Friday, December 18, 2020

Ming's Christmas Wishes by Susan L Gong

 


"It's a heartwarming holiday story based on real events."
-Foreword Reviews, starred review

Ming wishes for three things at Christmas. First, to sing in the school Christmas choir. Second, to have a Christmas tree like the one in the department store window. And third, to feel she belongs somewhere.

As a daughter of immigrants in 1930s California, Ming is often treated differently than other children at school. She's pointedly not invited to sing in the Christmas choir. At home, when Ming lobbies her parents for a Christmas tree, her mother scolds her for trying to be American. Ming doesn't seem to fit in anywhere: she's not quite American enough at school, not quite Chinese enough at home.

Seeing his daughter's unhappiness, Pop takes her into the mountains to visit a wise old friend. Always happy for an adventure with her kind father, Ming hopes to persuade Pop to bring home a mountain pine to be their Christmas tree. But he has something else in mind, something that will help Ming draw strength from nature, from their Chinese heritage, and from deep and enduring family ties.

Inspired by family stories.


My review


This book was absolutely darling. The story was heart-warming and so sweet. I loved the illustrations. They truly brought so much added description and detail to the story. They were perfect companions. This book will be a perfect addition to your holiday book collection. 


Purchase links


Amazon / Deseret Book / Seagull Book 

Thursday, December 3, 2020

A Christmas Proposal by Linda Warren - Book Blitz/Giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

A Christmas Proposal
(Texas Rebels #10)
By Linda Warren
Adult Contemporary Romance, Christmas
Paperback & ebook, 384 Pages (Large Print)
December 1, 2020 by Harlequin Heartwarming

A child’s Christmas wish…

Gives love a second chance


Becky Tullous has never forgiven boy-next-door Bo Goodnight for breaking her teenage heart. Now the SWAT sergeant is back in Horseshoe, Texas, and getting far too attached to her three-year-old daughter. Becky never wanted Bo in Luci’s life, but her developmentally delayed little girl is making great progress with him around. Will Bo prove he’s worth a second chance this Christmas?

(Affiliate links included.)

Excerpt

BECKY STOPPED OUTSIDE the door when she heard Bo’s deep smooth masculine voice, which touched her skin like cashmere, soothing, comfortable and deliciously rich. The baritone made her want to lean her head against the wall and absorb every nuance of his voice into her skin.

“You have a lot of stuffed animals and dolls,” Bo was saying.

“This. Is. Bear. Soft.” In Becky’s mind’s eye she could see Luci rubbing her face against the stuffed animal.

“What’s this one’s name?”

He wasn’t worming his way into Luci’s life. She stepped into the room and Luci ran to her.

“Mom-my.”

Becky picked her up and kissed her cheek. “I need to talk to Bo.”

Luci ran to the kitchen and Becky faced Bo with steel-like determination. He stood from the bed and his tall frame looked out of place in this pink little girl’s room. Dark eyes stared back at her with a heat level that matched hers and she didn’t know if there was a way to win against him. It would be better if he wasn’t so darn good-looking. With his longish hair and growth of beard he reminded her of Keanu Reeves. And Bo was just as big a daredevil as the characters the actor played.

“You want to talk? Talk. I’ve been trying to get you to talk for years so this is a momentous occasion.”

“Stay away from my daughter.” Becky was tired, so tired, and this bickering was not helping. “Bo, please go home.”

“Okay.” He took a step toward her and she had to resist taking a step backward. A musky scent mixed with Irish Spring soap drifted to her, weakening her resolve. “I’ll go, but first, I want to know who Luci’s father is.”

“Bo...”

“I’m her father, aren’t I? You’ve kept it from me all these years.”


Other Books in the Series

(Linked to an Amazon affiliate link.)

About the Author


Two time Rita® nominated author Linda Warren has written forty-five books for Harlequin. A native Texan, she’s a member of Romance Writers of America and the West Houston Chapter. Drawing upon her years of growing up on a ranch, she writes about some of her favorite things: Western-style romance, cowboys and country life. She married her high school sweetheart and they live on a lake in central Texas. He fishes and she writes. Works perfect. You can find out more about Linda at http://www.LindaWarren.net.


Blitz Giveaway


One winner will receive a $20 Amazon eGift Card (US only)
Ends December 5, 2020

ENTER HERE
Grab Our Button!

Thursday, November 19, 2020

The Santa Box - Movie Spotlight/Giveaway

 



THE SANTA BOX tells the story of teenager Kallie Watts. For the past five years, Christmas has spelled disaster for her and her family. When a fire leaves Kallie and her widowed mother homeless just before the holidays, there’s only one conclusion: Kallie is cursed by Christmas. When Kallie and her mother relocate to a small California town, Kallie is confronted by her worst nightmare come true: a town overflowing with holiday decorations and Christmas cheer. Kallie’s life is soon changed forever by the gift of a Santa box. When she lifts the lid, she rediscovers the magic and true meaning of Christmas.

For more information on THE SANTA BOX, visit its IMDB page at: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt12065192


Purchase links

Amazon / Deseret Book / Seagull Book 

Check out the movie trailer here!

$50 Amazon gift card giveaway! (Direct link)


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 28, 2020

On the Run by Traci Hunter Abramson -- blog tour

 

On the Run

Author: Traci Hunter Abramson

Publisher: Covenant

Paperback: 296 pages

ISBN13: 9781524412487

FYC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own. 

Goodreads Summary

A Guardian Novel

As one of the top investigative journalists in the nation, Elle Jameson has a knack for uncovering the truth. So when a promising lead points to corruption on a German military base, Elle anticipates a straightforward assignment. But then she stumbles upon a deadly conspiracy beyond anything she’s faced before, and her scrutiny does not go unnoticed. She knows too much, and she can’t be allowed to live. With no idea where to turn for help, she does the only thing she can: she runs.

The guardians, an elite team of undercover agents, have one job: safeguard those under their protection. As a new guardian, Nolan has just received his first solo assignment to help a young woman who just survived an assassination attempt. Within minutes of making contact with the beautiful journalist, however, their location is discovered. Thus begins a game of cat and mouse spanning the globe as the two work to stay ahead of a determined assassin. Nolan fights to buy Elle time to complete her investigation, and what she discovers is a plot that threatens the very fabric of America. In a desperate race against evil, Nolan and Elle are the only ones who can prevent global catastrophe.
 

My review

This book is another heart pounding, non-stop action ride! Full of page turning thrills and chills. Just when I thought it was safe to breathe, the author pulls the suspense to the max level. Each time I read a new book by this author, it becomes my new favorite. I love, love how she writes. Traci Abramson truly is a master of thrills and suspense. I love the settings of this book too and of course the characters. Nolan and Elle were amazing. Nolan is a rookie Guardian, but I felt he handled what was thrown at him amazingly well. Elle too was a character that was full of surprises. I am a huge fan of the Guardian books, and this one does not disappoint.

5 out of 5 stars.  

Pre-order purchase links - the pre-order price for the Kinde copy is only $5.99!

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page



Standout Saints by Sierra Wilson - Illustrated by Emily Shay Tueller - Spotlight/Giveaway

 


Standout Saints: Church History Heroes from Around the World

Author: Sierra Wilson

Illustrator: Emily Shay Tueller

Hardcover: 96 pages

Book description

From prophets to pioneers, from songwriters to scientists, Standout Saints: Church History Heroes from Around the World presents the fascinating true stories of twenty women and twenty men from Church history. Each one-page biography describes impressive achievements and shares stories of great faith. Readers will encounter well-known and beloved Saints such as Joseph Smith and Eliza R. Snow along with lesser-known heroes from around the world such as Hu Wei-I, who miraculously translated the Book of Mormon into Chinese, and Mere Mete Whaanga, a prominent Maori woman who helped the Church spread into New Zealand. In addition, Standout Saints includes uplifting quotes, a Church history timeline, and resources for further study.

The courage and faith of these Saints made them stand out from the world, and this educational and inspiring book helps young readers know that they too can stand out.


Purchase links


Amazon / Deseret Book 


About the author


Sierra Wilson is a children's author/illustrator living in Alberta, Canada. She wrote The Atonement of Jesus Christ is for Me and I Can Be Like Jesus as well as several other books for children soon to be released. Before turning to writing, Sierra worked as a high school English and history teacher. She is the daughter of two modern-day pioneers and loves researching about pioneers and faithful heroes of all kinds. When she's not writing, you can find her adventuring with her husband and four children, cross-country skiing, or eating all the chocolate. 


Author links




@sierra.arts.poems (IG)

@SierraTWilson (Twitter)


Giveaway  (Hard copies available in the US and Canada only; E-books available internationally)



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 25, 2020

The Genesis of Seven by Sara M Schaller - grand finale blitz/giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Author Interview

What inspired you to write THE GENESIS OF SEVEN?

I completely agree with the philosophy you should write the book you always wanted to read, and for me that is what drove me to write The Genesis of Seven. When I was younger, it seemed no matter where I looked, be it books or even movies, angels were always portrayed in a way that just did not agree with me. Either their stories were based on romances with humans, or they were pitted against each other with evil intentions. Because of this, I wanted to give the angels a new narrative, one that portrayed them as a group, focused on their origin story, and described the circumstances that led to the ultimate battle of good vs. evil.

(With its own giveaway.)

Rinc√≥n de Joss - Guest Post

3 KEY INSPIRATIONS BEHIND THE GENESIS OF SEVEN

The two biggest places where I draw my inspiration from are books and pop culture. No matter what story I’m writing, these factors always influence me. With The Genesis of Seven, there were three particular inspirations that motivated me to write this story. . .


"I've read other YA books about Angels including a love story. Fallen by Lauren Kate even includes an origin story. TGoS doesn't have a love story! (There is the start of a crush on the girl next door. The angels tried to meddle in Jordan's love life. It was so awkward and cute! That was a brief set up and seemed natural at the moment) Its all action and adventure. The stakes are high and the angels have quirks. I appreciate that so much."

BookHounds YA - Excerpt

“Run!” Sister Helen shouted.

Somehow, my body obliged. My legs carried me down the alleyway, past dumpsters and trashcans. At the street, I stopped briefly to figure out where to go next. I glanced at the paper and realized I had a bit of distance to cover. The address was near Central Park, but the orphanage was in the opposite direction. In fact, the orphanage wasn’t even in Manhattan. There wasn’t time to figure out a route though. At the sound of running footsteps, I looked over my shoulder and saw two men dressed in black fast approaching.

Without a second thought, I broke into a sprint and headed right.


"First thing's first, I really liked how this was in no way a romance. It was so refreshing to have a book that isn't all mushy. . . . Also, it is important to note that this is a FANTASY book. It is in no way meant to reflect what actually is and I felt like the book was quite clear about that.

All in all, if you are looking for a unique read that shows you the world, The Genesis of Seven would be a great choice."

Heidi Reads... - Excerpt

Abandon all hope, ye who enter here.

Those were the words Dante faced when he entered Hell. Perhaps if they were posted above the subway this afternoon, I would have proceeded with the same caution.

The New York subway system was a strange and peculiar place. An underground metropolis full of noise and activity, where anything and everything occurred. I liked to compare it to the Underworld as I imagined it worked in much the same way, with spirits being ferried across the River Styx like people being transported through the city. Yet the main difference between Hell and the subway was all those who entered typically resurfaced every day, sometimes multiple times a day, without being scathed. 

Unlike me, whose life would be forever changed by the simple act of bumping shoulders.


"The Genesis of Seven is great start to Sara M Schaller’s The Empyrean Trilogy. . . . I was entertained from start to finish. It was full of action and adventure that kept me engaged throughout. . . . I recommend this one for readers who enjoy a good and well written fantasy."

Bookishlifetime - Review

"I absolutely loved this book. It was show-stopping and I cannot wait to read the next two books to see where Sara takes this story next.

I highly recommend this series to any YA Fantasy fans. . ."

Dr. Joanna wang - Spotlight

Hallie Reads - Excerpt

She scanned the ID and looked up at him skeptically. “Is that supposed to impress me?”

He sighed. “No, it’s supposed to show you we don’t mean any harm.”

She handed the ID back to him. “You still want me to believe you’re here because of a family emergency?”

Exasperated, Uriel opened his mouth to argue, but Zadkiel spoke first. “Just because we don’t look like Raphael doesn’t mean we’re not his family.”

 
Splashes of Joy - Guest Post

JORDAN'S TIPS IN WORKING WITH AN ARCHANGEL

Listen when they tell you to do something

The angels have far more experience dealing with the fallen then I do, so I would advise to listen to them. I notice whenever I don’t listen to them, or whenever I am left to decide the outcome of a situation on my own, it usually ends up badly. Mainly with me getting hurt.

Paper Ink & Lizard - Spotlight

Oh Hey! Books - Excerpt

I left the library and approached the front door, glancing through the window in the hallway to get a better glimpse of the person outside. All I could see was the figure of a girl. The angels followed, and when they saw the figure too, they backed off.

I walked into the turret, grabbed the knob, and opened the door.

The girl standing on the other side smiled at me and said, “Hi, I’m Naomi.”


"This was one of those books that made me say….just one more chapter. Until I found the sun coming up the next morning just so I could know what happens. It had me on the edge of my seat with crazy anticipation!! . . . Ahh- now I definitely can’t wait for the next book in this series!"

Library Lady's Kid Lit - Review & Interview

"The Genesis of Seven is a great fantasy novel. . . . The book is a great read if readers can view it as purely fantasy (fiction) made up by the author. Once I did that, the book drew me in and the intensity of the plot made me want to keep reading. The Genesis of Seven is the first book in Sara Schaller’s The Empyrean Trilogy. It ends in a cliff-hanger leaving the reader anxious for the next book."

Which character did you enjoy writing most?

This is a really hard question because I think there’s something about every character that I enjoy writing, even the fallen. But if I had to choose, I think Astrid and Tabitha are the ones I enjoyed writing the most. I know those are two characters, but you can’t have one without the other. Why I enjoy writing them is because I get to have fun with them. They’re a bit crazy, a bit sassy, and a bit unconventional. They also tease Satan so much, which brings a lot of humor to the story. Astrid’s divinations in particular were I something I enjoyed because it really stretched my writing skills to write in rhyme and verse.

@the.b00kreader - Review

Ahh did I love this book! Angels, demons, the devil, a quest to save them all. What's not to love? . . . The Genesis of Seven is the first book in the Empyrean trilogy and is a wonderful introduction to the world Sara has created. I cannot wait to see what's in store for Jordan and the angels in the upcoming books!"

quirkybookreads - Review

Straight away Genesis of Seven takes you on a journey of interesting events including some amazing biblical retelling. . . . I found the more I read the more I had to know and before I knew it I had finished The Genesis of Seven. I look forward to reading the next book…

Reviews by Leslie - Excerpt & Review

“What are you doing?” I asked, sliding open the door.

I caught him off-guard. He jumped and quickly turned to face me.

“Nothing. Go back inside,” he replied, composing himself.

“Why?”

“Because I said so.”

“I’ve only known you for a short time, but now you decide to become secretive?”

Obviously guilty, he relented. “They have come with messages,” he said.

"This was such an enjoyable book that I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy! . . . I don’t read a lot of fantasy books. They really have to be something to catch my eye, and this one fits the bill! The story pulled me in from the beginning. I really enjoyed the multiple POVs. The action kept me actively engaged throughout the entire story."


"This book combines Christian myths and ideals with fantasy to create an amazing story. . . . As it turns out, I couldn't put this book down, and I mean literally. I had it with me everywhere I went because it was that good! Thank goodness this is the first of a trilogy because more books would be awesome. Well written, solidly paced, developed characters to cheer on and vivid details make The Genesis of Seven an ideal read. I recommend for sure!"

@bookishly_tiff - Review

"There was so much to enjoy with this book. As started there's multiple points of view which has always been a weakness of mine but the pacing is almost perfection and it was so easy to not want to put this one down. . . . Do I recommend this book? Absolutely! The wait for the next book is honestly entirely too long!"

Wishful Endings - Guest Post

JORDAN'S TIPS IN EVADING THE FALLEN

1. Run

The easiest way to evade the fallen is simply to outrun them. I’ve done it once before and it worked out pretty well. Granted, I don’t think I could do it again, so this might be a one-time thing. . .

Rockin' Book Reviews - Review & Guest Post

"The story is well-written, holds a bit of humor, a lot of suspense and intrigue. The characters are well-defined and the background scenes are fairly easy to visualize. . . . As a whole, the book is intriguing, captivating, sensitive, poignant and ends in a way which leaves the reader anxious for more."

THE ORIGINS OF MY BOOK TITLE

It's natural for readers to be curious about book titles—they set the stage for the book, possibly even the entire series, and are a brief glimpse of what to expect from the narrative. It's equally natural for readers to be curious about what meaning book titles hold. . .


With our luggage situated, I followed Gabriel through the airport and out into the parking garage, where I stopped suddenly.

“You have a car here?”

“Yes,” he replied, not breaking step. “I have a car in New York too. I don’t drive much there though.” He finally stopped in front of a silver Lexus RX. Unlocking the car, he began to load his chest and bag into the trunk.

I stared in disbelief. “You can drive?”


"Such a fantabulous book that kept my interest from page one until the end. . . . This young adult novel was just wow! I know I know I keep saying that but this story just took my breath away! . . . I highly recommend this book."

JeanBookNerd - Guest Post

THE COVER DESIGN AND PROCESS

When I started on my publishing journey back in 2018, I commissioned an artist to design the cover for my book. The work was gorgeous and phenomenal, but I knew in my gut it wasn’t the cover.

I worked as a graphic designer for five years, and I had an idea in my head of what my cover looked like, but for some reason it was impossible for me to execute it myself. I thought getting another artist to do it would be the best scenario, but the artwork just didn’t match the image in my head and it was too hard to verbalize what I was visualizing. . .

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post...

The Genesis of Seven
(The Empyrean Trilogy, #1)
By Sara M. Schaller
YA Fantasy, Paranormal
Hardcover, Paperback & ebook, 348 Pages
July 7, 2020 by Designs by Seraphim

Eighteen-year-old Jordan Conway has always wanted to help people, but helping seven archangels to achieve their divine duty was never quite what he had in mind… 

When Jordan is entrusted by the head nun of his orphanage to deliver a mysterious backpack to a New York City address, he comes unexpectedly face-to-face with Archangel Gabriel. Their acquaintance fast uncovers a labyrinth of secrets that connect Jordan’s once-normal life to an ancient heavenly prophecy. Now, he must help Gabriel to reunite the archangels before evil forces grow too strong.

Soon, Jordan and Gabriel find themselves on a divine quest across the globe, while deep in the pits of Hell, Satan plots his return to earth. To gain control, however, Satan needs the powerful prophetic objects locked safe inside Jordan’s backpack—and the devil will stop at nothing to get what he wants.

With that notion threatening his only family and the safety of his newfound friends, Jordan must do whatever it takes to protect the ones he loves and help the archangels succeed. If that means sacrificing all he thought he knew to go to war with the devil himself? Bring it on.

(Affiliate links included.)

About the Author


SARA M SCHALLER is a paralibrarian, publishing professional, and young adult author. She lives in Colorado with her mom, dad, brother, and four furry canine siblings. Sara loves the world of pop culture and the performing arts, so when she is not reading or writing, she is either watching movies and shows, attending conventions, or going out to see live performances. She likes to write stories for all ages in the fantasy genre, and her writing usually contains elements of speculative fiction and features a large cast of characters. Sara has a Bachelor’s degree in English, Art History, and Religious Studies from the University of Denver, and a Master’s degree in Publishing from Pace University. For five years, Sara worked as a graphic designer, and her creativity in design carries over into other areas of her life like writing. You can visit her online at www.saramschaller.com.


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive the following: a backpack to match the main character's, a necklace to match the main character's, a signed hardcover, a bookmark, a set of pins with a pen, and a passport with a sticker sheet featuring locations in the book.

Open internationally
Ends September 29, 2020

Grab Our Button!

Thursday, August 20, 2020

Last Chance Beach Summer's End - Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Last Chance Beach: Summer's End
By Liz Flaherty & Other Authors
Contemporary Romance, Novella Collection
ebook, 483 Pages
August 4, 2020 by Vita Via Publishing

LAST CHANCE BEACH is the island paradise where Dreams go to live again, and Wishes may come true. It's Summer's End on the island, and the cottages, condos, hotels, and bungalows are filled to capacity.

There's plenty of time left to find summer fun and summer love, new romances and second chances, hot alpha males and heartwarming heroes, love at first sight and romantic delight, enemies to lovers and opposites attract.

Throw a log on the beach bonfire tonight and celebrate LAST CHANCE BEACH: Summer's End, a special romance collection of 14 all-new short stories from bestselling and award-winning authors. These summer stories—created especially for this collection—will thrill the hopeful romantic in you. Some are sweet: some are sizzling! Some are humorous; some are serious. All the stories will make you sigh!

The authors and the stories in Last Chance Beach: 

Hot August Night by Joan Reeves, NY Times and USA Today Bestselling Author

When they met, it was hate at first sight. Now they're stuck in the same overbooked beach cottage and horrified to discover they have the hots for each other!

Something New by Liz Flaherty, USA Today Bestselling Author

Their lives are planned out...until they're not! Are they in love or just stuck in a habit?

I Do…Again by Nancy Fraser, Top 100 Bestselling Author

At a high school reunion; old flames meet again. Can they re-ignite what they once had and take a last chance on love?

The Man in Gull Cottage by Caroline Clemmons, Top 100 Bestselling Author

She faces a hard decision; he encourages her to choose with her heart. Will the solution drive them apart or into one another's arms?

That One Summer by Maddie James, Top 100 Bestselling Author

It's the typical annual week on the beach with the girls—until her summer fling from 20 years back shows up. He's the one who got away. She's the one who couldn't commit.

Romancing the Spouse by Jan Scarbrough, National Bestselling Author

The kids are grown; her husband has an important career, and she wonders if she still loves him, and if he loves her. Can she turn back the clock to save her marriage?

Blue Sky Summer by Kathleen Lawless, National Bestselling Author

Of all the beaches on the coast, who shows up on her beach? Him! A former competitive surfer runs into her former love, and revisits all the reasons things didn't work out for them before.

Hangover Husband by Bonnie Edwards, National Bestselling Author

She wants divorce—he doesn't. What happens in Vegas doesn't always stay in Vegas!

One More Shot by Marcia King-Gamble, National Bestselling Author

She's hiding from the paparazzi. He's the guy next door, an amateur photographer. Will he accept tabloid money for pictures of her? Or will he choose love over jumpstarting his career?

Secondhand Hearts by Kathryn Hills, Award Winning Author

Kat must convince her Gran to move to the mainland, but Gran—and hunky neighbor Ben—want Kat to take over the B&B and antique shop. What will it take for Kat to stay? Some of Gran’s special island magic?

Paradise Perfume by Connie Vines, Award Winning Author

She returns to Last Chance Beach to begin a new life. He's a single dad on vacation with his pre-teen daughter. He's worried his daughter may become too attached to her, but maybe he's the one whose heart is at risk.

(Affiliate link included.)

A Note from the Liz Flaherty and an Excerpt

It has been a staycation of sorts, in this summer of sheltering in place and worrying everywhere and regretting—bitterly sometimes—the inability to go on a real vacation. Since the 14 of us are writers, how else would we spend a staycation than writing stories? And what better place to write about than Last Chance Beach: Summer’s End.


I’m here to say we had a lot of fun, these women who like and respect each other and appreciate everyone’s talents and…er…shortcomings. We hope you have fun, too, reading our stories. There’s a free add-on, too, called Cocktails on Last Chance Beach, that we had even more fun with. It’s recipes, you see, which must be tested. Sometimes more than once. 

My story from Last Chance Beach is Something New, the story of Hass Applegate and Zeke Merriweather, who have their lives together all planned out. Until they’re not sure that what they’ve planned is what they want, or that being best friends is enough to build a marriage from, or that something new is necessarily the right something.

An excerpt from Something New


Their lives are all planned out—until they’re not. 

*** 

When she came back outside, he got up, and they took their drinks and went down to walk along the splashing shallows as if by design, although neither of them had mentioned it. She’d never answered his question, and he didn’t reach for her hand as would usually have done. He felt less certain of her and their relationship than he had since the first time she ground the gears in the truck.

“Do you remember—” he began.

“Did you ever—” she started.

They stopped, standing still with the water slapping their feet and ankles and staring at each other in the encroaching darkness.

“You’re the best friend I’ve ever had,” she said softly, raising her hands to his cheeks.

“Me, too,” he said, reaching up and taking her hands in his. Sometimes he forgot how strong she was, but her hands always reminded him. “There’s a ‘but’ there, though, isn’t there?”

She nodded. “I can’t explain it, Z.”

Zeke didn’t know how to answer, how to say he had his own “but” when it came to their relationship. Because he didn’t know how to explain it, either. There was one thing, however, that he knew. “Maybe,” he said, “we should think about putting off the wedding.”


***

About the Author


Retired from the post office, Liz Flaherty spends non-writing time sewing, quilting, and doing whatever else she wants to. She and Duane live in the old farmhouse in North Central Indiana they moved to in 1977. They’ve talked about moving, but really…40 years’ worth of stuff? It’s not happening!

She’d love to hear from you at lizkflaherty@gmail.com or please come and see her at:


Blitz Giveaway


Giveaway Details (US only):

It is to my undying embarrassment that as old as I am—that’s pretty old, but no, I’m not telling—I’ve never gotten over my love for presents. This means I have a really good time assembling a giveaway. In Something New, Hass’s wine of choice (like mine) is kind of a joke. Zeke says it’s not real wine, but, hey, she loves it. So I’m giving away a wine package. A couple of glasses, some charms made by my friend, author Nan Reinhardt, a dish towel for when you spill the wine opening the bottle, a Starbucks gift card (wine makes me thirsty), a copy of a backlist book, and a few other surprises. I hope you’ll enter to win, and I hope you’ll enjoy both Last Chance Beach: Summer’s End and Cocktails on Last Chance Beach, the recipe book put together by the 14 authors from Last Chance. (It’s free!) 

Ends August 22, 2020

ENTER HERE
Grab Our Button!