Wednesday, September 2, 2015

The Villain by May Nicole Abbey -- Book Blast

The Villian by May Nicole Abbey
The Villain by May Nicole Abbey
A fall and crash
A violent journey through the doorways of time
A villain or hero in the making
Rosemary Mayfield teeters on the brink of ruin. With the murder of her parents she is left the sole guardian of her younger brother and sister. Once a wealthy socialite in New York City, she now finds herself stranded in the untamed wilderness of the American West. When a wounded man comes crashing through her roof, as rough as the savage land, it is against her better judgment to bring him into her home and her heart. But she soon discovers he holds a secret that shatters everything, and she must make a choice, unaware that often destiny hinges on a single moment.
Fresh from an unsavory past and a violent fall through time, Nicolas Ekkridon awakens to find himself cared for by three orphans ignorant of the role he played in their parents’ untimely death. They accept and embrace him, and a lifetime of hardened barriers begin to crumble. On the precipice between good and evil, only Rosemary and her spirited defiance stands between him and villainy. But time and space are against them. As its weaving tentacles envelop them in an indifferent grasp, they are swept into a shattering series of circumstances that threaten the very makeup of their lives. But when time can be bent, nothing is written in stone.
Praise for The Villain
There are very few words that can describe what they’ve accomplished in The Villain. Here are a few that come to mind: magnificent, overwhelming, heart-stirring, and a bit frightening at times.
This author team writes some of the best characters I’ve ever read about and weaves them together in such a fascinating web. Each character has depth and an important role in the storyline (and possibly future storylines). Characters who didn’t particularly interest me, at first, became very significant throughout the book. ~Shannon Keith
The Villain is one of those books you pick up and read in one sitting. The kind that surprises you with its powerful and compelling characters and its poignant message. To say that I was surprised at how much the story touched my heart would be an understatement. ~C.J. Anaya
Reading this book reminded me of the television shows I used to watch when I was a kid. “Little House of the prairie” and “Dr Quinn Medicine Woman”. I can confidently say if you enjoyed those shows, you will enjoy this novel. ~Nina Schluntz
add to goodreads
Excerpt
“Have you done… very bad things?” I asked, wishing I didn’t have to ask.
His answer was simple. “Yes.”
“And are you going to go on… doing bad things?”
He lay very still, like if he moved, he would be discovered. The man as big and hard as the mountain had a weakness. “The gods of the ancient world punished men terribly for their sins,” he said in a hollow voice, his accent there again, thicker than I ever heard it. “Tortured them for eternity. There was no point in trying to escape.”
I put my sewing down. “We don’t believe in those gods anymore.”
He laughed in a hard, hateful voice. “And why should you? You were protected and cosseted and kept from every sin. What do you have to fear from them?”
“And you like to imagine yourself some sort of wild, dangerous creature, trapped in a dungeon of your own making. You are too stupid to realize there are no locks on the doors. Does it come as a shock that brute force isn’t always called for? Does it horrify you to find some kindness lurking deep in your heart?”
“Kindness!” he repeated bitterly, “I’ve done no kindness to you, my girl!”
“You have!”
He regarded me steadily. “If you knew the things I’ve done, Miss Mayfield, your blood would boil with hate and you’d throw me out the door this moment. And you should.”
My heart stilled. “What have you done?”
He turned away, and I couldn’t see his face. He was closed off. But I felt a shrinking from him, a retreat from a memory.
I pushed my specs up the bridge of my nose and picked up my sewing again. An image filled my mind of the shoe flying across the room. His incense at Benjamin ignoring me. His artless, diffident effort to make up with Emily. Instinct made me say with some gentleness, “Whatever you did, perhaps it’s not as bad as you think it is.” I was frightened even as I said it, but I did not wish it away.
He scoffed, but he looked at me. I saw something inside that good eye hoping to be convinced. He reminded me, I realized suddenly, of Benjamin.
“There is no doubt you’ve done things you shouldn’t. And sure, you can be a pig sometimes. Mother would have been horrified,” I smiled. “But a real scoundrel would have shown himself long before now. You haven’t hurt us. You’ve even been good to us.”
“Maybe I’m biding my time. I’m weak and injured and still need you to look after my wounds.” His tone was a cold blanket.
“In which case, you’d hardly warn me against you. Instead you’d be trying to put me at ease.” My voice was equally cool.
He snapped and threw up his hands. “Oh, I don’t have time for this! The sooner I get away from you all, the better!”
I gathered up my sewing basket and stood.
“The west is a dangerous place. You’re ripe for the picking out here in the wilderness, just waiting for someone to come along and help himself!” He couldn’t help but say.
“What do you care? You just said it yourself, it isn’t your problem.”
His hand balled into a fist. “Rosemary, you can’t just trust people, all right! It isn’t wise! Don’t just let anyone through your door and nurse him back to health, you got that? Don’t let Emily sidle up to him and cry over him and tell him her stories. And Benjamin tries to be angry, but it’s all bluster. He’s easy prey for anyone who gives him attention and sounds like they have some useful knowledge. Don’t just let anyone through that door!”
“We didn’t let just anyone in, Nicolas,” I said simply. “We let you in. And I’m glad.”

AbbeyAbout the Authors
Caroline Gregory and Shawnette Nielson are sisters on a mission. Their goal is to write clean, adventuresome romance stories, full of lovely characters, personal growth, truth, and hope. Although they live miles from each other, and are both busy with the daily needs of their respective families, they carve out time each night to put fingers to keyboard and write. Their goal? Twenty completed books. Set all over the world and throughout time, they thrill at the freedom that writing time travel offers them. From Georgian society, to Ancient Egypt and the Wild Western, the possibilities are limitless.

100_Amazon_Paypal
Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 9/27/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Janitors 5: Heroes of the Dustbin by Tyler Whitesides -- Spotlight

Janitors 5Janitors 5: Heroes of the Dustbin by Tyler Whitesides
Spencer knew that from the moment the Founding Witches had returned, the Rebel Janitors had begun disappearing. So many schools were defenseless now, the students’ minds rotting from Toxite breath while the janitors vanished without a trace. Then it became personal.
Although their enemies are powerful, their allies few, Spencer and his team of Rebels are not giving up! But what chance do a handful of kids and one rescued janitor have against the combined evil of the Founding Witches and the Sweepers? Can the Rebels close the source of all Glop and stop the Toxites once and for all-or is the world doomed to fall under the control of the sinister Bureau of Educational Maintenance? This explosive series finale is a gripping ride through conflicted loyalties and daring escapes, unexpected alliances and betrayals, and an ending you will never forget!
add to goodreads
TylerAuthor Tyler Whitesides
TYLER WHITESIDES worked as a janitor at a middle school while attending college. It was there he discovered the many secrets and mysteries that can be hidden in a dusty school. Tyler graduated from Utah State University with a degree in music. He enjoys fly fishing in the mountains, cooking, and vacuuming. Tyler and his wife, Connie, live in beautiful northern Utah.


$25 Blog Tour giveaway
$25 Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon eGift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 9/25/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com eGift Card or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 21, 2015

Daring Hearts Boxed Set

DON’T MISS THIS SALE! On Sunday it’s gone.
CLEAN ROMANCE AT ITS FINEST- Let’s propel it to the NY Times Bestseller list. To see clean make it to the top would be Awesome.
daring hearts
Daring Hearts: Fearless Fourteen Boxed Set ~ Nine All New Novels Plus Five Bonus Books for the Adventurous and the Romantic
ALL For One Low Price of .99Cents! 

From gorgeous heroes that make us swoon to the super sleuths and feisty heroines that make us cheer, this exclusive collection has something for everyone. Nine clean, sassy and BRAND NEW novels–a delicious mixture of fun, addictively romantic, action-adventure stories — each handpicked by an award-winning gathering of some of today’s most popular YA/NA authors. PLUS five bonus books from Elana Johnson, Leigh Talbert Moore, Rachel Morgan, Katrina Abbott, and C.L. Stone! 


Over 98% off retail for the individual books sold separately (a thirty dollar savings!)
Hurry! Only available until September (so get your copy today).
REBECCA ETHINGTON ~ Monsters are real… Through Glass
RASHELLE WORKMAN ~ Alice is half demon and totally kick ass! Blood and Snow 10.1 ~ The Dark Moth Society
CINDY M. HOGAN ~ Some secrets are better left dead and buried. Kate Unmasked
ELLE STRAUSS ~ Time traveling is wonky enough… and this time it’s worse than ever. Counter Clockwise
CHRISTINE KERSEY ~ College is murder… Witness
JULI ALEXANDER ~ Solving mysteries is in her blood, but it might just get her killed. Paxton Private Investigations
AMBER ARGYLE ~ A storm is raging and not everyone will survive. Of Ice And Snow
WENDY KNIGHT ~ Her army of lost souls stand between us. The Soul’s Agent
LILA FELIX ~ Fasta is an artist, not by choice, but by force. Sketchy Love
  • PLUS FIVE BONUS NOVELS…
C.L. STONE ~ Meet Kota, Victor, Silas, Nathan, Gabriel, Luke and North in a story about differences and loyalty, truth and mystery, friendships and heart-throbbing intimacy. The Academy, ever vigilant. Introductions
ELANA JOHNSON ~ If a picture is worth a thousand words then Olivia’s captured Trevor’s whole story. Something About Love
LEIGH TALBERT MOORE ~ She did not expect to be kidnapped walking to work. And she never expected to be a hero. Behind the Stars
RACHEL MORGAN ~ Stolen magical object? Check. Villainous faerie bad guys? Check. Complicated feelings for super hot, pain-in-the-ass assignment partner? Check. Not winding up dead? Working on that one. The Faerie Prince
KATRINA ABBOTT ~ Brooklyn’s new celebutante boarding school is missing one thing: boys! Taking the Reins
 
IF YOU BLINK TOO LONG, IT WILL BE GONE. GET YOUR COPY NOW.


Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Nature of Grace Boxed Set by S.R. Johannes -- Book Blast

nature of grace
Nature of Grace Boxed Set by S.R. Johannes
The NATURE OF GRACE books have hit many of the top young adult/teen and thriller best seller lists including: Best Debut, Movers and Shakers, Top 100 in Thrillers, and the Top 100 in Teen Action Adventure books.
This new “Nature of Grace” Exclusive Box set is for readers who love wilderness thrillers. 16 year old Grace grew up in the woods determined to make a difference in the North Carolina wilderness. When she comes across conservation threats, she uses her survival and wilderness skills to stop them, no matter what the cost. In addition to being a thriller/mystery – other book themes include conservation, nature, animals, survival, wilderness, endangered animals.
The box set includes all 3 boxes in the Nature of Grace (Untraceable, Uncontrollable, and Unstoppable). It also includes an exclusive short story, Unspeakable from Mo’s perspective) as well as the original Untraceable before it was changed.
The box set also includes a large section of Special Extras that include interviews with the author, characters, and additional information on the nature and animal conservation the books support.
Untraceable (Book 1) – When Grace’s forest ranger dad disappears on patrol, she fights town authorities, tribal officials, & nature to prove he’s alive. Torn between a hot boy and cute ex, she heads into the wilderness to find her dad. Soon, she is caught in a web of conspiracy, deception, and murder.
Uncontrollable (Book 2) – When Grace enters the Red Wolf Reintroduction Program. When wolves start showing up dead, Grace must work through her fears and hunt down clues to find out who is sabotaging the wolf program and why. Little does she know, she is being hunting too.
Unstoppable (Book 3) – When Grace moves to the Everglades to live with her grandmother, Birdie, she makes new friends with Dylan and his girlfriend, fellow animal activist, Sadie. After finding an injured Florida Panther, she stumbles upon a large roadside zoo illegally filled with a variety of endangered and exotic animals. There, she and her friends are kidnapped by the ruthless owner and dragged deep into the Everglades for a hunting challenge. Only this time, Grace is the prey.
Unspeakable (Short Story from Mo’s perspective) – When Mo sees a strange girl in the woods, he follows her. He soon realizes they are both in a dangerous position and may not get out alive.
Untraceable’s Original Ending – Never released before!
Exclusive Extras – including author interviews, character interviews, insider scoop on the series, and additional animal and nature conservation information on the issues covered in the series.
Sale!! From now until August 16 the complete box set is only $0.99.
Praise for the books:
“A Modern Day Katniss” -Reel Life with Jane
“A suspense-filled mystery with surprises that keep you guessing all the way to the end.”- IndieReader
Kirkus Reviews called this teen series “a dramatic entanglement of mystery, deception and teen romance”!
add to goodreads
SR JohannesAuthor S. R. Johannes
S.R. Johannes is the award-winning author of the Amazon bestselling Nature of Grace thriller series (Untraceable, Uncontrollable, and Unstoppable). She is a winner of the IndieReader Discovery Award in YA, an IPPY a Silver Medalist for YA Fiction, a Finalist in The Kindle Book Review’s Best Young Adult Fiction, and a Finalist in US Book News Best YA Book.
Since leaving Corporate America, she has followed her passion for writing and conservation by working with The Dolphin Project, the Atlanta Zoo, other animal rescue organizations, and by weaving conservation themes into her books.
Currently, she lives in Atlanta, GA with her two Doodles, English-accented husband, and the huge imaginations of their prince and princess, which she hopes- someday- will change the world.
 100_Amazon_Paypal
$100 Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon eGift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/31/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com eGift Card or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 6, 2015

Maybe Today by David Butler and Emily Belle Freeman -- Blog Tour

Maybe Today: A Simple Approach to a Soul-Satisfying Life

Authors: David Butler, Emily Belle Freeman

Publisher: Ensign Peak (Deseret Book)

Published: August 4th, 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-62972-038-8

Hardcover: 128 pages

FTC FYI: Received a hardcover copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Maybe today the sun came up just like it always does, and you rolled out of bed just like you always do, and you knew it was going to be one of those days. But maybe today could be different. What does your soul need? What do you long for? This path that you are on, where is it taking you? How do you fill your unscheduled moments? Is your heart content? Perhaps you feel as if you are missing something. If you want life to satisfy your soul, you have to start living the soul-satisfying life.

Maybe Today describes five holy patterns that, when lived daily, will lead to the soul-satisfying life.
Tilt Your Soul
Let Down Your Bucket
Tune Your Heart
Take Off Your Shoes
Be All In

My Review

This book could not have come at a more perfect time.  There have been some changes in our home lately with my work, and it is taking some getting used to.  I loved how this book put many things in perspective for me.  All of the quotes hit me hard and help me reflect on myself for a bit, and what I needed to improve about me.  I loved this quote: "If you want life to satisfy your soul, you have to start living the soul-satisfying life." This book shows us how to have a soul-satisfying life in the 5 steps mentioned above in the summary.  Each step has lovely quotes that go so well with each one. The pictures are very nice too and flow really well with the words.

5 out of 5 stars.

The back of the book summarizes it all up perfectly.
He knows your heart
Live your life so you can come to know His.  
Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book


Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Eleanor and the Iron King by Julie Daines -- Blog Tour

Eleanor and the Iron King

Author: Julie Daines

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: August 1st, 2015

Paperback: 224 pages

ISBN13: 978-1-68047-237-0

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Eleanor de Lacy is forced into an arranged marriage with her father’s greatest enemy, Brac Goch, the Welsh king. All Eleanor knows of Brac is that he is a ruthless, war hungry man.

Eleanor arrives at the Welsh castle of Bryn Du already expecting the worst. When the ghost of Brac Goch’s first wife appears and warns her that the Welsh king is not to be trusted, all of Eleanor’s fears are confirmed.

As the countdown to her wedding day approaches, Eleanor must figure out who is lying, who is telling the truth, who is loyal, and who is the traitor--and most of all, if she can love an enemy king.

My Review

Julie Daines has done it again.  This book is amazing and I loved every page.  Eleanor and the Iron King has everything a reader could ask for and more.  The setting is a character itself, it was like I was there in the castle.  Eleanor was a fascinating character.  Honestly, I will read anything Julie writes, her books are magical.  Isn't this cover absolutely gorgeous!

5 out of 5 stars.

Author Links


Purchase Links


Schedule
*August7th: http://www.iamareader.com/http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/https://joyinthemoments.wordpress.com/


a Rafflecopter giveaway

I Can Pray Every Day by Catherine Christensen -- Blog Tour

I Can Pray Every Day

Author: Catherine Christensen

Illustrator: Corey Egbert

Published: April 2015

Publisher: Cedar Fort

ISBN: 978-1-4621-1646-1

Hardcover: 32 pages

FTC FYI: Received a hardcover copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

“Heavenly Father hears my prayers. I know He listens and He cares.” This adorable board book is the perfect way to teach your little ones when, where, and how to pray. With colorful illustrations, rhyming text, and simple reminders of eternal truths, it’s bound to become a family favorite in your home.

My Review

I loved this book.  What a great book for little ones to teach them about prayers, and a great reminder for adults too, as to the simplicity of prayers.  I loved the illustrations.  They perfectly depicted each page's message beautifully.   

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble  / Deseret Book