Friday, August 27, 2021

An Engagement of Sorts by Alene Wecker - blog tour/giveaway

 

An Engagement of Sorts

Author: Alene Wecker

Publisher: Covenant

Published: August 2021

FTC FYI: I received an ecopy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

Much to her mother's dismay, spirited Anne Fletcher spent her youth seeking her father's approval by hunting and riding. More comfortable in breeches than ball gowns, Anne sees the freedoms she once enjoyed slowly taken from her in the name of fashioning her into an eligible young lady. When her parents try to force her into marriage, Anne makes a desperate attempt to salvage her last vestige of independence. If she is to marry, she will do so on her own terms.

Anne strikes a deal: if she cannot secure a man for herself, she will agree to marry the husband her parents approved. She soon finds herself in the last place she would ever choose―that stifling parade of etiquette, the London Season. Anne's plan is in motion. Now all she needs is a man willing to masquerade as her fiancĂ©.


Review


This book was a delight and very fun from start to finish. I loved Anne. Oh, the things that would go through her head and oh, the things that she would say. I had a big smile while reading this book. My favorite thing about this book was the way it was written. There is humor, romance, great character development and growth. I am excited for this author's next book.

Content warning: attempted assault.

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 20, 2021

Song of Salzburg by Jen Geigle Johnson - blog tour/giveaway


Song of Salzburg

Author: Jen Geigle Johnson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: August 2nd, 2021

194 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

Publisher's Weekly says, "The romance is chaste, slow-building, and sweet, and Johnson makes both characters’ love of music palpable. This is a treat."

When talented violinist Freya Winter is chosen to take part in a musical celebration alongside some of the best instrumentalists in the world, she is thrilled. Performing in front of royalty is a breathtaking opportunity, but her true motivation for traveling to Salzburg is to fulfill an unlikely dream: to meet and train under the renowned Salzburg Maestro, a master musician shrouded in mystery.

Freya travels aboard the Orient Express to practice with the newly formed orchestra in Salzburg, and nothing can distract her—not her mother’s illness, nor her father’s domineering ways; however, when a handsome passenger becomes a regular fixture on her journeys, Freya feels her focus blurring. Conversation with Erich is easy, and their shared love of music draws them undeniably closer. But even as they open their hearts to each other, the harsh realities of her family life intrude on the future she’s envisioned, and Freya feels her dreams slipping through her fingers, threatening to rob her of everything she cherishes most.

Review

This book! Wow, it was such a delight to read. I loved everything about it. Song of Salzburg is a perfect addition to the Romance on the Orient Express series. Freya was a wonderful character. Her love and the passion she felt for her music was inspiring. I really loved her growth. My heart just ached for her when she didn't even have the courage to get on the train, yes the "nudge" from Erich helped her step on, but I appreciated and enjoyed how her confidence grew. She would seek any opportunity she could to improve and even earned some spending money. I loved the "mystery" around Erich too. When we first meet him on the train, we don't know his name, but his kindness and their "longing glances" were so fun to read. Their connection was truly a pleasure to read and their relationship grew.

I would 100% recommend this fun series. They can be read in any order. 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads




a Rafflecopter giveaway 

Friday, August 13, 2021

Heart in the Highlands by Heidi Kimball - blog tour/giveaway

 

Heart in the Highlands

Author: Heidi Kimball

Publisher: Covenant Communications

273 pages

FTC FYI: I received a digital ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

An arranged marriage was never what Callum Darrington, future Duke of Edinbane, imagined for himself. But with the well-being of his uncle’s family hanging in the balance, Callum strikes a bargain with his father and reluctantly agrees to tie himself to a stranger. The reality of the lovely Lady Katherine is more than he could have hoped for, and their wedding heralds a bright new future for the couple—until Callum discovers his father deliberately deceived him. Callum lashes out, setting in motion heartbreak not even he could have foreseen.

Four years later, Callum is ready to piece together the marriage he so carelessly destroyed. But their years apart have hardened Kate: she is not the naive and trusting young woman she once was, and she has no intention of allowing Callum a foothold in her life or her heart. Despite her coldness, Callum works to regain her trust and rebuild their marriage, not realizing Kate harbors a secret that could change everything—and this time, there is much more at stake than just her heart.


My review


I haven't read all of Heidi Kimball's books, but she is quickly becoming a favorite. This book was fantastic. It was wonderful. Full of heart, hope, love. The character growth is outstanding and well-written. The setting was also written to a T. The author is able to capture every aspect of this story so perfectly.
Note to self: read more of Heidi's books.

5 out of 5 stars. One of the best books I've read this year. 

Purchase links


Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book


Author links


Amazon author page / Goodreads







Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Murder Takes a Selfie by Shannon Symonds - giveaway!

 


If you like Nancy Drew and Agatha Christie, you will love Esther and her best friend Sophie in Murder Takes a Selfie, book one, of the By The Sea Cozy Mystery series. 

.

Best friends from a small beach town leave the library to race against time when a student’s selfie looks like the last one they’ll ever take.

 

Enter our Launch Celebration Giveaway and win a $200 Amazon Gift card so you can buy more books! https://www.cozymysteriesbythesea.com/

 

Murder Takes a Selfie on Amazon: Kindle or Paperback

This book is also FREE on Kindle Unlimited!

 

Follow the author at: https://www.facebook.com/cozymysteryreaderswriters

And: https://www.facebook.com/shannonsymondsauthor

 

On Instagram:

@Cozymysteriesbythesea @cedarfort

Friday, August 6, 2021

Cover reveal - Fire and Ash by Heather Frost

 I am excited to share this amazing cover with you!

First the flames . . .

When Desfan Cassian, the future ruler of Mortise, skips his fifteenth birthday celebration so he can gamble in the slums, he knows his father won't be pleased. Then again, the serjan hasn’t been happy with him in years. And while Desfan anticipates a reprimand for his latest transgression, he doesn’t expect to be thrown out of the palace and exiled onto a patrol ship for the next year.

Then from the ashes . . .

Furious to be trapped on the same sea that stole his family four years ago, Desfan is fully prepared to hate his new life. After all, the Phoenix is run by a strict captain, and Desfan's annoying new bodyguard, Karim, is his constant shadow. But when Desfan learns that a group of dangerous pirates may have been behind the deaths of his mother and sisters, he's suddenly committed to hunting down the truth—no matter the risk.

He will rise.






***Fire & Ash is a novella set in the world of the Royal Decoy series. While it is a prequel story, it is best enjoyed after reading Royal Spy.***


Other Details:

Releases October 28th

Available for Kindle Pre-order Now: 

Link: https://amzn.to/3jAruLF

Paperback coming soon!


Friday, July 2, 2021

Time's Dagger by Margot Hovley - blog tour/giveaway

 

Time's Dagger

Author: Margot Hovley

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 2021

228 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

After a rough stint at work in the ER, Dillon Kelly is more than a little ready for a vacation when he packs his bags and sets off on a camping trip in the wilds of Ireland. But when a mysterious dagger covered in druidic markings appears in his backpack, Dillon finds himself hurtled into the fourteenth century. Thrust into the legends and politics of ancient Ireland, he is rescued from suspicious locals by a beautiful young woman named Ailish.

Ailish has always dreamed of being a bard, but there’s just one problem: women aren’t allowed. Determined to follow her heart, Ailish has fooled everyone into thinking she’s a boy—everyone, that is, except for Dillon. He’s agreed to keep her secret in exchange for her help in finding his way home to his own time. Despite the impossible barriers between them, feelings beyond friendship soon blossom. But more than just their budding romance is in danger. Ailish isn’t the only one who recognizes the dagger’s druidic significance, and there are those who would stop at nothing to harness its time-bending powers. 

My review

This book is very, very enjoyable. A wonderfully adventurous read. There were some moments that had my smiling a lot and laughing out loud. I really like books with time travel and although I don’t know how much I’d enjoy living in Medieval times, I really love reading a book in this time period. Humor, adventure and romance! It doesn’t get much better.

4 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 1, 2021

Once I Was Engaged - Movie Spotlight/Giveaway


From the creators of Once I Was a Beehive, called ONCE I WAS ENGAGED! When Bree Carrington gets engaged while at BYU Hawaii, her loving but over-the-top mom goes all out to create the wedding of the century. But both mother and daughter must overcome the pressure of perfection when this happily ever after story doesn’t go quite as expected.

Coming to Utah theaters July 21, 2021, and Idaho, Arizona, and Las Vegas theaters August 6th. Tickets are on sale now: www.onceiwasengaged.com (scroll to the bottom and click 
Buy Tickets Now)

 



a Rafflecopter giveaway