Saturday, February 27, 2021

The Gentleman and the Thief by Sarah M. Eden

 

The Gentleman and the Thief

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: November 2020

368 pages

FYC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own. A review was not required. 

Goodreads Summary

A gentleman scribes penny dreadful novels by night and falls in love with a woman who is a music teacher by day—and a thief at night.

LONDON 1865

From the moment Hollis Darby meets Ana Newport, he’s smitten. Even though he’s from a wealthy, established family and she isn’t, he wishes he could have a life with her by his side. But Hollis has a secret: the deep coffers that have kept his family afloat for generations are bare, so he supports himself by writing penny dreadfuls under a pseudonym. If not for the income from his novels, he would be broke.

Ana Newport also has a secret. Though she once had a place in society thanks to her father’s successful business, bankruptcy and scandal reduced his fortune to nothing more than a crumbling town house. So Ana teaches music during the day, and at night she assumes the identity of the “Phantom Fox.” She breaks into the homes of the wealthy to reclaim trinkets and treasures she feels were unjustly stolen from her family when they were struggling.

When Hollis’s brother needs to hire a music tutor for his daughter, Hollis recommends Ana, giving him a chance to spend time with her. Ana needs the income and is eager for the opportunity to get to know the enigmatic gentleman. What neither of them expects is how difficult it will be to keep their respective secrets from each other.

When a spree of robberies rocks the city, Ana and Hollis join forces to solve the crimes, discovering that working together deepens the affection between them. After all, who better to save the day than a gentleman and a thief?

My review

The Gentleman and the Thief is yet another masterpiece from this talented author. I absolutely love this series of books. (Yes, I recommend you read them in order, you’ll appreciate characters more.) and the penny dreadfuls woven through the story are just as delightful as the main plot. This book has everything I love in a story, especially the little touches of humor and suspense. Ana and Hollis are fabulous. And, as always, it’s some side characters that steal the show. In this book, Very Merry. This author writes her books brilliantly and I appreciate the care she takes with the characters and details. I watched a video of her explaining how she plots these books and it is an amazing process.

5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website

Friday, February 26, 2021

Of Sword and Shadow by AL Sowards

 

Of Sword and Shadow

Author: AL Sowards

Publisher: Covenant

Published: February 2021

ISBN: 9781524413583

FTC FYI: I received a copy from Netgalley. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

251 pages

Summary

Greece, 1379

She is known by many names, none of them her own. In truth, she is an unnamed slave, nothing more than a weapon in the hands of her owner in his attempts to provoke political mayhem. When she encounters a handsome young man while on an assignment, she thinks little of him—until he attempts to take what she has stolen. But in her line of work, failure is not an option.

Gillen is intrigued by the mysterious woman who thwarts his mission. But when his path crosses hers again, his intrigue turns to gratitude as the thief he comes to call Eudocia saves his life. The two form a bond of friendship and join forces to wrest control from a group of ruthless rulers. But as their camaraderie blossoms into something more, Gillen and Eudocia must fight for love even as they wage war for a better future.
 

My review

This book was such a wonderful, intriguing read. I was pulled into the amazing setting quickly and I appreciated the different landscape to imagine while reading. It was a beautiful, refreshing change. Eudocia (well, Little Mouse) was a fascinating character. She had no name, but was known by her master as Little Mouse. Her loyalty is almost her downfall, but I really loved her and the growth she experiences. I enjoyed her even more when Gillen enters her life and the possibilities he could bring to her future. Both of them are wonderful characters, strong and valuable. Each character was exceptional. I appreciated the added historical definitions given at the beginning of the book. It really helps to take that few minutes and read through those terms. 

5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website

Monday, February 22, 2021

Second Chance by Julie Coulter Bellon

 


Second Chance

Author: Julie Coulter Bellon

Series: Griffin Force

200 pages

FTC FYI: I received a ebook from the author. All opinions and views expressed are my own.

Book description

A mission to capture the world's most wanted terrorist. A computer tech sent in undercover. And a woman with a secret that could change everything.

Griffin Force tracks the world's most wanted terrorist to Libya, but the only one on their team that can infiltrate his lair is Augie---their computer tech. Their Libyan contact sends in a young man to help protect Augie during the assignment, but he’s hiding something and Augie doesn’t trust him.

When the simple observe-and-report mission turns into a much bigger operation, Augie must figure out how to alert Griffin Force to Atwah’s deadly plans without compromising his cover. But things get complicated when Augie discovers the secret of the young man with him. Now he’ll have to find a way to stop Atwah and keep both of them alive---or he’ll die trying.  

My review

Second Chance is a fast-paced thrill ride that does not let go until you are turning that last page. I love these types of books! Where you think you might anticipate what is next for the characters, but then you are thrown in a different direction. Julie Coulter Bellon is a master at this. The character development is well done and each character is a strong addition to the story. Rian was especially a favorite. She starts off with a huge secret, but when it is revealed and she and Augie are in a tight spot, I loved how she reminded him that she's been on her own for awhile and can take care of herself. I did love how she let him help her too, once she learned to trust. The author does a great job of throwing in some romance into all of that action too!

5 out of 5 stars! 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads

 

Thursday, February 18, 2021

Instant Cooking with Six Sisters' Stuff

 


Book Description

Six Sisters’ Stuff is one of the most popular blogs for quick and easy cooking and entertaining at home for families. In their tenth cookbook, the sisters introduce a new wrinkle to their repertoire—“instant” cooking in a multicooker, such as the Instant Pot. Multicookers are a fantastic tool for those looking to save time in the kitchen as well as those who are looking for simpler, more flavorful, and healthier fare.
With more than 100 recipes specifically designed for and tested in an electronic multicooker, everyone from beginning cooks to experienced chefs can find something to master in Instant Cooking with Six Sisters’ Stuff. From entrees to side dishes to desserts, there are multicooker options available that fit the bill.

I was so excited to read through this book. I love, love how Six Sisters cookbooks are written. Each recipe has a picture and the directions are easy to read and follow. I am looking forward to trying out the recipes I have saved to cook. I have tried instant cooking in the past, but with this book, I feel the recipes will go a lot smoother and they will be more enjoyable!

Purchase yours today!

About the authors

The Six Sisters-Camille, Kristen, Elyse, Stephanie, Lauren, and Kendra-started their blog as a way to keep in touch after they moved out of their house and started families of their own. In just a few years their blog has become one of the top sites for women, with millions of visitors each month following the sisters' recipes and tips for running a home. The sisters live in California, Texas, and Utah.

Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Lamb of God - movie trailer/spotlight




Release date: March 12, 2021



About The Show: This Easter, experience the power of the last week of Jesus Christ's mortal ministry as told through the widely celebrated and sacred oratorio, LAMB OF GOD. This unique concert film brings composer Rob Gardner’s work to the big screen for the first time. Join us for breathtaking performances from new soloists, a new orchestration, and a close-up view of this work that has been compared to Handel’s Messiah and Mozart’s Requiem.

About Rob Gardner: Rob Gardner began his musical career in high school as a member of and arranger for the a cappella band Two Five Nine. The group recorded 5 albums together and, while in college, toured around the country. From there, Rob began composing original works for film, theater and the concert stage. He is the author of a handful of stage musicals, including Blackbeard, The Price of Freedom, and 12 Princesses. Rob has also composed several sacred music oratorios. Rob is an accomplished producer and conductor and appears regularly on the concert stage conducting his works.

Rob has a bachelor's degree in Management and Entrepreneurship from Brigham Young University. He also attended the University of Southern California, doing graduate studies in the prestigious Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television program. He currently resides in Gilbert, AZ.


Friday, December 18, 2020

Ming's Christmas Wishes by Susan L Gong

 


"It's a heartwarming holiday story based on real events."
-Foreword Reviews, starred review

Ming wishes for three things at Christmas. First, to sing in the school Christmas choir. Second, to have a Christmas tree like the one in the department store window. And third, to feel she belongs somewhere.

As a daughter of immigrants in 1930s California, Ming is often treated differently than other children at school. She's pointedly not invited to sing in the Christmas choir. At home, when Ming lobbies her parents for a Christmas tree, her mother scolds her for trying to be American. Ming doesn't seem to fit in anywhere: she's not quite American enough at school, not quite Chinese enough at home.

Seeing his daughter's unhappiness, Pop takes her into the mountains to visit a wise old friend. Always happy for an adventure with her kind father, Ming hopes to persuade Pop to bring home a mountain pine to be their Christmas tree. But he has something else in mind, something that will help Ming draw strength from nature, from their Chinese heritage, and from deep and enduring family ties.

Inspired by family stories.


My review


This book was absolutely darling. The story was heart-warming and so sweet. I loved the illustrations. They truly brought so much added description and detail to the story. They were perfect companions. This book will be a perfect addition to your holiday book collection. 


Purchase links


Amazon / Deseret Book / Seagull Book 

Thursday, December 3, 2020

A Christmas Proposal by Linda Warren - Book Blitz/Giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

A Christmas Proposal
(Texas Rebels #10)
By Linda Warren
Adult Contemporary Romance, Christmas
Paperback & ebook, 384 Pages (Large Print)
December 1, 2020 by Harlequin Heartwarming

A child’s Christmas wish…

Gives love a second chance


Becky Tullous has never forgiven boy-next-door Bo Goodnight for breaking her teenage heart. Now the SWAT sergeant is back in Horseshoe, Texas, and getting far too attached to her three-year-old daughter. Becky never wanted Bo in Luci’s life, but her developmentally delayed little girl is making great progress with him around. Will Bo prove he’s worth a second chance this Christmas?

(Affiliate links included.)

Excerpt

BECKY STOPPED OUTSIDE the door when she heard Bo’s deep smooth masculine voice, which touched her skin like cashmere, soothing, comfortable and deliciously rich. The baritone made her want to lean her head against the wall and absorb every nuance of his voice into her skin.

“You have a lot of stuffed animals and dolls,” Bo was saying.

“This. Is. Bear. Soft.” In Becky’s mind’s eye she could see Luci rubbing her face against the stuffed animal.

“What’s this one’s name?”

He wasn’t worming his way into Luci’s life. She stepped into the room and Luci ran to her.

“Mom-my.”

Becky picked her up and kissed her cheek. “I need to talk to Bo.”

Luci ran to the kitchen and Becky faced Bo with steel-like determination. He stood from the bed and his tall frame looked out of place in this pink little girl’s room. Dark eyes stared back at her with a heat level that matched hers and she didn’t know if there was a way to win against him. It would be better if he wasn’t so darn good-looking. With his longish hair and growth of beard he reminded her of Keanu Reeves. And Bo was just as big a daredevil as the characters the actor played.

“You want to talk? Talk. I’ve been trying to get you to talk for years so this is a momentous occasion.”

“Stay away from my daughter.” Becky was tired, so tired, and this bickering was not helping. “Bo, please go home.”

“Okay.” He took a step toward her and she had to resist taking a step backward. A musky scent mixed with Irish Spring soap drifted to her, weakening her resolve. “I’ll go, but first, I want to know who Luci’s father is.”

“Bo...”

“I’m her father, aren’t I? You’ve kept it from me all these years.”


Other Books in the Series

(Linked to an Amazon affiliate link.)

About the Author


Two time Rita® nominated author Linda Warren has written forty-five books for Harlequin. A native Texan, she’s a member of Romance Writers of America and the West Houston Chapter. Drawing upon her years of growing up on a ranch, she writes about some of her favorite things: Western-style romance, cowboys and country life. She married her high school sweetheart and they live on a lake in central Texas. He fishes and she writes. Works perfect. You can find out more about Linda at http://www.LindaWarren.net.


Blitz Giveaway


One winner will receive a $20 Amazon eGift Card (US only)
Ends December 5, 2020

ENTER HERE
Grab Our Button!