Wednesday, January 23, 2019

No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford -- grand finale post

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
No Safe Place
By Sherri Shackelford

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Welcome to this blog tour! I'm excited to share the journey with you. My latest release is near and dear to my heart because this book starts a new adventure for me...

The Power of Words - Guest Post

Forensic Accounting
“Follow the Money”

Accounting might not seem dangerous, but hiding money is integral to nefarious activities. In the opening scene of Jack Ryan on Amazon, Jack is seen tracing the financial dealings of a suspected terrorist. What Jack discovers leads him on a harrowing adventure to the Middle East, but the spark of his investigation was a rather mundane series of financial transfers...

Splashes of Joy - Review

"I thoroughly enjoyed “No Safe Place” by Sherri Shakelford! I love fast pace detective stories and this one kept me on the edge of my to seat the entire time I was reading it. In fact, I read this one in one setting! . . . “No Safe Place” will take you on a wild and scary journey, through more horrific scenes than you want to think about, but in the end, it will leave you thinking about this book and the characters long after you finish reading."


Her heart racing, Beth took the stairs two at a time and pushed open the door to the parking garage. Only a couple other cars remained. Keeping her back straight and her gait purposeful, she crossed the distance.

The sound of her heels striking the concrete echoed through the cavernous, empty space. Pausing beside the car, she dug in her purse for her keys. Normally she kept them at the ready when exiting a parking garage. Corbin’s unexpected appearance upstairs had distracted her.

As she fumbled with her purse, she dropped the bag. “Calm down, Beth.”


"In my experience, this particular imprint is notorious for grabbing you by the throat straight-off the first page and never quite letting you feel released til you conclude the story! No Safe Place accomplishes this. . . . Ms Shackelford has a knack for Contemporary drama - she alights you inside her scenes with a certain kind of polish and flair for understanding the ready details you need to see in a scene to know its the modern era. . . I love finding Contemporary authors who are in-tune with this modern era and who can write realistic impressions of the people any of us could meet on the street."

Colorimetry - Guest Post

Homeland Security

The details are sketchy, and the government has been tight-lipped, but various reports have concluded that the worst cyberattack in US history started in a cybercafe in Afghanistan. An American Pentagon worker (presumably), using the internet services of a foreign café, picked up a ‘cyber worm’ on his computer. He then transferred data from the infected computer to a thumb drive. The virus hitched a ride. When that same thumb drive was plugged into the Pentagon computer system, the worm went wild...


"This is an action packed, suspenseful, romance novel you will not want to miss! . . . Each chapter leaves the reader anxious to discover, "What happens next?" . . . The characters seemed very real, and the scenes were well described so the reader felt he/she was a part of them."

Simply Kelina - Review

"I really enjoyed the writing style. This is not the first book written by the author, but it is the first within the suspense genre. I would not have known this while I was reading. I think she did a great job with the pacing and thrilling aspects of the story."


"Great tension between the characters, and a well paced plot, there is a lot going on. I liked the complexity of the plot perfect within this format, it fit well and kept me hooked, there was a lot going on but I never got lost. A book well worth reading, and great first foray into suspense for Ms. Shackelford!"

By The Book - Review

"If you are looking for an adrenaline-laced, romantic suspense to start off your reading new year, then you need to check out No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford! This book has it all — engaging characters, danger and intrigue aplenty, and romantic sparks. . . . All in all this book would be a great companion for a weekend getaway or staycation. Suspense and HEA — what are you waiting for!"

Wishful Endings - Guest Post

My Favorite Suspense Books

Like many people, I got hooked on romantic suspense after reading the classic, Rebecca by Daphne DuMauier. Lately, I’ve been addicted to the Orphan X series by Gregg Hurwitz. Another favorite is Alex Kava, whose first book was set near where I live. The latest book I read was The Far Empty, by Scott J. Todd...

Heidi Reads... - Review

"This is my kind of suspense book. Not so intense that I'm biting off all my nails and can't go to sleep, but engaging and compelling and has me turning the pages to see what happens next. . . . This is a story that I didn't want to put down and felt that great feeling of satisfaction as I finished. Highly recommend to fans of light romantic suspense!"

Faithfully Bookish - Guest Post

Tips on Hiding

When I bought the book, Playing Dead: A Journey Through the World of Death Fraud, my husband was a little worried. The book was written by Elizabeth Greenwood, and I used her name as the inspiration for my heroine, Beth Greenwood.

The book is a fascinating look into the underground world of ‘making people disappear.’ Believe it or not, there’s an entire underground industry dedicated to helping people fake their death—should the need arise...


"I enjoyed No Safe Place. . . . Beth and Corbin’s story was one that kept me on the edge of my seat. I never knew where they would end up. I could not put the book down until the end."

Among the Reads - Review & Interview

"Sprinkling just enough wit throughout the story to keep it from being overly suspenseful, author Sherri Shackelford has Corbin and Beth fleeing from one place to another in an attempt to elude their pursuers. . . . Readers who enjoy authors such as Dana Mentink and Tanya Stowe are bound to enjoy this one as well. . . . I want to be sure to read more books by this author!"

Can you tell us a little about what inspired No Safe Place?

I really enjoy stories about regular people who are forced into extraordinary circumstances. I liked the idea of someone with a very ho-hum job in a boring office building who is thrown into incredible danger. I also like stories where people are ‘on the run’.

Book by Book - Review

"No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford gives readers a quick, suspenseful (and romantic!) read, and I quite enjoyed it. . . . I recommend adding it to your TBR today!"

The Becca Files - Review

"Fast paced with plenty of action, No Safe Place was a rather quick read for me. I finished the whole book in just two sittings and in less than a day. It quickly grasped my attention and held me until the end. . . . I’d easily recommend it to fans of suspense."

EmpowerMoms - Review

"I absolutely loved it! . . . Great characters, great story line, clean romance. I highly recommend reading this suspenseful, action packed book! I read it in one night because I couldn’t put it down-it was awesome! I can’t wait to read more books by this author."


The accountant was running. Innocent people didn’t run. She’d been Corbin’s first suspect since her name had come up in the previous audit. Didn’t help that she’d spent the past week behaving like a textbook example of a guilty person. She was edgy and jumpy—rarely leaving her desk—even for meals. She didn’t want anyone messing with her computer. She didn’t want anyone to know what she was doing. Innocent people had nothing to hide.

Strike one.

Corbin pushed open the door to the garage, and his blood froze.


"I loved the page turning suspense and the push-pull of the romance. . . . This was a fast paced suspense with a good romance topped with relatable characters."


"Sherri Shackelford delivers up non-stop adventure and suspense in a race for survival that crosses state lines. . . . I really enjoyed this book and I am definitely looking forward to more exciting romantic suspense from this talented author."

Harlie's Books - Excerpt & Review

There was a bullet hole in the hood of his car, and the woman sitting next to him had become a liability to a terrorist cell laundering money. Corbin didn’t know the extent of her knowledge, and he wasn’t letting her out of his sight.

She raised the canister once more. “All right. But I have the pepper spray, remember?”

“I’m not likely to forget.” That stuff was potent. Residue had both their eyes watering in the confined space of the car. “I don’t mean to be rude, but I did save your life. A simple ‘thank you’ would suffice.”

"Corbin is a dream. He is definitely going on the book boyfriend shelf for me. . . . Beth is just one of those heroines that you truly root for in a book. . . . The plot itself is [relevant], very fast paced (love), realistic and interesting. Yes, interesting. . . . I really loved this book. Corbin and Beth stole my heart and I have a new author to read from a beloved Harlequin line."


"No Safe Place is a fast past and well written book. From beginning to end I found myself completely caught up in the lives of Beth Greenwood and Corbin Ross. . . . I thought this book had the perfect amount of suspense, well-developed characters and most important, a surprise and oh so sweet sending."

Min Reads and Reviews - Excerpt/Review

Beth shut the train’s inner door and tugged the curtains over the square window of her private 
roomette—a tiny space featuring two facing seats and an overhead bunk that pulled down. The heels finally chugged, and the train lurched. She exhaled her pent-up breath. As the station faded into the distance, her pulse gradually slowed to a normal rhythm.

An hour into the trip, she almost felt as though she could breathe normally again.

A knock on the door sent her heart leaping into her throat.

"No Safe Place is enjoyable and had many intense suspenseful moments. There was also well-written romantic tension between Beth and Corbin. Beth is on the run from those who want to keep her silent. She is very detail oriented, but because of that she is a suspect in the money laundering scheme. Corbin is a homeland security agent who is there to protect her, but can he trust her? Together they are running until the answers come together."

Remembrancy - Review

"Shackelford maintains a perfect balance of intense action and personal moments between Corbin and Beth, making their building attraction natural and authentic. . . . Corbin and Beth are people of faith with an inner strength that makes them do the right thing no matter the personal cost which had me rooting for them from the get-go. . . . I hope to see more romantic suspense reads from Shackelford in the (near) future."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

No Safe Place
By Sherri Shackelford
Christian Romantic Suspense
Paperback & ebook, 224 Pages
January 1st 2019 by Love Inspired Suspense

He lives by the law.

She’s running for her life.

After forensic accountant Beth Greenwood uncovers a money-laundering scheme tying her company to the organization that murdered her mentor, she knows she needs to go into hiding. With ruthless killers in pursuit, she’s forced to rely on homeland security agent Corbin Ross’s protection—even as his investigation suggests Beth is complicit in embezzlement. Can their uneasy alliance develop into something deeper—and keep them alive?


About the Author


A former naval reservist with a top-secret security clearance, Sherri writes rapid-fire suspense featuring captivating characters and heart-pounding romance. She's authored more than a dozen novels for Harper Collins publishing, including both historical and contemporary suspense.


Tour Giveaway


1 winner will win "A Little Bit More Romance Box," which includes the following items in a Decorative Box (pictured):
- Romance Bubble Bath
- Classic Cover Harlequin Notebook
- Collectible Addition Book of Romance Poems
- Romance Bath Bomb
- Scented Candle
- Fuzzy Socks
- Books: No Safe Place and His Substitute Mail-Order Bride by Sherri Shackelford, and Undercover Memories by Lenora Worth

US only
Ends January 23, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

With the Magic by Donna K. Weaver

With the Magic: Twickenham Time Travel Romance #7

Author: Donna K. Weaver

Publisher: Emerald Arch Publishing

Publish Date: February 14th. 2019

ASIN: B07MP4FTX2

e-book/181 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When Gareth Hildebrand travels from the year 1850 to a future time, he’s not expecting to fall in love.

As the eighth Earl of Kellworth, Gareth is accustomed to getting what he wants. Then he encounters a woman he suspects is from the future--a utopian future that he feels compelled to see. He intends to get what he wants, but it will involve dealing with fae magic. And that could lead to disaster--for his heart.

Dr. Catherine Ryan is drawn to the handsome guest at Twickenham Manor, with his odd combination of childish excitement and old eyes that have seen too much pain. She loses her heart to him before she discovers the truth of when he’s from. Now she faces the biggest decision of her life!

Also part of the Twickenham Time Travel Series:
— P.S. I Love You by Jo Noelle
— Love's Past by Laura D. Bastian
— Against the Magic by Donna K. Weaver
— Mistletoe Mayhem by Jo Noelle
— Love Match by Jo Noelle
— An Unexpected Gentleman by Laura Beers
— With the Magic by Donna K. Weaver
— Dating the Duke by Jen Geigle Johnson
— There's Always Tomorrow by Laura D. Bastian
— Enchanted Heart by Jaclyn Hardy


My review

It only took reading a couple pages and then I was completely immersed in the story. I enjoyed how this book stands alone, but all the books in the series intertwine. When I started reading, I felt like I already knew the characters. "Aunt" Nellie was quick to love and Gareth also won we over quickly. He had a certain quality that I eagerly wanted to read more about. Catherine too was wonderful. In fact, all of the characters were fantastic. I enjoyed Gareth and Catherine's "lessons" when Gareth was in the present time. I especially thought the first time Gareth tried on jeans was particularly fun. It made me smile when he asked why they looked so "worn". I loved Gareth and Catherine's "lessons" and how they got to know each other. It was also funny when Catherine told Gareth he couldn't carry a sword around London. I enjoyed the turn the story took and why the two had to travel back to Gareth's time. The couple's quiet moments were sweet and enduring, but they were both torn between their two worlds. 

5 out of 5 stars. The ending is quite perfect for the story. I will be checking out the other books in the series to get to know the other characters. 

Purchase links

FREE on Kindle Unlimited (when available) / Kindle e-book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Goodreads / Twitter

Monday, January 21, 2019

Escaping Neverland by Melissa Lemon - cover reveal

I am thrilled to share the cover of ESCAPING NEVERLAND by Melissa Lemon!

Book description

After being branded and threatened by pirates, Peter finds the perfect girl to bring back to Neverland. He plans to leave as soon as she's settled and abandon the Lost Boys and the promise of eternal youth forever. What he doesn't calculate into his plan, however, is the magnitude of Jane's charm.



Author links







Melissa Lemon began twisting fairy tales in the fifth grade when she wrote a story about George of the Jungle making his way to Neverland. She has since published several novels including Cinder and Ella (2011), Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem (2012), and Sleeping Beauty and the Beast (2014).  Melissa is married to a frog prince and has three princesses. She is also the warden of a tolerant cat named Matilda. Melissa loves yoga, hiking, making yummy treats, and especially spending time with family and friends. She lives at the mouth of a windy canyon where she is always working on her next project. Escaping Neverland will be published in June.

Excerpt

“I’ll only ask once more, Peter. After that, the boy dies.”
It seemed an eternity since the pirates had killed one of the Lost Boys. So long that Peter had to dig for the memory, but only just. How could he forget something like that? The image of Neverland’s lonely graveyard came to mind, situated at the top of a wide hill with only a handful of marked graves. Peter sighed, his only outer display of the defeat consuming him. How had their rivalry come to this? How had things gotten so messed up? “My age calculator is with the mermaids.”
Peter listened to Sven’s angry footsteps cross the floor followed by a short struggle, presumably with another pirate. Without warning Peter was falling fast. The ropes had been let go. He barely had time to flail his arms and legs before his head and back slammed onto the rock below. Peter’s mind spun, and a trickle of wet blood crept from underneath his head.
We’ll keep it safe, the mermaids had told him in their own language. Nobody will ever find it.
“I’ll go and get it for you,” Peter whispered. After speaking, Peter decided his lungs hurt worse than anything else.
He would go to the mermaids, ask for the dial, and bring it to Sven. Peter knew exactly why Sven wanted it, he just hadn’t wanted to admit it before—or perhaps he’d never dared to hope. His time in Neverland was coming to an end.

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Boneseeker: Here Walk the Dead by Brynn Chapman -- grand finale

On tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Here Walk the Dead
By Brynn Chapman

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

The year is 1910, and Arabella Holmes has met her lifelong dream of becoming a purveyor of abnormal science for the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Philadelphia. But academics and forensics were never a problem for Bella. People. Navigating people and the nuances of relationships is far more vexing than any anatomical puzzle or mystery...

Mythical Books - Review

"...the author succeeded to get my attention with the main plot but also with the romantic aspects well embedded in the general flow of the story. . . . The pace is an allegro, but there are also scenes in adante and presto tempos, depending on their nature and purpose. As the whole, they support the increasing tension that culminates in a life and death situation. Casualties? Yes. The possibility of a new chapter? Yes, and I cannot wait to read it!"

Oh Hey! Books. - Interview

Did you ever have a rough patch in writing, where nothing in the story seemed to fit or make sense?

Writing, is rough. Period. I’ve never met a writer who didn’t have periods of extreme productivity, and then periods of desolation. For me, the words are never the issue, its whatever extraneously may be happening in my life that whisks me away from my inner vortex.


"It goes deeper into the relationship between Arabella and Henry and the book is also generally a bit darker with lunatic asylums, social darwnism and shady medical practices. . . . I might add that it's also a bit refreshing seeing characters with Aspergers written in a "proper" way and not being a comic stereotype."


"I enjoyed the banter/romance between Bella and Henry, and can see readers really enjoying this! . . . I’m so happy that I read this series!"

Kimber Li - Guest Post

For Fans of the BONESEEKER SERIES, Why the wait?

BONESEEKER was released several years prior, with accolades from NY TIMES BEST SELLER Grace Burrowes, “Meticulously researched and terrific fun!” and was that years winner of the Young Adult Golden Leaf Award. Then…..several years past….

Wishful Endings - Excerpt & Review

“Frostbite can occur at zero degrees within five minutes for the first stage, which results in pain and tingling and most likely a full recovery. The second degree, the body pulls blood away from the extremities, resulting in blisters that may harden and blacken.”

I then recall the moulages he crafted of stage-four frostbite. My heartbeat goes wild. “Find! Newton! Find!”

He yips.

Newton bounds out of sight, and we all stumble forward, awkwardly plowing through the gathering mounds of snow.

"HERE WALK THE DEAD is a thrilling ride as Bella and Henry try to fit into society's expectations while also trying to figure out why girls keep disappearing and where they go. Recommended to readers who enjoy gritty Gothic mysteries with sizzling romance."


A Visual Tour of Here Walk the Dead

In case you’re new to the series…here’s where we are.

Arabella Holmes—yes, daughter of that Holmes—wants to return to her job as a purveyor of abnormal science. She has temporarily been demoted to a botanist, until her love interest, Henry Watson—yes, that Watson—can help her get her less-than-professional outbursts in check. Henry is tired of his new role as doctor, tired of the lack of adventure, and tired of keeping Bella's escapades out of the papers. Five girls are missing. Gone from locked rooms in their own houses. Arabella and Henry are called upon to help solve the kidnappings, but all they unearth is more danger...


"a spellbinding adventure, with friends and fiends both old and new, embroiled in one over-arcing sinister plot. . . . Filled with thrills and chills and let's not forget about romance, fans of Sherlock Holmes will love the world this talented author has expanded upon. I adored the development of these characters and the way the plot echoed the struggles our heroes were going through. Excellently paced and rife with wit and charm, Boneseeker is a historical suspense series you will gladly sink your teeth into."


Prologue

The Lost

The reek of chloroform.

I thrash, instinctively wrenching away from the stench of the cloying rag, but too late. There is a simultaneous prick and burn as a needle jabs the crook of my arm.

I’ve had too many inhalations. I battle my eyes open.

Two men rummage through my personal effects.

The carriage—gone. In an instant, I am slung over one of their backs, dangling limp as a child’s rag- doll.


Oliver

I leave The Bell in Hand and stand stock-still in the middle of the road. The moon is white and full as a pearl, suspended in the black, sooty sky. I cannot go home and face my dreary one-room solitary confinement at the boarding house. Staring at the ceiling as the uninvited images of Arabella enter my weary mind.

That ruddy Englishman. He has ruined every plan I made. All I needed was time, first to befriend her. Then…

Sleep will not come, regardless, but…

Baroness Book Trove - Review & Interview

"Boneseeker: Here Walk the Dead by Brynn Chapman is a compelling novel. Very different from the first one but still very Sherlock Holmesy. His daughter though is at it again and getting things done her way. . . . I am still in love with Holmes and Watson the next generation. . . . I recommend this book to fans of Sherlock. It is a good read."

What was your favorite character to write and why?

Henry and Bella have been living in my head for a very long time now…so, just like my children, I love them for different reasons.

I love Henry for his heart, his compassion, and his fearlessness under fire. And his uncompromising love for Bella, no matter what the rest of the world thinks.

I love Bella for her complexity. Her innocence, and her pain, and her courage to continue to try to connect with Henry and others she loves, despite it being nearly unnatural for her.


"This is an eerie, compelling tale. . . .The characters are diverse, intriguing and the reader will feel involved in their lives. . . . it was a very captivating tale."

"Book two of the Booneseeker is even better than the first book! . . . The added characters are [just] as diverse and interesting as those in the previous novel. . . . The tale ends solidly, leaving the reader eager for more."


"This is one suspense filled and fun read. I had to have it read in one sitting. . . . I hope there will be another book in The Boneseeker Chronicles series. I enjoy catching up with Arabella and Henry and seeing what adventure they will get into next. They are quite the pair and I love how they interact with one another. . . . I recommend Here Walk the Dead, as well as, the beginning to this series, Boneseeker. "

Colorimetry - Guest Post

WHERE ARE WE?

Setting. It matters.

As I write historicals, I do my utmost to visit if not the actual place, then a facsimile of it. There is not a substitute for experiencing the sights, smells and sounds of wherever a book takes place.

That goes for readers and well as writers. For HERE WALK THE DEAD, I toured an asylum in the state of West Virginia, twice...


"Here Walk the Dead is a wonderful follow-up to Boneseeker. . . . you are going to love Here Walk the Dead. . . . I love this story because it is super suspenseful, and much of the plot is historically accurate. . . . I highly recommend Here Walk the Dead and Boneseeker!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Here Walk the Dead
(The Boneseeker Chronicles #2)
By Brynn Chapman
Historical Romantic Suspense, Gothic
Paperback & ebook, 250 Pages
January 14th 2019 by The Wild Rose Press, Inc

Arabella Holmes—yes, daughter of that Holmes—wants to return to her job as a purveyor of abnormal science. She has temporarily been demoted to a botanist, until her love interest, Henry Watson—yes, that Watson—can help her get her less-than-professional outbursts in check.

Henry is tired of his new role as doctor, tired of the lack of adventure, and tired of keeping Bella's escapades out of the papers.

Five girls are missing. Gone from locked rooms in their own houses. Arabella and Henry are called upon to help solve the kidnappings, but all they unearth is more danger.

Bella ventures undercover into a lunatic asylum, where a mute woman assaults her and scrawls the chilling words—Here the dead wake. Plus, a vial of Bella's research poison has gone missing. Bella and Henry must find it, and the missing girls, before charges can be brought against her.

Praise for HERE WALK THE DEAD:

"Dark twists and turns abound in this fast-paced and riveting gothic thriller. I consumed it in one sitting!" ~USA TODAY BESTSELLER, Lea Nolan
Other Books in the Series

Boneseeker
(The Boneseeker Chronicles #1)
By Brynn Chapman
Historical Romantic Suspense, Gothic
Paperback & ebook, 213 Pages
January 10th 2018 by The Wild Rose Press, Inc

Aspiring scientist Arabella Holmes doesn't fit the role of a 1900s lady. Her father, Sherlock, landed her a position at the Mütter Museum to pursue her dream of becoming a purveyor of abnormal science, or what her father calls a "Boneseeker."

Henry Watson’s two-fold mission at the Mütter Museum is to join their team of forensic anthropologists in unearthing unusual antiquities and to watch over Arabella. If only he could get her to speak to him, instead of hurling knives in his general direction. Assigned to a most secret expedition to investigate a mysterious skeletal hand discovered in upstate New York, Arabella and Henry are soon caught in a scientific debate, and the search for the truth may have deadly consequences for those involved.

Are the bones from a Neanderthal? Or are they living proof of fallen angels known as Nephilim?

Watson and Holmes must put aside their differences, trust their instincts, and rely on one another to survive to uncover the truth.

*This is a new version of a previously published edition

Praise for BONESEEKER:

Winner of the New Jersey Romance Writers Golden Leaf Contest

"Creative, meticulously researched, and terrific fun!"  ~Grace Burrowes, NY Times Best Selling Author

"The characters, the setting, the descriptions and the mysteries and relationships all work together seamlessly to create a truly wonderful story that I completely adored." ~Best Books Ever Blog

"The settings are intriguing and the way they are described make you feel as if you are immersed in the story. I could feel the gloom and damp. That is rare in so many books! Boneseeker is a book I highly recommend, and I give it 5 stars!" ~Christy's Cozy Corners Blog

About the Author


Born and raised in western Pennsylvania, Brynn Chapman is the daughter of two teachers. Her writing reflects her passions: science, history and love--not necessarily in that order. In real life, the geek gene runs strong in her family, as does the Asperger's syndrome. Her writing reflects her experience as a pediatric therapist and her interactions with society's downtrodden. In fiction, she's a strong believer in underdogs and happily-ever-afters. Her ancestry tree claims she's a descendant of the House of Stuart.


Tour Giveaway


- GRAND PRIZE: One winner will receive a $10 Amazon eGift Card and a Print Copy of BONESEEKER
Two winners will receive an Audiobook of BONESEEKER
One winner will receive a Print Copy of BONESEEKER
- Open internationally
- Ends January 23, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Friday, January 18, 2019

No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford -- blog tour/excerpt/giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

No Safe Place
By Sherri Shackelford
Christian Romantic Suspense
Paperback & ebook, 224 Pages
January 1st 2019 by Love Inspired Suspense

He lives by the law.

She’s running for her life.

After forensic accountant Beth Greenwood uncovers a money-laundering scheme tying her company to the organization that murdered her mentor, she knows she needs to go into hiding. With ruthless killers in pursuit, she’s forced to rely on homeland security agent Corbin Ross’s protection—even as his investigation suggests Beth is complicit in embezzlement. Can their uneasy alliance develop into something deeper—and keep them alive?


My review

No Safe Place is enjoyable and had many intense suspenseful moments. There was also well-written romantic tension between Beth and Corbin. Beth is on the run from those who want to keep her silent. She is very detail oriented, but because of that she is a suspect in the money laundering scheme. Corbin is a homeland security agent who is there to protect her, but can he trust her? Together they are running until the answers come together.

4 out of 5 stars.

Excerpt

Beth shut the train’s inner door and tugged the curtains over the square window of her private
roomette—a tiny space featuring two facing seats and an overhead bunk that pulled down. The
wheels finally chugged, and the train lurched. She exhaled her pent-up breath. As the station
faded into the distance, her pulse gradually slowed to a normal rhythm.
An hour into the trip, she almost felt as though she could breathe normally again.
A knock on the door sent her heart leaping into her throat.
“Yes?” she asked, her voice strangled.
“Complimentary beverage and snack service.”
She hesitated, then realized she hadn’t eaten since lunch. Her stomach rumbled. She stood
and opened the door.
Corbin Ross stared back at her. “Going someplace?”
She attempted to slam the door, and he blocked the move with his foot. “We need to talk.”

About the Author


A former naval reservist with a top-secret security clearance, Sherri writes rapid-fire suspense featuring captivating characters and heart-pounding romance. She's authored more than a dozen novels for Harper Collins publishing, including both historical and contemporary suspense.


Tour Schedule

January 7th:
Launch
The Power of Words
Splashes of Joy
January 8th:
Hearts & Scribbles
Jorie Loves A Story
January 9th:
Colorimetry
Rockin' Book Reviews
January 10th:
Simply Kelina
Labor Not in Vain
By The Book
January 11th:
The Barefoot Reader
Heidi Reads...
January 14th:
Faithfully Bookish
Locks, Hooks and Books
Among the Reads
January 15th:
Book by Book
The Becca Files
January 16th:
EmpowerMoms
Wishful Endings
Author Loraine D. Nunley
January 17th:
Tell Tale Book Reviews
Harlie's Books
Two Girls and a Book
January 18th:
Min Reads and Reviews
Remembrancy
January 19th:
Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


1 winner will win "A Little Bit More Romance Box," which includes the following items in a Decorative Box (pictured):
- Romance Bubble Bath
- Classic Cover Harlequin Notebook
- Collectible Addition Book of Romance Poems
- Romance Bath Bomb
- Scented Candle
- Fuzzy Socks
- Books: No Safe Place and His Substitute Mail-Order Bride by Sherri Shackelford, and Undercover Memories by Lenora Worth

US only
Ends January 23, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Monday, January 14, 2019

Potion Masters: The Transparency Tonic by Frank L. Cole -- blog tour

Potion Masters: The Transparency Tonic

Author: Frank L. Cole

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Publish date: January 16th, 2019

ISBN13: 9781629724881

Hardcover/e-book: 384 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Goodreads Summary

It has been nine months since Gordy and his friends, Max and Adilene, Saved B.R.E.W. (the Board of Ruling Elixirists Worldwide) and the Vessel—the power source for the secret society of potion masters. Now, Gordy is starting the eighth grade, and has been trying new potion brewing techniques, but when he starts zoning out during practice, he knows something is wrong.

Gordy and his friends continue to work on their potions, but when Gordy chooses Max as his lab partner, Adilene starts to wonder if she still has a place with her old friends. She turns to a new friend, Cadence, who might know a way to help Adilene become a potion master on her own.

And in Greenland, Mezzarix has a chance to escape his Forbidden Zone—as long as he agrees to work with the mysterious Ms. Bimini and replicate an unusual solution known as “Silt.” It could be just the weapon Mezzarix needs to destroy B.R.E.W. forever.

With both B.R.E.W. and the Vessel in danger, and with the potion world in chaos, it’s up to Gordy, Max, and Adilene to rally the remaining Potion Masters before it’s too late.
 


My review

The Transparency Tonic is another wild, exciting ride from Frank Cole. I love Frank's books. They are always full of adventure, clever plots, characters you care about, and fun twists and turns. This book had all that, and more. I loved it! Gordy is one smart kid, with an amazing ability. I love Gordy's mom and Aunt Priss. There are so many exciting things that happen in this book. It is so fun and clever. The bad guys are inventive and there are characters that keep you guessing. The last few chapters of this book had me frantically turning pages to find out it was going to happen. 

5 out of 5 stars. So many awesome twists and turns, I loved them all and a fantastic ending.

Author links

Goodreads / Twitter / Website

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon hardcover / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book






Friday, January 11, 2019

Pretty in Punxsutawney by Laurie Boyle Crompton -- blog tour/giveaway

Pretty in Punxsutawney

Author: Laurie Boyle Crompton

Publisher: Blink

Published: January 15th, 2019

ISBN13: 9780310762164

Hardcover/e-book: 304 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from Netgalley. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Groundhog Day meets Pretty in Pink mashup from author Laurie Boyle Crompton, Pretty in Punxsutawney tells the tale of a girl willing to look beneath the surface to see people for who they really are.

Andie is the type of girl who always comes up with the perfect thing to say…after it’s too late to say it. She’s addicted to romance movies—okay, all movies—but has yet to experience her first kiss. After a move to Punxsutawney, PA, for her senior year, she gets caught in an endless loop of her first day at her new school, reliving those 24 hours again and again.

Convinced the curse will be broken when she meets her true love, Andie embarks on a mission: infiltrating the various cliques to find the one boy who can break the spell. What she discovers along the way is that people who seem completely different can often share the very same hopes, dreams, and hang-ups. And that even a day that has been lived over and over can be filled with unexpected connections and plenty of happy endings.


My review

Oh my goodness, this was such a fun book. I loved it! Andie is wonderful, she is so much fun. She is all teenager at times. I enjoyed her many moods and her adventures through her repeating day. The lines in the book are clever and well timed. The things that run through Andie's head at times had me laughing out loud. Mom and Dad are sweet, attentive parents, and both are very funny at times. Andie's journey through time was quite the learning experience for her. As a child of the 80s, I loved all of the awesome movies that were mentioned and referenced. I appreciated Andie's growth and how she genuinely tried to help others. Yes, she was trying to figure out how to end her looped day, but she learned so much about others and herself. The last few chapters were especially wonderful. Without revealing anything, one character's struggle was very touching, and how Andie helped her was awesome. I love a good, clean book I can pass to my daughters, and this is one of them.

5 out of 5 stars. There is some teenage drinking at a party, but the main character does not participate in it.

Purchase links

Amazon hardcover / Amazon e-book / Barnes and Noble

Author links

Twitter / Website / Goodreads / Amazon author page

Link to tour schedule




GIVEAWAY! 5 finished copies of 
PRETTY IN PUNXSUTAWNEY (US ONLY)



aRafflecoptergiveaway