie Black - blog tour/giveaway

 

Eye for an Eye

Author: Stephanie Black 

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Novella: 80 pages

Published: May 17th, 2021

FTC FYI: I received a Netgalley copy approved from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

After a family tragedy nearly destroyed Mallory Ingram, she's fighting to get her life on track. When her sister and brother-in-law open their home to her, Mallory is certain that moving across the country will allow her to focus on a hopeful future. That future looks even more promising when her enrollment at a local university connects her with the charming Darien Thomas.

However, when illegal drugs turn up at her sister's house, the first person accused is Mallory, and suddenly, she doesn't know who to trust. Mounting evidence of Mallory's guilt is straining the tenuous bond she has just begun to develop with her sister after years of living separately. Desperate to prove her innocence and keep the harmful patterns of the past from hijacking her future, Mallory reaches for Darien's help to discover the truth.

But the truth may be more dangerous than any of them imagine.

My review

I love a quick, exciting read and Eye for an Eye fit the bill. Stephanie Black has a true talent at weaving an excellent and thrilling mystery. This novella reads quickly because the suspense level is high right from the start and I knew I had to keep reading to find out what happens! And it delivers a pinch of romance as a reward. You instantly feel for Mallory and even though her past may not be perfect, she finds a friend in Darien. Together they try to solve who is quickly trying to ruin her life. Of course, it was a well written, quick novella from the suspense queen Stephanie Black. 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website 





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, May 15, 2021

Royal Spy by Heather Frost - blog tour

 

Royal Spy

Author: Heather Frost

Published: May 20th, 2021

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Goodreads Summary

A DECOY recruited to be a spy.
A PRINCE compelled to become an assassin.
A SERJAH pressured by an unwanted crown.
A WORLD covered in shadows.

Mere months ago, Clare was just a kitchen maid. Now, she is a decoy for Princess Serene and a novice spy, caught in the royal family's web of secrets. While journeying to Mortise to finalize the princess’s betrothal to Serjah Desfan, Clare lives for the stolen moments she has with Bennick, the bodyguard who is quickly claiming her heart. But when a notorious assassin is hired to kill her, Clare’s life and the alliance hang in the balance.

In Ryden, Grayson prepares to leave for Mortise with his brother, Liam. Their orders are to ignite a war between their enemies, and Grayson has been tasked with assassinating Princess Serene. It may cost his soul, but he is ready to comply, as long as he gets something in return: freedom for Mia, the girl he loves. But the more time he spends with his brother, the more he begins to wonder if Liam is what Grayson wishes he had the courage to be . . . a traitor.

Desfan feels trapped. By his disapproving council, his impending marriage to a stranger, and the imminent arrival of enemy princes who may not want the peace they profess. When a dangerous drug threatens his people, Desfan jumps at the chance to rely on his swords instead of politics. But his investigation uncovers more than he bargained for--a plot that may destroy Mortise from within.

Eyrinthia hovers on the edge of war. Spies. Rebels. Traitors. All must choose a side.

My review

Royal Spy is a gripping story with strong, powerful characters. There is excitement, betrayal, love with every turn of the page in this heart-pounding adventure. I couldn't put it down!

Each character is beautifully written and you care for each good guy and despise the bad guys. At times I was frustrated with Clare, but quickly understood her motive to protect and help those she cares about and loves. I was surprised by many turn of events. The characters I cheered for in the first book, earned my respect again and again in this book. Desfan and Imara quickly become favorites. One thing that happened that I was not surprised by, but their motives were shocking. I loved this book! And wow, what an ending!

Although the author does a great job of subtly catching the reader up on previous events, you will definitely want to read Royal Decoy so you appreciate the characters and the setting so much more. Heads up, this is a book about warring countries, so there is violence and talk of blood shed. (Nothing I felt uneasy about though.)

5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links - This book is FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Amazon Kindle / Barnes and Noble

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / BookBub

Excerpt

Bennick nodded to the wooden blade in Clare’s hand. “Let’s test your offensive skills, then we’ll go back to the garrote.”

         Her sore body wanted to refuse, but she ignored that and lunged. Bennick dodged the training blade, but kept striking. He did not make things easy for her, and she appreciated that. She had been in enough dangerous situations to know that an attacker would not make things easy for her. Besides, it gave her deeper satisfaction when she did manage to hit him.

         They spun and twisted around each other on the grass, and Clare saw a perfect opening. She kicked out, aiming for his unguarded middle, but Bennick snatched hold of her ankle and jerked her off-balance. Her arms swung out, strangling her wooden knife as she fought the pull to topple.

Bennick still held her ankle and he smiled as she hopped on one foot to keep her balance. “You should definitely approach all attackers like this. You are utterly disarming.”

         She exhaled sharply, wisps of loose hair fluttering around her flushed face. “And you’re utterly annoying.”

         His features softened as he continued to view her. “On second thought, I want to keep this image for myself.”

Pleasure spread warmth through her chest. “Clearly, you’re also ridiculous.”

He grinned. His hold was firm, but still managed to be gentle.

She arched a brow, very much like Serene. “Are you going to let go?”

         His head tipped to one side, blue eyes calculating as he studied her. “Maybe. For a price.”

         His flirtation sparked tingles all over her body, tightening her flushed skin. “What price?”

         His fingers flexed around her ankle as he leaned in, his voice dropping. “A kiss.”

         She fought a shiver, even though she was flushed from training. She dropped her own voice, though it came out a little too thready—she had yet to catch her breath from their sparring, and the way he looked at her wasn’t helping. “You do realize if you want a kiss, you’ll have to release me.”

         “Hmm. But I don’t think I should just let you go. You’re looking rather unsteady on your, well, foot.”

Before she could toss a retort, he shifted his hold on her ankle and slowly, measuredly, sank to his haunches before her.

Her breath caught. Her pulse pounded fast as she locked eyes with him. His neck was craned back, his intense gaze never leaving her face as he gently shifted her captive foot to the ground. “I wouldn’t want you to fall,” he said, his voice deeper than before.

A shiver danced up her spine when he eased back to his feet, his hands trailing up her body as he rose. Her skirt rippled from his gliding touch and she could feel the heat of his fingers through the layers of cloth.

Her chest rose sharply as his hands rounded her hips and hesitated at her waist, his thumbs pressing low against her stomach. “I will never let you fall,” he promised softly, before leaning in to press his mouth against hers.

She kissed him, her skin flushed and her heart racing. Her palms were against his chest, her fingers curling into his loose white shirt, dragging him impossibly closer.

One of his hands lifted, callused fingertips brushing her cheek. Her hair was done in a braided crown, though loose tendrils of dark hair had escaped and now curled against her jaw. He thumbed her smooth skin, cradling her head as he changed the angle of their kiss. His touch was a careful exploration, a caressing gentleness that threatened to melt her.




Wednesday, May 12, 2021

A Proper Scoundrel by Esther Hatch - blog tour/giveaway

 

A Proper Scoundrel

Author: Esther Hatch

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: May 10th, 2021

Paperback: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received an eARC, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

As the successful owner of multiple railroad lines, Diana Barton is all too accustomed to fending off suitors seeking to stake their claim on her wealth. In order to keep the wolves at bay, Diana has contrived the perfect plan: appeal to the most notorious rake in London, the Baron Lord Bryant, to ruin her reputation and scare off the worst of the time wasters. The ruse will be no hardship—she’s secretly been fascinated by the man for years.

Lord Bryant is well aware of his questionable reputation. Indeed, he has cultivated the image carefully, and the last thing he wants is a wife. But when he’s approached by the younger sister of a business associate, he tells her in no uncertain terms that he cannot help. However, when he sees for himself what she is up against, Bryant grudgingly offers his assistance. Faced with his most complicated entanglement yet, Bryant is firm in his conditions—and Diana knows that to get romantically involved with Bryant would spell certain heartbreak. But as the counterfeit couple grow ever closer, the line between truth and lies becomes blurred, threatening both Lord Bryant’s well-laid plans and the future of Diana’s railroad business.

My review

You must give Lord Bryant some credit. Truthfully, if he weren't such a devil, he might be considered a saint.

This quote is one of many brilliant ways to describe Lord Bryant. He is unforgettable character. I don't even know where to begin with this review, I loved this book so much. There were so many well written lines and situations throughout the whole book that made be smile. So many enjoyable and clever moments. The chemistry between Diana and Everton was superbly written and utterly enjoyable. There is some of the best romantic tension/kissing scenes I've ever read. Both characters were perfectly portrayed, along with the supporting characters. Mrs. Oliver was so, so funny. I was laughing out loud when she was around. This book is an absolute joy to read. 

5 out of 5 stars. One of my top reads of the year!

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book 

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Facebook



a Rafflecopter giveaway