Thursday, July 31, 2014

Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram -- Cover Reveal/Giveaway



It’s been almost a year since eighteen-year-old Ella Rodriguez was in a car accident that left her crippled, scarred, and without a mother. After a very difficult recovery, she’s been uprooted across the country and forced into the custody of a father that abandoned her when she was a young child. If Ella wants to escape her father’s home and her awful new stepfamily, she must convince her doctors that she’s capable, both physically and emotionally, of living on her own. The problem is, she’s not ready yet. The only way she can think of to start healing is by reconnecting with the one person left in the world who’s ever meant anything to her—her anonymous Internet best friend, Cinder. 

… 

Hollywood sensation Brian Oliver has a reputation for being trouble. There’s major buzz around his performance in his upcoming film The Druid Prince, but his management team says he won’t make the transition from teen heartthrob to serious A-list actor unless he can prove he’s left his wild days behind and become a mature adult. In order to douse the flames on Brian’s bad-boy reputation, his management stages a fake engagement for him to his co-star Kaylee. Brian isn’t thrilled with the arrangement—or his fake fiancĂ©e—but decides he’ll suffer through it if it means he’ll get an Oscar nomination. Then a surprise email from an old Internet friend changes everything.

Teaser excerpt:
You do have someone who cares, he said softly. No matter how bad things are at home or at school or whatever, you have me. Youre my best friend, too. You have my number now. Save it in your phone and call it anytimeday, night, the witching hourit doesnt matter. Okay?
It took me a momentand a series of deep breathsbefore I could respond. Okay.
Promise?
I promise. As long as I always have you, Ill be fine. I kicked myself internally and laughed.Wow, that sounded really cheesy. You see? Thats why I didnt want to call you. I can filter my stupid mouth so much better when I have to type out my thoughts.
Cinder laughed again. Ah, but then you would miss out on all the sweet nothings I plan to whisper in your ear now that I know how much you like my ultra-sexy voice.
I blushed but refused to let him know that his flirting rattled me. I never said ultra, you egomaniac. But you should definitely consider recording audiobooks for a living.
Hmm. Thats not a bad idea. Cinders voice dropped to that slow, seductive purr again as he asked, Would you like me to read to you, Ellamara?
I thrilled at the thought and couldnt quite mask my excitement. Seriously?
Why not? Before you called, I was getting ready to have a Top Gear marathon all by my lonesome.
You are such a liar. Tonight is Friday night, and its Halloween. There is no way you dont have plans.
I dont have important ones. Its just a stupid party that my sort-of girlfriend wants me to go to.
Your sort-of girlfriend?
Yeah. Cinder stretched the word out in a long breath. Its a long story, but Im not that into her. Id much rather stay home and read with you. Besides, I cant hang up on you when youve had theworst day ever. What kind of best friend would that make me?
I almost cried again. The offer was so sweet. And thoughtful. Reading was a passion Cinder and I shared. We read and discussed books all the time. Wed even decided to read the same book at the same time before, but wed never read one together. Cinder had to know how much that would mean to me.
It has to be The Druid Prince, I said.
Cinder laughed. Its already in my hands.


Look for Cinder & Ella October 1, 2014!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

A Portrait for Toni by Annette Lyon -- Book Blast


A Portrait for Toni book coverA Portrait for Toni by Annette Lyon
Toni has no idea what she’d do without her best friend, Carter. Who else would she be able to vent to about her parents, her job at the dance studio, or her latest relationship woes? When Toni’s father lands in the hospital, Carter, as always, is there for her.
That is, until he starts questioning Toni, saying he thinks she has an eating disorder. Then she starts dating Clint, the hot new guy at the studio, and somehow that puts a deeper wedge between her and Carter. When she’s hospitalized after an on-stage collapse, and Carter stupidly starts in with advice about food and weight, she sends him away—then instantly regrets it.
One night after a performance, Toni tries to mend the hurt between them. Instead of finding Carter, she stumbles onto proof that he has feelings for her that go way beyond those of a friend. Toni is left with the very real prospect of losing Carter forever, unless somehow she can return his feelings—but that’s impossible.
Isn’t it?
 Amazon * Kobo
Praise for the Book
“I finished this book several days ago and have since read another book, but I cannot get this one off of my mind. It was so genuine, thought provoking and the love story was such a good one. There were times when I cried, felt anxiety for the main characters, laughed and felt my heart breaking. . . . I want to go back and read it again because having finished it, I feel a loss, like I lost my best friend. It really was so excellent, and one of the best books I have read in a long time.” -Brookeyloo on Amazon
“I loved the characters in this book they were so real. I found myself relating in some instances to the characters. I laughed, cried, and got mad with them. I loved reading Toni’s journey, and seeing the strength she had to push through it. It was heartbreaking to picture what she was going through. I loved how Annette made that part so real. . . . Annette did a wonderful job with the hard subject in the story. She brought humor at times when it was needed. She also did an amazing job bringing it all together at the end! I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, it will touch your heart. I stayed up late just to finish it! It was definitely worth it!!” – Amie loves to Read on Amazon
“Annette Lyon at her best. A Portrait of Toni has everything I love about a book. Real issues that will make you cry, smile and the love of a true friend. A book you can’t out down because you feel you need to read on as to help Toni get through this. You will find yourself quickly in her life and dreams as you want so much to be there to help her. . . . A must read book.” -Linda Young on Amazon

add to goodreads
Excerpt
“Now you tell me about your ultimate dream. Do you still see yourself as a famous artist living out of a penthouse in Paris? Or is it Rome now?”
Carter couldn’t take his eyes from Toni’s. He wished she could hear his thoughts, know his feelings. “My dreams aren’t too different from yours. I’d love to settle down with a wife, be a dad, have kids.” He gazed into her eyes.
Figure it out!
“Hey, here’s an idea,” Toni said with a laugh. “In another ten years if we’re both single, let’s get married. What do you say?” She put out her hand as if to seal the deal, but Carter just laughed sardonically. Great. She was making a mockery of the one thing he hoped for.
She lowered her hand. “What, am I that repulsive?”
“Of course not.” Carter’s mind was spinning. What could he say that was both true and hid the truth at the same time? “I can’t see either of us marrying without—‌” He cut off, but Toni smiled, seeming to know what he meant.
“Without what, romance? Falling madly in love? All that stuff is highly overrated. Trust me, I’ve been there.” She shook her head derisively.
All that stuff was hard to deal with when the object of your feelings didn’t return them. He’d been there. “Do the math, Toni. In ten years, you’ll be thirty-seven. You may not be able to get in two or three kids.”
“Then I’ll settle for one.” She punched his shoulder. “We could even adopt kids to avoid the whole ‘we’re not in love’ issue.”
“Oh, right,” he said, rolling his eyes.
She raised her eyebrows provocatively. “Fine. We can be married… with benefits.” She laughed.
His face went hot; he had to turn around so she wouldn’t see his reaction. No way did he want her guessing how much he wanted to hold her, wake up beside her — ‌make children together.
He leaned against the car and laughed along. With any luck, it sounded natural. Instead of shaking on the deal or giving her a direct answer, he opened her car door so she could get in. And so he could escape.
She sat down and put her purse on the passenger seat. “Thanks for inviting me.”
“You bet. Talk to you later.”
Carter watched her drive off. When she waved, he lifted one hand and did the same.
You’re killing me, Toni.

annette lyonAuthor Annette Lyon
Annette Lyon is a Whitney Award winner (Band of Sisters, Best General Fiction 2010). She has also been a Whitney finalist two other times, for Spires of Stone (2007) and Paige (2012). She has received Utah’s Best of State medal for literary arts in fiction twice (2007 and 2013) in addition to five publication awards from the League of Utah Writers, most recently the Silver Quill Award in 2013. She’s published well over a hundred articles and more than a dozen books, including novels, novellas, a cookbook, and a grammar guide. She’s one of the coauthors of The Newport Ladies Book Club series and one of the standing contributors to the Timeless Romance Anthology collections. When she’s not mothering, writing, knitting, or eating chocolate, she can be found ignoring the spots on the kitchen floor.


book blast button



Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/24/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Summer Fun Amazon Gift Card Giveaway -- Hosted by I Love to Read and Review Books


What would you do with a 
$175 Amazon Gift Card?


11 authors have come together
to give you some SUMMER FUN READING
and a $175 AMAZON GIFT CARD!

Click on the image to read a summary of each book :)


GIVEAWAY ends 8/31/14 

No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older and legally able to receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code. This giveaway is not associated with Rafflecopter, Facebook, Twitter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway was organized by I Love to Read and Review Books :) 
and sponsored by the participating authors.
A.L. Sowards
Christy Monson
Ashley Lavering
In This Together Media
J. C. Whyte
Debbie Peterson
Rebecca Belliston
Rebecca H Jamison
Rachelle J. Christensen
Alivia Anderson
Julie Coulter Bellon

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Becoming Lady Lockwood by Jennifer Moore -- Blog Tour/Giveaway


Becoming Lady Lockwood

Becoming Lady Lockwood

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: July 1st, 2014

Paperback: 199 pages

ISBN13: 9781621086895

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.



Becoming Lady Lockwood Summary
Amelia Beckett is delighted to be a widow. Married by proxy to a man she’d never met, Amelia recognizes that a fortuitous entry into widowhood frees her from meddlesome chaperones and matchmakers. Heiress to her mother’s sugar plantation in Jamaica, she happily anticipates working in a man’s world, with the additional credibility of her new title: Lady Lockwood. But with the arrival of Captain Sir William Drake, her plans quickly go awry . . . William has traversed the Atlantic with one purpose. If he cannot prove that Amelia’s marriage to his brother was a fraud, she will be entitled to a sizeable portion of his family’s estate. He is determined to return this duplicitous Lady to London for an official hearing, and he carries with him a letter that will ensure her cooperation . . . Left with no choice, Amelia joins the captain on his return voyage to England, and the two quickly find that ship life does not allow for evasion. Amelia and William are ceaselessly thrown together, and amidst fierce storms and ocean battles, what began as antipathy seems to be evolving quite unexpectedly. But as they draw ever closer to their destination, will the impossibility of their circumstances shatter any hope of a future together?

My Review

I absolutely loved this book.  It has everything.  Romance, action, suspense, and heart.  The characters are amazing.  I loved Amelia and William was a favorite too.  Amelia was a gem.  She was instantly like-able and I immediately cared about her.  I love it when authors take care in their supporting characters too.  In this book, all were the characters are important and are well written, especially Sidney.  His humor and temperament always made me look forward to scenes he was in.  The author does a great job with the romantic tension between Amelia and William.  Their relationship took time and both had their doubts all while battling with the seas and the French.  On the ship, she didn't want to be a burden and I loved how she used the skills she had to help on the ship and make friends.  The battle scenes were told from Amelia's perspective while she helps the ship's doctor.  My heart broke for her many times, not only with the battles, but when she arrives in England.

Many exciting events happen that had me turning pages quickly, but I was torn, because I didn't want the book to end.  I will read anything from Jennifer and look forward to her next book.

5 out of 5 stars.  Isn't this the most gorgeous cover you've ever seen?
Praise for Becoming Lady Lockwood
“Moore does a lovely job of showcasing sizzle in this must-read for fans of regency and historical romance.” ~ Foreword Reviews
Jenny MooreAuthor Jennifer Moore
Jennifer Moore is a Passionate reader and writer of all things romance, helping her find balance with the rest of her world, which includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that are anything but romantic. Jennifer has a BA in linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family. You can learn more about her at authorjmoore.com. The author’s first book, Becoming Lady Lockwood, is a regency romance centered on the British navy during the Napoleonic Wars of the early 1800s.

Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/7/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Sleeping Beauty and the Beast by Melissa Lemon -- Combined Review


Sleeping Beauty & the Beast by Lemon_COVER ONLYSleeping Beauty and the Beast

Author: Melissa Lemon

Publisher: self

Published: June 20, 2014

ISBN13: 978-1499788808

Paperback/Kindle: 300 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

Trapped in a cursed sleep, the only experiences Princess Eglantine has are the ones in her dreams. There she meets Prince Henry of Fallund, a neighboring kingdom on the brink of war. Meanwhile, Prince Henry's brother Duncan discovers a vicious beast imprisoned for murder. Captivated by her, he works to free her from both the prison bars she's locked behind and the ones surrounding her heart and mind. Sleeping Beauty and the Beast reinvents and seamlessly intertwines the classic fairy tales Sleeping Beauty and Beauty and the Beast.

Mindy's Review

I have been a fan of Melissa's for a long time.  Her books are fabulous.  Her most recent retelling was Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem, which I loved.  I loved this unique retelling combination of Sleeping Beauty and Beauty and the Beast.  Melissa did a fantastic job with this story.  The characters are intriguing and the story is very enjoyable.  I loved how beauty was only seen by Prince Henry and I really loved how the beast was tamed.  Henry was the only one that could see Eglantine, and that made for some funny and then some uncomfortable scenes for Henry, but the best part was, he didn't care.  Many thought he was losing his mind, including his twin brother Duncan.  Duncan ended up being one of my favorite characters.  His willingness to see the beast in a different way, was very enduring.  

The story switched from Eglantine's point of view while she "slept", to the beast's, which was mostly Duncan visiting her and trying to figure out how to help her.  The fact that the beast was a woman, was a very cool twist.  I especially enjoyed the ending and how it all wrapped up.  

4 out of 5 stars.  If you like fairytales and retellings, you will love this story.  The ending is so satisfying, it will leave you with smiling.  

Sheila's Review


Sleeping Beauty and the Beast...two fairy tales woven into one. I absolutely love a well written twisted fairy tale and Melissa Lemon has always done a great job of doing this in the past. I loved Cinder and Ella and also Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem. Sleeping Beauty and the Beast shows again why Melissa has this fairy tale "telling" down to a science. She takes old stories and makes them into a different story. Once familiar characters are now brand new. 
I loved how Sleeping Beauty was written. We hear her tell her own story, even though she's asleep and she can move about in her dreams. This is how she meets Prince Henry. At first he is the only one that can see Princess Eglantine as she floats around in her ethereal form. They become close as they learn to talk, listen and support each other through their trials. 
The Beast part of this fairy tale is unique in that "The Beast" is a woman, not a man. Prince Henry's brother, Duncan, becomes intrigued and obsessed with the wild woman accused of murder. Being different from his brother and how he views the royal life, Duncan goes out of his way to free this agonized woman both physically and mentally. This part of the story truly touched me as Duncan never gave up on this woman that others were so ready to put to death. 

Sleeping Beauty and the Beast will challenge the old telling of these tales. You will find yourself quickly enveloped in the lives of all four characters. The ending will leave you happy and fulfilled. This clean read is suitable for any tween, teen and adult reader who loves a fairy tale with a perfect ending.

Author/Book Links






Online BioBio: Melissa Lemon is the author of two other fairy tale retellings: Cinder and Ella and Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem. She is also the author of a sweet romance called Blue Sky. Writing is just one of her passions. She also loves music, reading, baking and exercising. She is wife to a patient man, mother to three spunky girls, and warden to a tolerant cat named Matilda.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Son of War, Daughter of Chaos by Janette Rallison -- Book Blast


Son of War
Son of War, Daughter of Chaos
Aislynn is accustomed to watching for the enemy. Her parents instructed her from the time she was young to look for the signs: people with greater than normal strength, eyes that can glow green, and have the ability to jump long distances. Over the years, Aislynn has come to view her parents’ fears as quirks—things that get in the way of having a normal high school life.
When Aislynn’s mother dies under suspicious conditions, her father doubles his restrictions. But all his precautions can’t stop the boy with glowing green eyes from finding Aislynn. She realizes too late she’s been drafted into an ancient Egyptian war, whether she’s prepared or not.

Janette RallisonAuthor Janette Rallison
Janette Rallison is old. Don’t ask how old, because it isn’t polite. Let’s just say she’s older than she’d like to be and leave it at that.
Janette lives in Chandler, Arizona with her husband, five children and enough cats to classify her as “an eccentric cat lady.” She did not do this on purpose. (The cats, that is; she had the children on purpose.) Every single one of the felines showed up on its own and refuses to leave. Not even the family’s fearless little Westie dog can drive them off.
Since Janette has five children and deadlines to write books, she doesn’t have much time left over for hobbies. But since this is the internet and you can’t actually check up to see if anything on this site is true, let’s just say she enjoys dancing, scuba diving, horse back riding and long talks with Orlando Bloom. (Well, I never said he answers back.)

book blast button



Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/17/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Dreamosphere by Laura Stoddard -- Blog Tour

The Dreamosphere

Author: Laura Stoddard

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: July 8th, 2014

ISBN13: 9781462114443

Paperback: 208 pages

Goodreads Summary

What if dreams don’t disappear when we wake up? Haunted by her sister’s death, Gwen Stoker takes solace in her web of dreams—the Dreamosphere. But when someone begins destroying it, Gwen must find the culprit—or risk losing all her happy thoughts and feelings forever! Dreams come to life in this fantastical children’s tale!

My Review

I enjoyed the idea behind this book, someone has been breaking in to her dreams and changing her personality.  I felt bad for Gwen and all that she has gone through, you can tell right away that something is off with her.  I was glad that the author eased the reader into her life.  I liked the mystery behind her "secret" and what happened to her to make her the way she is.  She is having a hard time in school and when an old friend starts to visit her in her dreams to help her, it seemed to me she wanted to be in the dream world instead of the real world.  I did enjoy the events that take place in the story.  I was happy when she started figuring things out, but thought it was wrapped up too quickly, but was glad when this unhappy girl with no friends, starting getting some answers and was able to make friends and be happy. 



EXCERPT
"What do you think happens to your dreams after you wake up?"
Gwen shrugged distractedly, too disoriented by her sudden arrival in the remarkable setting to focus. "I dunno. They disappear?"
The unblinking gray eyes of her young companion flashed as she leaned forward. "Incorrect. Every dream you've ever had still exists. All of them. They reside in a dimension called the Dreamosphere. It's where we are right now, as a matter of fact. Each dream basically exists as its own world, or dream-orb. There are thousands and thousands of them, connected like drops of dew on a gigantic spider web. Every dream you've ever had, Gwen. They're all up here. And you can visit them any time you want."



Author Bio: Laura Stoddard was born in Idaho and spent her formative years running amok in the great outdoors. She received her bachelors degree in English Literature from Arizona State University. After being rejected from the masters program for creative writing she decided that she didn't need a masters degree to tell her she could write, so she started really dedicating her time to finishing the story she'd started months earlier, with the goal of writing a complete novel, and getting it published. The result is her debut novel, The Dreamosphere, for which her own vivid, bizarre, and incomprehensible dreams provided the inspiration. Laura is an adrenaline junkie and will try anything once--or twice--or maybe three times. She can already check whitewater rafting, going down in a shark cage, and skydiving (three times) off of her list. Oh, and getting Lasik. It was five minutes of terror. She enjoys hiking, rowing, reading classic literature, embarking on new adventures and hobbies, volunteering regularly, and spending time with family. She currently resides in Phoenix, Ariz.


Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble