Friday, November 17, 2017

The Darkest Summer by Rebecca J. Greenwood -- Blog Tour

The Darkest Summer

Author: Rebecca J. Greenwood

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: Nov. 14, 2017

ISBN13: 9781462120949

Paperback/ebook: 284 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Lady Cora Winfield's life has always gone according to plan--her mother's plan. That's why Cora is so fascinated when she meets the dark Duke of Blackdell. Knowing his dangerous reputation, Cora's mother flatly forbids the match, and the duke decides to take matters into his own hands. Kidnapped and facing a scandal, Lady Cora must now decide whether love will be her downfall or the beginning of a new plan, one she never dreamed possible.

Set in the stormy summer of 1816, this Regency romance is a retelling of the myth of Hades and Persephone.
 


My Review

I really enjoyed this book. This regency themed book was different than the norm. I instantly loved Cora. I appreciated her knowledge and passion about plants and how that passion was pivotal in some of her decisions about her future. I also loved Adam. He was a wonderful, brooding mystery. I thought it was very well planned of the author to have Cora and Adam acquainted before the abduction (don’t worry, it’s on the back cover:). I kept thinking to myself, how is this going to work out and end up? Good thing I already liked Adam. I enjoyed how Adam and Cora’s relationship developed. Malcolm and Kate were also delights. At times I thought there were too many POV changes. Some were necessary, but some were not. And Cora’s mother was too much at times, but I was very happy with the ending and resolution with the characters.

4 out of 5 stars. I look forward to reading more books from this author!

Enter the Goodreads giveaway! Purchase a Kindle copy for $0.99, only for a limited time.

Author Links

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

Purchase Links

Amazon Kindle is only $0.99 for a limited time / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble

About the Author


Rebecca J. Greenwood is an author, artist, and designer with a love of stories, especially Regency romances. She grew up in Texas as the oldest of six and studied visual art with a music minor at Brigham Young University. Rebecca lives in Utah with her husband, where she listens to audiobooks, cooks experimentally, has an interest in alternative health, and constantly has a new project in mind. Visit rebeccajgreenwood.com to experience more of her art, writing, and upcoming projects.


Monday, November 13, 2017

Lies Jane Austen Told Me by Julie Wright -- Blog Tour

Lies Jane Austen Told Me

Author: Julie Wright

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: Nov. 7, 2017

ISBN13: 9781629723426

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Ever since Emma read Pride and Prejudice, she's been in love with Mr. Darcy and has regarded Jane Austen as the expert on all things romantic. So naturally when Emma falls for Blake Hampton and he invites her home to meet his parents, she is positive an engagement is in her future. After all, Blake is a single man in possession of a good fortune, and thus must be in want of a wife.

But when it turns out that what Blake actually wants is more of a hook-up than a honeymoon, Emma is hurt, betrayed, and furious. She throws herself deeper into her work as CMO of Kinetics, the fastest growing gym franchise in the nation. She loves her work, and she's good at it, which is why she bristles when her boss brings in a consultant to help her spearhead the new facilities on the East Coast. Her frustration turns to shock when that consultant turns out to be Blake's younger brother, Lucas.

Emma is determined not to fall for Lucas, but as she gets to know him, she realizes that Lucas is nothing like his brother. He is kind and attentive and spends his time and money caring for the less fortunate.

What she can't understand is why Lucas continues to try to push her back into Blake's arms when he so clearly has fallen as hard for her as she has fallen for him. It isn't until Lucas reveals to Emma that he was adopted into the Hampton family that she begins to understand his loyalty to Blake as well as his devotion to the child April-she is Lucas's biological niece.

Emma opens up to Lucas about the feelings of abandonment she has harbored ever since she was a child and her mother left the family. As she helps Lucas deal with his past demons, she is able to exorcise some of her own.

Realizing that her love life is as complicated as anything Jane Austen could have dreamed up, Emma must find a way to let Blake know that it's time for him to let her go and to let Lucas know it's time for him to love her back.


My Review

This book is an absolute delight from start to finish. Emma is fantastic. She is funny, spunky and very smart. I loved her inner conflict with “Jane” and whether or not Jane Austen has ruined her life. Very cute and clever. I thought the chapter headings were a great addition to the story too. I also loved Lucas and he and Emma had great chemistry. I enjoyed how they got to know each other, pretty much thrown together, as Lucas is hired as a consultant at Emma’s workplace. Emma and Lucas both had challenging childhoods but they both became amazing adults. Towards the end, I thought the addition of April was lovely and how Emma learned a lot about herself and her relationship with Blake. Lucas and Blake’s mother was also a favorite.  The epilogue is absolutely perfect and fits so well with the story. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon paperback / Amazon Kindle / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble


Friday, November 10, 2017

Christmas Secrets by Donna Hatch -- Release spotlight


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Release Celebration for
Christmas Secrets
By Donna Hatch

Donna Hatch is bringing readers some sweet romance this holiday season...

Christmas Secrets
by Donna Hatch
Historical Romance
Paperback & ebook, 260 Pages
November 9th 2017 by Mirror Lake Press LLC

A stolen Christmas kiss leaves them bewildered and breathless. A charming rogue-turned-vicar, Will wants to prove that he left his rakish days behind him, but an accidental kiss changes all his plans. His secret could bring them together...or divide them forever.

Holly has two Christmas wishes this year; finally earn her mother's approval by gaining the notice of a handsome earl, and learn the identity of the stranger who gave her a heart-shattering kiss...even if that stranger is the resident Christmas ghost.


Exclusive Excerpt

This scene takes place when everyone on Christmas Day takes a turn kissing their spouse or sweetheart underneath the mistletoe ball. Now the group turn to Will and Holly, who have only known each other a few days, and start goading them into sharing a mistletoe kiss... 
“Come now, don’t be shy,” her sister called. “It’s tradition.”
The others called out encouragements.
Apology edged into Will’s uncertain expression. “Do you mind?”
Holly’s palms grew sweaty inside her gloves, and her smile probably came out wobbly. “Who are we to go against tradition?” Did she sound desperate in her desire to kiss him?
Will held out a hand. She placed hers in it and walked at his side to the kissing ball. They stood, hand in hand, facing each other. His neck cloth shifted as he swallowed. He leaned in. Her heart stumbled and her knees shook. She closed her eyes. Aching, she lifted her face. His cinnamon-spiced breath warmed her mouth.
He kissed her cheek.
Stunned, she opened her eyes. The watching guests groaned and some chuckled.
“No, no, that won’t do at all,” Joseph’s voice rang out. “Give her a proper kiss.”
Will froze. That intensity she occasionally saw in him returned. “Holly.” He swallowed again but instead of nervousness, a hunger that sent a flurry of shivers through her overtook his expression. “May I?”
She nodded. It didn’t matter if he saw how much she wanted this, wanted him. Let him know. Let the whole world know.
 He touched her chin, lifted it, and leaned in. Again, she closed her eyes. This time his lips touched hers, pliant and unbelievably gentle. Heat exploded at the contact and shot through her all the way down to her tingling toes. Different from her mystery kiss, this one sang of affection and respect and a deep longing to be accepted. Sweeter, more chaste, more filled with caring, Will’s kiss brought her a level of joy she’d never known. All the world faded away leaving Will and the power of his affection, his touch, his kiss. Every moment of her life seemed to have been designed to bring her to this single, perfect moment of bliss and wholeness.
“Ahem.” Father cleared his throat conspicuously.
Will pulled away all too quickly. A tiny sound of distress caught in Holly’s throat. It was over too soon. But oh, what a glorious kiss!

About the Author


Donna Hatch is the author of the best-selling “Rogue Hearts Series,” and a winner of writing awards such as The Golden Quill and the International Digital Award. A hopeless romantic and adventurer at heart, she discovered her writing passion at the tender age of 8 and has been listening to those voices ever since. She has become a sought-after workshop presenter, and also juggles freelance editing, multiple volunteer positions, and most of all, her six children (seven, counting her husband). A native of Arizona who recently transplanted to the Pacific Northwest, she and her husband of over twenty five years are living proof that there really is a happily ever after.


Tour Giveaway

 

- 1 winner will receive a Mistletoe "Kissing Ball" Ornament, an ebook
of A Christmas Reunion or Mistletoe Magic (winner's choice) and some of Donna's favorite Christmas recipes
- Open to US/CAN only
- Ends November 13th

Grab Our Button!

Thursday, November 9, 2017

The Nobleman's Daughter by Jen Geigle Johnson -- Blog tour/giveaway

The Nobleman's Daughter

Author: Jen Geigle Johnson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: November 1, 2017

ISBN13: 9781524404291

Paperback: 272 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

While British high society primps and plays, the impoverished citizens of London languish. But there are those fighting for the freedom of common citizens—including two members of the aristocracy who secretly champion revolution. In the drawing rooms of the upper class, Lady Amanda and Lord Nathaniel flirt and tease with the best of them as she pretends to win every heart in London for sport, and he, to conquer them. But in truth, their flirtation is merely a facade designed to keep their clandestine actions hidden from the ton—and from each other. When Nathaniel presents himself as a potential suitor, the attraction between the two is undeniable—but the faces they portray to the world are not enough to win each other's hearts.

While their crusade for London's poor unites them more deeply than they could imagine, Amanda and Nathaniel struggle to trust one another with their true ideals and identities. But when the call to action leads Amanda into the path of danger, she can only hope that Nathaniel will see through her frivolous pretense. Because now, only the aid of the suitor she loves most—but trusts least—can save her.
 


My Review

I really enjoyed this book and the idea around it.  The characters were well written. I loved Amanda. I loved her passion and her ideals. She didn't care about the consequences of her actions at times and I felt she rushed into some situations without thinking, but she truly wanted to make a difference.  Nathaniel, wow, he was an intriguing and amazing characters and I really loved how the author kept his true motives and true personality a mystery for awhile.  I also enjoyed the POV switches to the villain, to see into his mind and to try to understand why he was doing what he was doing. My heart broke at times for the characters, especially Charlie.  The author does a fantastic job with this story and I look forward to more from this promising author!

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Amazon page

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book

Schedule:





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Secrets at Seaside by Addison Cole -- Grand Finale Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Secrets at Seaside
By Addison Cole

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note about the Book and Series Welcome back to the Cape with the newest release in the Sweet with Heat: Seaside Summers series, SECRETS AT SEASIDE, an emotional and heart-warming friends-to-lovers romance! SECRETS AT SEASIDE features all of your favorite fun, flirty and flawed Seaside characters, as well as a second-chance love story between two fan favorites, Amy Maples and Tony Black. The road to their happily ever after is a deeply emotional one, and watching these two characters get a second chance at love is sweet and satisfying!


“I JUST CAN’T believe that Jamie’s the first one to get married. I mean, Jamie? He never even wanted to get married.” Amy Maples was three sheets to the wind, sitting in a bar at the Ryder Resort in Boston. That was okay, she rationalized, because it was the night before the wedding of her good friends Jessica Ayers and Jamie Reed, and she and her friends were celebrating. Besides, now that Jessica and Jamie were getting married and her other three besties had gotten engaged, Amy was the only single woman of the group. Drunk was the only way she was going to make it through the weekend.

Rainy Day Reviews - Review

"For some reason what I wasn't expecting was it to be a tear-jerker. Now, I am not one to cry or get choked up but I know a lot of big readers, just within my family and if they were to read this, they would get choked up. So be forewarned, this read can get a bit emotional but, not in a bad way. It added a layer of sensitivity and heart. . . . A story mixed with smiles, uncertainty, curiosity, and a little bit of truth and sadness all mixed in a good story."


She was always the good girl who did the right thing, the only exception being the occasional extra drink or two when she was with her Seaside friends. At least that’s what she led everyone to believe. Only she and Tony knew that wasn’t the only exception—and she made sure that was a taboo subject between them. He wouldn’t dare bring it up. She might not survive if he did. She sobered a little with the memory and shifted it back into the it-never-happened place she buried deep inside her. Her secret was lonely in that hollow place, being the only one kept under lock and key.

Colorimetry - Excerpt

Amy couldn’t stop the exasperated sound that left her lips. “You read my texts?” That was the only way she could have known that Tony always offered to be there if she needed him.

“Duh. Of course I did. Consider it a recon mission. I had to know what we were dealing with here from his side.” Bella had been pulling for Amy and Tony to get together as long as Amy had been in love with him, which was just about forever. She stood and dragged Amy toward the dance floor. “Come on, sweetie. Time to have some fun.”


Harlie's Books - Review

"This book is emotional, fun and satisfying. Just because the beginning got on my nerves I really did like it and recommend it. I just need to read Bella’s book. I loved that girl. No filter. HA HA! I also like how all the guys were there for Tony, too. This group is just too much for me but in a good way."


Amy tucked her straight blond hair behind her ears and moved her shoulders to the slow beat of the music. “I’m not sure being here for the summer is smart anyway. It’s like torturing myself.” She stopped dancing at the thought of not coming back to Seaside for the summers. Could she really do that? Would she even want to? Could she survive not seeing Tony even if she knew for sure he didn’t want her?



"I am loving the Sweet with Heat: Seaside Summers series of books! I was excited to get the opportunity to read an ARC because I couldn’t wait to see what happens next in Cape Cod and this book did not disappoint! . . . A heartwarming read to enjoy over a long weekend!"


Amy wanted to believe them and to see what they apparently saw when he looked at her, but she never had. It was the secret memories of being in Tony’s strong arms that long-ago summer, feeling his heart beat against hers, feeling safe and loved, that made her hopeful there would come a day when they’d find themselves there again. But then her mind would travel to the end of those recent nights when she’d had too much to drink and he’d carried her home. When he’d tucked her into bed and gone along his merry way back to his own cottage across the road, quickly dousing her hope for more with cold reality. Whatever they’d had that summer, she’d ruined.

And don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...


Secrets at Seaside
(Sweet with Heat: Seaside Summers #5)
by Addison Cole
Sweet Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 288 pages
October 25th 2017

Sweet with Heat: Seaside Summers features a group of fun, flirty, and emotional friends who gather each summer at their Cape Cod cottages. They’re sassy, flawed, and so easy to relate to, you’ll be begging to enter their circle of friends!

Secrets at Seaside by Addison Cole is the sweet edition of New York Times bestselling author Melissa Foster's steamy romance novel Seaside Secrets. The stories and characters remain the same and convey all of the passion you expect between two people in love, without any explicit scenes or harsh language.

In SECRETS at SEASIDE...
Tony Black is the hottest surfer on the planet. He travels the world throughout the year and spends his summers on Cape Cod with his friends, at the Seaside cottages in Wellfleet, Massachusetts. He’s got his choice of women, but Amy Maples is the one he wants. Fourteen years ago she was his for an entire summer, until a devastating accident changed everything, and what they had seemed like it had never existed—at least for her.

Amy Maples is as consistent as the day is long. She’s spent summers on Cape Cod forever, she always does the right thing, and she’s spent years trying to reclaim the heart of Tony Black, the only man she’s ever loved. She’s back for a summer of fun with her friends at Seaside, only this year she’s been offered the opportunity of a lifetime thousands of miles away, and she’s decided to try one last time to reconnect with Tony. But having a relationship with Tony means dealing with her past—and dealing with her past may knock her to her knees.

SWEET WITH HEAT: SEASIDE SUMMERS SERIES
Read, Write, Love at Seaside
Dreaming at Seaside
Hearts at Seaside
Sunsets at Seaside
Coming soon!
Nights at Seaside (releasing December 13th)
Seized by Love at Seaside
Embraced at Seaside
Lovers at Seaside
Whispers at Seaside

Praise for the Series

"Addison Cole's stories are the perfect blend of sizzle and sweet. You won't be able to stop reading."​ — ​New York Times bestselling author RaeAnne Thayne

"Romance, fun, emotions, and happily ever afters that will warm your heart, Addison Cole writes charming and unforgettable stories about real people and love in its most wonderfully moving forms." — New York Times bestselling author Violet Duke

"Addison Cole has created characters you'll fall in love with and a seaside world you'll never want to leave." — USA Today bestselling author Chris Keniston

"Loved every sweet word of this story. Loved how the relationship developed between Leanna and Kurt in such a genuine way, it made me so invested in their happily ever after. An absolute treat to read and cannot wait for more from Addison Cole." — New York Times bestselling author Sawyer Bennett (aka Juliette Poe, on "Read, Write, Love at Seaside")


Other Books in the Series


And coming December 2017...

About the Author


Addison Cole is the sweet alter ego of New York Times and USA Today bestselling and award-winning author Melissa Foster. She writes humorous and emotional sweet contemporary romance. Her books do not include explicit sex scenes or harsh language. Addison spends her summers on Cape Cod, where she dreams up wonderful love stories in her house overlooking Cape Cod Bay.

Addison enjoys discussing her books with book clubs and reader groups and welcomes an invitation to your event.

SIGN UP for ADDISON'S Sweet with Heat newsletter. Fun, flirty romance with a dash of heat.


Tour Giveaway

1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon.com eGift Card
Open internationally
Ends November 8th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

The Ghost Chronicles by Marlo Berliner - Spotlight/Excerpt

 
On Tour with Prism Book Tours


The Ghost Chronicles 2
by Marlo Berliner
Young Adult Paranormal
Paperback & ebook, 384 Pages
October 17th 2017 by Teddy Blue Books

**If you love ghost stories and the paranormal, then THE GHOST CHRONICLES series is the perfect new read for you!**

What's there to fear if you're already dead?
Plenty.
Michael and Sarah now know for certain, there is a destination after death.
They also know they better find their way out of the afterlife fast, before the devil claims Michael's soul.
What they don't know?
Before they can get to heaven...
they may just have to go through hell.

*Inspired by the legend of a haunting at the famous Angel of the Sea bed and breakfast in Cape May, NJ*

GoodreadsAmazon US PaperbackAmazon UKBarnes & Noble 

Excerpt

Michael and Sarah usually spent the early morning hours in the parlor, before the sun came up and the guests started moving about.
Restless for some reason, he had come down first today. He loved the early morning stillness of the Angel of the Sea before everyone awoke. His favorite thing to do was to sit on the porch outside, just gazing at the ocean across the street.
Sarah had lingered upstairs for a moment or two while she made her usual morning rounds and checked in on the guests. It was one of her old habits, so he left her to it.
A few minutes later, she came rushing down from the second floor and into the parlor.
“I thought I saw some dark shadows through a window upstairs,” she said hurriedly, twisting her hands. “They were moving around the back of the house near the bike racks.”
Steeling his courage, he began to draw in energy from every source in the room. “I’ll take a look. Go back up to the bedroom and stay there until I tell you it’s safe to come out,” he commanded.
Without another word, she darted back up the staircase.
Preparing to defend Sarah and the Angel of the Sea, he flew outside circling the perimeter of the house, but no demons seemed to be in sight. Oddly, he didn’t sense their presence either. After two or three more passes he decided all was well and there was no threat.
Ghosting back into Sarah’s bedroom, he skidded to a sudden stop.


Other Books in the Series

The Ghost Chronicles
by Marlo Berliner
Young Adult Paranormal
Paperback & ebook, 298 Pages
November 17th 2015 by Teddy Blue Books

Can Michael get to heaven before the devil gets him first, and if it means leaving Sarah is he sure he still wants to go?

Michael Andrews had everything – a loving family, a great girlfriend and a promising basketball career. That was before the accident that took his life. Now, he’s a ghost, wandering among the living, struggling to understand why he’s stuck. All he wants is to move on.

That is until he meets Sarah, an attractive young girl who died just as tragically as he did. The only trouble is falling in love and binding oneself to another soul is forbidden, for it may keep one or both of the souls bound to earth for longer than they should be.

To make matters worse, there’s also a danger in going too far with Sarah, because the “joining” of two souls in the afterlife is also strictly forbidden and they don’t know what will happen if they do go that far. Each time they touch they can feel the boundaries of their energies slipping perilously into one another.

Things get even more complicated as Michael learns he’s being pursued. Demons are after him because he’s a marked soul, a soul the devil wants very badly for some unknown reason.

So, maybe falling in love in the afterlife isn’t such a good idea.


About the Author


Marlo Berliner is the award-winning author of THE GHOST CHRONICLES, her debut book which was released in November 2015 to critical acclaim. Marlo writes young adult, women’s fiction, and short stories. Marlo is represented by Eric Ruben of The Ruben Agency.

When she's not writing or editing, Marlo loves reading, relaxing at the beach, watching movies, and rooting for the Penn State Nittany Lions. After having spent some wonderful time in Pittsburgh and Houston, she’s now back in her home state of New Jersey where she resides with her husband, two sons, and a rambunctious puppy named Max.


Tour Schedule

October 30th: LaunchHarlie's Books & Mythical Books
October 31st: Wishful Endings
November 1st: 100 Pages A Day
November 2nd: Beck Valley Books
November 3rd: Mello & June, It's a Book Thang!
November 6th: Mel's Shelves
November 7th: Colorimetry
November 8th: Min Reads and Reviews
November 9th: Brooke Blogs
November 9th: The Bookworm Chronicles
November 10th: Bookworm Lisa
November 11th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway

$20 Amazon eGift Card
Open internationally
Ends November 15th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Romancing the Singer by Cami Checketts -- Spotlight



Two superstars, two lonely hearts, and the storm that tears them apart.
Don't miss this Return to Snow Valley Romance by bestselling inspirational author, Cami Checketts.

Daisy Castleton hasn’t been home since she won Singing with the Stars and a huge recording contract, but where else do you escape from the tabloid sharks when you discover you have throat cancer? Daisy wants nothing more than to disappear as she faces the fact that she may never sing again. Between family issues and an impossible to ignore attraction to her childhood hero, Daisy can’t catch a break. After all, how do you stop yourself from falling in love with the perfect guy?  

Jamison Hall came home to Snow Valley after a successful career in the European Basketball Association. When he literally runs Daisy off a hiking trail with his horse, he discovers a connection and love he’d never imagined. But Daisy is like a beautiful fairy: always out of reach and afraid even the best of men will burn her wings. 
Can they survive a snow storm and the media storm, together?

Snow Valley Romances by Cami Checketts


Monday, November 6, 2017

Forgotten Carols -- Spotlight/Giveaway


I have seen The Forgotten Carols many times and each time I am touched by the special story and its message and how it brings me into the spirit of Christmas.

Q & A with Michael McLean:

1. What is your favorite Forgotten Carol scene?
I have so many scenes in THE FORGOTTEN CAROLS that are “favorites” for a variety of reasons.  But I’m surprised, performance after performance, how often something touches me differently and teaches me something that I’ve missed in performances past.  It’s the gift of doing this show for 26 years.  I keep learning things, understanding things, and feeling things that bring me closer to the One Christmas is all about…the One who we remember…It’s about remembering what’s been “forgotten” when it comes to the meaning of Christmas. 
2. Do you have a favorite snack you enjoy while traveling to each tour city? 
I'm a diabetic, so this is sort of a trick question.  I crave chocolate cake donuts, but have to eat Kind Bars.  That’s the reality, but the truth is, I cheat sometimes…and take a little bit more insulin to make up for it.  Don’t tell anybody :)



3. What do you enjoy most when you’re on the road performing? 

The older I get the more exhausting it is to be traveling from place to place…but the joy of that travel when it’s with people I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to pieces.  The cast and the crew make it a joy beyond measure.  


4.       During the last song when the audience is hand-in-hand singing, what emotions do you feel from the stage? 

When the encore segment of The Forgotten Carols happens, I find myself focusing on the meaning of “together forever”.   Is it something that we hope will happen someday, somewhere down the road, or is it something we can feel right now, this moment?  Some nights I feel like I should sing a different lyric for families that can’t buy in to the idea of an eternal connection, for whatever reasons, and the appropriate lyric for them would be, “We can be together, whatever, today”.  Some nights, thinking about my own family and the challenges we face, those words are a great comfort and a celebration of now.  I believe that what happens to me, and many people who attend The Forgotten Carols, is that together in that moment, we feel the love and peace and comfort that comes at Christmas time to remind us that we are never alone, and the One whose birth we celebrate is ALWAYS with us.   Here’s a news flash for you, my blogger friends.  I’M ADDING A NEW CAROL TO THE SHOW THIS YEAR that I think will shine a beautiful light on that thought.  Hope y’all come and hear me sing it!!!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saving Shadow by Laura Beers

Saving Shadow

Author: Laura Beers

Publisher: Phase Publishing

Published: Sept. 1, 2017

ISBN13: 9781943048366

250 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook copy from the author, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Born with a perfect memory, Lady Elizabeth Beckett has become one of the world's most notorious spies, despite being the daughter of a duke. She is shielded only by her code name: Shadow. When young ladies of High Society begin disappearing from London, Eliza has no doubt who is orchestrating these crimes; a heinous man she has been investigating for years. Vowing to save them before they are sold to the highest bidder, she must risk everything to stop him.

Lord Sinclair was perfectly content being the second son of a marquess, but when his brother is murdered, he is thrust into a position he has not been prepared for and does not desire. As an agent for the Crown, he is expected to retire now that he is the heir, but he's been granted special permission for one more mission... to obtain justice for his murdered brother.

Used to keeping secrets, Lady Eliza and Lord Sinclair must learn to open up to each other when they are assigned as partners to bring down the same ruthless man and his brutal empire of abduction and slavery. As Eliza's tainted past becomes too much for her to bear alone, can she learn to trust her new partner with her secrets, her life, and possibly her heart?
 


My Review

Saving Shadow by Laura Beers is an exciting and adventurous read.  The good guys (and gals!) are heroic and the bad guys are very awful.  I thought the premise of the book was very intriguing and different from other "regency" books I have read.  Eliza is a fascinating character.  She is strong, brave and awfully good with a knife.  I enjoyed her charm and how amazingly smart she was.  Benedict and Jonathon were also fabulous characters too.  Mr. Larson was an instant favorite.  At times, I felt the pacing was off just a bit and some of the language didn't seem correct for the time.  Eliza's relationship with Benedict was a wonderful change for her, as he helped her through a difficult time.  He is perfect for her, and she is the same for him.  I enjoyed the banter between Eliza and Benedict, however, I felt it stopped the story from progressing to more action, but it did help the characters get to know each other well.  I was glad that some additional time passed between when they met and after they declared their affection for each other, as their courtship moved quickly. 

4 out of 5 stars. I look forward to the next book!

Author Links

Facebook / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon ebook / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Not an Ordinary Baronet by G.G. Vandagriff -- Kindle Scout nomination

Author G. G. Vandagriff's new book Not an Ordinary Baronet is up for nomination on Kindle Scout.

Enter the giveaway at the bottom of the post! Be sure to nominate before entering!

Nominate it here!



Regency romance meets gripping suspense in Not an Ordinary Baronet

One morning, along the wild Dorset coast, Sir Bertie is bewitched by Lady Catherine Redmayne. Smugglers intervene. Soon her life is in danger, and Bertie feels compelled to protect her. In addition to being fearful for her life, she is also recovering from recent heartbreak and scandal. Initially, she believes Bertie to be the menace. First he must convince her of his innocence, then uncover the real threat. Will she yield her injured heart to him? There are forces at work to separate them, and after all, he is only an ordinary baronet and she is a marquess’s daughter.

Nominate it here!







a Rafflecopter giveaway