Friday, October 13, 2017

Topaz Reign by Teresa Richards - Blog Tour/Giveaway

Topaz Reign

Author: Teresa Reign

Publisher: Evernight Teen

Published: Sept. 29, 2017

Paperback: 362 pages

ISBN13: 9781773394339

FTC FYI: I received a PDF copy from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Fairy tales are simply tales, told and re-told, but changed over time.

It has been four months since Maggie learned the dark truth behind the tale of the Princess and the Pea and freed Princess Lindy from the cursed Emerald. Lindy is now back in the past where she belongs, queen of her tiny Scandinavian country, and Maggie is a fully reformed ex-stalker.

Except … she can’t stop doing internet searches on Lindy and her country.

One morning, Maggie wakes to find history turned on its head. Apparently, you can’t destroy a centuries-old curse without consequence. In order to prevent the changes in history from wiping out the present, Maggie resurrects her stalking gene and learns that fairy tales don’t stay dead for long. Or at all.

Back in 1623, Lindy is juggling a threat to her family, a handsome new guard she’s not supposed to have feelings for, and a cursed Topaz with ties to the tale of Thumbelina. When past and present collide, Lindy and Maggie are brought together again, and another of Andersen’s tales turns from twisted fiction to chilling fact.
 


My Review

Topaz Reign is another great fairytale re-telling from Teresa Richards.  It was a really great adventure and a very fun, exciting read.  I really love these characters.  Lindy is so brave and strong, Maggie too.  As I mentioned in my review for Emerald Bound, this author writes teenagers very well.  I appreciated how real the girls were.  There were so many enjoyable twists and turns that I could not turn pages fast enough to see what was going to happen next.  I loved the mystery of the "pearl" and "topaz" that had impact on so many characters and how the author brought it all together was great. I really liked how the book was written, with the POV changes from Lindy and Maggie.  Chapters would end in such a way that I had to keep reading to see what would happen.

5 out of 5 stars.

Author Links

Tour Link / Twitter / Website

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback  / Barnes and Noble






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Safe House by Traci Hunter Abramson - Blog Tour

Safe House

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: October 1, 2017

ISBN13: 9781524402754

Paperback: 293 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

The guardians, the shadowy heroes of the top-secret program designed to protect members of the most elite government organizations, are being hunted down one by one. There is a single explanation: a traitor must be embedded somewhere in their midst. But if they themselves are the target, who will protect them?

CIA operative Renee Niezen has heard tales of the guardians, though she's never really believed in their existence—until she is approached by Charlotte, an old friend who desperately needs her help to stop the systematic destruction of the guardian program. Renee accepts the plea for assistance, but not everyone is thrilled to have her on the team. Kade—one of the last guardians standing—is unimpressed with Renee's qualifications and turns instead to the legendary Saint Squad for help. But when Renee is caught in the crosshairs, Kade must set aside his antagonism for the woman in order to protect her. Their grudging alliance soon develops into much more—but before the pair can examine their feelings, their investigation takes a dramatic twist. With lives on the line, Renee and Kade must use their spy training at every turn as they draw dangerously close to the shocking truth.
 


My Review

Every new book I read of Traci's becomes my new favorite.  Safe House is awesome! Surprises and suspense on every page. I could not put it down and stayed up WAY past my bedtime so I could finish.  I had to know what was going to happen!  It was so great to have the Saint Squad be in this book too.  I really appreciated the subtle things Traci would do to remind the reader about character traits of the Saint Squad, as it's been a little while since I've read a Saint Squad book.  They are such great characters and Traci writes them so well.  I loved Kade and Renee.  They worked well together and I loved their compatibility.  Renee is so smart and savvy and she really surprised Kade with how awesome she is! This book is fast-paced and very exciting.  So many twists and turns, I loved every minute.  

5 out of 5 stars.  The way it ended, I'm hoping there is another book about The Guardians!

Author Links

Goodreads / Twitter / Website

Purchase Links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book

Schedule


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

The Fearless Groom by Cami Checketts - Spotlight

Find The Fearless Groom on Amazon. Free in KU library.
A bachelor auction, a hot football player, and the right woman to bring him to his knees.

Izzy Knight walked away from her father’s billions and his Titans football team to become a nurse practitioner at a children’s hospital. She’s busy and accomplished and certainly has no room in her life for a larger-than-life football player who goes through women faster than she completes a shift at the hospital.

Xavier Newton loves football but hates the games that go along with it. When the owner of the Titans forces him and his buddies to be sold like cattle at a bachelor auction he barely endures the event, until a feisty brunette bids half a million dollars for him. He’s completely drawn to Izzy, but when he finds out her father is the owner of the Titans sparks fly and everybody’s loyalties are challenged.
Can these two find love when they don’t know who’s waiting to tackle them from the blindside?

River Whispers by Rachelle J. Christensen - Book Launch/Giveaway

I am thrilled to show you the cover and announce the release of 
RIVER WHISPERS by Rachelle J. Christensen

Available now!
Get your copy on Amazon.
Enter the giveaway here.





Thursday, October 5, 2017

For Love or Honor by Sarah M. Eden

For Love or Honor

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Covenant

Published: October 1st, 2017

ISB13: 9781524402563

Paperback: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

From the moment they met, Marjie’s heart has belonged to handsome Captain Stanley Jonquil, younger brother of the Earl of Lampton. But six long months ago, when Stanley’s sense of honor required that he do as he had sworn and return to the Continent to fight in defense of King and country, neither Stanley nor Marjie could have dreamed what the cost of his service would be. It has been ages since Stanley last wrote, and Marjie and the Jonquil family are plagued by his unknown fate—until the day he unexpectedly reappears. Marjie’s joy, however, is quickly shadowed by confusion—the aloof, battle-worn soldier before her is not the man he once was. In the wake of Stanley’s blatant disinterest in renewing their acquaintance, Marjie’s devastation turns to determination as she vows to help him find peace. But his scars run far deeper than anyone realizes. Despite his feelings for her, Stanley believes Marjie deserves a man whose hands are not stained with the violence of battlefields and whose mind and heart are not haunted by the horrors he has seen. Honor requires Stanley to return once more to the life he has grown to despise, one he knows will destroy him in the end, even as his heart beckons him to stay with Marjie, the only woman he could ever love, and the promise, at last, of redemption.

My Review

For Love or Honor is another masterpiece by Sarah Eden.  Sarah is one of my favorite authors.  I can always count on a well developed, lovely story from her.  Her writing is perfect.  This book is heartbreakingly beautiful.  I ached for Stanley and his hardships.  He is so brave, but needed to learn to forgive himself for the battlefield.  Accepting his wounds was his toughest battle.  I loved Marjie, she had her own hardships to overcome as well, but I loved how strong she was.  Pluck was a delight.  He brought humor and help wherever he was.  There is a great scene with Pluck and Marjie, that is very touching.  Sorrel had her struggles, but I admire her character and the amazing women she is.  Phillip was wonderfully Phillip.  I love all the Jonquil brothers, but he holds a special place in my heart.    

5 out of 5 stars.  I loved this book. It makes me want to read all the Jonquil books again and again.

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon paperback / Amazon ebook / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

The Stray -- Movie Spotlight



The Stray movie releases October 6th!
Experience the power of one dog to change everything

My daughter and I saw an early screening of this and we both loved it.  You will laugh, you will cry, The Stray is a perfect movie for the whole family. 

Struck Films, Purdie Distribution and Motive Entertainment announce the upcoming release ofThe Stray, a heartwarming family film written and directed by Mitch Davis (The Other Side of Heaven) based on a screenplay by Parker Davis with Ken Brailsford executive producing.

Set for release in select markets in the United States on October 6, 2017, The Stray tells the true story of how a one stray dog impacts a struggling family.

That stray dog is “Pluto” who comes out of nowhere and quickly makes himself at home with the Davis family, which is on the brink of falling apart. Dad (Michael Cassidy; Argo, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice ), is a career-driven personality who’s neglecting his marriage and family. Mom (Sarah Lancaster;  Everwood, The Judge) is at her wits end raising three young kids. The last thing they need is another mouth to feed. Or is it?

In just a short time with the Davis family, Pluto the “wonderdog” manages to save a lost toddler, bring comfort and companionship to a hurting 9-year-old boy (Connor Corum; Heaven is for Real), help restore a marriage, and repair a broken father-son relationship.  Pluto is not only a guard dog - he’s a guardian angel.




The Stray is a heartwarming family movie that is wonderfully entertaining, while teaching about love for a pet, love of family and making time for family,” said Donna Rolfe, Dove Foundation.

“It’s really not a stretch to say that Pluto gave me my life back,” said Mitch Davis. “He saved me and my family in more ways than one. And although The Stray reflects my personal story, I know they’re countless families across America who could say the same thing about a pet that greatly impacted them with its unconditional love - which is why I hope families will see this film together.” 

Sometimes help comes from the most unlikely places. Sometimes our prayers get answered in strange ways. Sometimes one dog can change everything.


Visit The Stray movie website at www.TheStray.Movie and follow The Stray movie on  Facebook and Twitter and follow the conversation at #TheStray.

Monday, October 2, 2017

Happily Ever Afters by Rachel Magee -- Grand Finale Post Spotlight

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Happily Ever Afters
By Rachel Magee

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:



Launch - Author Interview

1. What is your motivation behind HAPPILY EVER AFTERS?

I actually came up with the idea for Happily Ever Afters while I was on a girls’ trip. Several of my friends at the time weren’t married and there were a few handsome bachelors at the resort. I started wondering what would happen if two people who didn’t live anywhere near each other fell in love.

It's All About the Romance - Why You Need to Go on Vacation – Or Read a Book – Or Both

Who loves vacation? Me too! It doesn’t matter if it’s a weekend getaway to a town nearby or a longer trip to someplace a bit farther, I love them all. My passion for travel worked its way into my book HAPPILY EVER AFTERS, which is about a couple who meet while on vacation. The rest of their story involves meeting up at the different destination weddings of each of their best friends and visiting each other in their home cities. . . .


“Excuse me.” The deep voice came from above me.

I cracked one eye enough to see a man standing there. He motioned to the large storage bin holding all the passengers’ bags stowed under the bench where I was sitting. Shifting out of his way, I didn’t let the interruption distract me from enjoying the tranquility of the sail.



“Nice to meet you, Lainey.” He flashed a charming smile and settled against the rail. My heart skipped a beat. “What brings you to Puerto Rico?” He casually folded his arms in front of his toned chest.

“We’re celebrating my birthday.”

“Happy birthday.” The cheerful sincerity of his voice coaxed my fake smile into a genuine one.


Paulette's Papers - Character Interview with Lainey on Location in Dallas

Hi y’all. Today we are in Dallas, Texas chatting with the heroine from Happily Ever Afters, Lainey Stratton.

Hi Lainey. Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi! I’m an internal medicine doctor. I finished my residency last year and am working at a hospital in Dallas. I like sports, especially hockey, and I love spending time with my friends.


"It's more than just a sweet romance, it's a journey filled with emotion and growth. . . . The last part of the book is filled with emotion that yanked my poor heart out. I was fully invested in the lives of these characters. Their journey wasn't easy, but it was satisfying. I loved my time spent with this book. I'll be watching for more from Rachel Magee!"

The Bookworm Chronicles - 5 Reasons to Get Swept Away with Vermont

The second destination wedding takes place at a bed and breakfast in Vermont. For this wedding, I wanted a location with a charming fairy tale like setting that would be the perfect place for our couple to meet up again. And what’s sweeter than maple syrup from Vermont?


"Magee is a new-to-me author and I was blown away from the powerful impact of the emotion that I felt throughout, and not just because of the jabs to my heart. The romance was palpable; the friendships were strong; the joys were high and the sorrows were low. This is one author worth watching out for!"


"Overall it was a cute story, much like a traditional romance. It was a clean read – although the characters were drinking, and some people may be bothered by that. Having never read something by this author before, I was unsure what to expect, but I found that I enjoyed it and will check out other books she has!"

Book Lover in Florida - Character Interview with Carter

Today we are talking with Carter Thompson, hero of Happily Ever Afters. Hi, Carter!

Hi. No one’s ever called me a hero before. I’m flattered. And searching for my cape.

Tell us about yourself.

Like you said, I’m Carter Thompson. My official title is long, but it means that I’m an economist for the State Department. I’m 34 and I live right here in Washington, D.C.


"A fast reading book, even though some of the first parts were slow the story kept me interested from start to finish. About finding love, recovering from lost loves."

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

“Then I definitely think we should try them,” I whispered back. “Any idea what’s in it?”

He shrugged. “Nope. But tonight, I’m feeling daring. How about you?”

Daring was not a way I often felt. I preferred to make decisions based on fact and scientific reason. But for some reason, on this picturesque street with this handsome semi-stranger, daring sounded like a great idea.



"Happily Ever Afters was aptly named. It was a adorably sweet romance with a happily ever after ending. It was not a fairy tale retelling, but it definitely had a fairy tale ending. I love books like this one. Lainey had definite struggles to overcome in her life and relationships. As mentioned in the synopsis, she faced a tragedy that rocked her world. And the pain in her past kept her from trusting easily. Both problems were genuine and well-addressed."

Bookworm Lisa - Review

"The road that the characters travel is a hard one. There is tragedy, loss, and pasts to deal with. Carter is a strong support for Lainey. You really can't help but like him from the moment he is introduced. In many ways he becomes her rock. . . . The book is well written, full of emotion (good and bad). I look forward to reading more from Rachel Magee."

Heidi Reads... - Review

"The twist midway through the plot is what brought out the emotion and connection for me. Seeing Carter be there for her and support her through such a hard time was great, and I thought the author did an authentic job of portraying Lainey's grief and overwhelming emotions. Of course some external conflicts also arose that had to be overcome, and I was swiftly turning pages until I found Lainey's perfectly sweet happily ever after."

Remembrancy - Review

"This book. Wow. The first third was fun. A vacation in San Juan, good friends, adventure with a gorgeous guy and meeting new friends. It set me up for a fun romp. . . . And then Pow! Now I’m crying, grieving along with Lainey at her loss, her loneliness, her heartbreak. . . . Rachel Magee’s debut novel is moving but, more importantly, it reminds us of the power of falling in love."

Jorie Loves A Story - Author Interview

When you were pitching Happily Ever Afters - how did you decide to focus on an Indie Publisher and what motivated you to seek out Clean Reads? What gives them the advantage over other Indies?

I liked the idea of a small publisher because it allowed me to be more involved in all the decisions while still having the expertise and advice of people who had done this many times. Clean Reads was actually recommended to me by a good friend who thought it would be a perfect fit for this book. I’m so happy she did! They publish clean fiction in a variety of genres, so it was a great match for my love of writing sweet romances. It allows my story to shine in the specific market where it belongs. But more than the books they publish, they are an amazing group of people who inspire and encourage me. It’s a joy to be part of the Clean Reads team.


"I love a good clean love story and this is one of those. . . . This story had so much emotion in it, I kept going from crying to laughing to being mad at one of the characters. It is a really good read. . . . I would highly recommend this book to other readers. I loved it."

And don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Happily Ever Afters
Rachel Magee
Contemporary Sweet Romance
ebook, 286 pages
September 19th 2017 by Clean Reads

Lainey Stratton does not fall in love with strangers she meets on vacation. It simply doesn’t make logical sense. So when Lainey meets Carter Thompson on the first day of her Caribbean vacation, she knows it could never amount to anything more than a crush. At the end of the vacation she will return to Dallas and he will return to D.C., and that will be the end of it. Well, unless he wants to join her at a friend’s destination wedding, which would be considered vacation too, right?

But when an unexpected tragedy sends Lainey’s logical world spiraling out of control, she realizes her vacation crush might be the only one who can help her pick up the pieces of her shattered life. That is, as long as she can get out of the way of her own happiness. And as long as Carter’s past doesn’t catch up with him before she gets a chance.


About the Author


Rachel Magee wrote her first novel when she was twelve and entered it into a contest for young author/illustrators. Unfortunately, the judges weren’t impressed with her stick figures. So she dropped the dream of becoming a world famous illustrator and stuck to spinning stories. When she’s not busy working on her latest book, she loves to travel with her family and friends. By far, her favorite destination is the beach, which tends to work its way into most of her stories. Between vacations, you can find her at home in The Woodlands, TX with her wonderful husband, their two adventurous kids and a couple of spirited pets, all of whom share Rachel’s love of the ocean. Well, except the cat and dog. They’re both afraid of water. Find out more about what Rachel has been up to at rachelmageebooks.com.

Tour Giveaway


Happily Ever Afters Prize Pack 1 (US residents only)
· Happily Ever Afters coffee mug
· Tea Sampler Pack
· Happily Ever Afters notebook
· Lilly Pulitzer pen
· Chocolates
· ‘Vacations’ picture frame

Happily Ever Afters Prize Pack 2 (US and International residents))
· $25 Amazon e-gift card

Giveaway ends October 4th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!