Saturday, December 17, 2022

Revenge Never Rests by Laurie Lewis - blog tour / giveaway

 


Revenge Never Rests

Author: Laurie Lewis

Publisher: Covenant

Published: December 1st, 2022

Summary

Tallie Brown has spent a lifetime hiding from the ghosts of someone else’s past. Raised by a paranoid woman on the run, Tallie learned from an early age how to disappear. Now she must employ her unique set of skills to track down hundreds who have simply vanished, so when an Amber Alert wakes her in the night, she is the first to respond to the call. But tracking the missing girl comes with unexpected consequences, leading her down a deadly path paved with lies and personal loss that ends in a single devastating truth: General Cai Kaswell, the father she just discovered and the world’s best hope for peace, is among the vanished.
As she struggles to find General Kaswell, Tallie is drawn into a conspiracy that links her past to the string of unsolved disappearances. Her search for answers sends her around the globe, but when it nearly takes the lives of her trusted friends and leaves her alone, she is assigned to a charming operative she doesn’t fully trust. Forced to watch her own back as she searches for General Kaswell and the others, not only does she discover she is the unwitting catalyst for the disappearance of the missing people but she and her father are also drawn into a plot that threatens the Constitution and the balance of world power.

My review

Revenge Never Rests is one nail-biting ride. I thought the first book was intense (which I would recommend reading before this one to get the full effect of characters, plot, etc.) but this book picks up right where Secrets Never Die ends and does not let go! The author does a great job of catching the reader up on events, but I recently read the first book, so everything was fresh. You really need to know in detail what happened with Julia to appreciate what Tallie is going through now. Tallie is a fabulous character, who is still adjusting to her new life. Characters I enjoyed are still here; Marlene, Major Norris, and of course Jackson. Pay attention to every detail, because it will be important later. The author does an amazing job of planting those tiny seeds that spring into a giant, plentiful tree of suspense. There are thrilling twists and turns on every page.   

5 out of 5 stars. I couldn't read fast enough! It is a very engaging, gripping read. 

Purchase links


Author links


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, December 15, 2022

Meriden Park by Julie Daines -- blog tour giveaway

 

Meriden Park

Author: Julie Daines

Publisher: Covenant

Published: December 5th, 2022

FTC FYI: I received an ebook ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions are expressed are my own.

Summary

Following her childhood rescue from the gutters of Calcutta, Mary Grace has lived an astonishing rags-to-riches tale. The Wellings raised the half-Indian orphan with all the love and care the childless couple possessed, allowing her to grow into a beautiful and refined woman. But upon Mr. Welling's death, it is time for Mrs. Welling to take Mary home to England- home to Meriden Park.

Despite her genial nature, Mary is received with suspicion by the villagers. For his part, however, Mr. Robert Markham is intrigued by the curious new beauty in town. Determined to make her acquaintance, he offers Mary a bargain she can't
refuse: a hot cross bun for a kiss. That seemingly innocent exchange is the first of many encounters between Robert and Mary, whose friendship blossoms into love during long walks in the privacy of Sherwood Forest. But the shadows of the forest hide a sinister secret, one Mary fears Robert might be a part of. As the mystery of the recent string of murders creeps closer and closer, Robert and Mary are drawn into a dangerous game, and unless she can unearth the truth, the couple risks losing one another forever.

My review


I have been patiently waiting (and sometimes not so patiently waiting) for this book to release. Julie Daines's books are must-reads for me and I was so excited for this to come out. I was not disappointed. This book has everything. Intrigue, banter, romance, and humor. I was pleasantly surprised with how much I laughed and smiled at Mary. She is so funny, and oh so brave. I loved her journey. Mary had nicknames for those people she lived with or encountered. I thought she was lovely. Robert was also wonderful. Each character was a joy to read. Anne especially. I was also pleased with how some other relationships in Mary's life unfolded. I loved the Shakespeare that came from Robert's theater mother. (She was also very enduring.) My favorite things were the wonderful descriptions of Sherwood Forest. I have always loved Robin Hood stories and it was lovely to have a book that referenced him.
 

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Facebook page


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, December 13, 2022

My Testimony Tree - blog tour spotlight/giveaway


 

My Testimony Tree

Author: Sierra Wilson - Amazon author page

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book 

Book Blurb: 

My testimony is special.

It's the spiritual things I know.

And just like a tree,

Every day I'll help it grow.

From tiny seed to strong, fruitful tree, a testimony is something that must be nurtured and cared for your whole life through. With beautiful illustrations and poetry, this story of faith helps children understand what a testimony is and how to help it thrive, bringing them closer to Heavenly Father and the Savior.

Author Bio:
Sierra Wilson is the author of several faith-filled picture books including I Can Be Like Jesus, The Atonement of Jesus Christ is for Me, and Standout Saints: Church History Heroes from Around the World. She currently lives in Alberta, Canada where she adores hiking, skiing, and adventuring with her husband and five children. 

Online Presence:
@sierraauthor on Instagram and Twitter


Nov 29 - @reading_past.bedtime on IG
Nov 30 - @lovelybookishdelights on IG
Dec 1 - @normanbookseries on IG 
Dec 2 - Life is What it's Called
Dec 3 - @betterbookbureau on IG
Dec 4 - Singing Librarian Books
Dec 5 - Wishful Endings
Dec 6 - @afewofmyfavoritereads on IG 
Dec 7 - @latterdayparents on IG
Dec 8 - Heidi Reads
Dec 9 - @books.glorious.books on IG
Dec 10 - @melissas_bookshelf on IG
Dec 11 - Bookworm Lisa
Dec 12 - @my.bounteous.bookshelf on IG
Dec 13 - Min Reads and Reviews


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, November 18, 2022

The Call of the Sea by Sian Ann Bessey - blog tour/giveaway

 


The Call of the Sea

Author: Sian Ann Bessey

Publisher: Covenant

Published: November 1st, 2022    

FTC FYI: I received an ebook ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

On the eve of her betrothal to a nobleman she’s never met, Rhiannon seeks comfort on the shores of the sea she loves so well. But instead of offering peace to her uneasy heart, the ocean heralds doom with the arrival of dreaded Viking ships. A vicious raid leads to the death of her beloved father and leaves Rhiannon’s life in tatters. Heartbroken, she travels to Ynys Môn, where she takes up residence at the royal court of Owain Gwynedd. 

 

Leif loves voyaging on the open water. As the son of a Viking chief, he’s accustomed to his people’s practice of plundering and looting. But when one of his companions ruthlessly kills an old man in front of the man’s beautiful daughter, Leif is haunted by the memory. Desperate to find forgiveness for the atrocity he allowed to occur, he’s offered a chance at redemption through the kindly teachings of an Irish priest and the unexpected arrival of a royal fugitive. Suddenly thrust into the midst of the Cymry’s political turmoil, Leif is reunited with the dead man’s daughter—Rhiannon. Forced to work side by side to uncover the truth behind the turmoil, they come to discover that love can grow from even the most tragic of beginnings. But with such incompatible backgrounds, surely a future together can never be theirs.


Review


This is a beautiful book. I loved the history and the Gaelic names. I took the time to watch the YouTube video the author made to help with pronunciation. It really helped me enjoy the story more when I knew how to say the names in my head.

“I have always loved the sea,” Leif admitted. “But as of late, I have wondered if there might be something more—something else for me.”

I was instantly struck by how courageous and brave Leif was. His strength and growth was enjoyable to read. He was my favorite character and I looked forward to him being on the page. Rhiannon was so brave. Rhiannon has pain of loss and heartbreak but she is strong. She was also a joy to read. The author does a wonderful job of pulling you into the story. There are many exciting and page turning moments. I haven’t read many Viking books. But I felt Sian Ann Bessey did an amazing job with the story and characters.

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Goodreads

Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Esperance by Heather Frost - blog tour

 

Esperance

Author: Heather Frost

Published: November 18th, 2022

Kindle/Paperback: 513 pages

FTC FYI: I received an eARC. No review was required. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Book Summary
Twelve strangers. Six marriages. One year in Esperance.

Amryn has many reasons to hate the empire. Her latest is her forced marriage to General Carver Vincetti, better known as the Butcher. If he learns even one of her secrets, he will kill her. And Amryn has many secrets. Not only is she an empath with forbidden magic, she's also a newly recruited rebel intent on destroying the empire—starting at Esperance.

 

Carver knows the rebels have infiltrated the remote temple of Esperance. His job is to hunt them down before they can wreck the emperor’s new peace. Despite the demons that haunt him, Carver is intent on his mission—but he’s not prepared for Amryn. From her fiery red hair to her surprising wit, his new wife has captured his attention. The attraction that flares between them is undeniable. Now he just has to determine if she’s the enemy.

 

When the newly married couples become targets in a violent game, Esperance becomes more dangerous than anyone anticipated. Carver and Amryn are about to discover that no one is exactly who they appear to be—especially each other.

 

My review Esperance is easily one of the best books I've ever read. I have read book this author has written and her writing just gets better and better. Esperance grips you instantly. It is a very intriguing story with a page-turning plot. I made it to a certain point about midway through and I didn't stop reading until the end. I kept saying out loud, no way that just happened! And thought, what could possibly happen next. Carver and Amryn are stunningly awesome characters. Amryn is so great. She has a lot of secrets and the ending! Her and Carver are just perfect. Just WOW. Everyone at Esperance is important and just when you think you have things figured out... BOOM. This book gives one shocking twist after another and it is absolutely excellent.


5 out of 5 stars Purchase links Amazon Kindle / Amazon Paperback


Author links


Amazon author page / Goodreads / BookBub / Instagram




Wednesday, November 16, 2022

The Whisperer's Wish by Janilise Lloyd - cover reveal/giveaway

The Whisperer’s Wish
Janilise Lloyd
Publication date: March 21st 2023
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

For sixteen years, Laurelin Moore has been keeping a secret. She is a whisperer, and she knows that to reveal her gift now is a dangerous risk. Past whisperers have been exploited for their power. But Ausland’s queen is dead and acknowledging her magic is her only chance at becoming a Rook in the Pentax—a competition that will decide the kingdom’s next ruler. Laurelin isn’t in it for the crown, though. She’s after the wish that will be granted to the victor. A wish that would save her dying brother, Pippin.

Once chosen, Laurelin finds that there are dangerous undercurrents to the Pentax, and she is at the center of it. When she begins to search for answers, she discovers a secret with implications far beyond her brother’s life–or her own, for that matter. Now, she has to choose between saving Pippin or saving the kingdom she loves.

Add to Goodreads


Author Bio:

For most people, I think writing about oneself is difficult, and that’s no exception for writers. I must have written a dozen different versions of this. But hey, if you’re here, you must be interested in knowing a little about my life. If you’re curious about something that’s not covered here, shoot me a message through email or social media and I’ll be happy to answer!

I live in Northern Utah with my wonderful husband and our rambunctious toddler. We’re a family that likes to be on the go, so you’ll probably find us at the zoo, on a hike, or out for a run together. And yes, the housework suffers while we play. There are usually crumbs on the counter, dishes in the sink, and toys on the floor.

I graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in health education and history teaching. I taught junior high school for two years before switching careers. I now work from home for a local credit union and write down the stories in my head when I have time.

If you’re interested in seeing more about me, find me on Facebook or Instagram. @janiliselloyd

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Instagram


GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Friday, October 28, 2022

The Danger with Diamonds by Traci Hunter Abramson Sian Ann Bessey blog tour/giveaway

 


The Danger with Diamonds

Authors: Traci Hunter Abramson and Sian Ann Bessey

Publisher: Covenant 

FTC FYI: I received an ebook from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

When Lars Hendriks arranges to meet Marit Jansen in Vienna, he is hoping their friendship will blossom into romance. What he doesn’t expect is a surprise visit from his cousin Cole or the loose diamonds he brings with him.

As a CIA operative, Cole Bridger is used to uncertainty, but when his work takes him back to Vienna, he looks forward to reconnecting with Isabelle Roberts, the fellow agent he dated briefly before duty took him away from Austria. Unfortunately, his silence over the last few months has created a chasm that he can’t cross without help. He barely takes a step toward repairing the damaged relationship when a brazen jewel heist seemingly links Cole, Lars, Marit, and Isabelle to the crime. The group is drawn into a deadly mystery, and once again, the treasures of Falcon Point are threatened. It doesn’t take long for them to realize they have stumbled upon something far bigger and more dangerous than a simple robbery. And someone on the inside knows it.

Review


The Danger with Diamonds should have been titled Don’t Many Any Plans Until You’re Done Reading. I really enjoyed the action scenes, mixed with some great romance of the two couples, and their developing relationships. I loved how the authors would change of point of views during the highest peaks of action. It made the book impossible to put down. I think my favorite character was Isabelle. She’s tough as nails, and vulnerable at the same time. Marit was also amazing. So smart and aware, all the time. Don’t get me wrong, the cousins were great too. But I can’t really talk about my other favorite characters without spoilers. This was a great read, full of action, exciting twists and turns and excellent, smart characters.


5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links


Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book


Author links


Goodreads / Traci's Amazon author page / Sian's Amazon author page



a Rafflecopter giveaway