Friday, July 31, 2015

Love on a Whim by Aubrey Mace -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Love on a Whim

Author: Aubrey Mace

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: July 15th, 2015

Paperback: 272 pages

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-621-5

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Six months out of law school, Rachel Pearce is completely disillusioned by her job hunt. Despite pounding the pavement with her Ivy League degree in hand, her job prospects are no brighter than the day she graduated. Then in a chance meeting with a former acquaintance, eccentric young millionaire Henry Walker, Rachel finds an unexpected opportunity: Henry is looking for a personal secretary. Swallowing her pride, Rachel sets aside her law firm aspirations for what she envisions as secretarial work—mountains of paperwork and filing. But when she finds her most demanding duty to be daily cookie runs for her new boss, she’s baffled by her unconventional job responsibilities.

As she’s pulled into Henry’s delightful whims, caught in a whirlwind of private jets and fancy dinners, Rachel finds herself inexplicably drawn to this handsome and charismatic man. But reality always has a way of intruding, and logic tells her that this adventure can’t last. When real life inevitably comes calling, Rachel must decide if she’s willing to trade in her dream of success in the courtroom for a chance at love.

My Review

Oh my goodness, this book is so much fun.  I was laughing from the first page.  I love how Aubrey writes, with tons of humor and heart.  Rachel is a fabulous character.  She is so much fun and I loved her relationship with Shannon.  Henry was very intriguing too.  He was a mystery, but a character I looked forward to reading more about.  Every page is a delight!  This is probably my favorite book from Aubrey.

5 out of 5 stars.  

Author Links


Purchase Links




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Another Time for Love by Lynne Larson -- Blog Tour

Another Time for Love

Author: Lynne Larson

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: July 1st, 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-688-8

Paperback: 168 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Salt Lake County, Present Day

Sam Carroll is living life in the fast lane--sleek cars, nice clothes, and lovely ladies have replaced the gospel values he grew up with, and he's going nowhere fast. But when a serious car accident brings his fun to a screeching halt, Sam is left comatose, aware only of his older brother reading aloud from the hundred-year-old journal of an LDS bishop, Moroni Chadester. As Sam drifts in and out of consciousness, the words begin to take root in his mind . . .

Alpine, Utah, 1915

Standing on a dusty mountain road, Sam is bewildered. The cars are different. The clothes are different. Where and when is he? The answer comes from an impossible source: Bishop Moroni Chadester. Hurtled back in time by forces he can't understand, Sam finds his memories of modern existence quickly fading as he becomes immersed in a new life and a romance with the town beauty, Laney Williams. But as the pair becomes entangled in a murder mystery, the thrill of courtship is replaced by terror as fate conspires to bring the couple into the path of a killer. Little do they realize that the clock is ticking on more than their lives Sam can't stay in the past forever. As danger looms ever closer, Sam must fight to save Laney. But can their love stand the test of time?

My Review

Another Time for Love is the first book I have read from Lynne Larson, and I really enjoyed it.  I really enjoy books that take place in areas I know and have seen.  I loved her descriptions of the locations and especially her characters.  The author does a fantastic job of bringing the story together and helping Sam's character grow up and care for others.  I was able to appreciate more the life style back in 1915, and the author truly does a great job with the mannerisms, and talk of that day, with Sam comparing it to our day.  I especially this paragraph:


Only the mountains above the town remained familiar to Sam, the summer-brown foothills laced with green shrubs.  The peaks formed the same rocky panorama that would one day look down on a burgeoning population, a million homes and businesses nestled in their clefts and canyons--Timpanogos, Lone Peak, Thanksgiving Point--and a modern freeway, running like a ribbon through it all.  When Sam looked at those peaks from this old dirt road in Alpine, they were the same as they'd always been--sentinels of the valley, eternal, unchanged, beautiful. (page 48)
The mystery of who killed a local gentleman was intriguing and I loved how the journal of Bishop Moroni Chadester fueled the story and what a great man he was and how he was an example and help to the town.  To me, I thought Sam fell too quickly for Laney, but their relationship progressed nicely and everything is brought together very well at the end.  John was another character that I enjoyed a lot.

4 out of 5 stars.

Author Links

Goodreads 

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Courtlight Series by Terah Edun -- Book Blast

Courtlight
Courtlight Series by Terah Edun
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.
Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companions Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.
But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.
This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.
Grab your FREE Copy of Books 1-3 Now!

Courtlight 1

Praise for Courtlight
“Beautiful world-building with strong characters.” —Tabby Shiflett Reviews
“Captivating from beginning to end. Edun’s writing style reminds me of Tamora Pierce and Sara J. Maas!” – Netgalley
“If you’re a fantasy lover, this is one world you don’t want to miss out on.” – City of Books

Courtlight 2

Author Terah Edun
Terah Edun is a young adult fantasy writer that writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl. Her Courtlight and Crown Service series can be seen on the USA Today Happily Ever After blog and together have sold over 100,000 copies.
50_Amazon_Paypal
BookBlast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 8/14/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 20, 2015

The Treasure of Isian by Serena Clarke

The Treasure of Isian

Author: Serena Clarke

Published: September 2012

ISBN13: 9781477540107

Paperback: 216 pages

FTC FYI: Received a Kindle copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Prince Garin is a brave, proud, adventure-seeking prince. Elani is his most trusted servant and she would do anything for him, even die for him.

Their quest to find the mystical Treasure of Isian is immediately interrupted and they find themselves confronted by angry giants, soul-stealing elves, bewitched dragons, a vengeful water-witch, battling foes, and a mysterious kingdom.

Elani must face her greatest fears to save her prince and her kingdom. Garin must decide what the most important things are in his life.

Will they be able to make a great sacrifice to save the kingdom? And will Elani find true love?

Become lost in the adventure, love, loyalty, and mystery of The Treasure of Isian!

My Review

The Treasure of Isian is great story with intriguing characters.  At times I thought the pacing was off, but I was still enjoying the story.  Elani is a fabulous character with lots of heart and she had many adventures.  Garin too was enjoyable and I really liked the turnaround he made from the beginning of the story.  He at first was a spoiled prince who didn't care much for anything or anyone but himself.  I also enjoyed how Garin started seeing Elani through different eyes.  Serena did a great job with the supporting characters too.  Ander and Jared were great surprises.

4 out of 5 stars.  Book 2, The Alliance of Isian, is also out and I plan on reading it soon.

Author Links 


Purchase Links


Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Worth Waiting For by Sally Johnson -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Worth Waiting For

Author: Sally Johnson

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: July 1st, 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-68047-240-0

Paperback: 180 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Sophia thought she was over her broken heart, but the news that her roommate has eloped with Sophia's ex-husband hits the nineteen-year-old like a ton of bricks. She knows she should be fine with the unexpected revelation--after all, her boyfriend, Luke, is incredible, but it would seem her heart is not as resilient as she thought. And as Luke prepares to leave for his European study abroad, Sophia's feelings of fear and inadequacy threaten to overwhelm her.

A summer with her family in Las Vegas gives Sophia the time she needs but she still can't shake the questions haunting her, the questions that continually threaten to put more than physical distance between Luke and her. Is she really ready to jump into a new relationship when the last one ended so painfully? Will her divorce always define her? Is she the one with the problem?

As she wistfully observes others' love stories blossoming around her, Sophia must decide whether she's prepared to take another chance on love. Luke's return from Europe forces Sophia to confront the decision she's not sure she's prepared for--will her troubled past destroy the happy ending she's always dreamed of?

My Review

I didn't realize this was a sequel until I was writing this review.  It can stand alone, but previous dates, and/or other events that were mentioned and not explained make sense now why they weren't explained in this book.  That didn't take me out the story though, I still really enjoyed it.  I really liked Sophia and I sympathized with her.  I thought her inner voice was very funny at times and I appreciated her humor.  This is a great book about letting go and putting your life back together, but also taking your time to really know what you want, and Sophia needed that time.  I loved Luke, he is a great guy, with mounds of kindness and patience.  The other characters were great too.  I wish there was more time with Justin, he was very funny and Gretchen was great too.  There were some scenes in the last few chapters where I was laughing out loud.

4 out of 5 stars.

Author Links


Buy Links

*July16th: http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/http://littlelightdesigncollective.com/http://fireandicereads.com/


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Marrow by Preston Norton -- Book Blast

MarrowMarrow by Preston Norton
Marrow is a fourteen-year-old prodigy at FIST (Fantom Institute for Superheroes-in-Training). With a perfect score on his finals, the ability to smash through walls, and leaps that can launch him over a city block, the Sidekick Internship Program is bound to place him with a top-notch superhero mentor for the summer. But when a series of disastrous events lands Marrow on academic probation, he is forced to team up with Flex–a drunk, hippie, bum with the power of elasticity.
The two Supers’ powers and personalities clash as they are forced to overcome their differences to prevent the return of Cosmo City’s most notorious foe, a supervillain so powerful, no one will survive the cataclysm he is sure to unleash.
Grab a copy from AMAZON

Praise for Marrow
• “If you can’t get enough of superhero and comic book movies, read Marrow now! It’s like stuffing an action movie into your head. The twists will surprise you.” — Adam Glendon Sidwell, Bestselling Author of CHUM and EVERTASTER.
• “Fans of comics, superheroes, and stories with twist after twist will love Marrow. It’s filled with nods and homages to classic heroes, yet still manages to put a unique stamp on the genre.” — Jacob Gowans, Bestselling Author of the PSION BETA Series.

Excerpt
Having super powers isn’t always as super as it sounds.
Actually . . . that’s a lie. It’s pretty much awesome.
It was the last day of Finals at FIST (Fantom Institute for Superheroes-in-Training). There were exactly ten of us who had qualified for the Sidekick Internship Program. All fourteen years old. All dangerous in our own unique ways. Based on our scores and overall performance, we would be evaluated and paired up with Superheroes who would serve as our mentors for the summer. With top-notch scores, I could be teamed up with a hero like Nova. Or Apex. Or the most legendary hero of them all . . .
Fantom, himself.
Fantom wasn’t just the founder of FIST. And he wasn’t just a Superhero either. The guy was an icon. A symbol of hope. He was the fastest, strongest, smartest, insert-whatever-awesome-adjective-you-can-think-of-est hero of them all. And the guy had style. Oh man, did he have style.
Legend had it that Fantom was the first of the Supers—merely a kid out on a boat with his parents when the Gaia Comet struck. (It was the foreign radioactive energy of Gaia that gave birth to the Supers.) The comet made impact right where they were sailing, killing Fantom’s parents instantly. However, fate or pure luck allowed Fantom to emerge unscathed, and he was reborn with power unparalleled by any other
Super.
Fantom was going to be my mentor. I had already decided that.

Want a FREE Kindle verison of the book? 
Marrow is now available in select Costcos throughout Utah, Idaho & Arizona. On your next trip, grab a copy! AND if you take a picture with the book and tag @FutureHousePub and @Costco on Twitter we’ll gift you a free Kindle version of the book!

PrestonAuthor Preston Norton
Preston Norton is a lover of the English language, a connoisseur of the written word, a crafter of worlds, a creator (and killer) of characters, a drinker of caffeine, a freak for scary movies, a kisser of his super hot fiancée, Erin, and an overall decent human being who really likes hamburgers.
Also, he kinda digs books.

50_Amazon_Paypal
BookBlast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash or a $50 COSTCO gift card
Ends 7/30/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Picture Mr. Perfect by Laura Briggs and Sarah Burgess -- Promo Post

Sale lasts from July 7th - July 13th

Picture Mr. Perfect

Authors: Laura Briggs and Sarah Burgess

227 pages

Published: May 2015

Amazon Buy Link

Book Summary: Jason Barry’s no hero, although he does hope to change the world one day by helping people once he finally earns his master’s degree in psychology. When his scholarship is unexpectedly revoked, however, Jason takes on a temporary modeling gig for money to help pay the bills, never dreaming it’ll land him on the cover of a best-selling romance novel – and transform him from the boy-next-door to a hot literary hunk almost overnight. 

Suddenly, women recognize Jason as the face of sexy ‘Lord Damon’ everywhere he goes, making him the envy and admiration of his male friends. But as covers featuring him as everything from a swashbuckling hero to Mr. Darcy himself causes his celebrity status to explode, Jason struggles to balance his academic pursuits, as well as his deepening attraction for Emily, a waitress and part-time student at his university. 

Emily is definitely unimpressed by Jason’s literary alter-ego. But can the real Jason convince her there’s more to him than meets the eye? Or will bigger issues prevent their happy-ever-after, when certain truths between them challenge the definition of a real hero? 

BioLaura Briggs graduated from a Missouri liberal arts college in 2008 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English. Her first published work was Only in Novels, a short romance story from Pelican Book Group. Among her independently published works are a series of wedding-themed romances, as well as Jane Austen-inspired fiction. 


·                     Blog:  http://paperdollwrites.blogspot.com/
·                     Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authorlaurabriggs
·                     Twitter:  https://twitter.com/PaperDollWrites

Excerpt

"Lord who?" Greg repeated.

"Lord Damon," said Jason. "That's what she said to me. I swear. And then I saw it in the window. Me, all over these book covers, as some sort of swashbuckler or gentleman hero or something."

"Get out of here."

"I'm serious! I'm not lying to you — why would I lie about this?"

"This is a joke, right? Stop it already," Greg answered. "I'm not buying it."

"You want me to prove it? Fine." He grabbed his roommate's car keys off his desk. "I'll prove it. Come on."

Greg didn't believe him until they were standing outside the book store's window. He watched his roommate's jaw drop slightly. 

"What the ..." he trailed off. "Holy ice cubes, Jason. How did you do this?"

"Come on. Let's get away from here." Jason tugged him in the opposite direction. Greg followed, but slowly, his glance still drifting towards the hero version of his roommate plastered all over the book covers.

"So what happened?" Greg asked. "How the heck did someone think of you for that book?" His tone was somewhere between total skepticism and disgust, not that Jason blamed him. Something about the cover seemed too cheesy, as if he was being hit in the face with a cream pie every time he saw this alternate version of himself. It was too much to handle.

"All right. I went to this agency who put an ad in the paper" said Jason. "They take photos of you —"

"Whoa. Stop right there."

"Not nude ones," Jason answered. "Just ordinary photos. They pay you — you sign a release, and they can sell the picture to someone else, who can use it for anything they want. I did it for forty bucks. I didn't think they'd actually use it for anything, I thought they'd probably toss it in the trash."

"You're dressed like a pirate captain, bro."

"It's not a pirate costume," Jason retorted. "Trust me. They were very specific about that."