Friday, July 1, 2022

Not Dead Yet by Traci Hunter Abramson - blog tour/giveaway

 

Not Dead Yet

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant 

Paperback/ebook: 296 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook from the publisher, a review was not required, all views an opinions are my own.

Summary

Cassidy Edgemont has been dead for four years. At least, that is what the world has been led to believe. After becoming unwittingly entangled in a group called the Coalition, known for using fake news to generate political unrest in the United States, Cas was offered a devastating choice: stage her own death and join her rescuers, the guardians, or risk the wrath of the organization she betrayed. She chose death.

As an invisible government operative, Cas has been living in Paris with no complications―until her family pays an unexpected visit to the European city, changing everything. They think Cas is dead, and she has to keep it that way. But when a bomb is detonated nearby and fake news incites riots in the city, Cas recognizes the mark of the Coalition.

Donovan, a fellow guardian, is summoned to join her in Paris to attempt to untangle the intricate web linking Cas’s past with the recent bombings. But as the threat level escalates, Cas must again make an impossible decision: face possible exposure to her family in her race to uncover the truth or risk the loss of innocent lives.

My review

I can’t get enough of the Guardians books by Traci Hunter Abramson. Each one gets better and better. I loved, loved the European setting. (And a visit from Cole). I wanted to go to the bakeries! Cas is so awesome. I wish I could cook like her. Donovan was also a great character. I really enjoyed their investigation. Just the way they thought and worked so well together was enjoyable to read. Another hit for this amazing author.

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 24, 2022

Hannah: Mother of a Prophet by HB Moore - blog tour/giveaway

 

Hannah: Mother of a Prophet

Author: HB Moore

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 6th, 2022

ebook/paperback: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received an eARC, a review was not required. All views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Summary

Journey back in time to the dusty roads of Shiloh and witness anew the story of Hannah and her son, Samuel.
Hannah is no longer a young woman. In the twilight of her life, she holds her memories close to her heart. Above all, she treasures the miracle of conceiving Samuel after years of barrenness and the promise she made to the Lord to release her child to the high priest Eli’s care to train and serve in the temple. But Samuel’s story does not end at the gates of the temple and neither does his family’s enduring legacy of faith, patience, and deliverance. In this richly detailed and sweeping fictional account of Samuel’s life as a prophet in the making, discover how his mother, Hannah, made impossible decisions guided by her deep and abiding love of God.

My review

HB Moore’s historical novels are wonderfully well written, and Hannah is a wonderful addition. I loved this book. The way the story flows, it doesn’t feel like just another Bible story. The author does an amazing job of character development, with some added excitement of battles and family life. I loved the different POVs throughout but the ending was perfect with Hannah as the focus:

She cherished each memory, each family memory, and more importantly, she was grateful for a God who had always remembered her name.
There were many beautiful, tender moments in this book.


5 out of 5 stars. 


Purchase links

Amazon Kindle
/ Amazon Paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book 

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads 






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 10, 2022

The Stewardship Principles by Ganel-Lyn Condie - blogtour/giveaway

The Stewardship Principle

Author: Ganel-Lyn Condie

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: May 1st, 2022

BLINE:

Mortality provides a complex collection of opportunities. We face challenges to both love and learn. And amid struggle and strife, we can choose to live life with greater joy and spirit. But how do we do this? The answer lies in reframing how we see our experiences. Beloved author and speaker Ganel-Lyn Condie introduces a key principle that can guide us through both the miraculous and the messy moments of life:
 stewardship. 

With her token wit and candor, Ganel-Lyn helps readers learn to navigate through a reframing of life’s experiences, shifting them from issues of ownership to assignments of stewardship. Featuring a wealth of scriptural insights, real-life accounts, and practical advice, this insightful volume examines stewardship versus ownership in all aspects of life, from the ebb and flow of relationships to the devastation of loss to the frustration of trying―and failing. Learn to consecrate your efforts to God and discover how this fundamental shift in perspective will make all the difference in the sense of peace and hope that can be yours. 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads



 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, May 26, 2022

An Unfamiliar Duke by Sian Ann Bessey - blog tour/giveaway

 

An Unfamiliar Duke

Author: Sian Ann Bessey

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Paperback/ebook: 290 pages

FYC FYI: I received an eARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

At eleven years of age, Rosalind Ainsworth was convinced that Sebastian Lumley, the future Duke of Kelbrook, was the most odious young man she’d ever met. And ten years later, after having had no contact with the nobleman in the intervening time, her opinion of him has not changed. Unfortunately, neither has the marriage contract their fathers signed soon after her birth.
As Rosalind’s twenty-first birthday and the appointed wedding day approaches, Sebastian makes a rare appearance in London. His first meeting with Rosalind since childhood goes less than perfectly, but Sebastian has a compelling reason for honoring their marriage contract—a reason outlined in a document kept behind his workshop’s locked door.
After a quick wedding, the new couple relocates to Finley Park, where their acquaintanceship slowly blossoms into affection. But when Sebastian’s secretive work threatens their fledgling relationship and Rosalind’s life is placed in jeopardy, Sebastian finds himself forced to choose between the man he has pledged to help and the woman he has come to love.

My review
This book was a joy to read. I loved every page. I enjoyed so much the relationship between Sebastian and Rosalind. They were so unsure of each other at first and I felt it progressed so nicely and effortlessly. It wasn't perfect, of course, and there were things they needed to work out, but I loved the communication between them. I appreciated the way the scenes flowed. There was some well written tense moments I felt added to the story so well. The ending was especially sweet. 

5 out of 5 stars. One of my top reads of the year! 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover reveal for Shield and Blade novella by Heather Frost

 I am so excited to be part of this cover reveal!

SHIELD AND BLADE by Heather Frost releases July 14th, 2022

It is a YA fantasy romance.

His to protect

When Vera broke Venn’s heart, he was shattered. When she was abducted by mercenaries, he vowed to tear Mortise apart to find her. Now, reunited, he is determined to keep her safe–and win back her heart. Of course, things are never that simple.


Hers to defend

Vera has regretted hurting Venn ever since that fateful night in Wexon, but finding the right time to tell him is proving difficult. Traveling with him to Duvan should give her the perfect opportunity, but things take an unexpected turn when they find young children abandoned near a roadside.


Theirs to save

Helping the children isn’t in question, but the detour leads Venn and Vera into the heart of a sinister mystery. The truth they fight to uncover could change everything in Eyrinthia–and may cost them their lives.



Pre-order is available on Amazon
Add to Goodreads


Friday, May 20, 2022

Red Cicada by Gregg Luke - blog tour/giveaway

 

Red Cicada

Author: Gregg Luke

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: May 1st, 2022

290 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Summary

Twenty-eight-year-old Lana Baker knows the signs: the intense flashes of light and building pressure in her head herald yet another migraine. But this time, the unavoidable pain lands her in the hospital, where her unusual past raises more questions than answers. Her medical history is a complete mystery. Stranger still, her battery of tests reveals a shocking secret: Lana has a metal disk embedded in her skull—but she has no idea how it got there. Even more disturbing is the fact that the disk is etched with words—in Russian.

Lieutenant Lance Kipling has been tracking down information on a former marine he believes may have had ties to Cold War biological weapons. So when that man’s daughter turns up in a hospital with a metal disk in her skull, it does not go unnoticed. But Lance has competition for the information stored in Lana’s head—dangerous individuals with Soviet ties. 

Together, Lance and Lana follow a trail of clues her father left, bits of information that reveal Lana’s past and paint a deadly picture of a weapon that has the potential to wreak havoc on the planet’s entire population.


My review


Red Cicada is an exciting thrill-ride! The author does a fantastic job of keeping me needing/wanting to turn those pages quickly. I loved the premise of this book and the mystery surrounding the disk in Lana's head was an adventure to read. Lance was a great hero. I loved every scene he was in. I enjoyed the mystery surrounding the disk and Lana's past. There are many great twists and a really icky bad guy.

4 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase links

Kindle / Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, April 23, 2022

Lily of the Valley by Sarah M Eden - blog tour/giveaway

 

Lily of the Valley

Author: Sarah M Eden

Publisher: Covenant

Published: April 10th, 2022

Paperback/ebook: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I was given an ebook for review purposes only and a review was not required. 

Book summary

Cumberland, 1786

Amateur inventor Kester Barrington prefers the peace and quiet of his estate to the bustle of Society. But when his tight-knit group of friends, the Gents, descends on Livingsley Hall for their annual gathering, he stoically joins in their activities. It all seems exhausting―until an unexpected addition to the party catches his eye: his new neighbor, the lovely Violet.

Violet Ridley longs to make friends in this new corner of the country, but her family’s fortune was made through investments rather than inheritance, and Society can be fickle. So when tragedy forces her family to shelter at neighboring Livingsley Hall, Violet is delighted to receive a warm welcome from the Gents. In particular, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to Kester. The pair is a study in contrasts: Violet, with her sunny disposition, and Kester, with his prickly fa├žade. Their connection is impossible to deny, but both Kester and Violet harbor heavy constraints. As their association becomes increasingly tangled and confused, their only hope of pursuing a life together is to trust one another with the very truths that could tear them apart.

My review

I am reading this book now and it, as expected, a shear delight. I love how Sarah Eden writes. Her words flow so gracefully and they take you to magical places. I appreciate the character development and the author's attention to detail. So far I am loving this book. 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website



a Rafflecopter giveaway