Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Sleeping Beauty and the Beast by Melissa Lemon -- Combined Review


Sleeping Beauty & the Beast by Lemon_COVER ONLYSleeping Beauty and the Beast

Author: Melissa Lemon

Publisher: self

Published: June 20, 2014

ISBN13: 978-1499788808

Paperback/Kindle: 300 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

Trapped in a cursed sleep, the only experiences Princess Eglantine has are the ones in her dreams. There she meets Prince Henry of Fallund, a neighboring kingdom on the brink of war. Meanwhile, Prince Henry's brother Duncan discovers a vicious beast imprisoned for murder. Captivated by her, he works to free her from both the prison bars she's locked behind and the ones surrounding her heart and mind. Sleeping Beauty and the Beast reinvents and seamlessly intertwines the classic fairy tales Sleeping Beauty and Beauty and the Beast.

Mindy's Review

I have been a fan of Melissa's for a long time.  Her books are fabulous.  Her most recent retelling was Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem, which I loved.  I loved this unique retelling combination of Sleeping Beauty and Beauty and the Beast.  Melissa did a fantastic job with this story.  The characters are intriguing and the story is very enjoyable.  I loved how beauty was only seen by Prince Henry and I really loved how the beast was tamed.  Henry was the only one that could see Eglantine, and that made for some funny and then some uncomfortable scenes for Henry, but the best part was, he didn't care.  Many thought he was losing his mind, including his twin brother Duncan.  Duncan ended up being one of my favorite characters.  His willingness to see the beast in a different way, was very enduring.  

The story switched from Eglantine's point of view while she "slept", to the beast's, which was mostly Duncan visiting her and trying to figure out how to help her.  The fact that the beast was a woman, was a very cool twist.  I especially enjoyed the ending and how it all wrapped up.  

4 out of 5 stars.  If you like fairytales and retellings, you will love this story.  The ending is so satisfying, it will leave you with smiling.  

Sheila's Review


Sleeping Beauty and the Beast...two fairy tales woven into one. I absolutely love a well written twisted fairy tale and Melissa Lemon has always done a great job of doing this in the past. I loved Cinder and Ella and also Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem. Sleeping Beauty and the Beast shows again why Melissa has this fairy tale "telling" down to a science. She takes old stories and makes them into a different story. Once familiar characters are now brand new. 
I loved how Sleeping Beauty was written. We hear her tell her own story, even though she's asleep and she can move about in her dreams. This is how she meets Prince Henry. At first he is the only one that can see Princess Eglantine as she floats around in her ethereal form. They become close as they learn to talk, listen and support each other through their trials. 
The Beast part of this fairy tale is unique in that "The Beast" is a woman, not a man. Prince Henry's brother, Duncan, becomes intrigued and obsessed with the wild woman accused of murder. Being different from his brother and how he views the royal life, Duncan goes out of his way to free this agonized woman both physically and mentally. This part of the story truly touched me as Duncan never gave up on this woman that others were so ready to put to death. 

Sleeping Beauty and the Beast will challenge the old telling of these tales. You will find yourself quickly enveloped in the lives of all four characters. The ending will leave you happy and fulfilled. This clean read is suitable for any tween, teen and adult reader who loves a fairy tale with a perfect ending.

Author/Book Links






Online BioBio: Melissa Lemon is the author of two other fairy tale retellings: Cinder and Ella and Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem. She is also the author of a sweet romance called Blue Sky. Writing is just one of her passions. She also loves music, reading, baking and exercising. She is wife to a patient man, mother to three spunky girls, and warden to a tolerant cat named Matilda.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Son of War, Daughter of Chaos by Janette Rallison -- Book Blast


Son of War
Son of War, Daughter of Chaos
Aislynn is accustomed to watching for the enemy. Her parents instructed her from the time she was young to look for the signs: people with greater than normal strength, eyes that can glow green, and have the ability to jump long distances. Over the years, Aislynn has come to view her parents’ fears as quirks—things that get in the way of having a normal high school life.
When Aislynn’s mother dies under suspicious conditions, her father doubles his restrictions. But all his precautions can’t stop the boy with glowing green eyes from finding Aislynn. She realizes too late she’s been drafted into an ancient Egyptian war, whether she’s prepared or not.

Janette RallisonAuthor Janette Rallison
Janette Rallison is old. Don’t ask how old, because it isn’t polite. Let’s just say she’s older than she’d like to be and leave it at that.
Janette lives in Chandler, Arizona with her husband, five children and enough cats to classify her as “an eccentric cat lady.” She did not do this on purpose. (The cats, that is; she had the children on purpose.) Every single one of the felines showed up on its own and refuses to leave. Not even the family’s fearless little Westie dog can drive them off.
Since Janette has five children and deadlines to write books, she doesn’t have much time left over for hobbies. But since this is the internet and you can’t actually check up to see if anything on this site is true, let’s just say she enjoys dancing, scuba diving, horse back riding and long talks with Orlando Bloom. (Well, I never said he answers back.)

book blast button



Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/17/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Dreamosphere by Laura Stoddard -- Blog Tour

The Dreamosphere

Author: Laura Stoddard

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: July 8th, 2014

ISBN13: 9781462114443

Paperback: 208 pages

Goodreads Summary

What if dreams don’t disappear when we wake up? Haunted by her sister’s death, Gwen Stoker takes solace in her web of dreams—the Dreamosphere. But when someone begins destroying it, Gwen must find the culprit—or risk losing all her happy thoughts and feelings forever! Dreams come to life in this fantastical children’s tale!

My Review

I enjoyed the idea behind this book, someone has been breaking in to her dreams and changing her personality.  I felt bad for Gwen and all that she has gone through, you can tell right away that something is off with her.  I was glad that the author eased the reader into her life.  I liked the mystery behind her "secret" and what happened to her to make her the way she is.  She is having a hard time in school and when an old friend starts to visit her in her dreams to help her, it seemed to me she wanted to be in the dream world instead of the real world.  I did enjoy the events that take place in the story.  I was happy when she started figuring things out, but thought it was wrapped up too quickly, but was glad when this unhappy girl with no friends, starting getting some answers and was able to make friends and be happy. 



EXCERPT
"What do you think happens to your dreams after you wake up?"
Gwen shrugged distractedly, too disoriented by her sudden arrival in the remarkable setting to focus. "I dunno. They disappear?"
The unblinking gray eyes of her young companion flashed as she leaned forward. "Incorrect. Every dream you've ever had still exists. All of them. They reside in a dimension called the Dreamosphere. It's where we are right now, as a matter of fact. Each dream basically exists as its own world, or dream-orb. There are thousands and thousands of them, connected like drops of dew on a gigantic spider web. Every dream you've ever had, Gwen. They're all up here. And you can visit them any time you want."



Author Bio: Laura Stoddard was born in Idaho and spent her formative years running amok in the great outdoors. She received her bachelors degree in English Literature from Arizona State University. After being rejected from the masters program for creative writing she decided that she didn't need a masters degree to tell her she could write, so she started really dedicating her time to finishing the story she'd started months earlier, with the goal of writing a complete novel, and getting it published. The result is her debut novel, The Dreamosphere, for which her own vivid, bizarre, and incomprehensible dreams provided the inspiration. Laura is an adrenaline junkie and will try anything once--or twice--or maybe three times. She can already check whitewater rafting, going down in a shark cage, and skydiving (three times) off of her list. Oh, and getting Lasik. It was five minutes of terror. She enjoys hiking, rowing, reading classic literature, embarking on new adventures and hobbies, volunteering regularly, and spending time with family. She currently resides in Phoenix, Ariz.


Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble 

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Diamond Rings are Deadly Things by Rachelle J. Christensen -- Blog Tour/Giveaway


Diamond Rings Deadly.fDiamond Rings are Deadly Things


Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: July 8th, 2014

ISBN13: 9781609078614

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an 
honest review.



Goodreads Summary

Adrielle Pyper knows how to plan a wedding, and she's especially good at pleasing bridezillas. But when her biggest client and best friend is married just three days before the wedding, Adri's world falls apart. She moves to the resort town of Sun Valley, Idaho, and starts from scratch. Thanks to Adri's impeccable tast and unique style, she lands two celebrity clients, and her business seems headed for success—that is, until someone vandalizes the specialty wedding dresses she imported from overseas. The race is on to uncover a secret hidden within the yards of satin and lace before Adri becomes the next victim.

With a delightful blend of mystery, toe-curling kisses, humor, and spine-tingling thrills, Diamond Rings are Deadly Things is a romantic suspense novel that will keep you turning pages long into the night.

My Review

I am so thrilled to be a part of this blog tour.  This book is an absolute delight!  I loved the characters, the mystery, the romance, the humor, the recipes, the crafts (and I don't craft).  Such a fun book with excellent writing by its author and entertainment all around.  Adri is so much fun and I loved her attention to detail and preciseness.  The way she went about her day and planned her weddings (even under loads of stress and a sad past) was fun to read.  I loved the chapter headings too with all the fun tips.  This book reminds me a lot of Josi S. Kilpack's Sadie Hoffmiller series, which is a favorite of mine.  Although they are different ages, I think Sadie and Adri have a lot in common.  That being said, Adri can stand on her own!  I also enjoyed the Ketchum/Sun Valley setting and small town feel and the careful details and expression about things.  I enjoyed how Rachelle didn't throw all the back story and previous events before the book began, at the reader all at once.  I loved easing in to the story and welcomed the addition of past events told throughout.  It was a great way to keep me reading and reading!

Pick up your copy today!  I know you will like it as much as I did.

Purchase Links


Author Links


Christensen, RachelleAbout the Author

Rachelle J. Christensen is a mom of four cute kids. She has an amazing husband, three cats, and five chickens. Her first novel, Wrong Number was awarded Outstanding Book of the Year from the League of Utah Writers and was also a 2010 Whitney Finalist. Her second suspense novel, Caller ID was released March 2012. She is also the author of a nonfiction book, Lost Children: Coping with Miscarriage for Latter Day Saints. Rachelle enjoys singing and songwriting, playing the piano, running, motivational speaking, and of course reading. Visit herwww.rachellewrites.blogspot.com to learn more about upcoming books.










a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

The Husband Maker by Karey White -- Book Blast



The Husband Maker by Karey White
Charlotte’s a girl with nicknames. She may not love being called Charles or Chuck, but the hardest nickname to take is the one she was given in college, the one that’s followed her now for too many years. They call her “the husband maker” and sadly, it fits. Every guy she’s dated since high school has become his next girlfriend’s husband. Not hers. Not three girlfriends down the road. The next.
Is she doing something wrong or is she just cursed?
When Kyle Aldsworth enters the picture and sweeps her off her feet, Charlotte begins to hope that maybe she’s not destined to be single forever. A senator’s son with political aspirations of his own, Kyle’s wealthy, handsome, and in need of a wife. Will Charlotte be disappointed yet again, or will she finally be able to make a husband for herself?
Get your copy of The Husband Maker for just $3.99!
Excerpt
I’d always heard the view from Top of the Mark was exceptional. When San Francisco Life listed the top ten places to view the skyline at night, Top of the Mark was ranked number three, so when the invitation to Harrison’s wedding arrived, I finally had an excuse to take in the view for myself.
Stupid, stupid me. I should have taken a cab up the steep hills to 999 California Street, hopped on the elevator to the nineteenth floor, and looked out the windows. I could have come with or without makeup, and I could have worn jeans and a t-shirt. If I’d brought Mia or Aleena with me, we could have had a nice dinner or dessert. If I’d brought Angus, we could have had both. Since Top of the Mark was built at the crest of Nob Hill, I could have snapped a jaw-dropping photo or two with my iPhone and made the sparkling skyline my screen saver.
But no. I had to come see it on the night my old boyfriend was marrying a 49ers cheerleader named Nicki, who’d had more remodeling than an episode of Property Brothers. She looked like a Who’s Who of Hollywood parts—Scarlett’s nose, Angelina’s lips, and Kim’s cheekbones. Her bias-cut dress clung to her other (ahem) purchased body parts and made me feel very un-girly in comparison.
“Nicki, this is Charlotte.” Harrison looked me level in the eye, and for the first time all evening, I felt an inch of relief that things hadn’t worked out between us. Five-eleven is pretty average for a guy, and Harrison towered over Nicki, even in her stilettos. But the only way he’d ever have been able to look down at me the way he’d looked down at Nicki when they’d exchanged their vows was if he’d stood on a stool. I know it’s not important, and it makes me sound completely shallow, but I read a romance once where the leading man “gazed down at his true love with tender eyes.” Someday, I’d like a guy to gaze down at me with tender eyes. And I’d rather not have to be standing in a hole for that to happen.
“It’s fabulous to finally meet you.” Nicki’s voice was chirpy, and her lips didn’t move quite right. “I want to thank you for breaking his heart”—she puckered up and baby-talked—“so I could put it back together.” She pulled him down by his tuxedo lapel to kiss his cheek, then wiped the red smear away with her acrylic-nailed thumb.
Well, this was awkward. And I wasn’t the only one feeling it. Harrison’s eyes begged me not to set the record straight.
You see, Harrison had broken up with me. “I’m not ready for the whole settling down with one woman thing,” he’d said four short months ago. “You’re ready to get married, and I won’t be ready for that scene for years.”
Maybe he’d meant dog years.
“Congratulations, you two. You make a much better couple than we ever did,” I said, although it stung to admit it.
“Did Will come? I saw Angus a little while ago,” Harrison said. Will is my twin brother. No, his name is not Wilbur, although we’ve been asked if our parents had a thing for Charlotte’s Web more times than I can count.  His name is William, and he’s the reason I ended up dating Harrison in the first place.
Our families lived on the same street in Fairfield, but I barely remembered Harrison, who was two years older than us. Nearly a year ago, Will and Harrison had been at the same concert, and Harrison had asked Will if his little sister was still available. Will wasn’t sure if he meant me or McKayla, but since McKayla was already married, he gave Harrison my number. On our first date, Harrison admitted he hadn’t been asking about me, but he was decent enough to say he was glad for the mix-up. And the rest is history.
A short and tragic history, but history nonetheless.
“Will and his wife are in D.C. right now interviewing.” I stepped on my tiptoes and scanned the room over the groom’s head. “I didn’t know Angus was here.”
“I talked to him earlier, but he might have left already,” Harrison said.
“Aaahhh!”
I nearly knocked over a waiter as I jumped away from Nicki’s scream. “Look, Kitten. It’s Baxter Kensington. I didn’t think he’d actually come.”
Kitten? Did she really call him that? Harrison’s red face confirmed that yes, she had. “He plays for the 49ers,” he explained, and I nodded.
“I’d better go and make room for the celebrities,” I said, and Harrison grinned. He’d always appreciated my sarcasm, and his cute grin jabbed at my not-quite-healed heart.
“Thanks for coming.” He pulled me into a hug while his bride arranged her dress to best flatter her cleavage and patted the sides of her platinum fauxhawk. “Are things good with us?” he said quietly in my ear.
I pulled away. “Oh sure.”
“I was worried—”
“Nothing to worry about. Go. Be happy.”
“Thanks, Charlotte.”
I turned away, my eyes stinging, and nearly barreled into one of the most stunning specimens of athleticism I’d ever seen. His pale yellow shirt and silvery gray suit contrasted beautifully with his dark skin. No wonder the bride was swooning about someone other than the groom. Poor Harrison looked like a little boy in comparison.
Ah, one of the hazards of marrying a cheerleader.
Through slightly blurred vision, I saw Harrison put his arm around Nicki. Not too long ago, I’d thought that would be me, though the venue and guest list would have been drastically different.
Husband Maker Tour
Karey WhiteAuthor Karey White
Karey White grew up in Utah, Idaho, Oregon, and Missouri. She attended Ricks College and Brigham Young University. Her first novel, Gifted, was a Whitney Award Finalist.
She loves to travel, read, bake treats, and spend time with family and friends. She and her husband are the parents of four great children. She teaches summer creative writing courses to young people and is currently working on her next book.



book blast button



$75 Book Blast Giveaway
$75 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/8/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 14, 2014

A Perfect Secret by Donna Hatch -- Grand Finale

To post this Grand Finale and add your Social Media to the Rafflecopter, 
email us at PrismBookTours(at)gmail.com with "A Perfect Secret" in the subject line.
A themed book tour through Prism Book Tours.

It's the THE REGENCY TOUR Grand Finale for
A Perfect Secret
by Donna Hatch

Did you miss any of these fabulous tour stops? Here are snippets from each of them:

Launch
What do you hope readers take with them when they read your book?
I hope they will believe that love is real and it can help us find the courage to do what we believe is right. I also hope they will question what they think they know about people and let go of prejudice, and even help them forgive those who have hurt them.

Cherry Mischievous - Excerpt
Six-year-old Christian Amesbury stood in the churchyard, trying not to crush the flowers he’d brought to put in front of the family crypt where they’d laid his brother to rest, the brother he loved, the brother he killed. Alone in every way, he stood, shaking, as his last taunting words to Jason echoed in his head. Christian had wanted to prove he was brave and strong. Instead, his brother, best friend, and advocate, was dead.

Kelly P's Blog - Historical Romance, the Perfect Escape
In a recent survey, 80% of people who called themselves avid readers listed historical novels as one of their top three favorite types of books to read. I wasn’t really surprised, since historical fiction, especially historical romance fiction, is my favorite genre. But it got me thinking; why the broad appeal?

I Am A Reader - Jane Austen's Influence
Who is the greatest fiction author of all time? That question would no doubt be greeted by a host of answers and responses, and would largely depend on the type of fiction each person enjoys reading. For many of us who enjoy historical romance novels, our resounding answer is: Jane Austen.
Jane Austen

"Historical romances are pretty much my favorite (type of romances) especially the ones that get it all right- from the rather formal language, to the courting and the calling upon and the mannerisms. You get the picture, right? Well, A Perfect Secret lived up to all of it!"

Bookworm Lisa - British Tea
I am a total history geek. I freely admit this. My geekiness started way back when I was a child pouring over the pages of the Little House series, both the books and the TV series, among other historical stories. Later, it grew out of necessity when I decided I wanted my stories to take place during Regency England. Obviously, this means copious amounts of research. But research has grown into an extreme fascination all its own.
Review
"The writing in this book is wonderful. Donna has done a wonderful job at pulling me in the story. Her characters are believable and I actually cared about what happened to them."

"I really, really enjoyed this book. It was an awesome escape from reality and I literally devoured this book in a day. I love when that happens."

Mel's Shelves - Review
"This is a clean read, but be prepared for serious issues rather than fluff. I loved it, though, and had a hard time putting it down. This is the third book in this series but I thought it worked well as a stand alone. You can tell there's history between the characters but it doesn't interfere with the storyline of this book. This is a series I plan to read from the beginning so I can get more of a feel for all the Amesbury siblings, their relationships with each other and how they each find their happy ending!"

Angels With Attitude Book Reviews - Regency Ladies Clothing
The Regency era brought dramatic changes in women's fashion. Those huge hoop skirts and pinched waistlines popular in the Elizabethan Era disappeared in favor of the Roman style gown with high waistlines and lighter fabrics.

The Written Adventure - Interview
6) What made you decide to write in the Regency England?
Honestly, when I write my first rough draft of a historical romance, I wasn’t sure what time period it should take place in. So I did some research into the manners and mores, the clothing and fashions, what was going on politically. I eventually narrowed it down to either the Regency or Victorian Era. But in the end, I chose Regency for two reasons. First, it was a good niche market. A lot of people know what Regency means, especially if I add, the time of Jane Austen. It’s sort of an instant “in.” Secondly, and probably most importantly, I love the people who lived in that time. The people who lived then were so driven by duty and honor. In Regency England, duty and honor were everything. If a man said he’d do something, especially if he gave his word, he meant it, and others could count him to follow through, even at great personal cost.

     “Let him stay,” Jason urged again. “He’s not bothering anyone.”
Grant let out a snort. “You’re too soft on him.”
     Cole, highest in the tree and holding a paper he’d rolled up into the shape of a spyglass, let out a long-suffering sigh. “You can be the cabin boy. Ahoy there!”
     A ship, today.
     From his perch on one of the lower tree limbs, Jason leaned down and held out a hand. “Come on up, Chris. I’ll help you.”
     Christian shook his head. “I can do it by myself.”
Can we expect to hear more from these characters in the near future?
There are four brothers in the Amesbury family, and three of them have stories already written so I have one more to go. I’ve actually started the fourth brother’s story and he’s really a tough nut. I still don’t know most of his secrets. He may or may not tell me very many of them by the end of the story. There are also two sisters in the family whose stories I have loosely planned.

Deal Sharing Aunt - Excerpt
     He’d done this. He’d torn apart the family. It was his fault. Mama cried constantly and some days didn’t get out of bed. Father never smiled. Two months later, Cole and Jared left for the sea. Jason was gone forever. Grant never spoke to him, only shot him murderous glares that left Christian constantly looking over his shoulder, half expecting to see a knife plunging toward his back.
     Christian squared his shoulders and strode with dignity he didn’t feel past gravestones and monuments. As he passed Grant at the gate, his brother spoke his first words to Christian in three months.

     “I wish you were the one who had died.”

     "This book adds the twist of a jilted lover, turned rescuer, turned true love...OH. SO. GOOD!
     And what one woman will do to protect her family's name and reputation...becomes her own "perfect secret."
     Don't miss out on this one!"

Colorimetry - Marriage in Regency England
     Ah, the ringing of wedding bells! A lovely, romantic sound. It always conjures in my mind true love and happily ever after.
     The hope of a bright future awaiting the couple probably isn't much different now than it was centuries past. But the way people married has evolved over the years.
     In Regency England, a couple could get married one of three ways: they could marry in a church after the reading of the banns, they could obtain a common license, or they could marry by special license. They could also elope and go to Scotland, but that’s a topic for different post.

The Bookish Fairy - Excerpt
     From the moment she first saw Christian Amesbury, Genevieve knew she’d never love another man. It wasn’t merely the shy, sweet smile he gave when their eyes met across the room, or the intensity of his gaze as they were introduced, or even his stunning good looks akin to the mythical Adonis. No, there was something supremely familiar about him, and when he finally asked her to dance and she placed her hand in his, an almost audible click sounded from inside Genevieve, as if fate had placed a key piece into the puzzle of her life.
     By the end of the evening, she’d vowed she’d marry him and no other.

Wishful Endings - Review
"If you enjoy reading this genre, then I would recommend A Perfect Secret. It was sweet, engaging, intense, and included everything you would expect from a Regency romance."

"I love the stories about these brothers!! I must admit, I was curious about the brother they always called "Perfectly Perfect Christian." I imagined him to be almost a saint and maybe destined to become a priest. However, I was surprised to learn that there are reasons for him to be the way he is and he's not as perfect as everyone thinks. He's still a great guy, but he's human and humans make mistakes and are often hard on themselves."

Mommynificent - Review
"The emotions the characters go through in the book are heart-wrenching and are extremely well-written. It was easy to immerse myself in the lives of the characters and really feel what they were feeling."

Pieces of Whimsy - REGENCY QUIZ
If you love to read Regency romance novels, you probably have picked up a few facts and some terminology along the way. But how much do you really know about the Regency Era? Take this quiz to find out. Email the answers to me and I'll enter you in a contest to win a free digital story you can read on your smart phone or ebook reader. Email your answers to donnahatch29@gmail.com.

"Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and the characters had a large part in that. I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes clean regency romance or historical romance."

     "A Perfect Secret was romantic, scary, and an all around good book.
     I love a good historical romance especially when I know its going to be a good one. I’ve read Donna Hatch before and she doesn’t disappoint. I know that I’ll be attached to the characters, their will be tension between two lovers that will be steamy yet sweet, and a story that will stay with you forever."

     “Of course it’s her concern.” Wickburgh began swinging his walking stick, narrowly missing a flower-filled vase atop a Chippendale side table. “You see my dear, your father was about to find the means by which to settle a debt with me.”
     Genevieve narrowed her gaze. “I doubt very much my father owes you a gambling debt since he seldom gambles.”
     “Oh, but he did, a wager of the worst kind—with fate.”



Southern Chelle - Review
"This was an excellent example of regency books without the risqué that is included in a lot of them. It was a quicker read a couple of days, reading an hour or so a day. The story will capture your heart and you will fall in love with Christian and Genevieve and the Amesbury family just like I did."

"From the moment I began reading this book, I was convinced that this was “my kind of book.” And indeed it is. There is no profanity nor bedrooms scenes–I am so grateful for that! It is set in the 1800′s in England, and it is a romance that includes all the elements that most readers would require in a historical romance in this vein."

A Perfect Secret  (Rogue Hearts, #3)
A Perfect Secret
(Rogue Hearts #3)
by Donna Hatch

Adult Historical Romance
Paperback, 348 Pages
December 14 2013              

Desperate to protect her father from trial and death, Genevieve breaks off her engagement with Christian Amesbury and marries a blackmailer. After a year of marriage, she flees her husband's violent domination only to have fate bring her back to Christian. Just when she thinks she's started a new life of safety and solitude, her husband tracks her down, stalks her, and threatens everyone she loves.

Still brokenhearted over Genevieve's betrayal a year ago, Christian can't believe she's come back into his life--and worse, that she's done it on the anniversary of his brother's death, a death that haunts him. Though tempted to throw her back into the river where he found her, he can't leave her at the mercy of the terrifying man she married.

When her husband torments Genevieve and puts his family in danger, Christian will do anything to protect those he loves...anything except give Genevieve another chance to break his heart.

My passion for writing began at the tender age of 8 and I’ve been hooked ever since. Of course, I also wanted to be an actress and a ballerina, but one out of three isn’t bad, right?

In between caring for six children, (7 counting my husband), my day job, my free lance editing and copy writing, and my many volunteer positions, I manage to carve out time to indulge in my writing obsession. After all, it IS an obsession. My family is more patient and supportive than I deserve.


Tour-Wide Giveaway

- Grand Prize: $20 Amazon gift card and an ebook (INT) or print copy (US Only) of A Perfect Secret OR The Stranger She Married (winner's choice)
- 5 ebooks of A Perfect Secret
- Open Internationally
- Ends July 20th

Prism Book Tours

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Tortured Souls by Kimber Leigh Wheaton -- Book Blitz/Sale

To post this Blitz (html) and add your Social Media to the Rafflecopter, email us at prismbooktours(at)gmail.com with "Tortured Souls" in the subject line!

We're spreading the word about the fabulous ebook price of Tortured Souls by Amazon Bestselling Author, Kimber Leigh Wheaton. Only $0.99 through July 20th!!! 

Tortured Souls
(The Orion Circle #1)
Kimber Leigh Wheaton
YA Paranormal Romance
June 29th 2014 by Sea Dragon Press
Kindle Edition, 227 pages

Sometimes Rest in Peace isn't an option

Kacie Ramsey sees ghostsóand it's ruining her life. Her mother left, her father blames her, and no matter how hard she tries, she can't keep the ghosts away. Now a new power has emerged. Nightly visions of grisly murders and a relentless predator draw her to the brink of insanity.

When the phantom appears at a party, Kacie's longtime crush, Logan, saves her. He invites her to join the Orion Circle, a group of supernatural hunters with chapters in schools all over the country. Through the Circle, Kacie learns to embrace her spiritual powers, and for the first time in her life she feels in control rather than a victim.

But the Foxblood Demon will not give up so easily. A demented serial killer in life who trapped the souls of the thirteen children he murdered, imprisoning them within the walls of his mansion. Now in death, he plots his return while drawing power from the pure souls of the children. He recognizes something in Kacie he's never seen beforeóa medium powerful enough to provide a vessel for his tainted soul.

Kacie can't ignore the tortured souls of the children crying out to her every night. With Logan at her side, she will fight the Foxblood Demon. But can they banish this powerful phantom, or will Kacie lose not only her body, but her eternal soul to the monster.

Purchase from: Amazon

Excerpt from Chapter One ~ Something Wicked

Deafening music shakes the walls, vibrates the floor, and pounds a rhythmic beat in my skull. Gyrating bodies turn every bit of space into a dance floor. Sweat breaks out on my forehead, and my heart races. Strobe lights flash, teens dance with wild abandon. Shrieking laughter bubbles around me.

ìGotta take a leak!î my dance partner shouts over the music.

He races off, weaving through the thick wall of bodies. Mike or Mick or somethingóI didnít catch the name he yelled when he asked me to dance. Doesnít matter, he wasnít my type at all. I mean, the guy guzzled beer while dancing. After grabbing a diet soda from a nearby cooler, Iím about to search for my friends when a dark feeling washes over me. My feet refuse to move, and I stand rooted in place.

The once loud music is now hollow in my ears. I gasp for breath, choking on the lack of air around me. Tiny hairs on the nape of my neck rise to attention. Something wicked is behind me. I know Iím the only one here who feels a difference in air pressure. An oppressive weight presses against my skin, making me feel as though Iím underwater. I blink a few times, watching the people around me continue their manic dancingóoblivious to the bogeyman that just entered the room.

Afraid to turn around, I stand my ground, sipping my soda. I pretend Iím unaware of the shuffling noises behind me, sounds I shouldnít be able to hear over the blaring music. Swaying my hips, I hum along with the music, trying to ignore the ominous presence crushing me.

Whatever it is, I canít let it know I sense it. Evil pours off it in waves, blanketing the entire room. I close my eyes, willing the creature to go away, return to whatever mausoleum or grave it calls home. Malevolent spirits feed on fear. I must control mine at all costs.

When I open my eyes, Iím gazing into the face of an angel. Not literally, but he may as well be in my book. Logan glances behind me, and I know he sees the spirit. He doesnít gasp or scream or faint dead away. His golden eyes narrow as though heís in a staring contest with the specter.

ìYouíre not welcome here,î Logan says to the presence behind me. He meets my gaze again. ìYou know itís there.î

Itís not a question but a statement. I nod, a weak bob of my head, unsure whether this intimate moment with my dream guy is a good thing or not. Meeting over a nasty phantom is not my idea of romantic. And yet I canít stop staring at the way his blue t-shirt hugs his broad shoulders and chestóhow his light brown hair curls around his earlobes. I donít know whether to laugh or cry. For six weeks Iíve wanted out of the friendship box with Logan, but I was hoping for girlfriend, not crazy girl.

ìKassandra,î a voice rasps behind me.


Kimber Leigh Wheaton is a YA/NA author with a soft spot for sweet romance. She is married to her soul mate, has a teenage son, and shares her home with three dogs, four cats, and lots of dragons. No, she doesnít live on a farm, she just loves animals. Kimber Leigh is addicted to romance, videogames, superheroes, villains, and chocolateónot necessarily in that order. (If she has to choose, sheíll take a chocolate covered superhero!) She currently lives in San Antonio, TX but has been somewhat a rolling stone in life, having resided in several different cities and states.


Blitz Giveaway

- $25 Amazon GC
- 5 ebook copies of Tortured Souls
- Open internationally
- Ends July 17th

a Rafflecopter giveaway