Thursday, May 12, 2016

The Girl Who Heard Demons by Janette Rallison

The Girl Who Heard Demons

Author: Janette Rallison

Publisher: Kindle Press

ASIN: B01BDC1VC0

Published: March 2016

ebook: 248 pages

FTC FYI: I received a free copy from the publisher as it was a Kindle Scout winner.

Goodreads Summary

Shy Adelle Hansen hears demons, but she’s determined to make friends at her new high school by keeping her ability secret.
When she overhears supernatural voices celebrating the impending death of the school quarterback, Levi Anderson, she knows she has to do something to prevent it. However, the demons aren’t the ones plotting; they’re just celebrating the chaos, and Adelle must contend with earthly forces as well if she wants to preserve Levi’s life.
Handsome, popular Levi doesn't appreciate Adelle’s self-appointed role of guardian angel. As Adelle battles to keep him safe, she’ll have to protect her heart, too. Can she do both?
My Review
Janette is such a talented writer, she even makes demons entertaining.  I really enjoyed this book.  The first line of the book grabs you quickly and the story keeps an exciting, page-turning pace.  Adelle is a great character and I loved how all that is known about her ability is not all revealed to the reader right at the beginning and the problems that come with it are brought in nicely.  The author does a fantastic job of planting seeds that keep you wanting more.  I also really enjoyed Levi's character and the mysterious actions of his dad, another great page-turner.  I really liked the POV switches, as I really liked both of the main characters and seeing what was going on in their minds during the more tense (and romantic) situations.  The demons were icky, but not over the top.  I appreciated how the author still kept the story clean, even while it dealt with serious issues (drugs, attempted rape).   I am a huge fan of Janette's and will read anything from her.
4 out of 5 stars.  Janette is the author of countless books and also writes under the pen name CJ Hill.  Her books are clean, well-written and great for teens and adults who read teen books (like me)!
Author Links
Purchase Links
Amazon  

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Forever and Forever by Josi S. Kilpack

Forever and Forever: The Courtship of Henry Longfellow and Fanny Appleton

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: April 5, 2016

ISBN13: 9781629721422

Paperback: 336 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

A Proper Historical Romance series

The first book in a new series which will focus on the lives of real historical figures who have intriguing stories of courtship that are recreated in fictionalized accounts based on real biographical and social history research.

"A well-researched, emotionally charged tale. A love story...fit for the ages." -Publishers Weekly.

It's 1836, and nineteen-year-old Fanny Appleton, a privileged daughter of a wealthy, upper-class Boston industrialist, is touring Europe with her family. Like many girls of her day, she enjoys the fine clothes, food, and company of the elite social circles. But unlike her peers, Fanny is also drawn to education, literature, and more intellectual pursuits.

Published author and poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow is also touring Europe, but under much different circumstances. Widowed while on tour, he has stayed in order to gather credentials that he hopes will secure his professorship at Harvard College. When Henry meets Fanny, he sees in her a kindred spirit, a lover of language and literature and high ideals. He is in love. Fanny, however, is uncertain. He is ten years older than she is, and from a much lower social class. How could such a relationship ever thrive?

Could a book of Henry’s poetry, personally delivered, persuade Fanny to believe in a love that lasts forever and forever?

My Review

Forever and Forever is another win for this talented author.  First of all, I will read anything Josi writes. I know her books will be well-written, clean, with amazing characters and a fantastic story.   I really enjoyed Josi's take on Henry and Fanny's life.  I was impressed with her research (as always) and the engaging characters.  One of my favorite scenes with Fanny and Henry was when Henry was telling Fanny his take on education for women.  I enjoyed their interaction.  I felt the pacing was just right throughout and I appreciated the development of their relationship.  I laughed, cried, smiled a lot and wanted more at the end. The chapter notes were an added treat. I'd say, this book was pretty much perfect.

5 out of 5 stars.  This book is an introduction to a new line from Shadow Mountain for historical fiction and I can't wait to see what is next.

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book


Tuesday, May 3, 2016

The Independent One by Cami Checketts -- New Release/Excerpt

I am so thrilled to announce the release of The Independent One: A Billionaire Bride Pact Romance.

Find it on Amazon * Goodreads

Haley Turnbow escapes to the tropical Isla del Sol for an ideal vacation with her five-year old. She doesn’t plan on the resident ghost stalking her and the island’s fine-looking owner drawing her in with his confident, fun personality.
Cal Johnson is king of his own island, happy and busy. A beautiful mom and her wild little boy flip his world upside down. He falls in love with both of them knowing they’re going to leave at the end of their vacation and he might not recover from the loss.
Can these two independent adults trust their hearts or is it not worth the risk?

Excerpt:

A tall, well-built man swept in before Haley could reach Taz and easily lifted her boy into his arms. “Hey, bud, you’re not supposed to do flips on this staircase, that’s for the diving board.”
Taz laughed and Haley’s heart slowed a few beats. “Taz,” she cried out.
The man turned with her son and she noticed dimples and blue eyes, but she could only focus on her boy. Taz launched himself into her arms. Haley held him close, inhaling the baby lotion he kept claiming he was too old for. She took several long breaths as she tried to reassure herself he was okay. 
Their rescuer turned to the older couple. “Are you both all right?” he asked.
“Oh, sure,” the man said, his arm around his wife’s waist. They were a darling couple, dressed to the nines with her hair perfectly coiffed and his hair missing.
“Is the little boy okay?” the woman asked, patting her hair.
“I think so,” Haley said. “I’m so sorry he hit you.”
“No, dear, I’m just fine.”
Haley nodded, grateful for their graciousness. She checked Taz for injuries. He had some rug burns on his face and elbow, but thankfully only the one on his elbow was bleeding. “Oh, bud, you scared me! Do you hurt anywhere?”
“Nothing ‘cept my endbow.” Taz held up his arm for her to see. “Kiss it?”
Haley laughed shakily and kissed near the ouchy spot. “We’ll find you a Band-aid.”
“A Ninja Turtle one?” Taz’s dark eyes lit up. He covered himself in Ninja Turtle Band-aids quite regularly. 
The man with the dimples turned back to her as the older couple wished them well and headed down the hallway to the shops. He placed a warm hand on her back. “Ma’am, can I take him from you? You’re shaking like a belly dancer.”
Haley laughed, but clung tighter to Taz. This was her little man and she wasn’t about to hand him over to some stranger—she couldn’t resist looking the man over—no matter how intriguing the contrast between his dark hair and skin and his deep blue eyes. “I have specialized belly dancer training so it’s okay.”
His dimples deepened. “Nice.”
“Thank you for your help Mr…”
“Johnson.” He kept his arm on her back and wrapped his other hand around her elbow. His hands were strong and warm and she couldn’t help but notice how nicely he smelled, a great combination of musk and man. “Come up to my office so I can check both of you out.”
Haley bristled. The only men she let tell her what to do were her dad and her brother. Scratch that, the only men who ever tried to tell her what to do, but failed, were her dad and her brother. She shook him off. “Sorry, not going to some strange dude’s office and nobody needs to check me out.”
He laughed. “My apologies, ma’am, but I’ve already checked you out.” He pumped his eyebrows and she was struck by the fact that he was much too attractive and much too friendly. 

Monday, May 2, 2016

I'mPossible by Jeff Griffin -- Spotlight

I'mPossible: Desire, Dream, Do

Author: Jeff Griffin

Publisher: Balboa Press

Published: July 2015

ISBN13: 9781504335386

Paperback: 156 pages

Goodreads Summary

The sun's rays filtered in from the partially opened shades of the plane. They lit up the world in front of me and warmed my soul, knowing I was almost to my destination. The beautiful golden light replaced the grey and hazy cobwebs from my eyes, revealing the most spectacular scene I had ever seen in my entire life. I looked out the small seven-inch window and witnessed something that I'll never forget! I beheld something in this magnificent world that the majority of people never get to see. I was looking out at Mount Everest, the world's highest peak!

I was at the tail end of a three-flight journey with two layovers in between, nearly logging twenty-four hours of flight time. I hadn't gotten any real sleep in the last thirty-six hours. My bloodshot eyes were heavy, my mind was slow and sluggish, and my body was even slower in response. How did I get here? I thought to myself. Am I d-r-e-a-m-i-n-g?

As Lao and Confucius once said, “A journey of one-thousand miles begins with one step.” My story is about inspiring you to take your own journey one step at a time. It's about dreaming and accomplishing the impossible. It's not only about aiming for the sky and reaching for the stars but enjoying the journey along the way.

Begin your personal journey today, press forward to the top, and don't you ever stop. As you move toward your dreams, there will be obstacles and setbacks along the way; don't be afraid. You can get to the top of your world by following the signs and guide posts within these pages. You can do it with others! You can do it with me! We can do it together, one step at a time!

I'mpossible! - Jeff Griffin
 

For the blog tour, Jeff is offering the first chapter for free on his website

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble 



Author Bio-

Jeff Griffin is a wheelchair athlete who earned his Master’s degree in Education and knows how to win.  He played in the 2004 Athens Olympics, holds a Guinness Book of World Records, and is a four time NWBA All-Star MVP.  He enjoys mentoring youth, distributing wheelchairs, and providing Peer Training Materials through his humanitarian efforts with LDS Charities.  He is passionate about progress.

1.) What inspired you to write I'Mpossible? –  My book is all about accomplishing the impossible and the journey we must take to fulfill our dreams.  When I got to college the professor had all 150 of his students write a paragraph on a certain topic and hand it in.  The next day he called six students names in the classroom and had them go to back of the room.  They were told in semi-private terms that they needed to take a remedial class so they could get caught up.  I was one of those six! I didn’t know it at the time but It was the best thing that could have happened to me.  I learned the basics of writing. I had a personal experience with a professor that cared about what I had inside my mind and heart.  He was someone who wanted me to learn how to express and share my own ideas and stories.  He taught me that the impossible was possible.  He helped planted a seed of hope in the field of stories.  I now love to lounge around in the world of words!  This class and professor helped liberate me from the chains of doubt and discouragement.   In return I hope to inspire millions to take their own first step towards their own dreams and desires with my personal story from trying to tragedy to triumph.  My joy and happiness comes from helping others break free and see there is more to life than what we see!   

2.) What is the main message of your book?  The main message of I’mPossible Is that we are all faced with a mountain of trials and more often than not, we listen to those around us and think that our personal trials are too big or too tough to overcome.  That is just not true.  In the introduction of the book I write,  “I understand that more than likely you don't have the same problem as me but I believe we all have a handicap or a Mt. Everest to climb in some area of our lives.  Nobody is perfect, no matter how much you want to believe it!  Your handicap could be a mental disability that pains you beyond comprehension.  It could be something that we have been suffering for days, months, and or even years.  It could be a social handicap that paralyzes us when we're out in public or inside our private walls.  It could be a physical handicap like my own where others can instantly see what our problem is without being able to hide it.  Unlike other disabilities that are more personal which can be kept from others and hidden for a very long time.  Your Mt. Everest could even be a spiritual handicap that we refuse to acknowledge.  Or perhaps it could be something we have been struggling with for a very long time and we are having a very hard time overcoming it.  Whatever your individual handicap is it can be conquered!  These disabilities can be either debilitating or liberating.  They can hold us back or lift us up.  They can remain our weakness or they can become our strengths.  I hope by sharing my story of big dreams, grave disappointments, and euphoric triumphs it can help in some small way to lift you closer to the light that lifts.  With each passing mile marker along the journey we can learn from our experiences or be lost for them.  I have found peace in the pain and joy in the journey.  I hope you can find some too, as you embark on your own journey within the pages of this book.  Remember; there are no excuses when it comes to success!  You'repossible!”  

3.) How can your message help other people?   I understand that my message will not resonate with everyone but I do know from experience that when I see or read about someone else who overcomes great odds or challenges It gives me hope.  I’m motivated to be better, to do more, and to give more.  It shows me that if someone else can do hard things then I too can overcome hard and impossible things.  Not only that but that life can be cherished and enjoyed even with hardships and heartache.  My message is a raw exposure to my heart and soul.


4.) What makes your book different than other motivational books? – I tried to make my book a little different by not only telling a heroic story but also giving some obvious and not so obvious clues on how to climb and overcome your own challenge of life.  Whether it is physical, mental, social, or intellectual I believe there is a way to accomplish the impossible.  There are guide posts instead of chapters and there is an invitation for every reader to think about certain areas of their lives and other places to take action with those thoughts.  The invitations are not overwhelming and may seem too simple but if followed, they will change your life.  I tried to make it clear and simple but powerful! 

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Change of Heart by Jennifer Moore -- Spotlight

Change of Heart
Change of Heart by Jennifer Moore
This summer, Nathaniel Cavanaugh vacations in Lobster Cove to spend quality time with his kids after his estranged wife’s tragic death. Successful and well-connected, he is on the fast-track to the highest legal positions in the country, but his family life suffers. After an accident throws Val nearly into his lap and costs her a job opportunity, Nathaniel surprises himself by overlooking her outlandish appearance and lack of qualifications to offer her a job as his nanny for the summer.
Valdosta McKinley wishes for an internship at a Paris Art Institute to use her newly acquired art-history skills. She knows Nathaniel could never develop feelings for a girl from a trailer in a rural West Virginia holler—a lesson she learned the hard way years earlier.
Will pursuit of their professional goals require Nathaniel and Val to give up the dream of being a family?

Excerpt

Val clung to him, feeling utterly ridiculous, and at the same time completely content in his arms. “I’m sorry,” she said, once she trusted her voice.
    “The summer’s been good, hasn’t it?” Nathaniel laid his cheek on the top of her head and held her tighter. “I’ll miss this porch most of all.”
    “Me, too.” She pressed her face against his chest, a fresh wave of tears rushing into her eyes. She’d sat in this very place, unloading her darkest secrets, her greatest fears, been comforted and listened, and even... The memory of Nathaniel’s kiss was nearly more than she could take. Her heart felt like it was being squeezed, and she gasped for air. She took a step back, releasing her grip.
    “Val?”
    Swallowing against her tight throat, she raised her gaze to his.
    He lifted a wet strand of hair from her face, and his gaze dropped to her lips before returning to hers.
    If only she could look into those blue eyes every day, be held by him every time she cried, if only...
    “Daddy! Val!”
The sound of Ruby’s voice broke Val’s blissful bubble. She must have gotten impatient and unbuckled her carseat.
    “We’re on the porch, Ruby.” Nathaniel’s gaze didn’t leave Val’s face.
    Val rubbed her fingers over her cheeks one more time before hurrying to meet Ruby. She glanced back and saw Nathaniel still watching her until she rounded the side of the house. 

amazon
add to goodreads

JenniferAuthor Jennifer Moore
Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world that includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that is anything but romantic. She suffers from an unhealthy addiction to 18th and 19th century military history and literature. Jennifer has a B.A. in Linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family, but most of the time wishes she was on board a frigate during the Age of Sail.

$25 Blog Tour giveawayBlog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 5/1/16
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Motherhood Matters/Live is Too Short Collection by Connie E. Sokol



Motherhood Matters: Joyful Reminders of the Divinity, Reality, and Rewards of Motherhood

Motherhood is a divine calling but it may not always feel that way. Now you can show the women in your life how much they matter to you, with this delightful little volume full of wit and wisdom about the divinity, reality, and rewards of motherhood. Fresher than flowers and sweeter than chocolate, it's a perfect gift for the women who give so much.

Life is Too Short Collection

The Life is Too Short series is just what you need. Written by Connie Sokol—mother of seven, author, speaker, and amazing matching sock finder—these humorous self-development columns give you just the right amount of fun and functional. Originally written for a major newspaper and magazines, you can now enjoy the entire collection in one book. Put your feet up and laugh as you relate to time-tested tips on being a woman, wife, and mother. You'll learn the cozy stuff of how to adjust expectations, have faith in your dreams, and lighten up in motherhood. And, you'll learn a few life skills such as easy spring cleaning, simplifying the holidays, and creating successful goals.
It's the perfect gift for any woman! Short, funny, insightful, these quick power columns are ideal anytime, anywhere, to rejuvenate your mind and soul.

Life is Too Short Trilogy combines three individual books, updated and revised: Life is Too Short for One Hair Color, Life is Too Short for Sensible Shoes, and Life is Too Short for Linoleum.

My Review

Wonderful books with lovely messages.  LIFE IS TOO SHORT COLLECTION is full of humor and lots of heart.  I loved the heartfelt messages in MOTHERHOOD MATTERS. 

Author Links


Purchase Links




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Royal Brides by Traci Hunter Abramson -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Royal Brides

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: April 1st 2016

Paperback: 304 pages

ISBN13: 9781524400071

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

In this eagerly anticipated companion novel to Royal Target and Royal Secrets, readers are invited back to the shimmering Mediterranean paradise of Meridia, where two royal weddings in a year are more than stressful—they’re deadly . . .

Lovely Meridian native Noelle Saldera yearns for adventure, but as the daughter of palace servants, working at Prince Stefano’s royal wedding may be as exciting as her life will get. But her options change drastically when she finds herself in the unlikely position of diffusing a bomb at the ceremony and being enlisted as the newest member of Meridian Intelligence—another wedding is in the works, and there can be no more close calls when Prince Stefano’s brother, Garrett, walks down the aisle. 

The bombing attempt at the first royal wedding leaves few clues as to the assailant’s identity. Desperate for answers, Meridian officials enlist CIA agent Jeremy Rogers to prevent a repeat occurrence at the upcoming nuptials. The beauty of the plan: the bride is Jeremy’s sister, so his cover is foolproof. What no one could anticipate is the instant connection between Jeremy and Noelle. Now, with their hearts on the line, the pair must work together to stop a seemingly unstoppable enemy before time runs out.

My Review

Royal Brides is another hit for Traci.  I really enjoyed getting back in to the Meridian world.  Traci does a great job of taking us back to these great characters and catching the reader up on the previous books (as it has been awhile since I read Royal Secrets and Royal Target), all while keeping a steady pace.  I loved Noelle.  I really appreciated what a tough and smart character she was.  What I also really enjoy with Traci's books are the short chapters.  Weird, I know, but I feel it really transitions the story quickly and makes the reader (myself included) keep reading so we can find out what happened next.  There is so much to enjoy in Royal Brides.  There is romance, some humor, spies, bomb threats,  suspense, and so much more!  

4 out of 5 stars.

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

a Rafflecopter giveaway