Monday, June 27, 2016

Beyond the Rising Ride by Sarah Beard - Blog Tour/Giveaway

Beyond the Rising Tide

Author: Sarah Beard

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: June 14, 2016

ISBN13: 97814621187848

Paperback: 304 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

Kai was seventeen when he died saving Avery’s life, though he didn’t really have much to live for. After spending half his life being shipped around to different families, the only place he felt at home was on a street corner with his guitar. Now, it’s been six months since his death. Six months adapting to a new kind of existence where instead of making music, he uses his new healing powers to save lives. But in his off hours, he watches helplessly as Avery’s life is unraveled by his death.

Avery doesn’t know that it was Kai who saved her life in the ocean, because her rescuer’s body was never found. Wracked with guilt, the ocean she once loved is now her tormentor. As her surfboards collect dust in the garage, the weight of her grief destroys her relationships and stretches her to a breaking point.

Always willing to break rules for those he loves, Kai steals a ring that temporarily gives his body substance. With limited time, he does all he can to restore her life to the way it was before his tragic death, but Kai’s half-baked plans rarely turn out the way he thinks they will.

My Review

Sarah has done it again with this book.  I absolutely loved it.  While reading I was thinking to myself, how is this going to end, what is going to be the best ending for these characters.  I was thrilled with how events came about and the outcome for these great characters was what I was hoping for, but wasn't sure how Sarah would pull it off, but she did.  Although the book's main theme is death, I felt it also focused on life and living your live to its fullest every day.  One of my favorite lines was "So live." I won't go into why, as it will give some of the plot away, but it was truly beautiful for me. The emotions were high all through the book when talking about suicide, abuse and hardships, I felt Sarah showed us the upside of those things. Love, friendships, and family. There were many scenes that brought tears and many that brought smiles.  BEYOND THE RISING TIDE was an all-around enjoyable book.  The loved the POV switches, as it really helped me get to know each character, not just Kai and Avery, and really connect with them.  The descriptions were well done and I could see each place the characters went.

5 out of 5 stars.  I know I can count on Sarah for a well-written, enjoyable book. 

Author Info/Links


Purchase Links






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 13, 2016

Willowkeep by Julie Daines -- Blog Tour

Willowkeep

Author: Julie Daines

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 1, 2016

ISBN13: 9781524400408

Paperback:

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Charlotte Darby’s ship is sinking. Penniless and alone, she is struggling to care for herself and her young sister in the harsh seaport town of Kingston upon Hull. When a solicitor from London brings news that she is the heir to a vast estate in Kent, it seems her days of rough seas are over. Willowkeep is prosperous and grand, far too much for a shipping merchant’s daughter to manage, and she quickly comes to rely on the help of Henry Morland, the estate’s kind and handsome steward.

Henry has worked hard his entire life, but all the money he’s saved won’t be enough to get his father out of debtor’s prison. Henry’s fondness for Charlotte and her sister is only another reminder of his low status and lack of money. Though he is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Charlotte happy and looked after, as the county’s wealthiest lady, she can never be his.

Courted by a charming man of the ton, threatened by those desperate to get their hands on her money, and determined to keep her sister safe from the same fate that cost her the rest of her family, Charlotte turns to the ghost of the beheaded queen, Anne Boleyn, for help. But no matter the size of the fortune, life—and love—are never smooth sailing.

My Review

I was instantly drawn into this book.  The characters were fascinating and well written.  Of course, I would read anything from this author, I truly love her books. Charlotte's character was intriguing and I loved her back story.  I appreciated how her "secrets" were revealed later on and loved the letters to Anne Boleyn, that was really fun.  I loved her devotion to her sister and the author notes at the end were very touching.  I did suspect a certain character's "intentions" early on, but I really liked how the plot all came together.  I loved Henry, another wonderful character full of selflessness and kindness.  I loved the author descriptions throughout and especially the detail of the Willowkeep estate.  I loved the story and the ending was wonderfully satisfying.

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Facebook / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Deseret Book / Seagull Book







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 10, 2016

Remember Jamie Baker by Kelly Oram -- Release Day Blitz

Title: Remember Jamie Baker
Series: Jamie Baker # 3
Author: Kelly Oram
Publisher: Bluefields Publishing
Genre(s): YA sci-fi, comic book, romance 
Book buy links:

Summary:
The explosive and long awaited conclusion to the Jamie Baker trilogy!

Plagued by memory loss, Jamie Baker searches high and low for the answers to who she is, where she comes from, and why she’s able to do things other humans can’t. A not-so-simple task when she’s hiding from the people responsible for her amnesia—an evil scientific research company that wants to capture her at any cost.

When Jamie’s quest for the truth reveals a devastating betrayal from the one person she thought she could trust, she’s forced to team up with a secret military organization in order to ensure her safety and stop Visticorp’s horrific human experimenting once and for all.


Teaser

“I call it my Me notebook. It’s everything I’ve learned about myself since my memory restarted.”
 “Sarcastic, volatile, not a morning person, emotional, impatient…” Ryan laughed and held out his hand to me. “Give me your pen.”
“Why? What are you going to write?”
“I could add a million things to this list, but for now I’d settle even one positive personality trait. You’re always so pessimistic.”
I snorted. “Pessimistic is not a positive trait.”
“Just give me your pen before I have to add stubborn.”
I smirked as I held out the pen. “That one’s already on there.”
“It’s worth repeating.” 

What readers are saying about Remember Jamie Baker

Jamie #3 was everything I had been hoping and waiting for. It brought all the feels. Jamie has the right amount of spunk, bravery and intelligence to make her an extremely likable and relate-able heroine. I kinda want to be her BFF. And Ryan Miller ... swoon. He is everything. He made Jamie love him again and again, and he did it with me also. Every single book I have fallen in love with Ryan, and every time I reread I will love him even more. Great job, Kelly! It was a journey worth waiting for.  ~ Jaymin Eve, USA Today bestselling author of The Hive trilogy

"Full of great one-liners and intense longing, Remember Jamie Baker is a satisfying conclusion to a fantastic trilogy. Readers will appreciate the new friends Jamie makes, the measures she takes to restore her memory, and the return of Ryan Miller. OH YES. That charming combination of ego and sunshine does show up. I promise. And it's epic." ~ The Dragon’s Nook book reviews

"Kelly Oram’s back with a new Jamie Baker adventure that’s as action-packed as it is hilarious, with all new characters to love and some old favorites that you’ll find yourself falling for, all over again! Remember Jamie Baker is an unforgettable end to a truly amazing series!” ~ Jena Leigh author of the Variant series

"This is the best book of the trilogy. Remember Jamie gives us the steamiest Ryan & Jamie yet with beach fantasies (oh, Kelly went there!) and more curl-your-toes “awwww” scenes where once again pretty boy Ryan Miller steals your heart (and Jamie’s) as he tries to help her remember exactly who she was. Oh? And did I mention your favorite sidekicks (and who doesn’t love our favorite reporter and BFF?) are back? Or how about all of the kickass superhero action we’ve been dying for with Visticorp? Yea, it finally happens and it does not disappoint (be ready for some twists!)…. But the real reason you’ll keep reading? Because Jamie needs to remember! This whole series has honestly been a whirlwind and finally getting the epic conclusion we hoped for is the best gift Kelly could possibly give her readers. Fans of Meg Cabot’s quick wit and normal girl-hero complex (a la 1-800-Where-R-U), the tv show Smallville, or superhero tropes in general will dive right into this one. And who can forget fans of Ryan Miller? You will definitely need your fix." ~ Rachel E. Carter, author of the Black Mage series

Book Trailer Link: https://youtu.be/ZQLtkV7G6cE
Series Summary: "Most superhero stories start with a meteor shower or a nasty insect bite, but mine actually starts with a kiss." The Jamie Baker series is an electrifying superhero origin story about a girl with extraordinary powers and the irresistible guy who helps her learn to control them. 
Reading Order: Being Jamie Baker, More Than Jamie Baker, Remember Jamie Baker 
(this series is complete)

Author Info & Links:

Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen—a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which her family and friends still tease her. She's obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and likes to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, four children, and her cat, Mr. Darcy.

Don't miss the latest news from Kelly Oram! Sign up for her newsletter to receive e-mail notifications for all of her new releases, events, sales, & giveaways. This is a monthly newsletter often with exclusive giveaways and freebies from some of her favorite authors.

Connect with Kelly on social media:
Twitter: @kellyoram
Instagram: @kellyoramwrites



Thursday, May 12, 2016

The Girl Who Heard Demons by Janette Rallison

The Girl Who Heard Demons

Author: Janette Rallison

Publisher: Kindle Press

ASIN: B01BDC1VC0

Published: March 2016

ebook: 248 pages

FTC FYI: I received a free copy from the publisher as it was a Kindle Scout winner.

Goodreads Summary

Shy Adelle Hansen hears demons, but she’s determined to make friends at her new high school by keeping her ability secret.
When she overhears supernatural voices celebrating the impending death of the school quarterback, Levi Anderson, she knows she has to do something to prevent it. However, the demons aren’t the ones plotting; they’re just celebrating the chaos, and Adelle must contend with earthly forces as well if she wants to preserve Levi’s life.
Handsome, popular Levi doesn't appreciate Adelle’s self-appointed role of guardian angel. As Adelle battles to keep him safe, she’ll have to protect her heart, too. Can she do both?
My Review
Janette is such a talented writer, she even makes demons entertaining.  I really enjoyed this book.  The first line of the book grabs you quickly and the story keeps an exciting, page-turning pace.  Adelle is a great character and I loved how all that is known about her ability is not all revealed to the reader right at the beginning and the problems that come with it are brought in nicely.  The author does a fantastic job of planting seeds that keep you wanting more.  I also really enjoyed Levi's character and the mysterious actions of his dad, another great page-turner.  I really liked the POV switches, as I really liked both of the main characters and seeing what was going on in their minds during the more tense (and romantic) situations.  The demons were icky, but not over the top.  I appreciated how the author still kept the story clean, even while it dealt with serious issues (drugs, attempted rape).   I am a huge fan of Janette's and will read anything from her.
4 out of 5 stars.  Janette is the author of countless books and also writes under the pen name CJ Hill.  Her books are clean, well-written and great for teens and adults who read teen books (like me)!
Author Links
Purchase Links
Amazon  

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Forever and Forever by Josi S. Kilpack

Forever and Forever: The Courtship of Henry Longfellow and Fanny Appleton

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: April 5, 2016

ISBN13: 9781629721422

Paperback: 336 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

A Proper Historical Romance series

The first book in a new series which will focus on the lives of real historical figures who have intriguing stories of courtship that are recreated in fictionalized accounts based on real biographical and social history research.

"A well-researched, emotionally charged tale. A love story...fit for the ages." -Publishers Weekly.

It's 1836, and nineteen-year-old Fanny Appleton, a privileged daughter of a wealthy, upper-class Boston industrialist, is touring Europe with her family. Like many girls of her day, she enjoys the fine clothes, food, and company of the elite social circles. But unlike her peers, Fanny is also drawn to education, literature, and more intellectual pursuits.

Published author and poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow is also touring Europe, but under much different circumstances. Widowed while on tour, he has stayed in order to gather credentials that he hopes will secure his professorship at Harvard College. When Henry meets Fanny, he sees in her a kindred spirit, a lover of language and literature and high ideals. He is in love. Fanny, however, is uncertain. He is ten years older than she is, and from a much lower social class. How could such a relationship ever thrive?

Could a book of Henry’s poetry, personally delivered, persuade Fanny to believe in a love that lasts forever and forever?

My Review

Forever and Forever is another win for this talented author.  First of all, I will read anything Josi writes. I know her books will be well-written, clean, with amazing characters and a fantastic story.   I really enjoyed Josi's take on Henry and Fanny's life.  I was impressed with her research (as always) and the engaging characters.  One of my favorite scenes with Fanny and Henry was when Henry was telling Fanny his take on education for women.  I enjoyed their interaction.  I felt the pacing was just right throughout and I appreciated the development of their relationship.  I laughed, cried, smiled a lot and wanted more at the end. The chapter notes were an added treat. I'd say, this book was pretty much perfect.

5 out of 5 stars.  This book is an introduction to a new line from Shadow Mountain for historical fiction and I can't wait to see what is next.

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book


Tuesday, May 3, 2016

The Independent One by Cami Checketts -- New Release/Excerpt

I am so thrilled to announce the release of The Independent One: A Billionaire Bride Pact Romance.

Find it on Amazon * Goodreads

Haley Turnbow escapes to the tropical Isla del Sol for an ideal vacation with her five-year old. She doesn’t plan on the resident ghost stalking her and the island’s fine-looking owner drawing her in with his confident, fun personality.
Cal Johnson is king of his own island, happy and busy. A beautiful mom and her wild little boy flip his world upside down. He falls in love with both of them knowing they’re going to leave at the end of their vacation and he might not recover from the loss.
Can these two independent adults trust their hearts or is it not worth the risk?

Excerpt:

A tall, well-built man swept in before Haley could reach Taz and easily lifted her boy into his arms. “Hey, bud, you’re not supposed to do flips on this staircase, that’s for the diving board.”
Taz laughed and Haley’s heart slowed a few beats. “Taz,” she cried out.
The man turned with her son and she noticed dimples and blue eyes, but she could only focus on her boy. Taz launched himself into her arms. Haley held him close, inhaling the baby lotion he kept claiming he was too old for. She took several long breaths as she tried to reassure herself he was okay. 
Their rescuer turned to the older couple. “Are you both all right?” he asked.
“Oh, sure,” the man said, his arm around his wife’s waist. They were a darling couple, dressed to the nines with her hair perfectly coiffed and his hair missing.
“Is the little boy okay?” the woman asked, patting her hair.
“I think so,” Haley said. “I’m so sorry he hit you.”
“No, dear, I’m just fine.”
Haley nodded, grateful for their graciousness. She checked Taz for injuries. He had some rug burns on his face and elbow, but thankfully only the one on his elbow was bleeding. “Oh, bud, you scared me! Do you hurt anywhere?”
“Nothing ‘cept my endbow.” Taz held up his arm for her to see. “Kiss it?”
Haley laughed shakily and kissed near the ouchy spot. “We’ll find you a Band-aid.”
“A Ninja Turtle one?” Taz’s dark eyes lit up. He covered himself in Ninja Turtle Band-aids quite regularly. 
The man with the dimples turned back to her as the older couple wished them well and headed down the hallway to the shops. He placed a warm hand on her back. “Ma’am, can I take him from you? You’re shaking like a belly dancer.”
Haley laughed, but clung tighter to Taz. This was her little man and she wasn’t about to hand him over to some stranger—she couldn’t resist looking the man over—no matter how intriguing the contrast between his dark hair and skin and his deep blue eyes. “I have specialized belly dancer training so it’s okay.”
His dimples deepened. “Nice.”
“Thank you for your help Mr…”
“Johnson.” He kept his arm on her back and wrapped his other hand around her elbow. His hands were strong and warm and she couldn’t help but notice how nicely he smelled, a great combination of musk and man. “Come up to my office so I can check both of you out.”
Haley bristled. The only men she let tell her what to do were her dad and her brother. Scratch that, the only men who ever tried to tell her what to do, but failed, were her dad and her brother. She shook him off. “Sorry, not going to some strange dude’s office and nobody needs to check me out.”
He laughed. “My apologies, ma’am, but I’ve already checked you out.” He pumped his eyebrows and she was struck by the fact that he was much too attractive and much too friendly. 

Monday, May 2, 2016

I'mPossible by Jeff Griffin -- Spotlight

I'mPossible: Desire, Dream, Do

Author: Jeff Griffin

Publisher: Balboa Press

Published: July 2015

ISBN13: 9781504335386

Paperback: 156 pages

Goodreads Summary

The sun's rays filtered in from the partially opened shades of the plane. They lit up the world in front of me and warmed my soul, knowing I was almost to my destination. The beautiful golden light replaced the grey and hazy cobwebs from my eyes, revealing the most spectacular scene I had ever seen in my entire life. I looked out the small seven-inch window and witnessed something that I'll never forget! I beheld something in this magnificent world that the majority of people never get to see. I was looking out at Mount Everest, the world's highest peak!

I was at the tail end of a three-flight journey with two layovers in between, nearly logging twenty-four hours of flight time. I hadn't gotten any real sleep in the last thirty-six hours. My bloodshot eyes were heavy, my mind was slow and sluggish, and my body was even slower in response. How did I get here? I thought to myself. Am I d-r-e-a-m-i-n-g?

As Lao and Confucius once said, “A journey of one-thousand miles begins with one step.” My story is about inspiring you to take your own journey one step at a time. It's about dreaming and accomplishing the impossible. It's not only about aiming for the sky and reaching for the stars but enjoying the journey along the way.

Begin your personal journey today, press forward to the top, and don't you ever stop. As you move toward your dreams, there will be obstacles and setbacks along the way; don't be afraid. You can get to the top of your world by following the signs and guide posts within these pages. You can do it with others! You can do it with me! We can do it together, one step at a time!

I'mpossible! - Jeff Griffin
 

For the blog tour, Jeff is offering the first chapter for free on his website

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble 



Author Bio-

Jeff Griffin is a wheelchair athlete who earned his Master’s degree in Education and knows how to win.  He played in the 2004 Athens Olympics, holds a Guinness Book of World Records, and is a four time NWBA All-Star MVP.  He enjoys mentoring youth, distributing wheelchairs, and providing Peer Training Materials through his humanitarian efforts with LDS Charities.  He is passionate about progress.

1.) What inspired you to write I'Mpossible? –  My book is all about accomplishing the impossible and the journey we must take to fulfill our dreams.  When I got to college the professor had all 150 of his students write a paragraph on a certain topic and hand it in.  The next day he called six students names in the classroom and had them go to back of the room.  They were told in semi-private terms that they needed to take a remedial class so they could get caught up.  I was one of those six! I didn’t know it at the time but It was the best thing that could have happened to me.  I learned the basics of writing. I had a personal experience with a professor that cared about what I had inside my mind and heart.  He was someone who wanted me to learn how to express and share my own ideas and stories.  He taught me that the impossible was possible.  He helped planted a seed of hope in the field of stories.  I now love to lounge around in the world of words!  This class and professor helped liberate me from the chains of doubt and discouragement.   In return I hope to inspire millions to take their own first step towards their own dreams and desires with my personal story from trying to tragedy to triumph.  My joy and happiness comes from helping others break free and see there is more to life than what we see!   

2.) What is the main message of your book?  The main message of I’mPossible Is that we are all faced with a mountain of trials and more often than not, we listen to those around us and think that our personal trials are too big or too tough to overcome.  That is just not true.  In the introduction of the book I write,  “I understand that more than likely you don't have the same problem as me but I believe we all have a handicap or a Mt. Everest to climb in some area of our lives.  Nobody is perfect, no matter how much you want to believe it!  Your handicap could be a mental disability that pains you beyond comprehension.  It could be something that we have been suffering for days, months, and or even years.  It could be a social handicap that paralyzes us when we're out in public or inside our private walls.  It could be a physical handicap like my own where others can instantly see what our problem is without being able to hide it.  Unlike other disabilities that are more personal which can be kept from others and hidden for a very long time.  Your Mt. Everest could even be a spiritual handicap that we refuse to acknowledge.  Or perhaps it could be something we have been struggling with for a very long time and we are having a very hard time overcoming it.  Whatever your individual handicap is it can be conquered!  These disabilities can be either debilitating or liberating.  They can hold us back or lift us up.  They can remain our weakness or they can become our strengths.  I hope by sharing my story of big dreams, grave disappointments, and euphoric triumphs it can help in some small way to lift you closer to the light that lifts.  With each passing mile marker along the journey we can learn from our experiences or be lost for them.  I have found peace in the pain and joy in the journey.  I hope you can find some too, as you embark on your own journey within the pages of this book.  Remember; there are no excuses when it comes to success!  You'repossible!”  

3.) How can your message help other people?   I understand that my message will not resonate with everyone but I do know from experience that when I see or read about someone else who overcomes great odds or challenges It gives me hope.  I’m motivated to be better, to do more, and to give more.  It shows me that if someone else can do hard things then I too can overcome hard and impossible things.  Not only that but that life can be cherished and enjoyed even with hardships and heartache.  My message is a raw exposure to my heart and soul.


4.) What makes your book different than other motivational books? – I tried to make my book a little different by not only telling a heroic story but also giving some obvious and not so obvious clues on how to climb and overcome your own challenge of life.  Whether it is physical, mental, social, or intellectual I believe there is a way to accomplish the impossible.  There are guide posts instead of chapters and there is an invitation for every reader to think about certain areas of their lives and other places to take action with those thoughts.  The invitations are not overwhelming and may seem too simple but if followed, they will change your life.  I tried to make it clear and simple but powerful!