Thursday, November 21, 2019

To Die, To Sleep by Stephanie Black -- blog tour/giveaway

To Die, To Sleep

Author: Stephanie Black

Publisher: Covenant 

Published: Nov 1, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524409135

Paperback: 272 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Summary

After surviving a difficult year, Natalie Marsh is heading for Ellsberg Keep, an exclusive mountain resort that promises to provide the tranquility she desperately needs. She’s eager to relax and to reconnect with her estranged cousin Lily, who works as the Keep’s nurse—a reunion that begins abruptly when an accident on the winding mountain roads lands Natalie in the infirmary in the care of her cousin. They have little time to bond over childhood memories, however. Everything is thrown into chaos when the owner of the Keep is rushed to the medical wing, wildly delusional and raving about a murder plot.

Despite Lily’s care, the owner dies. Is his death simply an accident, or are his frenzied suspicions true? Determined to help Lily cope with the loss of her patient—and the accusations that she’s to blame for his death—Natalie searches for answers and is swept into a mystery that grows more puzzling as frightening hallucinations torment the dead man’s son. When a staff member who asks too many questions disappears, it is clear that this idyllic resort harbors someone with deadly intent—and Natalie may not survive to uncover the truth.


My review

This book excellently written and very gripping. It starts off with a bang and does not let go until the last page is reluctantly turned. The expert way this book is written, it simply pulls you in and does not let go. Poor Natalie! Wow, she has had it rough lately. :) As always, she is a fantastic character. I tried to figure out the plot as I read, then quickly gave up, because I honestly had no idea where the story would go. I love books like that. I love to be surprised and left in awe. To Die, To Sleep, definitely does that. The characters are intriguing and Ellsberg Keep is quite creepy itself. 

5 out of 5 stars. Loved it!

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Robin and Marian by Stephanie Fowers - spotlight

Robin and Marian

Author: Stephanie Fowers

Published: August 14th, 2019

e-book/paperback: 394 pages

ISBN13: 978-1089001331

FTC FYI: I received an ARC for potential review.

Summary

Who says Chivalry is dead?



Robin King lives up to the legendary name of Robin Hood
 more than he should—a bigshot billionaire and successor of King enterprises, a Prince of Mischief and a rogue who steals hearts ... and maybe even a few kisses. He never thought he’d follow the storyline so closely, until the day he gets in trouble with the law and pays the price—all for protecting his younger sister Scarlett.



Taken in by an Outlaw

Marian is a hard-hitting reporter … or would be if the New England Chronicle would stop assigning her puff pieces. Now she has the chance to prove herself, but it could prove her undoing—since the story of a lifetime might just be Robin King, a ruthless scoundrel, who she swore would never break her heart again.

Making New England Olde again



Together, they must overcome their differences to save their hometown from thieves and corruption. And they’d better do it before someone gets killed. As danger lurks closer, legend becomes life, and Robin’s feelings for Marian deepen as he struggles with sharing the secrets that could clear his name and ruin his sister.


Purchase links - this title is FREE on KU

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Goodreads




Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Dragonwatch: Master of the Phantom Isles by Brandon Mull -- blog tour

Dragonwatch: Master of the Phantom Isle

Author: Brandon Mull

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: October 1st, 2019

ISBN13: 9781629726168

Hardcover: 496 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Cursed by the Key of Forgetting, Seth has lost all memory of his past—his relationships, his experiences, and who he really is. For now he will align with his new mentor, Ronodin, the dark unicorn, who takes him to the Phantom Isle, the secret gateway to the Under Realm. Though Seth is not formally a prisoner, Ronodin wants to use him and his shadow charmer powers for his own dark ends.

Kendra is frantic to find her missing brother, but the quest will take her and her companions, including Warren, Tanu, and Vanessa, far from Wyrmroost to Crescent Lagoon—a recently fallen dragon sanctuary made up of many islands and underwater domains. Its caretaker has regained a foothold on one of the islands. If Kendra and her friends can save that sanctuary, they might uncover the answers they need to rescue Seth.

With each sanctuary the dragons overthrow, Celebrant, the Dragon King, comes closer to the dawn of a new Age of Dragons. With the forces of darkness on the march, can Kendra and her allies gather enough power to win the epic dragon war?
 

My review

Master of the Phantom Isles is another wild ride by one of my favorite authors. With the turn of every page, I was waiting to see what could possibly happen next! I was always at the edge of my seat in anticipation. Those pesky dragons, wow! And poor Seth. Beloved characters in peril, new and old characters causing trouble, reliable characters with their usual fun and witty comic relief. This book was awesome, and I haven't missed a book from this author. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon hardcover / Amazon Kindle / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website


Monday, November 4, 2019

A Neverland Inn Christmas: A Neverland Inn Novella by K. C. Grant

A Neverland Inn Christmas: A Neverland Inn Novella

Author: K. C. Grant

Published: November 4th, 2019

ASIN: B07Z8HTH4R

e-book: 106 pages

Goodreads summary

The Neverland Inn is a place where dreams come true--but this time, will love be on the menu? (16 DELICIOUS RECIPES INCLUDED)

Sarah Michaels is back as the proprietor of the Neverland Inn in this delightful sweet novella perfect for the holidays. But this time, she has her hands full with more than delicious baking. Her best friend is getting married and quickly turning into Bridezilla. She's in charge of Spindrift Cove's Christmas market and trying to prevent all out war between some of the vendors. But the task more challenging than whipping up a souffle is figuring out how to get her serious beau, Daniel Cavanaugh, to say those three words she's been longing to hear.

Sixteen delicious recipes inside, including:

Buttered Rum Brownies
"Sun" Dried Caramelized Tomatoes
Chocolate Truffles
Christmas Dip
...and more!


This novella is available today! Grab your copy for 99 cents. This title is also available on Kindle Unlimited for FREE.

Amazon e-book

I reviewed A Neverland Inn last year. Check out my review here.

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads

Friday, November 1, 2019

Forgotten Carols - spotlight/giveaway


This is a show that I look forward to every year! It always brings me into the holiday spirit. 
The songs are wonderful and heartfelt.

Grab your tickets now.
Enter the giveaway for a four pack of tickets, at the end of the post!


 ‘THE FORGOTTEN CAROLS’ Playing in 11 Cities this Holiday Season
-The 28th Year Brings a New ‘Re-imagined’ Version of the Holiday Tradition to the Stage-

Salt Lake City – The Forgotten Carols, a Holiday season tradition marking its 28th year of consecutive performances, is coming to your home town! This year signals the introduction of a new, “re-imagined” version of the musical with 19 performances covering 11 cities in Utah, Idaho and Arizona. For a list of locations and to buy tickets, visit www.forgottencarols.com.
Michael McLean, a well-known performer, composer, songwriter, author and director initially developed The Forgotten Carols as solely a theme-driven album of new Christmas music. But he soon realized he needed a story to connect all the songs together. McLean wrote the interweaving story of a nurse named Connie Lou who cares for John, an elderly patient who shares the songs about those people he claims to have lived with 2,000 years ago. For his initial performances, McLean played all the parts to give people a sense of how families could present the narration at home hoping it would become a family tradition.
Over the years, McLean’s modest one-man show has evolved into a full scale theatrical production performed for more than a million people throughout the United States and abroad, including shows in Ireland, Germany, England and the Ukraine. And now, after 28 years, McLean is surprising his audiences with significant changes to his classic story!
“People who have been coming for years will be thrilled, I believe, with the changes we’ve made this year,” remarked McLean. “For a few years now, my son and I have been thinking about updating the story, and this year we decided to dive in and do it. Fans will hear the same songs, see the same characters, but experience the story in a completely new way!”
McLean is currently working on adapting the stage version of The Forgotten Carols as a feature film, and it was this process that inspired the story changes. “After we wrote the screenplay for the film, there were so many elements we fell in love with that just had to be in the stage version,” said McLean. “And the changes we’ve made just feel right. They make the characters deeper, the story more spiritual, and the experience that much richer.”
 So, if you’ve been coming for years – come again! And if you’re a new fan – you won’t want to miss your chance to see what we are calling The Forgotten Carols – Reimagined!” quipped McLean.
The Forgotten Carols 2019 concert schedule includes performances in Arizona, Idaho, and Utah. Performance tickets are on sale now. For a complete listing of concert dates and locations or to purchase tickets visit the website at www.forgottencarols.com.

SYNOPSIS
This season, we invite you to join us for this beautifully re-imagined telling of Michael McLean’s holiday tradition THE FORGOTTEN CAROLS. Touring since 1991, this timeless Christmas tradition brings to life the story of Constance Louise Chamberlain, a nurse who hasn’t laughed or cried in over 30 years.  But that all changes when she meets, and cares for, a homeless man with dementia (Uncle John, as he likes to be called) who insists he’s been alive for over two thousand years.  Uncle John recounts the story of Christ’s birth through these Forgotten Carols sung from the perspective of his “friends” the Inn Keeper, a Shepherd, Handel and others, taking Connie Lou on a life-altering journey.  As Uncle John struggles to remember all the reasons why he feels compelled to share these unknown carols with his nurse, she discovers what her heart has forgotten about the true power and meaning of Christmas!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, October 19, 2019

The Last Man at the Inn by R. William Bennett

The Last Man at the Inn

Author: R. William Bennett

Publisher: Ensign Peak

Published: Oct 8th, 2019

ISBN13: 9781629726038

Hardcover: 208 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads summary

Simon considers himself fortunate after securing the final room at the inn in Bethlehem. While eating his supper, he sees a younger man and his pregnant wife denied lodging at the door of the inn. Simon momentarily considers giving up his space, but he is weary from his travels as a spice merchant and turns away from the thought.

Over the ensuing years, Simon traverses the popular trade routes, and each time he passes Bethlehem, he is reminded of that evening and plagued by guilt.

In time, the Savior begins his ministry, and Simon begins the life-changing process of trying to understand and believe the teachings and miracles of this man called Jesus—said to be the promised Messiah.

The Last Man at the Inn is the story of a journey of conversion we all take in one form or another, told through the eyes and heart of a common man. It is written to affirm the believer, to lovingly beckon to the undecided, and to call out to those who may not even know they are looking for something—only that there is a space in their soul that somehow needs to be filled.


My review

Beautiful story, heartfelt, and very moving. One man's journey to find the Savior. I really enjoyed it. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon hardcover / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website


Friday, October 18, 2019

Glass Slippers, Ever After, and Me by Julie Wright -- blog tour review

Glass Slippers, Ever After, and Me

Author: Julie Wright

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Expected publish date: October 21st, 2019

Contemporary romance: 336 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Can the fairy tale bring Charlotte the happiness she’s looking for, or was he always there to begin with?
 
A modern, reimagined Cinderella story.
 
When aspiring author Charlotte Kingsley finally gets published, she thinks all her dreams have come true. But the trouble begins when her publicity firm reinvents her quirky online presence into a perfectly curated dream life. Gone are the days of sweatpant posts and ice cream binges with her best friend, Anders, replaced instead with beautiful clothes, orchestrated selfies, and no boyfriend. Only, that carefully curated fairy tale life is ruining her self-esteem and making her feel like a fraud.

When a bestselling author takes Charlotte under her wing—almost like a fairy godmother—she helps Charlotte see the beautiful person she already is and the worth of being authentic. But is it too late to save her relationship with Anders? The clock is quickly ticking towards midnight, and Charlotte must decide between her fairy tale life and the man she loves, before he's gone forever.


My review

This book is so fun! As are all of Julie's books. Lettie is a doll. She is funny, quirky, and a bit of a drama queen, in a cute way. I laughed out loud many times, especially when she blamed her fairy godmother for things she felt she needed to be doing for her. Very cute and funny. I loved the book Lettie wrote and her persistence in getting published. Everything about this book is fun. The plot is great. I love when authors write books about being an author. The characters are perfect. From Kat, to Anders, to even Lettie's mom. All of them were fantastic. I loved the progression of the book. The author does a great job of passing time, still mentioning important events, but not dwelling on details, that while important, didn't need to be drawn out. This book is written well, is very enjoyable, and I loved the ending so much.

5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website