Friday, March 22, 2019

Catherine's Intrigue by Paige Edwards -- blog tour/giveaway

Catherine's Intrigue

Author: Paige Edwards

Publisher: Covenant

Published: March 1, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524406738

Paperback: 240 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

To fulfill her mother's last request, twenty-four-year-old historic design specialist Catherine Pressley-Coombes travels to England in order to investigate an elusive family line. Armed with an illegible diary, she is determined to discover the identity of her mysterious ancestress. Distracted by an Elizabethan manor and unused to British country roads, Catherine runs her car into a ditch. Luckily, Nick Davidson, a handsome, hard-working local rides in on his tractor to save the day. As the down-to-earth manager of his family's estate, Nick also happens to be one of England's most eligible aristocrats.

Nick is certainly not the kind of man Catherine would fall for a man dogged by media and rumor. So why does she find the English lord so irresistible? Even though she can't overlook their differing values and beliefs, as she and Nick spend time together, their attraction deepens. While she battles through romantic turmoil, Catherine is beleaguered with far more sinister concerns: a series of unexplainable misfortunes that are not mere accidents. With her heart on the line, Catherine discovers her life is in jeopardy, and she has no idea who the perpetrator is but she has a growing suspicion that the danger might be connected to whatever secrets lie hidden in her ancestor's diary.
 


Review

Wow! This book was quite the ride and I really liked it. I enjoyed the English setting and terms. This book is centered in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints' principles and they are mentioned throughout. There is a different twist of knowing the antagonist right from the start and their motives. It was maddening (in a good way) to see this interaction between the "bad" and the "good". It did take away a little suspense since we knew what would/could happen, but there was one scene where they had a "thought" of what to do to Catherine, and it didn't turn out how they wanted. This book has a great balance of suspense and romance. Nick is a dreamy to-the-rescue suitor. While Catherine is battling her feelings for him and wanting to date those of her faith.  Things moved fast for them at the beginning, but I appreciated the development of their relationship as the book progressed. I did feel, at times, some scenes were not needed and I wanted more focus on the mystery of Catherine's family line, but all in all the book is well done.


4 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book

Author links

Goodreads / Website 

Tour Schedule






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 15, 2019

Sanctuary by Traci Hunter Abramson -- blog tour/giveaway

Sanctuary

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: March 1st, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524407391

Paperback/ebook: 312 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Kristi Hartinger has come to terms with her life as a single, thirty-something woman. She was in love . . . once. But following her boyfriend's tragic death, no one else could capture her heart. And nothing else could fill that void, though the serenity of the ocean came close. Two years ago, Kristi left the craziness of her Wall Street career behind and embraced a simpler life on her family's private island off the coast of Maine. As a resident of the small beach community, she anticipates a quiet future—until she comes face-to-face with her past.

Ace Samson is dead, or so the world believes. As a member of a secret organization known as the guardians, he was forced to fake his death years ago, leaving everything behind when he became an agent. So when he is selected to offer a potential new recruit a job with the organization, Ace braces himself: for the first time in more than a decade, he must face the woman he loved—and left.

Kristi's world is rocked by Ace's sudden reappearance, and she's soon drawn into his world of danger and cover-up. But when Kristi herself becomes a target, Ace will do whatever it takes to protect the only woman he has ever loved.
 


Review

Sanctuary is another triumph for Traci Hunter Abramson. I loved this book. Her writing, as always, is perfect. The characters are stellar, the plot is twisting and suspenseful. This book has it all. I loved the different plot of this one. Ace is presumed dead, but comes back into Kristi's life, as she is needed to help the Guardians. Right away, there is danger lurking and everyone has their secrets. Old characters make an appearance and the bad guys, well they're bad! This book is part of a series, but they can be read as stand alones. As always with Traci's books, there is action, romance and page turning wonderfulness. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author info

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Twitter / Website

Schedule





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Scepter by Cindy M. Hogan

Scepter

Author: Cindy M. Hogan

Publisher: O'Neal Publishing

Published: October 2018

ebook/paperback: 338 pages

ISBN13: 9780997255546

FTC FYI: I received an ecopy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Christy Hadden's newest directive: Destroy Polity--A major arms dealer.Easy enough with her team of spies, but when Christy loses her greatest weapon, her photographic memory, even the simplest of tasks become impossible and her life as a spy appears to be at an end.But when her team discovers Polity is not what they thought, but much more, and a mole in Division is helping Polity achieve their aims, Christy and her team are the only ones that can stop them, keeping Division in the dark.If Christy doesn't find the strength and courage to embrace her new reality without her photographic memory, and fight to learn new skills, Polity will do much more than supply their enemies with weapons. Not only will Polity destabilize the world economy and cause war to break out, but it will destroy the future Christy hopes to give her family, friends, herself and the man she loves.

Review


I was thrilled for another book from Cindy Hogan. I love this series of books from this talented author. Christy is a marvel and she was without something that is usually vital in her missions. This time Christy has to learn how to be a spy all over again. I appreciated and loved her journey. Yes, she made mistakes but I loved what Christy learned about herself, her team, and her enemies. This book is a non stop ride of action and page turning thrills. There is some violence, nothing I felt was offense, but it was a need for this type of book. SCEPTER is extremely well written and I couldn’t turn pages fast enough. Excellent balance of action, with some romance mixed in too. There were many twists I wasn’t expecting.

5 out of 5 stars!

Purchase links


Author links

Friday, March 8, 2019

A Guarded Heart by Heidi Kimball -- blog tour

A Guarded Heart

Author: Heidi Kimball

Publisher: Covenant

Published: March 1, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524406875

Paperback: 232 pages

FTC: I received a paperback copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Three years after a shocking scandal destroyed her family and forced her into isolation, Eleanor Hayward finally has an opportunity to put her painful history and dashed hopes behind her. But reentering society is no simple task. In her cousin's glittering ballroom, Eleanor is stunned when she comes face-to-face with the man who broke her heart those years before.

Edmund Fletcher thought he had laid the past to rest until he unexpectedly encounters the woman who so nearly became his wife. Soon to be engaged to another, Edmund knows he must let go of the complicated feelings he harbors for Eleanor. However, when the Hayward scandal resurfaces and the truth behind their parting is revealed, Eleanor and Edmund are left reeling. Tormented by thoughts of what could have been, they realize it is impossible to rewrite history. But is there a future in which they might both find happiness—and true love?


My review

I absolutely loved this book. The story is beautifully written and the characters are lovely. Edmund and Eleanor are wonderful, each having their heart broken but not knowing why. Not all of the characters are worthy of praise but the author wrote the not so pleasant ones well too. I thoroughly enjoyed how this story is told. The is POV changes between Edmund and Eleanor, switching from present and past was unique and done well. It was a wonderful way to tell their backstory. The truth about Eleanor's brother was heartbreaking, but well done. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough, all while not wanting the book to end. Very well done.

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperbackSeagull Book / Deseret Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website

Tour schedule










a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Hitching the Pitcher by Rebecca Connolly, Sophia Summers, Heather B. Moore

Hitching the Pitcher

Author: Rebecca Connolly, Sophia Summers, Heather B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: February 5th, 2019

ebook/paperback: 220 pages

ISBN13: 9781947152571

FTC: I received an ebook from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Running into his former college girlfriend wasn’t supposed to happen. Falling for her again wasn’t supposed to happen either.

Sawyer Bennett has a secret. A risky thing, being one of the popular Belltown Six Pack, a group of six guys from the same college baseball team, all of whom got drafted and now play in the Major Leagues. Between the media frenzy over them and his bond with the guys, his secret has to stay carefully hidden if he wants it to stay that way. He needs to focus on his pitching and let everything else fall away.

Confessing his secret to Erica Moore was definitely not supposed to happen. But the harder he falls for Erica, the more important his secret—and she—becomes.

Welcome to Belltown! Six baseball players meet in the college town of Belltown, Massachusetts, becoming best friends, their lives intertwining as they each get called up to the Major Leagues. Follow Sawyer, Cole, Axel, David, Ryker, and Levi in these six swoony sports romances.

More Belltown Six Pack Romances:
Hitching the Pitcher
Falling for Centerfield
Charming the Shortshop
Snatching the Catcher
Flirting with First
Kissing on Third
 


FALLING FOR CENTERFIELD by Sophia Summers, Heather B. Moore, Rebecca Connolly is out now! FREE on Kindle Unlimited.

My review

I love baseball and I love books so the two together are a great fit! This book is so much fun. Sawyer and Erica are perfect for each other. They truly belong together. I loved Erica’s patience and love. Something happens that strikes a nerve for Sawyer. He’s trying to so hard be the perfect pitcher, perfect student, perfect boyfriend, but what he really needs, is to get out of his own head and help himself. Great story and can’t wait to read more books about the Belltown 6.

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon ebook FREE on KU / Paperback

Author links

Goodreads / Swoony Sports Romance on Facebook / Amazon author page / Website



Monday, March 4, 2019

In the Doctor's Arms by Carol Ross -- release blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Release Blitz for
In the Doctor's Arms
By Carol Ross

In the Doctor's Arms
(Seasons of Alaska #6)
By Carol Ross
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 368 Pages
March 1st 2019 by Harlequin Heartwarming

Can he stop the one who got away—

from getting away again?

Everyone in her Alaskan town hopes Iris James is back for good. Including Dr. Flynn Ramsey, who stole her heart when they were awkward teenagers. She realizes he’s planning an encore, but a prestigious job in Washington, DC, is calling to her. Only, ever since their kiss at her brother’s wedding, Iris isn’t sure about anything. Except her reignited feelings for Flynn…


Excerpt

With Flynn’s hand branding Iris’s bare back, he led her to the dance floor. Gentle notes of a popular love song filled the air, so Flynn gathered her in his embrace and made dancing seem as easy as everything else he did. The satisfied smile playing on his lips caused Iris’s heart to execute a slow cartwheel inside her chest. She should be used to this, to him, by now.

Lowering her voice to a whisper, she said, “Thank you for that. I owe you one. It was probably a little over-the-top, but I appreciate your dramatic flair. I’m sure they’re still talking about it.”

He dipped his head, and whispered near her ear, “I could not possibly care any less than I do about Faith or Ashley. And I only care about Todd in that I don’t want you singing any duets with him.”

“I hadn’t planned to but...” Her throat went dry because his hand had returned to her back, where his thumb caressed the skin along the edge of her dress. “What are you doing?”

“Dancing. Is there something going on between you and Cricket?”

“What?” she answered, alarmed by the subject change. Did he know about the flying lessons? She wasn’t ready for anyone to know about that yet. “Like what? What do you mean by ‘something’?”

Eyes narrowed and assessing, he clarified, “Are you two romantically involved?”

“Oh.” She laughed, and then paused to process the question. She didn’t want to tell him the truth, but she also didn’t want him thinking that. “That’s not what’s going on,” she said, and then realized that she’d inferred that something was.

“What is going on, then?”

“Nothing. I mean, he is helping me with something. But we’re just friends. He’s practically like a brother to me, you know that.”

“I do, I was just confirming it before I did something.”

“What?”

Tightening his hold, he twirled her around. She said, “Oh, I get it. They’re still watching, right?”

Flynn chuckled softly, shifting his focus to meet her gaze again. His brown eyes seemed to burn into hers. “No, I don’t think you do get it,” he murmured. “But then again, I didn’t really get it, either.”

“Get what? Flynn, what are you...?” Her question trailed off because he was staring at her mouth. The heat from her cheeks was apparently burning through to her brain because she could not think straight. Much less talk.

“Maybe this will help.”

Then his mouth brushed against hers in the sweetest, most perfect caress. Flynn was kissing her? Yes, he sure was, and his lips were velvety soft and completely perfect, and she couldn’t—she wouldn’t—think past that. Instead, she kissed him back, pressing her mouth more firmly to his. One hand came up to grip his shoulder. Before she could do more than that, his soft lips were gone.

“Iris,” he whispered, “I’m...” He closed his eyes and rested his forehead against hers for a second before slipping a hand around the back of her neck. He pressed a gentle kiss against her forehead and tucked her in close again. “Give me a second.”

Iris focused on trying to move air in and out of her lungs, but with her cheek pressed against his chest, every breath was Flynn-scented with hints of spicy soap and cedar boughs. Flynn had just kissed her. What did that mean? What did she do now? Panic welled inside of her because it couldn’t mean anything.

A chuckle vibrated through him. “That should give everyone something to talk about, huh?”

Of course, she realized, he’d kissed her for her, to help her. Thank goodness, he’d broken it off before she’d said, or done, something truly embarrassing. Her cheeks ignited with heat as she imagined herself clinging to him like a spider monkey on the dance floor.

Other Books in the Series


About the Author


USA Today bestselling author Carol Ross grew up in small town America right between the Pacific Ocean and the Cascade Mountains, in a place where you can go deep sea fishing in the morning and then hit the ski slopes the same afternoon. The daughter of what is now known as free range parents, she developed a love of the outdoors at a very early age. As a writer, Carol loves to breathe the life she has lived into the characters she creates, grateful for the “research material” that every questionable decision, adrenaline-charged misstep, and near-death experience has provided.


Blitz Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $50 Amazon eGift Card and an ebook of In the Doctor's Arms (open internationally)
- 2 additional winners will receive a copy of In the Doctor's Arms (ebook if outside the US, signed print if in the US)

Ends March 5, 2019

Grab Our Button!