Friday, September 15, 2017

Mind Games by Stephanie Black -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Mind Games

Author: Stephanie Black

Published: Sept. 1, 2017

Publisher: Covenant

ISBN13: 9781524404376

Paperback: 296 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Psychologist Natalie Marsh’s dream is now reality: her mental health services clinic has opened and is housed in an elegant, newly renovated nineteenth-century building. Unfortunately, not everyone is happy with the clinic’s presence, including Heather Osbourne, a troubled young woman who wholly objects to the occupation of the building. Heather has spent years wandering the halls of the abandoned structure, convinced she’s communing with her ancestor’s ghost. When Natalie thwarts Heather’s attempt to leap from a window, the shaken psychologist soon realizes Heather’s failed jump is merely one piece of a disturbing puzzle. Greed and deceit are weaving a web around Natalie, and someone will stop at nothing—not even murder—to get what they want. Stretched to her breaking point, Natalie struggles to learn the truth, but only one thing is clear: nothing is as it seems.

My Review

Mind Games is another top notch thriller from this talented author.  This pacing on this book is perfect.  I stayed up WAY past my bedtime reading this book, I had to find out what happened!  Stephanie does a great job of building a steady foundation of suspense.  This book is heart-pounding.  With every turn of the page, I would think, "No way that just happened!"  I don't know how Stephanie does it, but I was left guessing until the end.  When you sit down to read, make sure you have things taken care of, as you will not want to stop reading until you are done.  This book reads really fast, with engaging characters and excitement on every page.

5 out of 5 stars.  This author can always be counted on for a wonderfully wild ride!

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book 

Tour Schedule






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Love Remains by Sarah M. Eden -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Love Remains

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Published: Sept. 5, 2017

Publisher: Mirror Press

ISBN13: 9781941752021

Paperback: 350 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

From Sarah M. Eden, the USA Today Bestselling author of the Longing for Home series, LOVE REMAINS is a new romance novel set in the beloved world of Hope Springs.


For nearly a year, Tavish O’Connor has carried the crushing weight of his family’s future on his shoulders. He has taken on the care of his youngest brother, Finbarr, who lost his eyesight in a terrible accident. But the lad needs more than Tavish can provide. Finbarr needs hope.


Cecily Attwater specializes in hope. As a tutor to the newly blind, she has dedicated her life to helping others overcome the obstacles she herself has conquered. Her new assignment in a remote corner of Wyoming proves trickier than usual: Finbarr refuses to learn. To make matters worse, his family—and the other Irish townspeople—are less than thrilled to discover an Englishwoman in their haven.


Cecily’s only hope lies in securing the cooperation of her pupil’s brother Tavish, who happens to be her harshest critic and quite possibly the most frustrating man she’s ever known.


For Finbarr’s sake, Tavish and Cecily forge an uneasy alliance that, as the weeks pass, tiptoes toward something deeper than either dares admit or face, and toward a future they know to be impossible. There can be no hope of a happy outcome for an Irishman and an English woman amongst a people reeling from violence and centuries of hatred between their two homelands.


Other Books in the Hope Springs Series:
Longing for Home
Hope Springs

My Dearest Love

My Review

I loved being back in the Hope Springs world. I truly love and cherish these characters. This book is beautifully written and a joy from start to finish. Tavish, oh Tavish. He is such a great character. I love his wit and charm. Cecily was also a fabulous characters. I loved how she could keep up with Tavish and I loved her "no nonsense" approach to helping Finbarr. Mrs. Claire was also a joy. I love and appreciate her humor. Sarah Eden is one of my favorite authors and her books never disappoint. I feel this book could be read as a stand-alone, but if you haven't read the other books, I would definitely recommend starting the series with Longing for Home, then Hope Springs. You will understand and appreciate the characters more and what they've gone through, especially Tavish, Katie, Finbarr, Emma... well all of them.

5 out of 5 stars.

Author Links and Purchase Links


Tour Schedule

September 11 - My Book A Day
                        Smiling Book Reviews
                        Peggy Urry

September 12 - Bookworm Lisa


September 13 - LDS Writer Mom

September 14 - Literary Time Out

                         Why Not? Because I Said So!









a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 8, 2017

Miss Leslie's Secret by Jennifer Moore -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Miss Leslie's Secret

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: Covenant

Published: September 1st, 2017

ISBN13: 9781524404154

Paperback: 240 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Decorated war hero Conall Stewart has spent ten years envisioning his return to his beloved Scottish Highlands. But now, with the days of battle finally behind him, it seems that his dreams of home have been in vain: the land of his youth lies in ruins, and his family is gone. Though he will never stop searching for his kin, Conall knows he must begin again. But when he takes on a rented farm in a nearby town, he finds far more than the fresh start he was looking for .
After catching a mischievous local lad stealing, Conall returns young Jamie to his mother, Aileen Leslie—and finds the woman’s coddling of the child maddening. What Conall does not realize is that Aileen hides a frightening secret: her devoted protection of Jamie is all that shelters them from discovery by a dangerous man from their past. Drawn together by circumstance, Conall soon develops a fatherly relationship with Jamie—as well as romantic feelings for Aileen. But even as the couple accepts their growing affection for one another, time runs out for Aileen and her son: after years of hiding, they have been found. Conall lost his family once—he will do all in his power not to let history repeat itself?
My Review
Miss Leslie's Secret is another wonderful book by Jennifer Moore. I laughed, I cried and at the end, I was felt content and appreciated the wonderful book I just finished. I loved the Scottish setting and the accents were enjoyable. Each character was perfectly written. Aileen, Conall and Jamie were amazing. Dores also was a fabulous supporting character. What a tough and spunky lady she was. I loved it when she was around. I appreciated the father figure roll Conall had with Jamie and I loved their relationship. There is particular lovely scene with the two of them that was very enduring and sweet.
5 out of 5 stars!
Author Links
Purchase Links
Schedule:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Searching for Irene by Marlene Bateman -- Review/Giveaway

Searching for Irene

Author: Marlene Bateman

Publisher: Covenant

Published: July 1st, 2017

ISBN13: 9781524402655

Paperback/ebook: 272 pages

FTC FYI: I received a PDF from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Anna Coughlin is a modern 1920s woman, armed with a college education and a partiality for numbers. Now, within the walls of a fantastic castle-like mansion in the hills of Virginia, her skill will be tested as never before. Hired to serve as financial advisor to wealthy Lawrence Richardson, Anna finds the welcome she receives anything but warm. Lawrence's handsome but antagonistic son Tyler wants nothing more than to send her packing. The household staff isn't much better, but who can blame them, considering the way Lawrence's last advisor, Irene, disappeared . . .
Convinced that one of the enigmatic members of the household had something to do with Irene's disappearance, Anna doesn't dare trust anyone—not even temperamental Tyler Richardson, who, despite her best intentions, is beginning to steal her heart.
A series of frightening incidents ensnare Anna in a maze of intrigue, putting her life in peril. But even as Anna begins uncovering the secrets hidden within the mansion's stone walls, she harbors a secret of her own. Now, the only question that remains is whether she will disappear as mysteriously as Irene.

My Review

This is the first book I have read of Marlene's and I was very impressed.  The author wrote a very solid and suspenseful mystery.  There was one scene in particular that was downright creepy! I was on pins and needles.  The characters were well-written and held their own.  Anna was a strong character.  I loved her determination and how educated she was.  I appreciated how the author held back certain details and left the reader guessing as to why Anna cared so much about Irene.  I thought the truth was introduced at a great time, not too early and not too late.  I also really liked Tyler. Underneath his gruff exterior, he was a great guy.  I appreciated how Anna told him the error of his ways in how he treated his son, Evan, and how she was a good influence on Evan and Tyler.  The author also does a great job of planting seeds along the way as to who was the culprit and what happened to Irene.  I kept going back and forth.  I had my suspicions and kept changing my mind while reading.  I also enjoyed the time period and setting of the book.  The 1920s is a time period I don't read about very often.  

4 out of 5 stars.  The LDS church is referenced in the book, which I, of course didn't mind being LDS myself.  I felt Anna's beliefs gave her a great strength during hard and stressful times, but other times the church references felt forced. 

About the Author 

Marlene Bateman Sullivan grew up in Utah, and graduated from the University of Utah with a Bachelor's degree in English. She is married to Kelly R. Sullivan and they live in North Salt Lake, Utah with their two dogs and four cats. Marlene has been published extensively in magazines and newspapers and wrote the best-selling romance/suspense novel, Light on Fire Island. She has written three other cozy mysteries; Motive for Murder, A Death in the Family, and Crooked House, as well as the romance, For Sale by Owner. 

Marlene has also written a number of non-fiction, LDS books:  Latter-day Saint Heroes and Heroines, And There Were Angels Among Them, Visit’s from Beyond the Veil, By the Ministering of Angels, Brigham’s Boys, Heroes of Faith, Gaze into Heaven; Near-death Experiences in Early Church History, and The Magnificent World of Spirits; Eyewitness Accounts of Where We Go When We Die. 

Purchase Links


Author Links


Excerpt

The tallest parts of the mansion—fanciful turrets and a circular tower—were visible only in glimpses Anna caught between lofty oaks and towering pines as her cab wound through the knolls and hills of eastern Virginia. 

When the cab turned up the long driveway lined with dogwood trees in full bloom, Anna Coughlin reached for her handbag, gripping it with a tension that had knotted her muscles ever since getting on the train. 

The vast estate stood on a hilltop, like a castle—and she craned her neck to better view the starkly impressive gray-stone mansion of Ashton Hall—where she hoped to be hired. With its arched, leaded windows and slate roof with numerous chimneys, the house rivaled pictures she’d seen of castles in Europe. 

Instructing the driver to wait, she climbed out, patted her hat in case it was askew, then smoothed her gray suit with gloved hands in hopes of presenting a professional appearance. Anna had no confidence she was clever enough or bold enough to pull this off, but she had to try.

Her eye was drawn by a tall man—more than six feet—who came from the side of the house. Since the man was striding toward her so purposefully, Anna stopped and waited. As he drew near, Anna noted his deep-set eyes were as black as his hair. His skin was tanned, his thin, long-fingered hands brown and strong.

“Miss Coughlin?” He stretched out a hand and shook hers, but there was no warmth for her in his eyes. “I’m Tyler Richardson. Unfortunately, your services are not needed after all.” A touch of arrogance marked his manner, as though he was long accustomed to command those around him.

“Your father called only last week to have someone come out,” Anna blurted in dismay. “May I ask what caused him to change his mind?” 

A fleeting glimpse of discomfiture crossed Mr. Richardson’s face. “I wasn’t consulted about his hiring another secretary to replace the one who left so suddenly. My father isn’t in good health, and the last thing we need is someone coming in and upsetting him by making a muddle of things.”

His words kindled a fire that glinted in Anna’s eyes. How dare he make such an assumption? It was difficult to hang on to her temper, but there was too much at stake to let his boorishness sidetrack her. “Since I’m here, I’m sure you won’t mind if I keep my appointment. After all, your father is the one who requested my services. I’m sure he’s expecting me.”

Her words hit home.It took a few bitter seconds, but he finally acquiesced. “Come in, then,” he muttered ungraciously before leading the way up the steps and opening the door. 

Following his rigid back down the narrow hall, Anna’s brows furrowed as doubts crept in. How wise had she been to come to this remote place? Especially when the previous secretary had disappeared so mysteriously? Even her employer thought it odd that no one in this mansion seemed to know where Irene had gone or where she was now. It was as if Irene had vanished into thin air.

Irene and her publisher have graciously offered a giveaway of Searching for Irene
One ebook copy and one paperback copy (US only)
Two winners!




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 1, 2017

Alcatraz Takeover by Cami Checketts -- Spotlight




The latest Billionaire Beach RomanceAlcatraz Takeover, by bestselling sweet romance author Cami Checkettsis out and available on Amazon.

When Athena Haddad's father and brother are killed, she busies herself working at her wellness studio and helping her mom fight MS. Little does she realize how flat her life has become--until she meets Nixon Browning. The billionaire is expanding his chain of health stores along the west coast, but he doesn't appreciate her beautiful city and she thinks his products are over-priced and worthless.
Athena sets out to teach Nixon about the city and its history while ignoring his inherent kindness, sharp intellect, and the warmth that spreads through her body when he touches her. Nixon is determined to help her mom battle MS no matter what Athena thinks of his vitamins.
In an unexpected turn of events, their tour of Alcatraz becomes a fight for their lives, forcing them to let go of their pride and work together. If they can survive The Rock, they may be able to bring life and color to the sparks of romance between them.

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

The Pursuit of Lady Harriet by Rachael Anderson -- Book Blast


The Pursuit of Lady Harriett by Rachael Anderson

When wills clash and hearts collide, who will reign victorious?

Termed an "Incomparable" during her first London season, Lady Harriett Cavendish is beautiful, spirited, and confident, capturing the attention of a great many suitors. Unfortunately, they all failed to capture her attention, and she concluded the season as unattached as she’d begun it. Only weeks prior to her second season, Harriett encounters Lieutenant Christopher Jamison while visiting Tanglewood Manor. Recently returned from war, the lieutenant is everything that Harriett's previous suitors were not. He’s arrogant, ungentlemanly, irritating, and challenges her at every opportunity. When he goes too far, Harriett decides that it’s time to turn the tables on him. But as she sets out to put the lieutenant in his place once and for all, she discovers there is more to him than meets the eye, and when it comes to matters of the heart, she has no control whatsoever.

 



Excerpt

The corners of the man’s eyes crinkled in a mild show of amusement. “Lady Harriett, I presume?” Rather than look at her with appreciation as most men did, he appeared amused.
At her nod, he tucked his hands behind his back, remaining a few steps above her. “I am Lieutenant Christopher Jamison, an old friend of Jonathan’s.”
“I was expecting you days ago,” she answered. “Lord Jonathan charged me with the unhappy task of informing you he and his new bride are currently away on their wedding trip. He is sorry he cannot be here to meet with you and has asked that I relay his apologies.”
“May I inquire as to how long they will be away?” he asked.
No, you may not, she wanted to say. Her neck was beginning to ache from looking up at him, but she forced her gaze to remain steady. “They expected to be gone a fortnight, sir.”
“And they have been gone how long, exactly?”
She felt an unaccountable hesitancy to tell him. “A week.”
“Ah.” He sounded disappointed but seemed to take the news in stride, glancing at Charlie as though wondering whether he ought to retrieve his horse or not. Harriett prayed that he would.
When his gaze strayed back to her, he took the unwelcome, and ungentlemanly, liberty of perusing her figure. When his eyes met hers again, his lips twitched into a slight smile. “Forgive me, my lady, but you appear to have had a run-in with a mud puddle and lost.”
How kind of him to point that out. Harriett kept her hands at her side rather than attempt to brush the dirt from her face and pelisse yet again. The damage was done, and no amount of brushing or shaking would remove the muck. What she needed was a hot bath and a change of clothes.
“Actually, sir, I was merely an innocent bystander.”
“Indeed?”
She picked up her skirts and ascended the steps, stopping on the stair above him so that she was eye level with him. “Are you always such a reckless rider, sir? Do you not pay heed to your surroundings?”
“Of course I do.”
“If you had, you would have seen me standing at the side of the road and, I would hope, thought to slow your animal down so as to not splash mud all over my pelisse.”
Her chilly set down did not have the desired effect. He did not appear the least bit repentant. Rather, he looked ready to burst into laughter. “And your face, apparently.” He leaned forward and squinted. “If I’m not mistaken, there is a splash or two of mud on your bonnet as well.”
Harriett glared at him. “How observant you are, Lieutenant Jamison. One can only wonder why you didn’t put that skill to good use earlier. If you had, perhaps my pelisse, face, and bonnet would still be clean.”
“I am always observant, my lady,” he said. “But might I suggest that if you would like to be noticed at the side of the road, you should wear a color that does not blend so perfectly with your surroundings. That particular shade of green looks quite lovely on you, but only someone with the eyes of an eagle would have spotted you in front of a landscape of evergreens.”
Harriett opened her mouth to respond, but no words were forthcoming. The man did not even attempt to behave like a gentleman. How could he be so . . . so . . .
“Have you no apology to offer, sir?” she finally spluttered.
“Oh, did I not apologize? Forgive me.”
“For what? Forgetting to apologize or for not doing so in the first place?”
Rachael  







Author Rachael Anderson


A USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can’t sing, doesn’t dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.


amazon or paypal 

$75 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 9/22/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 28, 2017

Sweet Romance Giveaway -- Win $300

I teamed up with a few of my favorite authors to bring you a chance to win $300 ... Just in time for back to school! Plus, you'll receive these six books free when you sign up for our newsletters! You can sign up for the newsletters through the Rafflecopter.

There are lots of ways to enter (no purchase necessary). The more things you do, the more chances you'll have to win! Enter by clicking on the Rafflecopter link below.
You can get points by sharing the giveaway on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook, or following your favorite sweet romance authors on social media. Below are sample posts to share on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. You can also use the graphic above or post yourself reading one of our books.

Thanks and happy reading!

Instagram: $300 giveaway just in time for #backtoschool from your favorite #mysweetromance writers @taylorfaithhart @authorjennniferyoungblood @jeanettelewis @camicheckettsbooks #giveaway #romancenovels http://www.camichecketts.com/2017/08/300-giveaway.html

Facebook: Win $300 just in time for back to school with your favorite sweet romance writers - Taylor Hart, Lucy McConnell, Jeanette Lewis, Jennifer Youngblood, and Cami Checketts. Post a picture of yourself or share this one and enter to win on the Rafflecopter here
Twitter: $300 cash #mysweetromance @camichecketts @taylorfaithhart @authorjennniferyoungblood @jeanettelewis www.camichecketts.com


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

The Secret of the India Orchid by Nancy Campbell Allen -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

The Secret of the India Orchid

Author: Nancy Campbell Allen

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: August 1, 2017

ISBN13: 9781629722931

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Anthony Blake is in love with his best friend's sister, Sophia Elliot. But his plans to court her are put on hold when he is forced to resume his role as an undercover spy for the Crown. A secret document listing the names of the entire network of British spies-including his own-has been stolen. To protect Sophia, Anthony cuts off all ties to her and exchanges his life as an honorable earl for the fa├žade of a flirtatious playboy.

Heartbroken and confused, Sophia travels to India, hoping to find healing in one of the most exotic regions of the British Empire. But the exotic land isn't as restful as she had hoped. Instead, she finds herself embroiled in a mystery of a missing sea captain, a possible murder, and a plot that could involve the prince of India. And when Anthony appears at the British Residency, asking questions and keeping his distance from her, she is stunned.

She still loves him, and, in her heart, she knows he loves her too. But how can she rebuild her relationship with him if he won't confide in her? Does she dare offer her heart to him a second time, or will their love be lost under the India sun?


My Review

The Secret of the India Orchid is another great book by Nancy.  Sophia and Anthony are fantastic characters.  Sophia is a joy.  She is strong willed, smart and knows what she wants.  I loved the banter between Anthony and Sophia.  I also enjoyed the mystery and appreciated the fun twists in this entertaining Proper Romance.  I enjoyed the point of view switches between Sophia and Anthony.  I especially enjoyed Anthony's inner thoughts when it came to Sophia.   The India setting was described very well.  I was happy with a certain turn of events, I did laugh at Sophia's first reaction to some news.  

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book



I am thrilled to offer a signed paperback copy (US only) of The Secret of the India Orchid. To enter, fill out this easy Rafflecopter. Good luck!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 21, 2017

National Romance Awareness Month - The Sheriffs of Savage Wells/Giveaway


Today is the day to celebrate the solar eclipse!
I am giving away a signed paperback copy of
The Sheriffs of Savage Wells by Sarah M. Eden
(US only)
Check out my 5 star review here.


To enter fill out the Rafflecopter.
Giveaway ends August 28th.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

The World's Greatest Adventure Machine by Frank L. Cole -- blog tour/giveaway

 The World's Greatest Adventure Machine

Author: Frank L. Cole

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Published: August 8th, 2017

ISBN13: 9780399552823

Hardcover: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

An adventure novel about four lucky kids and a mysterious, but thrilling ride for fans of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or Jurassic Park!

CastleCorp and the famous Castleton brothers are unveiling the World's Greatest Adventure Machine! The roller coaster is an experience like no other, and four lucky kids have won the chance to be the first to ride it. 


There's Trevor, whose latest stunt got him in trouble at school again. There's Devin, whose father is pushing him to be the next Internet sensation. Nika's wealthy grandfather isn't too pleased about her participation. And Cameron, he'll be the first to tell you, is a certified genius. 


The whole world is watching. But as the kids set off on their journey, they begin to realize that there is perhaps more to their fellow contest winners than meets the eye. And the Adventure Machine? It might just have a mind of its own.


Join the contestants on their wild ride if you dare. Your adventure starts now! 


My Review

The World's Greatest Adventure Machine is another hit for Frank Cole!  This book has it all. Adventure (which is a given from the title!), humor, heart, and lots of fun.  All of the characters were fabulous.  Each was unique in their own way, which is very important later.  I adored them all. Cameron would say the funniest things.  He was my favorite.  Devin was great too.  Nika kept to herself and was very cautious (for good reason, which is revealed later).  Trevor, wow I wish I was that brave.  This book is very funny and clever.  I love books about kids who are smart and work out their problems.  All while having fun too.  The plot is exciting and there are lots of twists and turns to add to the adventure.  

5 out of 5 stars.  Frank can always be counted on a for a fun, enjoyable book.

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book

Tour Schedule





a Rafflecopter giveaway