Friday, November 9, 2018

A Convenient Engagement by Ashtyn Newbold

A Convenient Engagement: Brides of Brighton Book 1

Author: Ashytn Newbold

Published: October 2018

e-book/paperback: 184 pages

ISBN13: 978-1728777818

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Goodreads Summary

A false engagement. A mysterious coast. Two reluctant hearts.

Much to her father’s dismay, Miss Amelia Buxton aspires to become a spinster, just like her eccentric aunt. Growing up with parents who married for every reason but love, she has never seen a joyful marriage. When Amelia requests a summer trip to the legendary waters of Brighton, her father allows her the excursion, but with one requirement: she must return engaged, or agree to the proposal of the man of his choosing.

Crawling with tourists, Brighton is not the town Adam Claridge had once loved. When his sister Eleanor disappears without warning, Adam is desperate to bring her home. In his search, he happens upon Miss Amelia Buxton, a young tourist that proves vital in his search for Eleanor. But Amelia is conducting a search of her 
own—a search for a husband—and Adam has little choice but to offer a fair trade: he will play the role of Amelia’s betrothed in exchange for her assistance in finding Eleanor.

Convenient at first, Amelia and Adam’s arrangement quickly plummets into disarray. Falling in love had not been part of their bargain.


My review

A Convenient Engagement is a lovely story with wonderful characters. Brighton itself was a character. The author painted a lovely picture of the setting. I enjoyed the banter between Amelia and Adam. They meet, while Adam was searching for his sister, and later strike up an agreement to help each other. Adam needs to find his sister, Amelia needs an engagement to please her father. What they find is a wonderful journey in finding themselves. Amelia, especially. This book is full of fun and sweet moments. There are hints of mystery and of course, the romance. I loved the tension between Amelia and Adam. There were many enjoyable characters in this book. Aunt Margaret was a joy. She had many wonderful one liners and I loved every page she was on.  

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase links - get your e-book copy for only 99 cents (check price before downloading)

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / FREE on KU!

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Twice the Dream -- movie spotlight/giveaway


"Twice The Dream" is an inspiring family drama about two sisters following their musical dreams together. Just as the sisters begin to discover their wings and take flight, a sudden family tragedy strikes. In the aftermath of tragedy, they discover that their dreams were the only thing that held the family together.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/twicethedreammovie/

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Twice the Dream
Q&A with the director


1. How was it to write and direct your first feature film, Twice the Dream?
A: It sincerely was a dream come true, in every sense. The cast and crew were all so incredible and really put on their "A" game. At the end, we all felt like family! Some of us of course, literally being family. ;P Haha and by that I mean, my husband was one of the producers, and was also the director of photography. My mom is amazing at art and making props, so she was in charge of the art and prop department. A lot of my lifelong friends helped as well, and my brother. So it truly was a dream come true making the movie I love, with the people I love. It was nothing short of magic!

2. What were some high points during the creative process?
A: There were so many high points, everything from writing the screenplay, to setting up that perfect shot. When writing the script, there seemed to be something so special about being so into the story, and so sucked into that world. But, as soon as we got on set, it was incredible to see those characters and scenes come to life. I would say that was a high point- seeing these characters come to life, living, breathing, and interact with each other. It was really fun working with the actors as well, and collaborating with them. The cast truly understood their characters- just as much as I do. Sometimes, maybe even more. A few of the actors would come to me with some ideas, or thoughts on scenes, and their character's journey, and sometimes would suggest certain lines of dialogue. 9 times out of 10, we were always on the same page, and I let them go for it. It was soooo cool seeing this!

3. What was your favorite scene on set?
A: Every scene! Haha jk. Although I did enjoy filming every scene on set, the concert scenes were the most fun to film. Everyone was dancing, laughing, singing along. Those were my favorite scenes to film... and we had three concert scenes! :)

4. Any learning moments you want to share?
A: Making this film has been a long journey, and throughout that journey, I have learned so much. Ultimately, I think that one of the most important things that I have learned would have to be to just trust myself and the stories that you want to tell. Along the way, a lot of people will try to discourage you- and that's just life. Just because someone else doesn't particularly get your vision, doesn't mean that it's not good. If you have a story that you want to tell, then you need to tell it. Don't let anyone else tell you otherwise.

5. What inspired you to tell this story?
A: Growing up, I realized that there weren't a lot of inspiring, feel-good coming of age movies. Movies that I really wanted to see at that age, stories that I could relate to. It was always such an underserved market. (For the record, these types of moves aren't only limited to that age group, because I still want to see these kind of movies. They are for the young at heart.
So, at the tender age of 14, I started writing my story, "Twice The Dream". Something about this particular story had set my soul on fire. The characters had absolutely consumed me, but in the best possible way. I knew it was my mission to get this story told through film. I could hardly think of anything else!

6. How is it being a female in the film business?
A: Being a female in the film industry is definitely tough. At times, it really seems that all of the "suits" in Hollywood making the decisions are men. I sat in many meetings like that. They would be interested in my story, but they would insist on making certain changes- changes that would change the very heart of the story. Although these offers were sometimes tempting, I would resist, remaining stubborn. I've even been called a "B" word because of this. But you know what? I think it's necessary. As women in this industry, we have to stick up for ourselves. Luckily, I think this is changing. Slowly, but at least we are getting somewhere. People are starting to realize that half of the population are women. And as such, I think it's safe to say that we know what a large portion of the population can relate to in film. Together, we are changing this.

7. What advice would you give to aspiring filmmakers?
My number one piece of advice is to stick to the story that you want to tell. Don't let any "suit", or colleague, teacher, or even a family member try to convince you otherwise. You're set on the story you want to tell? Great! That's the one you need to go with. Because as we all know, making a movie is hard work. So you have to love your story so much, that you would be willing to go on this journey with it. And another thing... never give up.

8. Do you think your experience as an actress helped in directing other actors? Why?
A: I absolutely think it helped. Truthfully, I believe my experiences as an actress have helped me as a writer as well. Since I'm familiar with the actors process, and the way actors think, I found it fairly easy to convey direction to the cast. And they always took that direction so well, and would totally understand where I was coming from. We were always on the same page!

9. What is your next step with Twice the Dream?
A: We are knee deep in post production right now, finalizing the sound mix, original score, color grading, etc. It's been a fun but long process in itself, but I feel like I've learned a lot. We are currently exploring different distribution options. Looking for the right partner! Our goal is to release it theatrically first. (Even if it's a limited release) Following our theatrical run, we plan to release it on various VOD platforms such as Amazon, Netflix, Hulu, etc. 

10. Do you have any other projects on the horizon?
A: Oh, most definitely. Since I'm crazy, I'm currently writing two different scripts- both female driven like Twice The Dream, but very different genres. One is a thriller and the other is a fantasy. I also am still working on my YA fantasy novel series and re-launching that. 

11. How did you finally get to make your movie?
A: I know the reason that I was able to achieve this dream is because I have been so fortunate to have such amazing support from my family and friends. They always have kept me going, and amazingly enough, they were the same people that saw my dream to the very end.
Dreams are important, but I know it's hard. There are days, sometimes months when you feel like your dream might be impossible. At times, it can feel like the whole world is against you. During the pursuit of my dream, there were times when it felt like I was going nowhere. Sometimes, it was very painful. Blood, sweat, tears, and many other losses went into this pursuit. I would then ask myself, "Is this pain really worth it?" There were many times when I felt like I had absolutely hit rock bottom, and that my dream may never come true. BUT.... Yes, that's a "but." Here is the important part:I refused to give up. No matter how long it took, or how hard it was. This dream was too important to me. And I remembered why I had been holding on for so long.Moral of the story is: NEVER, EVER, EVER GIVE UP. Period. Dreams come true, even if it takes over a decade. 

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

The Betting Groom by Taylor Hart -- 99 cents spotlight


THE BETTING GROOM by Taylor Hart
is 99 cents today!
Click on the image or click here to purchase


How much would you bet on true love this Christmas season?

After getting caught in a media frenzy at a charity event, Will Kent, Quarterback for the Denver Storm and five of his buddies found themselves in jail--with no one coming for them. After bemoaning their situation, Will challenges the guys to a Christmas Bet to find the woman they had always loved, the one who had gotten away...and kiss her by Christmas Eve. 

Tara Lighthouse never would have expected to find herself barefoot, on a ledge, in the middle of a snowstorm. But the recent divorce and the pregnancy test made her feel hopeless. After saying a prayer, she is shocked when Will Kent shows up at her door. And even more shocked when he offers to hire her as his PR consultant for the next four days. 

After playing Mr. and Mrs. Claus, buying Christmas for a bunch of children, skiing, and spilling secrets, both of them recognize something magic is happening between them. 

When the truth comes out, they are left with a choice: forgive or walk away from the only love they've ever wanted.

Monday, November 5, 2018

The Hope of Azure Springs by Rachel Fordham

The Hope of Azure Springs

Author: Rachel Fordham

Publisher: Revell

Published: July 3rd, 2018

ISBN13: 9780800734732

Paperback/e-book: 336 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Seven years ago, orphaned and alone, Em finally arrived at a new home in Iowa after riding the orphan train. But secrets from her past haunt her, and her new life in the Western wilderness is a rough one. When her guardian is shot and killed, Em, now nineteen, finally has the chance to search for her long-lost sister, but she won't be able to do it alone.

For Azure Springs Sheriff Caleb Reynolds, securing justice for the waifish and injured Em is just part of his job. He's determined to solve every case put before him in order to impress his parents and make a name for himself. Caleb expects to succeed. What he doesn't expect is the hold this strange young woman will have on his heart.

Debut author Rachel Fordham invites historical romance readers to the charming town of Azure Springs, Iowa, where the people care deeply for one another and, sometimes, even fall in love.


My review

The Hope of Azure Springs is a beautiful story. I absolutely loved it. There were hints of a mystery and it also filled with lots of heart and Em’s wonderful perseverance and dedication. Em and Caleb were perfect. Mae, Milly, Abigail and especially Margaret were wonderful. Even Eliza grew on me. The author does a fantastic job of pacing and character development. There were many times my eyes filled with tears, some were sad tears, and were followed by happy tears. This truly is a wonderful book. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble

Friday, November 2, 2018

Wedding Belles: A Novel in Four Parts -- review

Wedding Belles

Authors: Melanie Jacobson, Jenny Proctor, Becca Wilhite, Brittany Larsen

Published: October 16, 2018

ISBN13:  978-1723912269

e-book/paperback: 356 pages

FTC FYI: I received an e-book from the authors, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Harper is an event planner with dreams of taking over the Charleston wedding scene . . . until she meets the biggest Bridezilla of her career. She needs the job, but the only way to keep it is to hire a temperamental chef with big dreams of his own.

Janie is a classical cellist booked to play a posh Charleston wedding. She’s excited to have the lucrative gig until the groom’s brother, Emmett, shows up and asks her to help him play a song he wrote for the happy couple. The only trouble? Emmett is her unrequited high school crush.

Lily has been Dahlia's best friend, partner-in-crime, and now her maid of honor . . . until suddenly there's no wedding, and she's left to clean up Dahlia's biggest mess of all. She's been friends with Deacon, the jilted groom, for just as long, and it's up to her rescue him after Hurricane Dahlia blows through.

Sutton is a photographer running from her past. Only the pleas from her best friend to photograph her wedding could bring Sutton back to Charleston. Her plan is to get in and get out before her ex knows she and their daughter are in town. At least it’s the plan until she meets Max, who turns out to be the safe place she didn’t know she was looking for.

Can each of these couples trust their growing chemistry, or are they on the verge of new disasters?


My review

Wedding Belles is an absolute treat from start to finish. I loved, loved, loved how this book was written and how the different parts tie together. It is so hard to pick a favorite because each part is very unique and delightful. There was one character in particular that makes an appearance in each book and (without revealing anything) I was pleased with the ending of her story. Because she was hard to like. Each author did a great job of telling a story that was related but different enough to stand alone. So fun and very well done! 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Melanie Jacobson: Goodreads / Website / Amazon author page
Jenny Proctor: Goodreads / Website / Amazon author page
Becca Wilhite: Goodreads / Website / Amazon author page
Brittany Larsen: Goodreads / Website / Amazon author page

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback

Monday, October 29, 2018

Kismet & Karma by Robin Daniels -- Release Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Release Blitz for
Kismet & Karma
By Robin Daniels

Learn more about this YA duology, about its characters, and enter the giveaway below...

Kismet & Karma
(Fate & Fortune #2)
By Robin Daniels
YA Contemporary Romance, Duology
ebook, 184 Pages
October 25th 2018

Bryce and Paige belong together, but they’ll never make it happen alone. When inspiration strikes in multiple ways, a friend decides it can’t be a coincidence; it’s a call to action. With a little luck, the help of fate, and the matchmaking plan of the century, Bryce and Paige just might get their happy ending.

You heard Paige and Bryce's version of the story in Fate & Fortune. Now join Eric, Amy, Cody, Kennedy and Genie to see how things really went down.

***This book completes the series. Book one can be read as a standalone, but book two cannot. Fate & Fortune should be read first.***


The Cast of Kismet & Karma

Meet the cast of Kismet & Karma – personalities revealed through their astrological signs!

Paige – Taurus (April 24th) Paige proved her reliability, patience and devotion during her relationship with Jason. Like a true Taurus, she hates the sudden changes and complications in her love life. Pair that with her stubborn streak, and it’s no wonder she needs help to recognize what’s right in front of her; a gift in the form of her greatest passion—novel worthy romance. 

Bryce – Virgo (September 15th) As a Virgo he’s loyal, kind and hardworking. He’s always thought his practicality and desire to stay out of the spotlight were good things. But now he wonders if they’ve only kept Paige from noticing him. Bryce has started to realize that if he wants to get the girl, he must cast aside his careful nature. Good thing he has a magic Genie to help him do just that.

Amy – Aquarius (February 11th) She’s original, independent, a good listener and cares deeply about others. This makes her a great best friend and the only voice of reason Paige will listen to. But Amy’s also inherited some of the less attractive Aquarius attributes; namely her tendency to be temperamental and emotionally withdrawn. Lucky for Amy, there’s a special guy who’s crazy about her, flaws and all. 

Eric – Scorpio (November 12th) Eric is a true friend. It’s one of the many positive traits held by Scorpios. He’s passionate, dedicated, resourceful and determined to help his baby sister. Of course, that might be easier if he wasn’t so distrusting and secretive. Let’s not forget the fact that he’s a tinsy bit jealous by nature. But hey, some women find that sort of thing attractive. And if that’s not enough, he’s got those dazzling dimples for backup.

Kennedy – Leo (July 31st) Ken’s a Leo, through and through. She loves theater, hanging with her friends, expensive clothes and being admired. But as the baby of the group, she often feels ignored or left out. It’s her absolute biggest pet peeve. Ken’s admittedly a little self-centered though she’s got a big, warm, generous heart. Fate will soon put her creativity and passion to good use, and she’s all for it.

Cody – Sagittarius (Despite his September 15th birthdate.) Clearly, Cody was born under the wrong sign. Extremely extroverted, he’s the total opposite of his very Virgo twin—definitely an honorary Sagittarius. Cody’s constant antics and humor are charming, which makes the group willing to overlook his impatient and sometimes tactless ways. Optimistic and enthusiastic, he’ll do anything to achieve his goal: getting Bryce to pull his head out of his butt and man up.

Genie – Aries (April 1st) As an April Fools baby, it’s fitting that Genie be the most essential part of such an outrageous plan. But like all Aries, she’s confident and optimistic that she can get the job done. Frustrated by people who don’t use their talents, she jumps at the chance to showcase her own. Sure, Bryce often brings out her aggressive, moody and impatient side, but she likes a good challenge. Plus, who’d have thought she’d gain so many good (and hot) friends?

This cast is super fun and you’re sure to get some good laughs. Fate and Fortune (Book One) shares the crazy week the as told by Paige and Bryce. But if you want the REAL story, check out Kismet and Karma (Book Two) to see how everything actually went down.

Other Books in the Series

Fate & Fortune
(Fate & Fortune #1)
By Robin Daniels
YA Contemporary Romance, Duology
ebook, 279 Pages
September 20th 2018

Bryce has liked Paige since they were little but has never had the guts to act on his feelings. Paige is devastated over being dumped by her long-time boyfriend and can’t seem to move on. They’re stuck in a rut, until fate decides to pull them out.

Both Paige and Bryce are talked into seeing a fortune teller at the annual Summer’s End Carnival. Neither of them buys into the mysticism, until the psychic’s predictions start coming true. Now, the most bizarre things are happening and there isn’t a clear explanation. Each of them must figure out if they’re the subject of an elaborate hoax or a bigger plan forged by destiny.

*This book is part one of two. Books should be read sequentially.


Upcoming Tour

The series will be on tour November 5 - 17!
If you're a blogger and interested in participating, click on the banner to go to the sign-up form.

About the Author


The most important thing to know about me is that I'm basically a sixteen-year-old trapped in an adult's body. It's why I feel such a great connection to all of my characters and why I love to write romantic comedy. The kid in me just wants to be goofy. Besides being a writer; I'm a wife, mother of five, volleyball enthusiast and home decorating guru. My list of favorites includes: reading, Christmas, pedicures, dessert, steak, Arizona winters and most importantly, Diet Coke.


Blitz Giveaway


1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon Card
Ends October 29th

Grab Our Button!

Friday, October 26, 2018

The Other Side of Heaven 2 - giveaway


FILM SYNOPSIS: 

THE OTHER SIDE OF HEAVEN 2: FIRE OF FAITH continues the epic true saga of Elder John H. Groberg's missionary adventures in Tonga as depicted in the eponymous Disney-distributed hit film of 2001. Whereas the original movie detailed Elder Groberg's first mission to Tonga in the 1950's as a 19 year-old bachelor, the sequel tells the inspiring true story of his return to Tonga in the 1960's with his wife and five young daughters to serve as President of the Tonga-Fiji Mission. 
Shortly after arriving in Tonga, John's wife, Jean, becomes pregnant with their sixth child, a boy who is born with a serious illness that threatens to end his tiny young life. In fact, the boy is born too weak to be evacuated to another country with medical care sufficient to properly diagnose and treat him. 

With their child's life on the line, John and Jean face the ultimate trial of their faith only to find themselves enfolded in the love and prayers of thousands of Tongans of various religions who unite in a nationwide fast for the health of their little boy. Barriers of inter-religious strife are broken down as all unite in hopes of a miracle that will save the Groberg baby boy's life, as well as that of the son of a non-Mormon Tongan minister who has been beaten within inches of death for religious reasons.
Director's message:

When I made the first "Other Side of Heaven" movie 17 years ago, I never imagined it would spawn an Academy Award winning actor's career, nor that it would be distributed in DVD by Walt Disney Home Entertainment.  Neither did I imagine that, all these years later, it would spawn an ambitious sequel.

Like the original film, this new movie tells the true story of Elder John H. Groberg's missionary adventures in Tonga, only this time he is returning with his wife, Jean, and their five young daughters.  His second mission proves just as dramatic and transformative as his first, as does the second  film depicting that mission.  Thanks in advance for watching!

Trailer link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pjj33lIZgUY
Publicity Photos: (click here)






a Rafflecopter giveaway