Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Carve Me a Melody by Rachelle J. Christensen -- Spotlight/Giveaway

Yesterday was the book birthday of my good friend Rachelle J. Christensen's 19th book!

Carve Me a Melody.


I absolutely adore this cover capturing the essence of this novel. This book continues Leland's story from The Soldier's Bride. I had so many readers say that they wanted to know more about Leland and I'm so pleased to deliver this story!
Carve Me a Melody is available on all digital platforms, here's a universal link: https://books2read.com/u/bWKa07
It's also available in a special edition hardcover here.
I have a special launch giveaway too! You can enter to win one of three ebook copies of the first book in the series, The Soldier's Bride. Check out the rafflecopter giveaway below, but first, here's more about Carve Me a Melody.

From the award-winning author of the bestselling novel The Soldier’s Bride read the story of a carpenter who gave a music box to a young polio victim, but held the magic of the melody inside his heart.

He hesitated only half a second before lowering his head. There was something there, behind his eyes, in his soul. Something that seemed familiar to Sophie. She didn’t know Leland, but she recognized that haunted look in his eyes. He had lost someone. He had weathered the storm and still manned his ship, sailing forward through life.
Book blurb:
World War II has ended but the scars of the war have carved deep grooves in Sophie Wright’s heart. Now a widow with two young children, she returns home to Aspen Falls and meets Leland Halverson, a handsome carpenter who appears interested in her, but afraid of a relationship. 
Leland wishes he was worthy of the beautiful Sophie, and he adores her two children, but his past still haunts him. Sophie knows that Leland fell apart after his little girl died and his wife left him, but she doesn’t know the real reason why.
Meanwhile, David Alexander, a decorated bomber pilot has returned to Aspen Falls, and Sophie catches his eye. Confused by the two vastly different choices of men, Sophie searches for answers from a heart that has betrayed her before.
When Sophie discovers a message inside a music box that Leland once owned, the pieces start to fit together. The enchanting melody urges her to share the secrets of her heart so that she can understand his. Leland knows the tune from the music box well and if he can find the courage, he’ll carve a melody for Sophie from the solid wood surrounding his heart.



About the Author
Rachelle is a mother of five who writes mystery/suspense, nonfiction, and women’s fiction. She solves the case of the missing shoe on a daily basis. She enjoys raising chickens and laughing with her husband. She graduated cum laude from Utah State University with a degree in psychology and a minor in music.
Rachelle is the award-winning author of over a dozen books, including The Soldier’s Bride (a Kindle Scout Selection & Whitney Award Finalist), Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things, Veils and Vengeance, Proposals and Poison, Hawaiian Masquerade, What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know, and Christmas Kisses: An Echo Ridge Anthology. Her novella, “Silver Cascade Secrets,” was included in the Rone Award–winning Timeless Romance Anthology, Fall Collection.
Join Rachelle’s VIP mailing list to learn more about upcoming books & get your free book at www.rachellechristensen.com
Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3327139.Rachelle_J_Christensen
Bookbub Page: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/rachelle-j-christensen
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/rachellewrites/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/101819706450209399973

Direct links to all of your favorite ebook stores that carry Carve Me a Melody

Enter to win one of three copies of the ebook, The Soldier's Bride, book #1 in the Music Box Romance series, Kindle Scout Winner & Whitney Award Finalist.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Shatter by Nikki Trionfo -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Shatter

Author: Nikki Trionfo

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: May 9th, 2017

ISBN13: 9781462120130

Paperback: 352 pages

FTC FTI: Received a PDF from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When a mysterious explosion kills her sister, Salem Jefferson becomes convinced the death was no accident—it was a conspiracy. But no one else at her high school believes her, and all she has so far is one clue. She knows Carrie hired a gang member to protect orchard workers. Problem is, Salem doesn't know who.

To find out, Salem pursues the gang-bangers who rule her town, especially classmate Cordero. As her distrust of Cordero heats up, so do the number of suspects in Carrie's death. Teachers and school officers are orchard owners. They have every reason to stop farm workers from demanding higher wages. With Carrie's killers still out there, Salem's not sure who she can trust. Meanwhile, the people who live on orchards and the people who pick them are drawing lines in the sand.

The only way for Salem to learn the truth is to slip behind those enemy lines.


The only way to survive is to find a way back out.

My Review

This book is fast-paced, well-written gem.  The plot is page turning and exciting.  I enjoyed how the book is told and I appreciated the author's way of letting the reader know when the back-story and/or a different time was being referenced.  I loved all the characters.  Especially, of course, Salem.  She wanted to know so badly what happened to her sister, that she sometimes would place herself in danger to get more answers.  The author does a great job of introducing characters and keeping the story moving steadily along.  I would go back and forth as to "who-dunit" and I was definitely surprised!

4 out of 5 stars! I am excited to read more from this promising author.

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

About the author

Twitter / Website

Nikki Trionfo lives in Riverton, Utah with five kids, a CrossFit-training husband who writes computer code, and lots of hip hop background music. Her teen murder mystery, SHATTER (May '17 from Cedar Fort), won grand prize in LDStorymakers’ First Chapter Alongside Heather Clark, she hosts free writing webinars on YouTube at #50FirstChapters.

A committed party-girl, Nikki serves as the social coordinator of LDStorymakers Conference and chair of Storymakers Tribe. Other notable stuff includes an honorable mention in Writers of the Future and a spot in Utah Horror Writer's shorty-story anthology. This all sounds really serious, but if you run into her, she gets down. Truly. 



Giveaway alert.
  • You must comment on your blog with the answer to this question: Tell us what about Shatter most makes you want to read it and/or enter the Inspired by Shatter contest?
  • Please link the phrase Inspired by Shatter to http://www.nikkitrionfo.com/InspiredbyShatter
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Wrong For You by Jenny Proctor -- Blog Tour


Wrong For You

Author: Jenny Proctor

Publisher: Covenant

ISBN13: 9781524403065

Paperback: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Amazon summary:

Lane Bishop is a hardworking, intelligent, beautiful young woman. And with her recent move to Chapel Hill, she is determined to leave behind the drama and effort of keeping up with the dating scene. Even so, Lane somehow manages to get dragged out by a gaggle of girls to go watch boys play soccer. Just watching is not Lane's forte, so she joins in the fun and leads her team to victory.
Rather than feeling intimidated by the vivacious beauty on the opposing team, Jamie Hamilton is intrigued. 

Risking his "untouchable" dating status, he decides to pursue Lane with a little help from his older brother Simon. With Simon's behind-the-scenes assistance, Jamie proves irresistible, even to a disillusioned dater like Lane. But as she gets to know both brothers, Lane can't help but wonder—beneath the grand gestures and romantic words, is she falling for the wrong guy?

My Review

Jenny Proctor is the master of a well-written romance.  This book had some humor too and that was a great addition to the story.   Each page brought a smile to my face.  Jenny is such a great writer.  Lane is fantastic character.  She is smart, spunky, successful, funny and she loves a food.  I loved how different she was, and I especially loved the North Carolina setting.  I thought it was so fun how she met Jamie and his brothers.  Lane is not afraid to get what she wants, that scene where they all meet is proof.  I also enjoyed the different way we got to know the brothers, through their text messages.  It was a very clever and fun way to get to know Jamie and Simon and the hints that Jamie may be wrong for Lane.

5 out of 5 stars.  Another hit for this author.  

Author Links   

Goodreads / Twitter / Website

Purchase Links

Amazon / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book

Tour schedule







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Sense and Second Chances by Brittany Larsen -- Blog Tour

Sense and Second Chances

Author: Brittany Larsen

Publisher: Covenant

Published: May 2017

ISBN13: 9781524401610

Paperback: 272 pages

FTC FYI: Received a complimentary copy from the publisher all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Amazon Summary

Emily Carter is on the fast track to success when the unthinkable happens: a tragic accident claims the lives of her parents. Now Emily must set aside her dreams and raise her two younger siblings, Annie and Bryce. Emily and Annie are sisters, but that doesn't mean they are anything alike. Whereas Emily reacts to the tragedy with her characteristic stoic calm, passionate Annie spirals into depression. Just when things seem like they can't get any more difficult, Emily's older half-brother and his fiancĂ©e arrive, not to help but to claim the family home he's inherited from their parents. Without a place to call their own, Emily must take action—and fast.

When an exciting employment opportunity arises in Utah, the displaced Carters decide to build a new life in a new home. But it soon becomes clear that their future prospects will go far beyond professional as each sister is faced with an unexpected romance. Yet love is never simple, and in matters of the heart, one sister must proceed with caution while the other needs to take a leap of faith.

My Review

Sense and Sensibility is my favorite Jane Austin novel, so I jumped at the chance to review this book, also being a book of Brittany's, I knew it would be a great book, and I was not disappointed.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish.  I loved how the book resembled Sense and Sensibility, and how it also had a beautiful story to tell of its own.  I loved the similarities  between the two books.  Brittany's characters were pretty close to perfect.  Emily took control of a tough situation with the loss of her parents.  She is her younger brother Bryce's caretaker and manager of her sister Annie's acting career, all while she is fighting feelings for Joel and deciding what is best for her family.  Whether they are to move to Utah and complete up her deceased father's dream, or stay in LA.  I loved so many things about Joel, especially when he sees Utah for the first time.  The author's descriptions made me appreciate my home state even more.  I connected with the characters and the book was very enjoyable.

5 out of 5 stars.  I can't wait for more from this author. 

Schedule: 

Author Links

Goodreads / Facebook / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links




Monday, May 8, 2017

Billionaire Beach Romances by Cami Checketts $.99

All four Billionaire Beach Romances are only $.99 until Tuesday, May 9th, including the newest release, Cancun Getaway. I hope you enjoy these fun vacation romances.


Moriah dances her way through life until she meets a blond Adonis who reminds her too much of her son's father.
Find Cancun Getaway on Amazon

Every stage actress wants fans, but what happens when one goes too far?
Find Shadows in the Curtain on Amazon.

Maddie escapes from pirates, but is in a different kind of danger when she lands on the island of an ex-Olympian and a former Most Beautiful Man in America.
Find Caribbean Rescue on Amazon.

Brooks has never had a woman resist him until he meets Sydnee, an orphanage worker who has much higher purposes than falling for some charming man.
Find Cozumel Escape on Amazon.

Friday, April 28, 2017

The Vicar's Daughter by Josi S. Kilpack -- Blog Tour

The Vicar's Daughter

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: April 4, 2017

ISBN13: 9781629722801

Paperback: 319 pages

FTC FYI: Received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Cassie, the youngest of six daughters in the Wilton family, is bold, bright, and ready to enter society. There's only one problem: her older sister Lenora, whose extreme shyness prevents her from attending many social events. Lenora is now entering her third season, and since their father has decreed that only one Wilton girl can be out at a time, Cassie has no choice except to wait her turn.

Evan Glenside, a soft-spoken, East London clerk, has just been named his great-uncle's heir and, though he is eager to learn all that will be required of him, he struggles to feel accepted in a new town and in his new position.

A chance meeting between Evan and Lenora promises to change everything, but when Lenora proves too shy to pursue the relationship, Cassie begins to write Mr. Glenside letters in the name of her sister. Her good intentions lead to disaster when Cassie realizes she is falling in love with Evan. But then Evan begins to court Lenora, thinking she is the author of the letters.

As secrets are revealed, the hearts of Cassie, Evan, and Lenora are tested. Will the final letter sent by the vicar's daughter be able to reunite the sisters as well as unite Evan with his true love?

My Review

This book was an absolute delight from start to finish.  I knew right away I was going to love Cassie from her first line to herself, "Please help me remain clam."  That sentence is constantly running through my head.  Cassie was a delightful character.  She had her flaws (mostly in starting to write the letters to help herself with her own debut), but in time things changed for her.  Evan was also a great character.   He had a calming presence.  I felt his heart breaking over his uncle's struggles.  I enjoyed the point of view changes, it was a great way to get to know the characters so well.  Josi has a talent with pacing and how she writes.  Every scene and character is important.  Cassie gets herself into quite the mess and it was enjoyable seeing how it was cleaned up. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book




Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Chasing Red by Lauren Winder Farnsworth -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Chasing Red

Author: Lauren Winder Farnsworth

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: April 11, 2017

ISBN13: 9781462120031

Paperback/ebook: 240 pages

FTC FYI: Received a review copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Ryder Redmond can’t wait to begin her new life in New York City, with her first real job after college. But the big city gets a little more complicated once she meets the charming and mysterious Damian Wolfe. On the surface he seems perfect, but her friend Hunter is suspicious of his all-too-straight smile and his motives towards Ryder. With her heart on the line, Ryder will have to decide just how much she trusts the handsome city slicker. 

My Review

CHASING RED is a funny and very clever re-telling of Red Riding Hood.  I had a smile on my face the whole time I read.  Ryder is hilarious and quirky. She is someone I would want to be friends with.  Ryder is an all-around good person.  The ending is absolutely amazing and it blew me away!  At first I wondered why a certain thing happened, which led to another huge reveal, but once that ending came, it made it all work it.  Her roommate, Lily, was a fun surprise, as well as Hunter.   I loved how it all ties together and how Ryder finds herself along the way.  I was happy that the author had her make mistakes, learn from them, all of those things help her find out the truth about Mr. Wolfe.  She needed those experiences and I felt they helped her grow even more.  Ryder's parents were delights.  I loved all supporting characters, almost as much as Ryder. One character in particular was a great addition to the story.  

5 out of 5 stars.  Lauren has another win on her hands!

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook Author Page

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Book & Things


Tour schedule







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Miss Whitaker Opens Her Heart by Jennifer Moore

Miss Whitaker Opens Her Heart

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: Covenant

Published: April 2017

ISBN13: 9781524402174

Paperback: 224 pages

FTC FYI: Received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Australia, 1814

As a young child bound for a strange country, Sarah Whitaker dreamed of life with her father on his sprawling Australian ranch. But her hopes were shattered when she learned of his death and of her new role as heiress of the largest sheep farm in New Wales. Orphaned in a land greatly populated by petty criminals exiled from England, the future seemed grim. But now, ten years later, Sarah has defied the odds and become a successful businesswoman much to the chagrin of her male counterparts. Hardened by the dishonesty of both her fellow ranchers and the felons in her employ, Sarah has learned one important truth: no one is to be trusted.

Daniel Burton is a lucky man. Sentenced to death for his role in a horse-race scandal, Daniel was granted reprieve thanks to the influence of his wealthy relatives. Now, rather than death, Daniel faces exile in Australia an opportunity to put past mistakes behind him. But when he purchases land with the intention of farming it, he unwittingly arouses the wrath of his new neighbor, Sarah. What begins as a battle of wits, however, soon becomes a warm friendship and perhaps something more. But when Daniel's secret past is revealed, will Sarah be able forgive yet another deception?
 


My Review

Miss Whitaker Opens Her Heart is another win for Jennifer Moore. I love her books and I can always count on her for an enjoyable read.  I really had no idea what took place in Australia during this time period. It was fascinating.  Jenny does a great job of writing romance, she also excels at writing this time period and introducing the reader into something they may not be familiar with.  I loved Sarah.  She is tough but also vulnerable.  Daniel had been through some tough times, most of it brought on by foolish decisions, but I appreciated how he fought his way back.  I loved the back and forth between Sarah and Daniel.  The setting was intriguing and was a huge part of the story too. 

5 out of 5 stars.  

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook 

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Schedule: 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

When Mommy's Home With Me by Alison Moulton


When Mommy's Home With Me

Written by Alison Moulton

Illustrations by Kinsey Beckett

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: March 1, 2017

ISBN: 9781462120093

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own

When Mommy's Home With Me is a darling book with a sweet message. What I loved most about it was the all the amazing things that moms can do. They can be a doctor, a scientist, an artist, a writer and still be wonderful and inspiring mothers. The illustrations are beautiful and help portray the story in a lovely way. 

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Dragonwatch by Brandon Mull -- Blog Tour

Dragonwatch

Author: Brandon Mull

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 14, 2017

Hardcover: 384 pages

ISBN13: 9781629722566

FTC FYI: Received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

In the long-awaited sequel to Fablehaven, the dragons who have been kept at the dragon sanctuaries no longer consider them safe havens, but prisons and they want their freedom. The dragons are no longer our allies....

In the hidden dragon sanctuary of Wyrmroost, Celebrant the Just, King of the Dragons, plots his revenge. He has long seen the sanctuaries as prisons, and he wants nothing more than to overthrow his captors and return the world to the Age of Dragons, when he and his kind ruled and reigned without borders. The time has come to break free and reclaim his power.

No one person is capable of stopping Celebrant and his dragon horde. It will take the ancient order of Dragonwatch to gather again if there is any chance of saving the world from destruction. In ancient times, Dragonwatch was a group of wizards, enchantresses, dragon slayers, and others who originally confined the majority of dragons into sanctuaries. But nearly all of the original Dragonwatch members are gone, and so the wizard Agad reaches out to Grandpa Sorenson for help.

As Kendra and Seth confront this new danger, they must draw upon all their skills, talents, and knowledge as only they have the ability to function together as a powerful dragon tamer. Together they must battle against forces with superior supernatural powers and breathtaking magical abilities.

How will the epic dragon showdown end? Will dragons overthrow humans and change the world as we know it?

My Review

I have been waiting for a sequel to Fablehaven for years.  Fablehaven is one of my favorite series and Dragonwatch did not disappoint.  I loved it.  It had everything that I would except from a Fablehaven book and more.  The author does a good job of catching the reader up on events that took place in the other books, but I would still highly recommend reading the other books in the series before reading Dragonwatch.  There is bravery, humor and non-stop action for Kendra and Seth.  I loved the connection they share as dragon tamers, and their skills are put to the test.  I also enjoyed how they would function without the other and it made them even stronger.

5 out of 5 stars.  

Author Links

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book




Monday, April 3, 2017

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Ever the Hunted

Author: Erin Summerill

Author: HMH Books for Young Readers

Published: December 27, 2016

ISBN13: 978054464456

Hardcover: 392 pages

FTC FTI: I borrowed a copy from the library.

Goodreads Summary

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.
 

My Review

This book was enchanting and beautiful. The characters, the setting, the plot, the world-building, the magic.  All of it was fantastic. The author does a great job of developing her characters and the plot. Her descriptions were perfect. I appreciated the seeds that were planted and how the surprises were revealed. We will have to wait for the next book for somethings to be figured out, but I thought it was very smart of the author to end it the way she did. I am excited and interested to see if my suspicions are correct! I loved Britta and Cohen. She is fascinating and I loved the turn of events that came up for her. He is rugged, handsome and pretty awesome. Their romance was written and timed well. Everything about Enat was awesome too. 

Author Links

Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble