Friday, July 12, 2019

A Proper Scandal by Esther Hatch

A Proper Scandal

Author: Esther Hatch

Publisher: Covenant

Published: May 2019

Paperback: 222 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Grace Sinclair has been callously cast out of her home. And though taken in as an orphaned child by the vicar and his wife, her unsurpassed beauty makes it impossible for her to remain in the vicar’s household—with two daughters of their own about to enter Society, the vicar and his wife see Grace as nothing but competition. Thankfully, Grace’s estranged Aunt Bell has agreed to take her in to her home in London. But Grace soon learns her situation has just gotten much worse.

It takes only a moment’s acquaintance for Grace to ascertain that her aunt has married a detestable rake. And Aunt Bell, recognizing the danger of having her lovely niece too near her husband, gives Grace an ultimatum: the young woman has two weeks to find a man to marry, after which she will be turned out. With no experience in the art of attracting a husband, Grace quickly realizes that a worthy suitor might not be so easy to ensnare.
 


My review

First of all, this cover is beautiful. It really sets the tone for the book, and what a wonderful book it is! The title is intriguing too, how can a scandal be proper? I absolutely loved it. It is so charming and Grace is a fantastic character. Nate is great too, a very patient man to be sure. Grace had me smiling quite a bit, but I enjoyed her immensely. I couldn't turn pages fast enough, all while not wanting the story to end. Very well done. I can't wait for more from this talented author.

5 out of 5 stars. I love reading books that leave me smiling at the end and very glad I read it!

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads

Thursday, July 11, 2019

The Redgrave Murders by A. L. Sowards -- blog tour/giveaway

The Redgrave Murders

Author: A. L. Sowards

Publisher: Covenant

Published: July 2019

ISBN13: 9781524409456

Paperback: 260 pages

FYC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Loss is inevitable, as Evie Hampton knows all too well. But despite losing her mother to cancer and her older brother to a war, she knows she’s one of the lucky ones. After all, she still has her father, a distinguished professor of medieval history. And she has Gary Redhawk, the man she loves despite the emotional scars he carries from the Second World War—and despite her father’s opposition to their relationship.

When a freak accident sends Evie’s car careening off the road, she chalks it up to poor maintenance, or sheer bad luck making another appearance in her life. Little does she know a host of hardships is just beginning—the car was her father’s, and the brake lines were deliberately cut. Someone wants them dead—but why? All fingers point to Gary, a man with a troubled past and no solid alibi, but Evie is unwilling to believe he’s involved. Determined to uncover the truth, she begins to piece together a startling picture of deception and vice. But as she closes in on the truth, it is clear that someone is determined to silence her—and the next attempt on her life may be a deadly success.
 


My review

I was very excited to read this book, as I have enjoyed all the books I have read from this author. When I started reading, it felt like I was right there with the characters, like watching an old movie from the '40s. Right away the reader is caught up in a web of suspense and the author does an excellent job of setting up the story. I loved the way each chapter started, as we get to know Evie's brother through his letters to her during the war. Evie is a fantastic character. I also enjoyed the inclusion of the Native American culture with Gary's character. This is an excellent book full of twists and page-turning suspense.

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 7, 2019

The Heart of a Vicar by Sarah M Eden -- blog tour/giveaway

The Heart of a Vicar

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 2019

Paperback/e-book: 268 pages

ISBN13: 9781524408619

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Young love is all too fleeting, as Harold Jonquil painfully discovered years ago when Sarah Sarvol, the niece of a neighboring landowner, captured his heart. After an idyllic few weeks in the throes of blossoming love, reality intervened. They could have no future. Following their disastrous parting, Harold attempted to push aside thoughts of love and regret, but Sarah has never left his heart. Now, years later, he has achieved his lifelong aspiration of becoming the local vicar. However, the role proves more difficult than he imagined. He feels hollow and uninspired—until the most important person in his past returns, challenging him as no one ever has.

When Sarah’s ailing uncle summons her back to the family estate in England, there is only one person from her past she is reluctant to see again: Harold Jonquil, the only man who has ever claimed her heart. But when she comes face-to-face with her former beau, she hardly recognizes the aloof and dull man before her. She is determined to help Harold rediscover the passion he once felt toward his chosen profession. Soon, despite their exasperation with each other, they cannot deny the stirring of feelings long buried—but is it too late for second chances?


My review

Sarah Eden is one amazing author. Every book of hers is a treasure. I absolutely love the Jonquil series of books. Each brother is unique and special in their own way and the author does a fantastic job of expressing that. I loved the different side of Harry that we saw. Sarah was wonderful too. Everything about this book was enjoyable and superbly written. 

5 out of 5 stars. Another wonderful offering from one of my favorite authors. 

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Facebook


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Flight of the Raven by Morgan L Busse -- blog tour

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Flight of the Raven
(The Ravenwood Saga #2)
By Morgan L. Busse
Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 352 Pages
April 30th 2019 by Bethany House Publishers

Selene Ravenwood, once the heir to House Ravenwood, is now an exile. On the run and free of her family's destiny, Selene hopes to find the real reason her family was given the gift of dreamwalking. But first she must adapt to her new life as wife to Lord Damien Maris, the man she was originally assigned to kill. 

While adjusting to her marriage and her home in the north, her power over dreams begins to grow. As the strongest dreamwalker to exist in ages, her expanding power attracts not only nightmares but the attention of the Dark Lady herself.

With a war looming on the horizon and a wicked being after her gift, Selene is faced with a choice: embrace the Dark Lady's offer, or search out the one who gave her the gift of dreamwalking. One path offers power, the other offers freedom. But time is running out, and soon her choice will be made for her.


Other Books in the Series

Mark of the Raven
(The Ravenwood Saga #1)
By Morgan L. Busse
Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 352 Pages
November 6th 2018 by Bethany House Publishers

Lady Selene is the heir to the Great House of Ravenwood and the secret family gift of dreamwalking. As a dreamwalker, she can enter a person’s dreams and manipulate their greatest fears or desires. For the last hundred years, the Ravenwood women have used their gift of dreaming for hire to gather information or to assassinate.

As she discovers her family’s dark secret, Selene is torn between upholding her family’s legacy–a legacy that supports her people–or seeking the true reason behind her family’s gift.

Her dilemma comes to a head when she is tasked with assassinating the one man who can bring peace to the nations, but who will also bring about the downfall of her own house.

One path holds glory and power, and will solidify her position as Lady of Ravenwood. The other path holds shame and execution. Which will she choose? And is she willing to pay the price for the path chosen?


My review
This series is amazing! I instantly cared for and loved these characters. There are so many crazy twists and turns. I was left breathless. There is wonderful character growth and development throughout. The elements of this book are fascinating and well written.

About the Author


Morgan L. Busse is a writer by day and a mother by night. She is the author of the Follower of the Word series and the steampunk series The Soul Chronicles. She is a Christy and INSPY Award finalist and won the Carol Award in 2018 for best in Christian speculative fiction. During her spare time she enjoys playing games, taking long walks, and dreaming about her next novel.


Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive print copies of Mark of the Raven, Flight of the Raven, and a $20 Amazon gift card
2 winner winners will receive print copies of Mark of the Raven and Flight of the Raven
- US only
- Ends June 7, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Friday, May 17, 2019

Charlotte's Promise by Jennifer Moore -- blog tour

Charlotte's Promise

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: Covenant
Published: May 2019

ISBN13: 9781524409333

Paperback/ebook: 218 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary


One year ago Charlotte Bower’s life was ripped apart when Creek Indians attacked, killed her parents, and separated her from her young brother—now, she will stop at nothing to find him. After a year of captivity, she has finally made her escape. Her search will begin in New Orleans, where captives were taken after the raid. But how to reach a city hundreds of miles away? As she watches men boarding a waiting ship, Charlotte formulates a bold plan: if it’s men they need for the ship’s crew, it’s a man they’ll get. Taking on her childhood nickname, Charlie, it is all too easy to gain passage on the New Orleans-bound vessel. Easy, that is, until Charlie is caught . . .
From the moment he sets eyes on the new deckhand, Captain Alden Thatcher knows one thing for certain: Charlie Bower is no man. But for reasons of his own, he keeps her secret. As their journey progresses, however, the voyage is increasingly ill-fated. With danger ever present, Charlie and the captain find themselves relying on one another in ways they’d never imagined. As they draw closer to her goal, Charlotte is faced with the most perilous adventure of all—an adventure that may risk her heart.

My review

Charlotte's Promise is another wonderful book from Jennifer Moore. I absolutely love her books. They are always full of heart and adventure. I instantly loved Charlotte. Her determination and drive were inspiring. Alden too was wonderful. I really enjoyed how "Charlie" did not fool him and I was glad he knew the secret so early on. This author always delivers an enjoyable story, all while giving the reader a history lesson too. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Daisies and Devotion by Josi S. Kilpack -- blog tour/giveaway

ARC GIVEAWAY!

Daisies and Devotion

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Expected publish date: May 14th, 2019

ISBN13: 9781629725529

Paperback/e-book: 304 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Timothy Mayfield is ready to marry for love, but, since his personal finances are thinner than he’d like, he knows he’ll also need to find a wife with wealth. After receiving an unexpected inheritance, Timothy’s circumstances change, and he is free to pursue his “perfect woman”—one with blonde hair, blue eyes, a light laugh, arched eyebrows, elegant fingers, and a dazzling smile, among nearly twenty other characteristics. 

Maryann Morrington doesn’t match anything on Timothy’s list—except for wealth. An heiress in her own right, she is tired of men pursuing her only for her money. But at nearly twenty-two years old, and not a particularly stunning beauty, she can’t be as picky as her friend Timothy is.

The two friends end up playing matchmaker for each other. Timothy will find a decent gentleman for Maryann, and Maryann will prove to Timothy that his “perfect woman” doesn’t exist.

Until Miss Shaw comes to London.

Now, with Timothy’s heart captivated by the blonde, blue-eyed beauty, Maryann must decide if she should risk her heart and reveal her true feelings for her friend, or if she should settle for someone else. It’s an up-and-down game of “he loves me, he loves me not” with both hearts and friendship on the line.


My review

This book is another triumph for this talented author. I look forward to every book Josi Kilpack releases. This book was no different. I loved it! Each character is unique and simply wonderful. I appreciate the character growth. There is a warmth to the story that I love. You truly feel and care for these characters, especially Maryann. She is a fantastic character. I loved her direct "no nonsense" way. Wonderful character growth throughout. 

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice by John Grisham -- Spotlight/Kids Know Best

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice

Author: John Grisham

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Expected publish date: May 14th, 2019

ISBN13: 9780525556268

Hardcover/e-book: 224 pages

Goodreads Summary

Theodore Boone is back on the case in an all-new adventure! Bestselling author John Grisham delivers a page-turning legal thriller for a new generation of readers.

Theo has been worried about his good friend Woody Lambert. Woody is struggling at school and making bad choices. But when Woody is arrested—an unwitting accomplice to armed robbery—Theo knows he is innocent. Racing the clock while Woody sits in jail, Theo will do everything in his power to help his friend and save Woody from an unforgiving system where justice is not equal for all.

Brimming with the intrigue and suspense that made John Grisham a #1 international bestseller and undisputed master of the modern legal thriller, Theodore Boone’s trials and triumphs will keep readers hooked until the very last page.


Purchase links

Amazon hardcover / Amazon e-book / Barnes and Noble

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website


About the author

John Grisham is the author of thirty novels, one work of nonfiction, a collection of stories, and six novels for young readers.