Friday, September 6, 2019

Entangled by Traci Hunter Abramson, Clair M. Poulson, Gregg Luke, Stephanie Black -- blog tour

Entangled 

Authors: Traci Hunter Abramson, Clair M. Poulson, Gregg Luke, Stephanie Black

Publisher: Covenant

Published: September 1st, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524410889

Paperback: 384 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from publisher. All comments and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads summary

Mystery and desperation collide in Entangled, a compilation of novellas that twist, turn, and terrify, penned by four popular suspense authors: Traci Hunter Abramson, Clair M. Poulson, Gregg Luke, and Stephanie Black.

A woman on the run from a man who is always one step ahead.

A mother who will stop at nothing to find her missing daughter.

A wife determined to discover the source of the illness attacking her husband.

A newlywed caught in a web of murder, unsure of whom to trust.


Featuring a chilling cast of villains, these stories tell the tale of strong heroines forced to make perilous snap decisions in their quest to outwit evil. With an abundance of intrigue and danger, each masterful mystery is sure to leave you breathless.


My review

WOW! I loved this book. Each story is full of danger, heart-pounding suspense, evil bad buys, and strong, capable good guys! I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I really liked the novella length for each story. This efficiently moved the plot along quickly. I never felt lacking in details or character depth. These are talented authors that really know how to pull in the reader, no matter the length of story. If you asked my favorite, that would be really hard. All were wonderful. Each unique and genuinely great stories. Each moved fast, which I liked.

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Amazon audio / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Amazon/Goodreads author pages

Traci Hunter Abramson / Clair M Poulson / Gregg Luke / Stephanie Black

Six Ingredients Meals with Six Sisters' Stuff - blog tour


About the book

With only six ingredients or less per recipe, making dinner has never been easier.
 
Six Sisters' Stuff is one of the most popular blogs for quick and easy cooking and entertaining at home for families. In their eighth cookbook, they tackle how to master meals for any cook with any skill level with more than 100 easy recipes made with incredible flavor combinations from just six ingredients or less.
 
From beginning cooks learning the basics to busy parents looking to save time in the kitchen, this cookbook is loaded with entrees, side dishes, and desserts. Whether it's a one-pot wings dish or a no-bake peanut butter bar this cookbook is a fool-proof solution to meal planning and features kid-friendly chapters such as Kid Favorites and Kids Can Cook.



My review

I absolutely love Six Sisters' stuff! Their recipes are easy to follow and the pictures make my mouth water. I have only been able to try a couple of these recipes so far and I have enjoyed each one immensely. I really loved the Slow Cooker Swiss Chicken. I am grateful for these easy to follow and delicious recipes. With my busy schedule, I really need something fast to prepare for dinner and these recipes help with that. I also appreciate the handy flap with the cover to save my spot so I am not flipping around trying to look for what I want to make!

5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book



Friday, August 9, 2019

The Lady in the Coppergate Tower by Nancy Campbell Allen

The Lady in the Coppergate Tower

Author: Nancy Campbell Allen

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: August 6th, 2019

ISBN: 9781629725543

350 pages

Steampunk romance

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Hazel Hughes has spent her life believing she is a Medium—someone who can talk to ghosts. But as of yet, that skill has remained frustratingly elusive. She is also suffering from a reoccurring childhood dream of someone who looks almost exactly like Hazel, but this dream version of herself is slowly going mad.

Sam MacInnes is a talented surgeon who runs in the highest social circles thanks to his family’s position and history. When Sam hires Hazel to assist him with his medical practice, he is immediately drawn to her intelligence, wit, and beauty.

Their potential relationship is derailed one evening when a mysterious count arrives in London and reveals to Hazel the truth about her past: she was abducted at birth and her twin sister has fallen dangerously ill.

Hazel agrees to travel to Romania with Count Petrescu in order to save her sister, and Sam insists on accompanying her. The count has secrets, though, and the journey grows more sinister with every mile that draws Hazel closer to her homeland. Even as her feelings for Sam become deeper and more complicated, she fears she might not survive the quest to save her sister with her heart intact, not to mention her life. She must learn to draw on gifts she doesn’t know she has if they are going to ever return home again.
 
Hazel and Sam must fight their way past dark magic, clockwork beasts, and their own insecurities as they try to reach her sister in the impenetrable Coppergate Tower before time runs out.


My review

I love this author's steampunk romances! This book is full of fascinating fantastic characters, exciting twists, and a lovely romance. And Rapunzel and steampunk are a great mix.  This book also offers a wonderful mystery to solve and there were moments that made me smile, Eugene especially. Another beautiful story. I loved it. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Twitter




Friday, July 12, 2019

A Proper Scandal by Esther Hatch

A Proper Scandal

Author: Esther Hatch

Publisher: Covenant

Published: May 2019

Paperback: 222 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Grace Sinclair has been callously cast out of her home. And though taken in as an orphaned child by the vicar and his wife, her unsurpassed beauty makes it impossible for her to remain in the vicar’s household—with two daughters of their own about to enter Society, the vicar and his wife see Grace as nothing but competition. Thankfully, Grace’s estranged Aunt Bell has agreed to take her in to her home in London. But Grace soon learns her situation has just gotten much worse.

It takes only a moment’s acquaintance for Grace to ascertain that her aunt has married a detestable rake. And Aunt Bell, recognizing the danger of having her lovely niece too near her husband, gives Grace an ultimatum: the young woman has two weeks to find a man to marry, after which she will be turned out. With no experience in the art of attracting a husband, Grace quickly realizes that a worthy suitor might not be so easy to ensnare.
 


My review

First of all, this cover is beautiful. It really sets the tone for the book, and what a wonderful book it is! The title is intriguing too, how can a scandal be proper? I absolutely loved it. It is so charming and Grace is a fantastic character. Nate is great too, a very patient man to be sure. Grace had me smiling quite a bit, but I enjoyed her immensely. I couldn't turn pages fast enough, all while not wanting the story to end. Very well done. I can't wait for more from this talented author.

5 out of 5 stars. I love reading books that leave me smiling at the end and very glad I read it!

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads

Thursday, July 11, 2019

The Redgrave Murders by A. L. Sowards -- blog tour/giveaway

The Redgrave Murders

Author: A. L. Sowards

Publisher: Covenant

Published: July 2019

ISBN13: 9781524409456

Paperback: 260 pages

FYC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Loss is inevitable, as Evie Hampton knows all too well. But despite losing her mother to cancer and her older brother to a war, she knows she’s one of the lucky ones. After all, she still has her father, a distinguished professor of medieval history. And she has Gary Redhawk, the man she loves despite the emotional scars he carries from the Second World War—and despite her father’s opposition to their relationship.

When a freak accident sends Evie’s car careening off the road, she chalks it up to poor maintenance, or sheer bad luck making another appearance in her life. Little does she know a host of hardships is just beginning—the car was her father’s, and the brake lines were deliberately cut. Someone wants them dead—but why? All fingers point to Gary, a man with a troubled past and no solid alibi, but Evie is unwilling to believe he’s involved. Determined to uncover the truth, she begins to piece together a startling picture of deception and vice. But as she closes in on the truth, it is clear that someone is determined to silence her—and the next attempt on her life may be a deadly success.
 


My review

I was very excited to read this book, as I have enjoyed all the books I have read from this author. When I started reading, it felt like I was right there with the characters, like watching an old movie from the '40s. Right away the reader is caught up in a web of suspense and the author does an excellent job of setting up the story. I loved the way each chapter started, as we get to know Evie's brother through his letters to her during the war. Evie is a fantastic character. I also enjoyed the inclusion of the Native American culture with Gary's character. This is an excellent book full of twists and page-turning suspense.

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 7, 2019

The Heart of a Vicar by Sarah M Eden -- blog tour/giveaway

The Heart of a Vicar

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 2019

Paperback/e-book: 268 pages

ISBN13: 9781524408619

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Young love is all too fleeting, as Harold Jonquil painfully discovered years ago when Sarah Sarvol, the niece of a neighboring landowner, captured his heart. After an idyllic few weeks in the throes of blossoming love, reality intervened. They could have no future. Following their disastrous parting, Harold attempted to push aside thoughts of love and regret, but Sarah has never left his heart. Now, years later, he has achieved his lifelong aspiration of becoming the local vicar. However, the role proves more difficult than he imagined. He feels hollow and uninspired—until the most important person in his past returns, challenging him as no one ever has.

When Sarah’s ailing uncle summons her back to the family estate in England, there is only one person from her past she is reluctant to see again: Harold Jonquil, the only man who has ever claimed her heart. But when she comes face-to-face with her former beau, she hardly recognizes the aloof and dull man before her. She is determined to help Harold rediscover the passion he once felt toward his chosen profession. Soon, despite their exasperation with each other, they cannot deny the stirring of feelings long buried—but is it too late for second chances?


My review

Sarah Eden is one amazing author. Every book of hers is a treasure. I absolutely love the Jonquil series of books. Each brother is unique and special in their own way and the author does a fantastic job of expressing that. I loved the different side of Harry that we saw. Sarah was wonderful too. Everything about this book was enjoyable and superbly written. 

5 out of 5 stars. Another wonderful offering from one of my favorite authors. 

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Facebook


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Flight of the Raven by Morgan L Busse -- blog tour

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Flight of the Raven
(The Ravenwood Saga #2)
By Morgan L. Busse
Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 352 Pages
April 30th 2019 by Bethany House Publishers

Selene Ravenwood, once the heir to House Ravenwood, is now an exile. On the run and free of her family's destiny, Selene hopes to find the real reason her family was given the gift of dreamwalking. But first she must adapt to her new life as wife to Lord Damien Maris, the man she was originally assigned to kill. 

While adjusting to her marriage and her home in the north, her power over dreams begins to grow. As the strongest dreamwalker to exist in ages, her expanding power attracts not only nightmares but the attention of the Dark Lady herself.

With a war looming on the horizon and a wicked being after her gift, Selene is faced with a choice: embrace the Dark Lady's offer, or search out the one who gave her the gift of dreamwalking. One path offers power, the other offers freedom. But time is running out, and soon her choice will be made for her.


Other Books in the Series

Mark of the Raven
(The Ravenwood Saga #1)
By Morgan L. Busse
Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 352 Pages
November 6th 2018 by Bethany House Publishers

Lady Selene is the heir to the Great House of Ravenwood and the secret family gift of dreamwalking. As a dreamwalker, she can enter a person’s dreams and manipulate their greatest fears or desires. For the last hundred years, the Ravenwood women have used their gift of dreaming for hire to gather information or to assassinate.

As she discovers her family’s dark secret, Selene is torn between upholding her family’s legacy–a legacy that supports her people–or seeking the true reason behind her family’s gift.

Her dilemma comes to a head when she is tasked with assassinating the one man who can bring peace to the nations, but who will also bring about the downfall of her own house.

One path holds glory and power, and will solidify her position as Lady of Ravenwood. The other path holds shame and execution. Which will she choose? And is she willing to pay the price for the path chosen?


My review
This series is amazing! I instantly cared for and loved these characters. There are so many crazy twists and turns. I was left breathless. There is wonderful character growth and development throughout. The elements of this book are fascinating and well written.

About the Author


Morgan L. Busse is a writer by day and a mother by night. She is the author of the Follower of the Word series and the steampunk series The Soul Chronicles. She is a Christy and INSPY Award finalist and won the Carol Award in 2018 for best in Christian speculative fiction. During her spare time she enjoys playing games, taking long walks, and dreaming about her next novel.


Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive print copies of Mark of the Raven, Flight of the Raven, and a $20 Amazon gift card
2 winner winners will receive print copies of Mark of the Raven and Flight of the Raven
- US only
- Ends June 7, 2019

Grab Our Button!