Friday, January 30, 2015

Eruption by Adrienne Quintana -- Blog Tour


22616883Eruption


Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: January 13th, 2015

ISBN13: 9781462115365

Paperback: 288 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Jace Vega has finally landed her dream job—working for Omnibus, an up-and-coming tech firm. But a mysterious message from her future self sets Jace and her old friend Corey racing to piece together clues before Omnibus destroys their future—and their past. This fast-paced thriller will keep you guessing till the very last page.

My Review

Excuse me while I catch my breath...  Great story with excitement around every page.  In the beginning, I was screaming at Jace, she frustrated me at first, but what an awesome character she turned out to be.  I realized that I would probably be just like her, not knowing who to trust and being too trusting, all at the same time.   I think that that is what made her most relatable.  So many choices and decisions for her and so many things she had to face, all while trying to chose between Corey and Damien and the turns her life could take her with any choice.  The storyline with the tablet was so cool, all that was found in it and all the secrets that were hidden.  All of Jace's quirks and breathing techniques were for a good reason, which is slowly revealed through the book.  The last fourth of the book is, WOW, make sure you aren't needed for awhile, because you will want to find out what happens.  Great ending, too!

4 out of 5 stars.  I can't wait for more from this author.

Author Links


Purchase Links


About the Author

Adrienne Quintana is the second of nine children born to professional oil artist, John Horejs, and his wife and business partner, Elaine. She spent her early years playing on the banks of the Snake River in southern Idaho while her father built a geodesic dome house. When the family wasn’t traveling around the country to art shows, Adrienne spent many happy hours reading in her unfinished, tent-like bedroom. Love of reading soon blossomed into a desire to write. If the family’s antiquated computer could be resurrected, a collection of short stories involving local characters and their epic battles with fire-breathing dragons would be sure to entertain.
After completing high school via correspondence, Adrienne studied Music Education at Mesa Community College. She took an 18 month break to serve a church mission in Montreal, Canada, where she gained invaluable life experiences and a few pounds from the local delicacies. After the completion of her mission and a month abroad in Europe, Adrienne moved to Utah with the intention of continuing her education at Brigham Young University, but these plans were short-lived when she met her husband-to-be while working at an investment company. Soon after their marriage, the Quintanas packed up and moved to Minnesota, where Adrienne worked while her husband earned a Law degree.

After four children and a move to Arizona, Adrienne completed her Bachelors of Science and Communication at the University of Phoenix. In the throes of housekeeping, potty-training, and carpooling, Adrienne discovered that she could find time to accomplish her goals—often in the quiet hours after the children were in bed. Since her graduation in 2012, those quiet moments have been used to fulfill a life-long dream of becoming a writer.


Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Rough Edges by Kimberly Krey -- Book Blast


Rough EdgesRough Edges by Kimberly Krey
Divorced mother, Allie Emerson, never imagined she’d be raising two teenage girls on her own. Between parenting and paying the bills, she hasn’t even thought about meeting a man. That changes once she hears local carpenter, Braden Fox, is in need of a secretary. Back in high school, Allie had done all she could to deny the sparks burning between her and Braden; perhaps now they could explore the possibilities.
Braden has heard all about what Terrance did to Allie and the girls, has been planning to stop by and see how she’s getting along, but Allie beats him to it by showing up at his shop in search of a job. Her single visit reignites the old flame Braden used to torch for her; trouble is, old feelings of resentment return as well. Allie did choose Terrance over him, after all. And as much as Braden wants Allie in his life, he’s not sure he can open his heart again.
With this second chance at romance, will the bumps in their relationship be too much to get over, or will this carpenter learn to smooth out the past?

Praise for Rough Edges
“Kimberly Krey never fails to truly amaze and captivate my heart … She has done it yet again with this heart stopping journey of a second chance at a once in a lifetime love.” ~Amber @ Wonderings of One Person
“An utterly charming romance!” ~Jamie Brook Thompson

add to goodreads
Excerpt
Their eyes met once more, and a shot of heat flooded his chest like a liquid bolt of lightening, forcing his pulse to rush. “I’ve missed you,” he blurted.
Her eyes widened in response, and Braden wondered if he’d been too bold. He’d hardly meant to speak it. It’d been more of a thought. A longing, really.
At last she nodded. “Yeah,” she said, her voice soft and low. “I … I’ve been wondering about you too. How you’ve been over the years. I kept asking Terrance who you were dating. If you were close to marrying anyone…” Her words drifted off for a breath, but then she spoke up again. “You admitted that you’d turned down our offers to come to dinner and catch up.” She studied him for a moment, a challenge presented in her gaze. “All those years. Why didn’t you just come?”
“You know why.” He’d nearly spoken over her, but he couldn’t help it.
“No, Braden, I don’t.”
He nodded adamantly, taking a step back and folding his arms. “Think about it, Allie.” …
“I have thought about it –”
“Not nearly enough, apparently,” he snapped.
“I’ve thought about it all these years. It hurt my feelings. I thought we were friends.”
… Braden bit back his words and broke into a pace.
“Braden,” she said, “I wanted you to stay a part of our lives. You were the best influence Terrance had and you just stopped being his friend? Why would you do that?”
Braden froze in place. “I was a better friend to him than you’ll ever know.” Or possibly the worst, he realized. He strode back, his gaze set on her. “And I didn’t want to be your friend, Allie. I wanted more than that and you know it.”
Her face fell flat. Her lips parted. But no words came. She cleared her throat, casting her eyes to the floor.
“Yeah,” he said. “Don’t pretend that you don’t know. I made it clear. And as soon as I did you started setting me up with every friend you had. Including Kayla.”
“That’s not…” Her face flushed red. Her lips tightened. “That’s not how it went, Braden.” The silence that followed was painful. The tension wedged in each passing second pressed at Braden’s last nerve.
“Well,” he said, “this has been a nice trip down memory lane, but if you don’t mind I’ve got to get back to work. Come on out when you’re ready.” He turned away from her in one quick jerk and walked out of the kitchen, one long stride after the next.

Kimberly Krey
Author Kimberly Krey
Writing Romance That’s Clean Without Losing the Steam!
I’m a reader of good, clean romance, a lover of family time and Diet Coke, and the ultimate hater of laundry.
I’m not patient enough to enjoy yoga, or tall enough to be great at basketball, but I do love to run – anywhere but on a treadmill. I love the sound of a rainstorm when I have no place to go, the feel of Soft Lips chap Stick on my lips, and the first peek of blue water as we round the mountains toward our favorite getaway in Bear Lake.

50_Amazon_Paypal

$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 2/18/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, January 26, 2015

Devon's Choice by Catherine Bennett -- Book Blast


devon's choiceDevon’s Choice
Life holds no surprises for Devon Murphy. Her life consists of keeping tabs on her aging Irish father, working part time at a coffee shop, and building her online graphics design business. Devon’s only tricky situation is a shallow relationship with the pampered and affluent Michael Turner, who sees her as just another woman to conquer.
Following his father’s death, Brandon’s only goal is to expand the family business and live life on his own terms. That is, until he walks into the coffee shop one snowy evening and meets the enchanting, red-haired barista behind the counter. But can Devon and Brandon’s attraction for each other be strong enough to help erase their deepest disappointments and renew their faith in God?

Excerpt:
Brandon looked over at her neutral expression. Whatever kind of relationship she had with Michael Turner didn’t seem to be making her happy. At that moment, all he wanted to do was to make her forget all about the jerk.
As if sensing him watching her, Devon turned her head enough to make eye contact with him. The faint, milky glow from the streetlight showed enough of her features for him to see a soft blush warm her cheeks. Under her dark lashes, he watched her sea green eyes glint invitingly as her soft lips turned up at the corners. In that moment, his resolve to keep the date on a friendly level came crashing down.
add to goodreads

Catherine BennettAuthor Catherine Bennett
I grew up in Ohio where I currently live with my husband and our two rescue Labradors. Some of my favorite things include reading, shopping, pepperoni pizza, Hershey bars and hanging out with my two grown sons. I also love dogs; so going to the dog park is cheap entertainment for my husband and I!
Growing up an only child, I had many imaginary friends. I believe this – and a love of books – fueled my desire to write. It was many years later that my dream of becoming a published author came true.
I’m grateful to God for always keeping a story in my heart and hope you are blessed and entertained by my book.
Devon's Choice (1)
50_Amazon_Paypal


$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 2/15/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, January 23, 2015

Betrayed by Ronda Gibb Hinrichsen -- Blog Tour/Giveaway


24175524Betrayed


Published: January 2015

Publisher: Covenant

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-481-5

Paperback: 291 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

1851: Niagara Falls, New York The evidence has been well hidden—the Thayers were confident that it was safe from the clutches of the ruthless Murphy Gang. But it has all been in vain. The lawless group is closing in on the family homestead, and seven-year-old Penny is given only one instruction: Run. After two long years eagerly anticipating her fiancĂ©’s return, twenty-year-old Julia Barrett is ready to make a fresh start with Adam Wolcott—even if it means putting her dream of traveling west with the Mormons on hold. But when Adam’s return is overshadowed by the unexpected arrival of a young orphan girl in desperate need of help, Julia is drawn into a dangerous mystery that will threaten all she holds dear. Charged with the protection of little Penny, Julia quickly finds herself relying on the help of Tom Harrison, an endearing young man who has long admired her from afar. Torn between two suitors, Julia soon uncovers a shocking trail of corruption and deceit—a discovery that pulls her inescapably into the race to locate telling evidence that Penny’s family gave their lives to protect . . .

My Review

Oh my goodness this book was so good!  I was on pins and needles the whole time.  Betrayed starts off strong and barely gives you time to catch your breath until the last page.  Ronda creates a perfect web of secrets and with every page there was something new to worry about.  Just when I thought I had it all figured out, BAM!  Another exciting twist.  Julia was amazing and I really, really liked Tom.  Adam, well, he had issues.  Sometimes I would be yelling in my head at him (and Julia) while I was reading.  I loved the setting of Niagara Falls and this cover is so beautiful.  What was really intriguing was the Underground Railroad twist.  I loved how involved Julia and her family were in protecting others.  Who stole the show for me was Penny.  She was so brave and had to endure so much.  I thought the ending was fantastic and bittersweet at the same time.  

5 out of 5 stars.  I can't wait for more from this author.  

Author Links


Purchase Links



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Keeping Kate by Lauren Winder Farnsworth -- Blog Tour


22616865Keeping Kate


Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: January 13th, 2015

ISBN13: 9781462115631

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

“Don’t you love me, Kate? Has everything you ever felt for me really disappeared in less than ten minutes?”

“I do love you,” I said woodenly. “I always will. But you’ll never hear it from me again.”

Kate Evans has never had a real family—and she’s never dreamed of falling in love. But when she gets a job taking care of a little girl on a lonely Utah ranch, Kate’s determined to make a life for herself.

Right up until the moment she meets her irritable employer . . .

Sparks fly in this LDS twist on the classic Jane Eyre. Equal parts suspenseful, entertaining, and romantic, it’s an addicting read that’s sure to capture your heart.

My Review

Confession.  I have never read Jane Eyre.  I know, I know, you can throw your arrows now.  LOL!  I did, however, really enjoy this retelling of Jane Eyre.  Kate has had a very sad life, but I loved that she didn't let it break her spirit and her faith in her Heavenly Father.  I was also glad that the author didn't let that back story be the whole focus of the book.  The glimpses into her life, told by Kate to others, was perfect.  I thought Kate was amazing.  A little stubborn at times, but that is what made her enduring.  Kate arrives in Oakley (which had me dying since my grandparents have a cabin up there that we still go to) and is right away taken with Thorne Field, not so much taken with Tyler.  I loved the progression in their relationship and especially how she was able show him how much he really did love Addie too.  Of course, nothing in life goes how you plan and I enjoyed the turn the story makes with some fun characters and a new life.  I did wonder about one character, but happy she was no longer in the picture.  Tyler also grew on me when he stopped being a stinker and I was thrilled with the end result of the book!

4 out of 5 stars.  I look forward to more books from this debut author.

About the Author

Lauren Winder Farnsworth was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah. She is an avid reader, a chocolate enthusiast, a musicophile and a CPA—which, yes, is somewhat unusual for a novelist, but don’t let that freak you out. She obtained bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from the University of Utah, went to work as an auditor of various financial statements, and then decided that writing down the stories swimming in her head sounded like a good creative outlet on the side. Having obtained two degrees from the same institution has made Lauren somewhat of a compound collegiate fan, and the only entity that holds more of her heart than the University of Utah is her husband, Bryan. Lauren currently lives in South Jordan, Utah, where she spends entirely too much time watching Gilmore Girls and looking for excuses not to clean.


Purchase Links


Blog Tour Stops

The Lost Princess by Cheri Chesley -- Cover Reveal


I'm so excited to be a part of the 
The Lost Princess
cover reveal!


Book Summary

Unwanted.  Torn between two families, Lady Jessenia Elsden curses her birth and wishes only for a place where she belongs.  But is that place with her father's people, or in the royal courts of Fayerra and Demarde with her mother--the long absent Queen Roweena?
Jessenia will travel miles, even going to the royal courts of Peldon, to find her court's desire--somewhere, someone that she can call home.  
The book is available for pre-order on January 31st and will be released February 17th. 

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Jeremy's Promise by A.R. Talley -- Book Blast


Jeremy's PromiseJeremy’s Promise by A.R. Talley
The trip that was meant to save Annie and Jeremy’s marriage brought it to near ruin. Now Annie has returned home, frightened and confused. Jeremy, too, is frightened—and angry. What will it take to save their marriage?
It’s clear. Jeremy needs to forgive—Annie needs to forget.
A promise is made. A tragedy occurs. A second honeymoon is disrupted. A chance encounter brings David Andrews back into Annie’s life.
Annie is determined to remain faithful. She’s made a promise she intends to keep—Jeremy’s Promise.
Praise for Jeremy’s Promise
A.R. Talley, gives you a believable look at the struggle of one couple to reconnect and heal their marriage, with dialog which sweeps you into the moment as if you were there with them, experiencing both their pain and recovery. Kudos to the author who has once again produced a book I couldn’t put down, as well as one I felt compelled to read multiple times. ~Donna Dech
Jeremy’s Promise second book in a trilogy by A.R. Talley is an awesome, emotional, romantic, highly recommended, well written story with captivating and engaging characters. ~Debbie Ballard
This is not a book I would have picked by myself! I loved it from start to finish!  Eagerly waiting for the third book in the trilogy to come out!! I highly recommend this book! ~Goodreads
add to goodreads
AprilAuthor A.R. Talley
A. R. Talley lives in Ohio with her husband Doug and the last of her seven children (the rest have flown the coup.) She loves to cook, read, write, watch movies, play piano, and laugh. Her second favorite vacation involves the British Isles and a small café in Scotland.

Jeremy's Promise (1)

50_Amazon_Paypal
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 2/15/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway