Monday, February 22, 2016

Not Always Happenstance by Rachael Anderson -- Blog tour/giveaway

Not Always (1)

Not Always Happenstance
Not Always Happenstance by Rachael Anderson
Lani has lived in Hana, Hawaii for five years. She’s learned to surf, fish, dive, and manage her grandmother’s bed and breakfast. She’s also learned to take one day at a time the way it should be taken—relaxed and unrushed, savoring every moment.
But, like a large wave on the brink of breaking, her life is about to crash out of control. A proposal of marriage, a conniving grandmother, a cryptic Asian woman, and a handsome guest, and suddenly everything calm begins to churn, everything clear becomes confused, and all that was normal segues into peculiar.
As Lani struggles against the current to hold her ground, she realizes that she can either continue to fight and eventually lose, or take a take a leap of faith, hold her breath, and ride the wave wherever it takes her.
***This book is part of the Power of the Matchmaker series that features one recurring character—the match maker—but it is a STAND-ALONE novel.***

My Review

NOT ALWAYS HAPPENSTANCE is another wonderful book in the POWER OF THE MATCHMAKER series.  Rachael is one of my favorite authors and can always be counted on to read a clean, enjoyable romance.  Pearl, once again, stood out to me and I love, so far, how each author portrays her.   She is always an unforgettable character.  I loved how much she was in this book and her important role along with her priceless advice.  Rachael always does an incredible job with her characters.  Lani and Easton were fabulous, and I also really loved Puna.  I enjoyed how Puna saw Easton.  I loved getting to experience Hawaii through Lani's eyes and I appreciated her love for what was important to her.  Easton always put a smile on my face, he was very intriguing. His persistence was enduring.  I was glad that Lani made certain decisions, instead of holding on to what she didn't want.  I appreciated that their relationship took work, it helped me love and value these characters even more.

4 out of 5 stars.
I received an book copy from I AM A READER in exchange for an honest review.

amazon get it
add to goodreads

RachaelAuthor Rachael Anderson
A USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can’t sing, doesn’t dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.

Blog Tour $50 Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 2/29/16
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Escape to Eden by Rachel McClennan -- Blog Tour

Escape to Eden

Author: Rachel McClellan

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: Feb. 9 2016

ISBN13: 9781462117772

Paperback: 304 pages

FTC FYI: Received a ebook copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Run now! When seventeen-year-old Sage wakes up in a hospital with no memories, her only clue are the words written on her hand. With a deadly disease threatening to wipe out mankind, Sage must find out who she is and why most people would kill to get their hands on her—before it’s too late. This fast-paced, futuristic thriller is a spine-tingling read!

My Review

Wow, what an exciting read.  It was seriously one action packed scene after another.  Each character was intriguing and written well.  I loved how we gradually got to know each character and Sage especially was a favorite as she slowly tries to figure things out and what happened to her.  Anthony and Tank were awesome too, but I really loved Colt.  He was fascinating.  His abilities as a Noc were very cool.  His back story was a good one.  Well, all of the characters very great.  Jenna got on my nerves at first, but she eventually grew on me.  There is a lot of action and some violence.  One scene was a little on the icky side for me, but the author did a great job of giving details without being over-the-top.  Escape to Eden is a captivating read that pulls you in quickly, especially the opening chapters.  I really enjoyed the science of the DNA, the how and why were very creative and unlike anything I've read before.  The author has created a very interesting world.  It is set up for sequel at the end, so I'm looking forward to see what comes of it. 

4 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Proposals and Poison by Rachelle J. Christensen -- Cover reveal/giveaway



Proposals and Poison, Wedding Planner Mysteries book #3 Rachelle J. Christensen
“Cozy mystery meets romantic comedy in this fabulous, fast-paced story.”
Cami Checketts author of The Resilient One, A Billionaire Bride Pact Romance
Love can be a very dangerous thing.
At least it seems that way to Adri Pyper, the premier wedding planner in Sun Valley, Idaho. When one of her clients dies mysteriously, Adri takes the advice of the local detective and swears she will stay out of the investigation . . . this time. Luke Stetson’s involvement in the case, along with the possibility of a kiss between the two, should be enough incentive to keep Adri out of trouble. But when a dog-themed wedding is almost ruined by a suspect, Adri and her assistant, Lorea, are thrust into private eye mode. When poison enters the picture, even a reluctant sleuth can’t steer clear of danger.
Amazon Pre-order
“Packed with danger and romance, intrigue and entertainment, Rachelle Christensen’s Wedding Planner series is romantic suspense that will keep you turning pages late into the night!”
–Maria Hoagland, Author of The ReModel Marriage (Romance Renovations series)
add to goodreads
Author Rachelle J. Christensen
Rachelle is a mother of five who writes mystery/suspense, nonfiction, and women’s fiction. She solves the case of the missing shoe on a daily basis. She enjoys raising chickens and laughing with her husband. She graduated cum laude from Utah State University with a degree in psychology and a minor in music.
Rachelle is the award-winning author of ten books, including The Soldier’s Bride (a Kindle Scout Selection), Wrong Number, Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things, What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know, and Christmas Kisses: An Echo Ridge Anthology. Her novella, “Silver Cascade Secrets,” was included in the Rone Award–winning Timeless Romance Anthology, Fall Collection.
Rachelle has a VIP mailing list where all subscribers get access to free books, guides, and other resources. Sign up now to hear what exciting news Rachelle has to share. http://eepurl.com/eFD3o
Diamond ringsVeils and Vengeance
Series endorsements
“Mystery, suspense, murder and romance all intriguingly tied together in one very fun walk-down-the-aisle cozy mystery!”—Shauna Wheelwright, reviewer
“I love a great mystery that keeps my interest and keeps the pages turning. I loved the Hawaiian setting, that was a character on its own. As the story progressed, I enjoyed where the author went with the mystery, doing a perfect job of planting the right amount of seeds to try to throw me off the trail of who the killer was.”—Mindy Holt, reviewer
 Giveaway Details
$25 cash giveaway plus an ebook bundle of the Wedding Planner Mystery Books 1 & 2. (gifted via Amazon)
Ends 3/3/16
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pimpernel by Sheralyn Pratt -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Pimpernel
Pimpernel by Sheralyn Pratt
They seek him here; they seek him there. For centuries, the elite of the world have sought the Pimpernel everywhere. Some want to kill him, others want to hire him, but Jack Cavanaugh knows that the love/hate relationship comes with the job title.
At present, Jack is trying to dismantle an investment scheme centered in Las Vegas, but “trying” is the operative word. It’s been a month since he put the face of the scheme behind bars, yet the scam is still going strong. As Jack tries to uncover who has stepped in as the new head, what miniscule evidence there is all seems to point him back to Claire Ramsey, an introverted PhD student studying at UNLV.
If ever there as an unlikely head of a investment scheme, Claire’s it. She has a genius IQ, but from all Jack has seen, Claire’s intelligence is as much a blessing as a curse when paired up with her acute OCD. Claire can barely make conversation with the cute guy down the hall, which makes it hard to believe she could be the charismatic salesperson who is getting international businessmen to invest $5—50 million a pop.
So what is Jack missing? What is the real story behind Claire Ramsey? And once Jack learns it, will he be able to walk away?

My Review

Everything about this book is awesome.  The story, the pacing, the humor, the kissing (great ones in there), and especially the characters.  Oh the characters.  Jack, Jack, Jack.  I know I can't leave it at that, but I can't say much more about him without anything away, other than I have quite the book-crush on him.  He is amazing.  Claire was a great character too.  She was a bit of a puzzle, one that I enjoyed reading.  Each character was written meticulously and with care. The women are so strong and can take care of themselves. I also loved how there were back stories and information that we weren't given.  I thought it was brilliant of the author to do that.  Always leave them wanting more.  The ending was absolutely amazing.  I, again, can't say more without giving things away, but Claire surprised me, in the best way.   I had the hardest time putting this book down and when it ended I was wanting more.  I am crossing my fingers for this to become a series. Please, please Sheralyn!


5 out of 5 stars. Received an ecopy of the book in exchange for an honest review.   
amazon get it

Excerpt
The high-pitched scream from the other side of her apartment door shattered Claire’s thoughts.
“Daniel?” That shriek had been way too high to come out of a man.
“Help!” Daniel’s voice cried out from the other side of the door.
Claire unlocked the door and pushed it open, finding Daniel cowering on the couch in sailor-themed boxer briefs. Classical music played from his bedroom, indicating Daniel had been sewing before he ended up on the couch. On the ground between them lay the lounge robe Daniel had made in his fashion design class along with his house slippers. They looked like they’d been flung at random.
“Move!” he shrieked at her, stabbing his finger at the ground like a mad man. “Take the high ground and leave the door open. Maybe it will go back to the gates of hell, where it belongs!”
Claire followed the direction of his manic gesturing, freezing when her eyes locked on something the size of her fist with eight hairy legs. “Daniel? Please tell me that is a toy.”
“That. Is. NOT. A. Toy!”
The spider chose that moment to make its move—which happened to be sprinting her way.
Claire shrieked as Daniel motioned for her to join him on the couch. “High ground!”
Was he insane? She would have to leap over the tarantula to get to him. Why in the world would she do that when she could just run away and go to a hotel for the night?
“Voldemort?” a man’s voice said from behind her a split second before Claire backed into a male body blocking her retreat. Not only did Claire scream, but her body was suddenly possessed by an Olympic hurdler as she scampered across the living room and flung herself into Daniel’s arms on the couch.
“You found her!” a flagpole of a man from the doorway said as Claire latched onto Daniel, hiding her face against his shoulder. If she didn’t see the spider, maybe it would cease to exist.
“Found it?” Daniel scoffed. “That thing tried to duel me for my sandwich before I batted him off my kitchen table.”
Claire shuttered, only vaguely realizing that the shoulder she was hiding her face in was bare. I’ve never hugged a guy who was only wearing underwear before, she thought a moment before Daniel pulled her keys out of her hand and flung them at the ground to join his slippers and robe.
“Don’t chase it this way!” Daniel yelled at the other guy.
“Come on, Voldemort,” the spider guy cooed. “Let’s get you back into your habitat—Don’t run!
Wait, it was running? Claire didn’t want to see that, yet something compelled her to turn and look anyway.
People always said that horrible things seemed to happen in slow motion, but Claire could have sworn the giant arachnid was coming at her in fast-forward mode. In a heartbeat, she had climbed up to ride piggyback on Daniel while he responded by flapping his hands in panic as if he could fan the thing away with a light breeze.
Not only did the spider keep running, it was sprinting like an arachnid with a plan—heading straight for the couch. When Daniel backed away, Claire felt her back thump into the wall. Before he could move again, she pushed off his back to stand on the back of the couch, dropping her purse when it threatened her balance. On the way down, it ended up in Daniel’s hands and he wasted no time finding items inside and tossing them at the spider while its owner moved in to act like a human shield.
“No!” the tall guy cried as he tried to corral the beast. “Don’t throw things at her. You might hurt her.”
Just then, Claire’s favorite lip gloss bounced off the hairy spider, stunning it.
That lip gloss was dead to her—not just the tube, the actual brand. She’d never be able to look at it the same again.
add to goodreads


SheralynAuthor Sheralyn Pratt
Some describe Sheralyn as a girl who’s been around the block and worked at every shop. This isn’t far from the truth. Writing is what she loves most, however. There’s a magical power in stepping into new perspectives time and again, and seeing the world through different eyes. Few things increase empathy more than walking in another’s shoes for 100,000 words or so. At least that seems to be the trend so far.
Some random things to know about Sheralyn:
* She’s a wanderer (geographically)
* She can write a novel, but doesn’t have the attention span for one page in a journal
* She vehemently disagrees with Stephen King’s stance that authors should not watch TV
* She is pretty much incapable of sleeping before midnight
25_Amazon_Paypal
Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 2/28/16
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, February 13, 2016

Loving the Book Valentine's Day Blitz -- The Captive by Julie Coulter Bellon

 


Former Navy SEAL Jake Williams is the newly appointed head of a task force assigned to rescue a kidnapped American diplomat. Their only hope is Mya Amari, the daughter of a notorious Algerian hostage negotiator, but she is full of secrets and complications–something Jake takes as a personal challenge. As they grow closer, the threat to the mission escalates and time runs out for the hostages. Can Jake unravel the web of deception to save them all without getting caught in the crossfire?

Mya Amari has been in hiding nearly her entire life to escape her father’s enemies. But when her sister is kidnapped along with an American diplomat, she’ll do anything to bring her home–including walking into the enemy’s lair. She doesn’t trust anyone, especially the too-handsome-for-his-own-good Commander Williams, but when all her careful plans explode out of control, he’s the only one she can turn to with the truth about her family. Is it too little, too late? 



       


Julie Coulter Bellon is the author of more than a dozen romantic suspense novels. Her book All Fall Down won the RONE award for Best Suspense and Pocket Full of Posies won a RONE Honorable Mention for Best Suspense.

Julie loves to travel and her favorite cities she's visited so far are probably Athens, Paris, Ottawa, and London. She loves to read, write, teach, watch Castle, Hawaii Five-O, and eat Canadian chocolate. Not necessarily in that order.

Julie offers writing and publishing tips as well as her take on life on her blog ldswritermom.blogspot.com You can also find out about all her upcoming projects at her website juliebellon.com 


Author Newsletter http://eepurl.com/g48Pz

Facts About the Author:
  1. When I am not writing I like to read, play board games with the family, (our new favorite is Sheriff of Nottingham), or watch Castle.


    2. I am working on the second book in my Griffin Force series called The Captain and it should be released in May 2016.
Connect with the Author:

    

      


Snippet #2

He was looking out the kitchen window when Mya came in. He could see her out of the corner of his eye, standing in the doorway, watching him. She looked undecided, as if she wanted to come in, but didn’t know if she should. “Is everything okay?” he asked finally, turning his face toward her.
“Yeah.” But she still didn’t sound sure.
He moved to the table and motioned her toward it. “Looks like a pretty quiet neighborhood. I don’t think we have anything to worry about.”
“That’s what I thought about the last place.” She shuddered slightly. “Watching those gunmen through that camera made me feel so helpless. I thought they were going to kill them, then come for us.” Her voice trailed off.  “I’ve lost so many people in my life.”
The vulnerability in her voice was unmistakable, the longing for connection. Jake saw himself in her statement, their similar losses forging an emotional bond he’d never felt with anyone else.  He put his hand on hers, needing to touch her. “You won’t lose me.” The attraction that had been simmering between them flared to life. He lifted her hand, letting his thumb run over her knuckles. “I promise.”  She sucked in a breath, unable to keep her eyes off him as he flipped her hand over palm up and pulled it to his mouth, kissing the inside of her wrist. 
“Jake,” she whispered, leaning close. 
He lifted his hand to cup her face and she nestled her cheek against it. 



Check out all the great blogs that are a part of this event by following along on the Facebook page.


Kobo Free Romance Novels -- Buy 2, get 1 FREE!

Nothing says Valentine's Day like a FREE ROMANCE NOVEL. Right now, Kobo is offering BUY 2 GET 1 FREE--FREE!--on several of their romance eBook titles, so hop on over and grab some great romance novels for a killer price (see links below).


 



And so many MORE!

Happy Valentine's Day, and happy reading.

Someday, Maybe by Jenny Piper - The Long Way Home by Janet Purcell -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Prism Tour Grand Finale for
Someday, Maybe by Jenny Piper
&
The Long Way Home by Janet Purcell

If you missed the inspiration behind these books or reading their first chapters, go back and do so now...

Bookworm Lisa - Inspiration for The Long Way Home

"The Long Way Home began germinating in my mind after I visited the Andrew Wyeth exhibition at the Philadelphia Museum of Art and studied the paintings on display about which I would write a review in my weekly fine arts column in the Times of Trenton newspaper. The image of Christina Olson dragging herself uphill in Wyeth’s painting Christina’s World haunted me. I saw it as a figurative painting and yet as a still life. Her life had been stilled by her unexplained disability."

Beck Valley Books - Excerpt from The Long Way Home

Callie screamed and jumped back. She ran out of the room, slammed the door and, with all her weight against it, looked frantically around for some way to keep it shut. There was nothing. The door didn’t have a lock and there was no furniture close enough to push against it.

Christy's Cozy Corners - Time Passes

"Time passing is something that is an integral part of the story in ‘Someday, Maybe’ and in ‘Moving On’, too. We never know what is going to happen to us. Everything changes – or does it?"

I Am A Reader - Excerpt from Someday, Maybe

When he’d first seen her, a neat, spriggy little thing, she had worn her hair in tight, dark pigtails, and he’d liked that. When she had grown up and had it cut in a fashionable sort of style he’d been a bit disconcerted, but as time had gone on she had let it grow a bit and some- times put it up so that it sat on her head like a plump, soft, scented cloud, and he had loved it. Today, so early in the morning, it was tousled, unwashed and unbrushed and smelled of the cold morning and of chicken feed, but he didn’t care. He adored it.

Sunpenny Publishing ebook SALE

THE LONG WAY HOME and SOMEDAY, MAYBE are both on sale for 99¢ (US)!

 

WATERY WAYS is also on sale for 99¢ through February 13th and BRIDGE BEYOND BETRAYAL is on sale for 99¢ from February 20th through March 5th.

Grab a copy of one or all while you can during the sale!

The Long Way Home
by Janet Purcell
Adult Fiction
Paperback & ebook, 237 pages
April 7th 2015 by Sunpenny Publishing

When Callie Vinerelli gives refuge in her Cape Cod home to a storm ravaged stranger, the hidden secres of her house on the dunes begin to emerge. She becomes enmeshed in the violence and tragedy of the past that left accomplished artist Christina Burroughs a paraplegic and stole her beloved daughter from her. Those still unresolved events invade Callie's life, causing chaos and intrigue, life changing relationships, justice and peace to Christina's descendants -and new love to herself.

Amazon Amazon UK - Barnes & Noble

Someday, Maybe
by Jenny Piper
Adult Fiction
Paperback & ebook, 306 pages
November 6th 2013 by Sunpenny Limited

In a ramshackle old cottage with an outside lav, and a rickety ladder up to a draughty attic bedroom, Jim and Mary Norris slog in all weathers to make a living from their market garden, and to bring up their little girl, Patsy. But at times Jim’s guilt is overwhelming as he watches his beloved Mary working her frozen fingers to the bone, almost dropping with weariness – not exactly what she’s been used to in her genteel upbringing as the niece of well- off local gentry, who cut her off when she married “beneath her”. But she never complains; she loves Jim madly and they are blissfully happy together.

Until her accident – and the nightmare that follows them all through the next 30 years. Mary’s gradual descent into madness overshadows even Jim’s second marriage and children, but the shocking climax is something no-one could have foreseen.


Janet Purcell is a professional artist and writes a weekly fine arts column and feature articles for The Times of Trenton (NJ). Her interior design features appear regularly in DesignNJ magazine. Her articles have appeared in Woman’s Day Special Interest Publications, Bridal GuideAmerican Spa, and many other magazines and travel guides. Her travel stories have frequently been published in the New York PostCountry Discoveries, and in Princeton, New Jersey’s Packet Publications’ community newspapers. Her previous novel, Singer Lane, was published in 2008 and her third novel, Rooster Street, is awaiting publication. Though not a trilogy, many of the same characters are found continuing their lives in each of the three books. Her paintings can be seen at www.janpurcellart.com.



Deeply thought-provoking, Jenny Piper is a wonderful author who makes no bones about her handling of delicate subjects . Her skill as a story-teller is a delight to the heart and soul, and is right up there with the best of them. She lives with her husband in rural Hampshire, and has been variously an actress, an artist, a teacher and a psycholo- gist, but has had a lifelong love of books and nowadays spends much of her time writing.


Tour Giveaway

$10 Amazon eGift Card (open internationally)
Ends February 18th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!