Monday, March 20, 2017

Condemn Me Not by Heather B. Moore

Condemn Me Not: Accused of Witchcraft

Author: Heather B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: March 14, 2017

ISBN13: 9781941145951

Paperback/ebook: 250 pages

FTC FYI: I received a PDF from the author, all reviews and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

“This woman was one of the most impudent, scurrilous, wicked creatures of this world; and she did now throughout her whole trial discover herself to be such a one. Yet when she was asked what she had to say for herself, her chief plea was that she had led a most virtuous and holy life.” —Reverend Cotton Mather, 1692

USA Today Bestselling author Heather B. Moore brings the life of her 10th great-grandmother to center stage. Susannah North Martin, accused of witchcraft in 1692, joins five women in the Salem Jail, all sentenced to death for their crimes. Amidst tragedy, Susannah finds hope and compassion as she remembers a well-loved life, and readers discover that love reaches far beyond the grave as Susannah faces the magistrates in Salem.


My Review

CONDEMN ME NOT is the hauntingly beautiful story about Author Heather B. Moore’s 10th great-grandmother, Susannah North Martin, who was hung as a witch in 1692. The book flashes from the time Susannah was in jail accused of witchcraft and when she met her husband George. Heather does an amazing job writing these two different time periods. The jail scenes were sad, but very well-written, as the horrors of “witch” jails and trails were depicted. I loved Susannah and George. Their courtship was written perfectly. Hints of Susannah’s “witch” troubles are carried through the book, what a sad and frightening period of time for these women.

5 out of 5 stars.

Author Links

Goodreads / Amazon / Facebook / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Schedule

March 24My Book a Day / Empower Moms


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 17, 2017

Love, Jane by Ranee S. Clark -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Love, Jane

Author: Ranee S. Clark


Publisher: Covenant

Published: March 1

ISBN13: 9781524401368

Paperback

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Jane Reeves and Sean O'Callaghan seem to be a match made in heaven—but the timing is all wrong. Jane has her heart set on serving a mission, and she can't delay telling Sean the news any longer: not only has she quietly submitted her mission papers, but she's also leaving in a month ... for Alaska. Shocked and devastated, Sean struggles to come to terms with Jane's decision. Unable to deny the depth of their feelings for one another, Sean makes a promise to wait for her.

Life unfolds for both Jane and Sean, with communications limited to weekly e-mails. But with just a few months left in Jane's mission, Sean's messages stop. When she receives the dreaded "Dear Jane" breakup along with the news that she has been replaced by Sean's former flame, Jane knows the future she envisioned now belongs to another woman. But upon her return home, Jane quickly realizes some things are worth fighting for—perhaps, most of all, a shot at true love.
 


My Review


Love, Jane is another hit for Ranee Clark.  I have come to rely on Ranee for a fun, clean story with great characters.  It took me a bit to really like Jane.  Her hesitation and the time it took to tell Sean she was leaving on her mission was frustrating, but I felt it showed how much growth her character needed to achieve during the book and I was not disappointed in how Ranee pulled it off.  Jane ended up being a great character who was finally brave enough to express herself and get what she wanted. I felt Ranee did a great job with Sean's reaction to Jane's mission call, I was glad he was upset as he was at first, as it was deserved.  I did love how much thought was put into her final decision to go.  I enjoyed how the story was split into sections.  I felt it represented character growth and moved the story along well.  One thing that is on my mind though, I felt there was too much given away in the book's description, but I still enjoyed it a lot.  I will read anything from this author. 

4 out of 5 stars.  

Author Links

Goodreads / Twitter / Website


Purchase Links


Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book



Schedule



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Carve Me a Melody by Rachelle J. Christensen -- cover reveal

Check out the gorgeous new cover of Kindle Scout winner Rachelle Christensen's CARVE ME A MELODY.

Last year, The Soldier's Bride won the Kindle Scout Publishing Award and that set me on the path to continue the Music Box Romance Series with characters that I fell in love with years ago.
Now The Soldier's Bride is a Whitney Award Finalist and on a special sale for $1--so all this celebration means that the next book didn't want to be left out.


Carve Me a Melody is now available for preorder and here is the absolutely gorgeous cover designed by the ultra-talented, Kelli Ann Morgan.






Here's a little about this story:

World War II has ended but the scars of the war have carved deep grooves in Sophie Wright’s heart. Now a widow with two young children, she returns home to Aspen Falls and meets Leland Halverson, a handsome carpenter who appears interested in her, but afraid of a relationship. 
Leland wishes he was worthy of the beautiful Sophie, and he adores her two children, but his past still haunts him. Sophie knows that Leland fell apart after his little girl died and his wife left him, but she doesn’t know the real reason why.
Meanwhile, David Alexander, a decorated bomber pilot has returned to Aspen Falls, and Sophie catches his eye. Confused by the two vastly different choices of men, Sophie searches for answers from a heart that has betrayed her before.

When Sophie discovers a message inside a music box that Leland once owned, the pieces start to fit together. The enchanting melody urges her to share the secrets of her heart so that she can understand his. Leland knows the tune from the music box well and if he can find the courage, he’ll carve a melody for Sophie from the solid wood surrounding his heart.

Carve Me a Melody will be released on May 23, 2017 and you can preorder your copy today, right here.
To celebrate, Rachelle is hosting a giveaway for a $25 Amazon or Paypal Gift card. All you have to do for entries is join the party!

Be sure to add this book to your Goodreads Want to Read list.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 9, 2017

A Fine Gentleman by Sarah M. Eden -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

A Fine Gentleman

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Covenant

Published: originally 2008
March 1 2017

ISBN13: 9781524402105

Paperback: 238 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

London barrister Jason Jonquil has spent his entire life working to establish his identity as a gentleman, a man of refinement like his father and brothers. But when fiery Spanish beauty Mariposa Thornton walks into his office, he finds himself losing his grasp on his dignified character. The woman is infuriating, pushing him to the limit of his legendary patience. However, her case seems simple enough—a small matter of inheritance. Or so he believes.

Once a well-born lady, Mariposa fought to survive the brutalities of Napoleon’s war on Spain. She braved horrific perils and undertook dangerous missions on behalf of those fighting against the invading French army. But her greatest battle still lies ahead: after being separated from her family, Mariposa sets in motion a plan to reunite with her loved ones in England. To avoid drawing the attention of the French, Mariposa dons a carefully crafted persona to conceal her true purpose. As Jason and Mariposa are drawn together by the case, they come to know the people beneath the masks they both wear.

When the truth of Mariposa’s quest is revealed, the couple is pulled into a mystery that will test the limits of their courage—and expose the true desire of their hearts.
 

My Review

Perfection! I loved everything about this book. Mariposa, I loved instantly.  I love characters that are a mystery, and I appreciated how information was brought out about her gradually. That kept the story moving perfectly and made me not want to stop reading.  Jason, oh Jason. I loved him too.  It killed me how hard he was on himself and how he was striving to be a fine gentleman.  I also enjoyed how the past was revealed through flashbacks, but the way they were written was perfect. The story still moved along well, and I was glad to get background information too.  There were many instances where I was laughing out loud.  Especially when Mariposa and Jason were riding in a mail carriage.  Vegetables were the topic of discussion and I was laughing so hard, also when Mariposa's abuela had "twitches".  I enjoyed all of the characters.  Especially Jean and Phillip (who was a favorite).  I absolutely loved this book.  A Fine Gentleman is a beautiful story with romance, humor and enjoyable surprises throughout.  

5 out of 5 stars. This book is part of the Jonquil brothers series, but can be read as a stand-alone.

Schedule
March 10thhttp://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/http://brooklynberrydesigns.com/http://sweetlymadejustforyou.com/http://www.kindleandme.com/http://thethingsilovemost.com/http://fireandicereads.com  




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 3, 2017

Keeping Kinley by Annette Larsen -- Kindle Scout/Giveaway


Keeping Kinley by Annette K. Larsen
He’s noble. She’s common. It’s complicated.
Kinley is content with her common life until a chance meeting with an old friend—a noble—brings the possibility of love. Though Rylan pursues her with a charming carelessness, she doesn’t dare hope that their relationship will be accepted. When Kinley’s livelihood is threatened, she is thrust into his world as a servant, but the Rylan she encounters there isn’t the quirky friend she thought she knew. Can she trust him, or will she be forced to accept that her dreams are only that—dreams?
Excerpt
My breath caught as soon as he said the name and my eyes searched his features, looking for the little boy I had known in the man that stood before me. “Rylan?” I breathed and he nodded, still with that familiar grin in place. “Oh…my,” was all my idiot brain could say as I took in his fine horse and his fine clothes and his fine eyes.
I probably still had pear juice on my face.
“How are you, Miss Kinley?” he asked with the same light in his eyes that he used to have whenever he would tell me about his favorite part of a lesson.
“I am…well,” I answered in a breathless sort of stuttering. “Very well, thank you. I hope all is well with you and your family. How are Lord and Lady Baylor?”
“My father runs his business affairs with an iron fist and my mother coddles the staff, so everything is as it should be.” He grinned.
“Good.” I had to ignore the grin so that I could speak. “And Master Welsley and Tayana?”
“Welsley takes life too seriously, but is ready to take over for father at a moment’s notice. Tayana is soon to be married.”
“Good, good. That’s very good.” It was so very awkward to be standing in front of this man who had befriended me as a child. How was I supposed to act?
“And what of your family?” he asked eagerly. “It was your brother, was it not? That married…”
“Princess Ariella, yes.” No one seemed to be able to say it out loud, worried that if they were wrong, I’d somehow be offended. I was used to finishing the thought.
He gave a crooked smile. “That must have been an interesting adjustment.”
I laughed, surprised at how succinct that description was. “It was a surprise and an adventure, and I really do adore her.”
“I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting her, but everyone seems to have an opinion one way or the other.”
“I can only imagine.” While most of the common folk had accepted Ella and Gavin, I knew that the nobility had not been so easily convinced when she’d stooped to marry a commoner.
He smiled, so casual, so comfortable.
I felt the need to fill the silence. His horse bobbed its head, trying to get Rylan’s attention. I pointed to him. “And who is this?”
He reached up, stroking the horse behind its ear. “This is Apollo. Say ‘Good day,’ old man.”
The horse actually nodded its head up and down. I was reminded of Herman, who I had abandoned.
“I should go.” I gestured awkwardly down the lane. “It was a pleasure seeing you.”
“Wait, can I see you tomorrow?”
My confusion made the corner of my mouth quirk up. “Why would you do that?”
“Because I’d like to speak with you again,” he said as if it was the most normal thing in the world.
“Oh, um.” He was nobility, and I was decidedly not. “I have to get Herman. My pony, he’s—” I pointed behind me as if that would explain my inability to speak coherently, then turned to walk back the way I had come.


Author Annette K. Larsen
I was born in Utah, but migrated to Arizona, Missouri, and Virginia before settling in Idaho.
Though I dabbled in writing throughout school, being an author seemed like an unattainable dream. It took me seven years to write my first book, Just Ella. During that time, I taught myself how to write a novel. Not the most time effective method, but it gave me an education I wouldn’t have received from a class or a how-to book. Something about the struggle of writing without a formula or rules worked for me.
I write clean romance because I love it. Jane Eyre is the hero of my youth and taught me that clinging to your convictions will be hard, but will bring you more genuine happiness than giving in ever can.
I love chocolate, Into the Woods, ocean waves, my husband, and my five littles. And I love books that leave me with a sigh of contentment.

Giveaway

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 3/9/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Be Happy by Hank Smith -- Blog Tour/Giveaway


Be Happy: Simple Secrets to a Happier Life

Author: Hank Smith

Publisher: Covenant

ISBN13: 9781524402631

Paperback: 130 pages

FYC FYI: I received complimentary copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

You can be happy—solidly, genuinely happy—no matter what's going on around you, no matter what happens to you, no matter what storm comes along to batter and bruise you.
Keep reading, and I'll show you how . . .

Face it: it's not always easy to feel happy. With all of the worries and trials of day-to-day life, the cares of the world can seem overwhelming. But as popular speaker and author Hank Smith demonstrates, no matter your circumstances, you can be happy—the kind of happy that illuminates you from the inside out, a joy that does not depend on what happens to you but on what you do with what happens. With his characteristic humor, Hank offers readers a fresh perspective on finding joy in the journey with a collection of tools and strategies designed to inspire genuine happiness, such as: • Learning to develop an optimistic outlook

• Understanding how to deal with feelings of depression<

• Mastering ten simple tricks to jump-start your joy each day

Featuring an inspiring collection of real-life examples, enlightening doctrinal direction, and motivating goals, Be Happy is the guide you need to start living a happier life, today!

My Review

First of all, this book is just what the doctor ordered. Sometimes I find myself getting down in a funk, ornery about something that happened in my day, and this book gave me so much perspective.   You really can be happy, genuinely happy if you allow yourself to be.  I loved how almost every page had a quote or a thought related to the chapter.  One of my favorites was found on page 71.
Science has proven that if you spend two full minutes focused on a happy thought, your brain actually starts making you happier.
This is so true! Just yesterday I was feeling down about some events that had taken place the night before and my bad feelings continued into the next day.  I received a phone call from a friend, and it distracted me to where I was no longer bothered and I felt happier.  I am always telling my daughters to be happy and be positive, it's much harder doing it for myself. This book gave me some great tools to help myself be happier and more positive.

Author Links

Goodreads / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Schedule: 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, February 24, 2017

Daughter of a Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Daughter of the Pirate King

Author: Tricia Levenseller

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan

Published Date: Feb. 28, 2017

ISBN: 9781250095961

Hardcover: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a galley from Netgalley, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

A 17-year-old pirate captain intentionally allows herself to get captured by enemy pirates in this thrilling YA adventure.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

My Review

WOW! This book blew me away. I loved it. Alosa is captivating, cunning, and represents herself well. She is a fascinating character.  I also loved Riden.  He is intriguing and I enjoyed the love/hate relationship he and Alosa had.  Pirates are SO cool.  Some are a little more on the rough/icky side, but that did not stop me from enjoying this book immensely, it is quite the page-turner. There is action, romance, and thoughtful twists and turns on every page.  I loved how the author would gradually reveal secrets throughout, and whoa, one secret was so amazing!  The whole book is just exciting and I didn't want it to end.  I can't wait for the next book.  

Content: recommended for older teen readers and adults.

5 out of 5 stars.   

Author Links

Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble