Thursday, July 20, 2017

The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

The Hundredth Queen

Author: Emily R. King

Publisher: Skyscape

Published: June 1st, 2017

Paperback: 300 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from Amazon First Prime Reading/purchased a copy. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood’s mountain temple.

But a visit from the tyrant Rajah Tarek disrupts Kalinda’s life. Within hours, she is ripped from the comfort of her home, set on a desert trek, and ordered to fight for her place among the rajah’s ninety-nine wives and numerous courtesans. Her only solace comes in the company of her guard, the stoic but kind Captain Deven Naik.

Faced with the danger of a tournament to the death—and her growing affection for Deven—Kalinda has only one hope for escape, and it lies in an arcane, forbidden power buried within her.

In Emily R. King’s thrilling fantasy debut, an orphan girl blossoms into a warrior, summoning courage and confidence in her fearless quest to upend tradition, overthrow an empire, and reclaim her life as her own.
 


My Review

The Hundredth Queen is a beautifully crafted story. Kalinda is a champion. I loved her virtues and vulnerability and how she transformed into an impressive force to be reckoned with. Tarek was written well, as were all the characters. Each character was a well-developed mystery that I enjoyed immensely.  Deven was wonderful, really all the character were.  Some were surprising and unexpected.  The story was heart pounding and well done. It was violent at times, but written accurately. Many exciting twists.

5 out of 5 stars.  I am eagerly awaiting the next book!

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble 

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

By the Stars by Lindsay B. Ferguson - Giveaway!



Lindsay's publisher is offering a giveaway of 10 copies of By the Stars on Goodreads. Find the giveaway with this link!



By the Stars

Author: Lindsay B. Ferguson

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: March 2016

ISBN: 9781462118151

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When Cal finally gets a chance with Kate, the girl he's loved since grade school, their easy friendship quickly blossoms into a meaningful romance. Spirited and independent, Kate keeps a guarded heart due to a painful past, and Cal wants nothing more than to gain her trust. But World War II soon cuts their time far too short, and Cal prepares to part from her – possibly for good. After he's gone, what Kate does next changes everything. 

In the suffocating jungles of the Philippines Cal encounters the chilling life of a soldier and deadly battles of war. With Kate's memory willing him on, Cal must put his trust in God to survive if he hopes to ever return to her. Inspired by a true story, By the Stars is a romance that stands the test of time and the most intense obstacles.

My Review

By the Stars is the beautifully told story of Cal and Kate.  Cal loved Kate since the 8th grade, and always admired her from afar.  When they did "meet" again, I loved the progression of their relationship.  I loved how Cal saw Kate, really saw her. Not only for her beauty but for the type of person that she was.  Cal is sent away many times. First with his mission before they courted, then a second time when he is called to war.  I loved seeing Cal's character grow through these experiences.  I enjoyed their courtship before Cal leaves for war, but what I loved most about it, was the regret Kate felt when he leaves, and what she does after that, it was very clever and sweet.  And well, quite sneaky too.   I love stories about World War II, that time period is very fascinating to me.  The author does an incredible job of depicting war, the horrors of war, and the battles of war. Cal was amazing to me.  Not only was he a loyal and caring person, but incredibly brave and a hero.  What I loved most about the story was how it is based on real people.  I loved the Afterword and the author's thoughts and feelings on why she wrote the book in the first place, truly amazing.  I love hearing the "back story" on why a book is written.

One of my favorite quotes was right at the beginning. 
If there's one thing I've learned throughout my experiences, it's that in life there are no coincidences.  In my life there have been no coincidences.  God's hands are in everything.  As I have given my life to Him, He has shaped it.
This statement stuck with me as I read this book, and has stayed with me since.  While reading, it was clear that Cal stayed faithful and God blessed and protected him.  What a wonderful lesson for us all.

5 out of 5 stars.  These characters will always have a special place in my heart.

Author Links

Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Book and Things / Deseret Book

Thank you to Cedar Fort and the author. They have graciously offered a paperback copy of the book as a giveaway! Use the Rafflecopter for the giveaway. US ONLY a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Check Me Out by Becca Wilhite

Check Me Out

Author: Becca Wilhite

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Publish Date: Feb. 2018

Paperback: 368 pages

ISBN13: 978162972373

FTC FYI: I received a pass-along ARC from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Greta loves her job as assistant librarian. She loves her best friend, Will, the high school civics teacher and debate coach. She even loves her mother despite her obvious disappointment that Greta is still single.

Then she meets Mac in the poetry section of the library, and she is smitten. Mac is heart-stoppingly gorgeous and showers her with affection, poetic text messages, and free hot chocolate at the local café where he works. The only problem is that he seems to be a different person in his texts than in his face-to-face conversation.

When the Franklin Library is threatened with closure, Greta leaps into action. She arranges for a "battle of the bands" book jam, hosts a book signing by a famous author, and finally, stages a protest that raises more than a few eyebrows.

Through it all, she slowly realizes that it is Will, not Mac, who she turns to for support and encouragement. Mac has the looks; Will has the heart. How can she choose between them?

Check Me Out is a contemporary romance--with just a hint of Cyrano de Bergerac--that reminds us that it is what's on the inside that matters most.
 

My Review

I have been waiting for another book by Becca for years and Check Me Out was worth the wait. Greta is a wonderful character, full of enduring humor, heart, and compassion for what she believes in. In this book, it is the Franklin library. Greta is trying to save her beloved library, all while getting to know her dreamy suitor. As much as I loved Greta, Will stole the show. He's fantastic. All of the supporting characters were the glue that held the story. I love how Becca writes. Her characters are spunky and fun, people I would want to be friends with. Very well done!

5 out of 5 stars.  This book just simply makes you happy!

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Pre-order here on Amazon


Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

Blood Rose Rebellion

Author: Rosalyn Eves

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Published: March 2017

ISBN13: 9781101935996

Hardcover: 416 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.
 

My Review

Rosalyn Eves has created a beautiful and mystical world.  Blood Rose Rebellion is wonderfully written with creative magic and amazing characters.  Anna was hard to like for me at first, I thought her spoiled and selfish, but that didn't last long.  I felt sorry for her and even though she longed to be in a society that turned her away, I was thrilled with the course she pursued.  I loved Grandmama and Gabor.  Noemi turned to a be wonderful surprise too.  So many enchanting characters.  The monsters were scary but also fascinating.  I loved where Rosalyn took the story.  There were a lot of twists I wasn't excepting and my heart broke at many scenes.  The Hungarian setting was a character itself, and I was excited to learn that a couple characters were based off real people.  

5 out of stars.  I am eagerly awaiting the next book in this series.

Author Links

Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble


Monday, July 10, 2017

Beyond by Catina Haverlock and Angela Larkin -- Blog Tour

Beyond

Authors: Catina Haverlock, Angela Larkin

Published: June 13, 2017

Publisher: Cedar Fort

ISBN13: 9781462120260

Paperback: 262 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

“Dangerous. Wrong. She could be so close to finding out who I really am, and I don’t want to think about how badly that could damage her. If I have any conscience,
I’ll turn and run. But I can’t let her go.” 

Presley Hale has no idea the guy she just told off in the school parking lot died in a drowning accident four months ago. Why would she? It’s not like she knows she can see the dead. Stunned by Presley’s sixth sense, Landon Blackwood rethinks his planned departure and begins tracking her to find answers to their mysterious connection.

When their complicated relationship turns dangerous, they learn that tampering with the boundaries of death comes with consequences. Can Landon save Presley from the insidious spirits who have marked her for death, or was their love doomed from the beginning?

My Review

I really enjoyed this book. Beyond reads quickly, with a very entertaining plot and very likable characters.  Presley is a great character.  I loved her relationship with Chase, it was very sweet. Being his caregiver was hard, but she did it well.  I loved the story line and where the authors took it.  I enjoyed the POV switches between Landon and Presley.  The climax was entertaining and heart-pounding, but I felt it we could have used a little more on the Vigilum.  I know the story was about Landon and Presley, but I enjoyed the idea of the Vigilum and wanted to see them more.  The ending did seem a bit rushed.  That being said, the book was entertaining and I felt satisfied at the end.  I was not able to guess where it would go or how it would end!  I honestly could have gone either way. (I know that doesn't make sense, but you will have to read it to see why!)

5 out of 5 stars.  A great book from two promising authors. I can't wait to see what is next for them!

Author Links

Website / Angela Larkin  Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon (hurry and snatch the ebook for $0.99!) / Barnes and Noble  / Seagull Book / Deseret Book


Saturday, July 8, 2017

Family of His Own by Catherine Lanigan -- Grand Finale Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Family of His Own
By Catherine Lanigan

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below...

Launch - The Faerie Tour

Welcome back to THE SHORES OF INDIAN LAKE! If you’re reading the series and following our Prism book tours, I’ll bet you weren’t expecting something as fantastical as a Faerie Tale, especially after dealing with cops, drug dealers and PTSD like we did with Cate Sullivan and Trent Davis in PROTECTING THE SINGLE MOM, now did you?


Brooke Blogs - Isabelle’s Dreams

Isabelle’s ultimate dream is to see her paintings hang in a famous Chicago or New York City gallery. She is convinced that no art critic or buyer will ever want her silly faeries. She believes she needs to move on. To what, she is unsure.

Her insecurity about her art and her future stymies her, to some extent, just as any fear does to all of us. She wants so much, but is conflicted about which direction to take.


"This is not a book where you can easily predict the ending. I honestly didn’t know how it was going to turn out. Lanigan wove a story with complicated players and some unexpected twists, while once again infusing the novel with warmth and family. While I never really warmed up to Isabelle, Scott (and Bella and Michael) makes up for this in spades. And of course the setting of Indian Lake is one I’m always happy to visit"

It's All About the Romance - Painting Faeries

It was nearly six years ago when I started creating and building many of my characters for Indian Lake. Granted, there are some new ones, such as Isabelle’s entire family. They’re all new and I’m getting to know them now and you will, too, as we move into the future. Isabelle was quite vivid to me. Right from the beginning, I knew I wanted her to paint faeries. Not the little baby looking cutie pies inside flowers and laundry baskets, but real, honest to goodness faeries. I know…you are asking…are they real? Or you are asking, “Come on.”


She had to force herself to focus. “Yes, the glasses. Uh, for the midnight toast.”

He brushed his lips against her cheek. “And I’ll find you for my kiss to ring in the New Year.”

Isabelle hadn’t realized she’d shut her eyes, immersing herself in the moment with Scott.

She felt a whoosh of air, the temperature dropped and she blinked, returning to the present. Scott had left her.


Scott Abbott is one of those truly decent guys that come along one in your lifetime, if you’re lucky. He, like Isabelle, the heroine, was introduced in the first novel in the series, LOVE SHADOWS. Scott owns The Book Shop and Java Stop as well as being a reporter for the local newspaper. He grew up in Indian Lake and in high school, he had a crush on Isabelle, but after he went off to college to earn his journalism degree, Isabelle was left behind, working hard to help her mother pay for college tuitions for her brothers and sisters.


"FAMILY OF HIS OWN, is a sweet love story about two friends finding their forever together. Filled with wonderful characters, and heart wrenching emotion, this story was impossible to put down until the end. I had to know what happened to Scott and Isabelle. Loved, loved, loved this book."


Mel's Shelves - Review

"I love spending time in Indian Lake! It's fun to catch up with some of the other couples we've met in previous books and learn what's happening in their lives. This book does stand well on its own, so if it's your first visit to Indian Lake, you won't feel lost, and will most likely want to get to know the other characters as well. I hope to meet more Indian Lake residents in the future!"


"With characters from previous books appearing, these books always provide a sense of community and feelings of coming home. I love that. Indian Shores is a place I would want to live."


"A trip back to Indian Lake brings us the story of two friends … and possibly soul mates? I had conflicted feelings about this heroine. On one side, I understood how she felt about her past and the unfairness of it all, but on the other side, I found it really hard to like her when she was acting so selfish & one dimensional. There is turmoil, growth and happily ever afters … but a long road of self-discovery to get there!"

Paulette's Papers - Scott's Real Life Magic

In the scene in which Scott first sees Bella in a dank, musty crack house bedroom, she’s watching a cheap television that is playing “The Bishop’s Wife”, the old black and white movie with Cary Grant. It’s New Year’s Eve and Scott has just left Isabelle on the dance floor at midnight at the Lodge. Scott is wearing his tuxedo while the rest of the police wear Kevlar vests and gun holsters. Bella asks Scott if he is an angel. Surprised, he asks her why. She picks up the video tape box and points to Cary Grant in a dress suit. “You look just like him.” Convinced that Scott is the angel sent to save her and her brother Bella, she trusts Scott immediately, and melts his heart.

Children have no problem with magic. They expect it. And many times, they get it.

I Am A Reader - Excerpt

Isabelle steeled herself as she approached Scott. Before he had a chance to berate or accuse her, she whispered, “I was in Chicago and Wes graciously offered to drive me home through this terrible storm.”

Scott, ever the gentleman, offered his arm, which she took.

“Then I should thank him.

Becky on Books - Faerie Research and Other Fancies

I’d always wanted to write a story that involved faeries. Though there is nothing supernatural in the story telling in this Heartwarming story, I was piqued by the prodigious world of information about fairies. Folklore and mythology from ancient Celtics to Shakespeare, to Sir Walter Scott and William Blake in the 1790’s illustrate that fairies have been a source of delight and fascination to many generations.

Sylv.net - Excerpt

The room was small and smelled musty, with only the light from an old television illuminating the faces of a little girl, about five or six years old, and the toddler in her arms.

The girl stared at them fearfully. Her lips quivered, but she remained silent. She took a step backward and hoisted the baby closer to the crook of her neck. The baby grabbed a handful of her cotton shirt and started fussing.

She made a cooing sound into the baby’s ear and whispered something Scott couldn’t make out, but it was clear she knew exactly how to react to the baby and the baby to her.

Wishful Endings - Interview

As FAMILY OF HIS OWN is your eighth book in your Shores of Indian Lake series, are you still discovering new things about the setting and/or the characters?

Discovering new characters has been the delight of doing a series like this. This is the first time I’ve created an entire town and the people in it. Just like moving to a new city and going through all the necessary introductions, finding new doctors, a new church, new schools, everything and everyone is new. I have the joy of discovering each new person and all of their extended family as well. Each time a main character goes out to buy something or interview for a job, there are all those “other” people who have backgrounds and stories. I love asking, “And who are you?” And the list of curious questions I ask when I meet someone new.

In a word, this has been a “blast!”

Heidi Reads... - Excerpt

Scott leaned toward her, gazing at her with a force of longing and desire she couldn’t remember seeing before. “Isabelle, I came here tonight...” He placed his hand on hers. “To ask you something.”

A sense of foreboding settled over her. “Scott, I don’t think...”


"This book has made me fall in love with Indian Lake and I think I am gonna have to go back and read the rest of the series. I think this may be a first of Lanigan's books for me but will not be my last!"


“Scott,” Malcolm said, “I’d like you to meet my nephew—Wes Adams.”

“Great to meet you, Wes,” Scott said, offering his hand.

Wes nodded vaguely in Scott’s direction before locking eyes with Isabelle once more.

“Isabelle and Wes have already met,” Malcolm explained.

Scott dropped his hand to his side. “I can see that.”

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...



Family of His Own
(Shores of Indian Lake #8)
Catherine Lanigan
Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 384 pages
July 1st 2017 by Harlequin Heartwarming

He's ready to settle down…with or without her

Scott Abbott has always loved Isabelle Hawks. And he's always been her rock. Patient, dependable, strong. But lately, she's been acting like that rock is weighing her down. With her art career taking off, Isabelle has been spending less and less time in Indian Lake…and with him. Scott isn't even sure what they are to each other anymore. They might be friends with a history, but it sure doesn't feel like a future. Maybe it's time for Scott to set her free and focus on his own dreams. A real home. A family. All the things he had hoped to share with her…

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin

Other Books in the Series


About the Author

Catherine Lanigan is the international bestselling and award-winning author of forty published titles in both fiction and non-fiction, including the novelizations of Romancing the Stone and The Jewel of the Nile, as well as over half a dozen anthologies, including “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Living your Dream”, “Chicken Soup for the Writer’s Soul”, and more. Ms. Lanigan’s novels have been translated into dozens of languages including German, French, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Chinese, and Japanese. Ms. Lanigan’s novels are also available in E-books on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.com, Apple Store, Mobi and Kobo. Several of her titles have been chosen for The Literary Guild and Doubleday Book Clubs. Her Vietnam war-based novel, The Christmas Star, won the Gold Medal Award Top Pick from Romantic Times Magazine and has also won Book of the Year Romance Gold Award from ForeWord Magazine as well as Book of the Year Romance from Reader’s Preference.

Lanigan is the author of a trilogy of non- fiction books regarding angelic intervention in human life: Angel Watch, Divine Nudges and Angel Tales published by HCI and Cedar Fort. Skyhorse published Lanigan’s “how-to” book on writing: Writing the Great American Romance Novel. Lanigan was tasked by the NotMYkid Foundation to write a non-fiction book addressing teen addictions. Ms. Lanigan’s first Young Adult adventure novel, The Adventures of Lillie and Zane: The Golden Flute, was published by Cedar Fort.

Currently, she has published eight novels in the Shores of Indian Lake series for Harlequin Heartwarming: Love ShadowsHeart’s DesireA Fine Year for LoveKatia’s Promise, Fear of Falling, Sophie’s Path and Protecting the Single Mom. Family of His Own pubs July, 2016. She has recently contracted for one more in the series: His Baby Dilemma.

As a cancer survivor, Ms. Lanigan is a frequent speaker at literary functions and book conventions as well as inspiring audiences with her real stories of angelic intervention from her Angel Tales series of books. She is an outspoken advocate for domestic violence and abuse and was honored by The National Domestic Violence Hotline in Washington, D.C. (THE EVOLVING WOMAN). She has been a guest on numerous radio programs including “Coast to Coast” and on television interview and talk show programs as well as blogs, podcasts and online radio interview programs.

Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $50 Amazon eGift Card (open internationally)
- 1 winner will receive a tote bag and three Shores of Indian Lake books: Katia's Promise, Fear of Falling and Sophie's Path (US only)
- Ends July 11th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

Monday, July 3, 2017

Venom and Steel by Melissa Wright -- Release Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Release Celebration Blitz for
Venom and Steel
By Melissa Wright

Venom and Steel
(Frey Saga #4)
by Melissa Wright
YA/NA Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 214 pages
July 1st 2017

Three seasons of peace come with a price.

It's dark night in the kingdom of the fey when the castle is attacked, and Ruby has gone missing. If Frey can't decipher the clues, one of her Seven might pay with their life.

But winged gods and high fey tricksters are plotting to steal more than a Halfling. Frey's high guard is torn apart, her magic too volatile, and in three moons, the fates will dance.

If she can't regain her guard and get a grip on her powers, the fate of the lands will rest in fey hands—but to do so, she must place her trust in one of them.


Excerpt

Prologue
The Changeling

In a three room shack deep within the eastern most valleys, slept a human babe. Its swaddling gown was thin, threadbare and second-hand, the color dull with age. To the young blue fey, it smelled like meat.

Fira giggled, tiptoeing across the uneven plank floor, and Fedrine, half again her size, pushed the fairy and hissed a warning to be silent. It was too rough; the smaller fairy rolled forward in her stumble, crashing awkwardly—noisily—into the makeshift crib. The babe screamed, jolted to waking, and Fira covered her own ears as she cowered below.

Footsteps sounded in the main room.

Fedrine grabbed the swaddled child and tossed it—bundle and all—out the window. As it landed softly in the tall grass, Fira cried out in protest, her tiny hands gesturing wildly through the air. Fedrine’s eyes narrowed on the other fey, their depthless black inspiring both a spike of fear and the thrill of the hunt. He motioned toward the naked bedding.

Fira smiled, and then crawled into the youngling’s crib.

When the humans entered their firstborn child’s bedroom, it was not the slender form of Fedrine they saw. The changeling fey had shifted, his skin going pale, the fur lining his neck curling into long chestnut locks, kissed by the sun. His thin lips were softened and curved, color dotting his cheeks. The only thing unchanged in him, was the endless chasm of his eyes. His head tilted down, hand snaking slowly over the soft lumps of what appeared to be their unharmed babe in its bed. It would look to the humans like a blessing, some angel of mercy come to show favor upon their child.

The human woman fell to her knees, shaking as her work-calloused palms covered her mouth. “Heavens,” she whispered through her fingers, bony and underfed as they were. “Heavens exalt us with this gift.” 

It was clear she was waiting for some response, but Fedrine did not speak. The changelings had no words.

The changelings had teeth.

Other Books in the Series


Frey
(Frey Saga #1)


Unaware she's been bound from using magic, Frey leads a small, miserable life in the village where she's sent after the death of her mother. But a tiny spark starts a fury of changes and she finds herself running from everything she's ever known.

Hunted by council for practicing dark magic, she is certain she's been wrongfully accused. She flees, and is forced to rely on strangers for protection. But the farther she strays from home, the more her magic and forgotten memories return and she begins to suspect all is not as it seems.

FREE in ebook everywhere!

Pieces of Eight
(Frey Saga #2)

The story of Frey continues in this, the second book of the series.

After revealing her dark history, Frey is forced to join with a group of strangers whose pasts seem to intertwine with her own. She struggles to regain her memories and her full power, only to discover there is more danger on the other side. Except now, there is no turning back.


Molly
(Frey Saga #2.5)

Molly dreamed her whole life of living in a world of magic... until the day she walked into one. This short story falls between The Frey Saga Book Two: Pieces of Eight and the third book, Rise of The Seven.


Rise of Seven
(Frey Saga #3)

As Frey works to regain control of the North, a small silver dagger nearly brings her end. She raises her guard and proves her abilities, but another attempt on her life, from what appears to be fey, reveals not all are pleased with her return. If she could only figure out the force behind the attacks, she might be able to relax enough to decide what to do about her other problem... Chevelle.


About the Author

Melissa Wright is the author of the Frey Saga and Descendants Series. She is currently working on the next book, but when not writing can be found collecting the things she loves at Goodreads and Pinterest.


Release Blitz Giveaway

1 winner will win ebooks of Pieces of Eight and Rise of Seven, along with a $10 Amazon e-gift card
Open internationally
Ends July 6th

Saturday, July 1, 2017

50 Hours by Loree Lough -- Release Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Release Celebration Blitz for
50 Hours
By Loree Lough

Note from the Author

When Kevin J. O’Neill asked me to novelize his screenplay of 50 Hours, I was beyond flattered. He’s a well-established actor, producer, director, and writer, himself, and knows hundreds of talented authors. To say that he hooked me on the story during our very first phone conversation is an understatement. His enthusiasm was contagious, and once I read the actual screenplay, well, I was RE-hooked! Instantly, my mind started whirling with ideas that could broaden and deepen the storyline and the characters: I saw the hospice center in my mind. Envisioned Franco and Aubrey. Built on the screenplay’s basic descriptions until the main characters were well-rounded, believable individuals with interesting backgrounds…and believable, reader-identifiable flaws. I knew right away that these two would need other characters to interact with, so I invented them. They helped me expose the inner fears, thoughts, and joys the main characters were hiding—from others, and from themselves. (Kevin included a bluejay in his screenplay and I loved it so much that I turned it into a secondary character, and oh, what fun I had writing him!)

— Loree

50 Hours
by Loree Lough
Fiction
Paperback & ebook, 288 pages
June 30th 2017 by Progressive Rising Phoenix Press

Franco Allessi is a broken, lonely man who wants nothing more than to outrun the ghosts of his past. For years, he tries to numb the pain of his wife's death with cheap beer and whiskey. When he's convicted of drunk driving, the judge revokes his license for six months and orders him to serve fifty hours of community service. Franco chooses Savannah Falls Hospice for no reason other than it's walking distance from his dilapidated house trailer. On his first day on the job, he meets Aubrey Brewer, a woman whose time on earth is quickly ticking to a stop. Their unusual connection teaches powerful, life-changing lessons about friendship, acceptance, and the importance of appreciating that precious treasure called Life.


Advanced Praise

Loree Lough is an exceptional author, and that's why I approached her about writing the novel for my Feature film, 50 Hours. But I had no idea how wonderful her novelization would be until I read it. Loree was able to dig so deep into my characters. She unearthed and richly developed the film’s skeletal characters and give them three dimensional lives. I am so happy with the book!Kevin O’Neill, writer/director/actor/producer

I defy anyone to start the beautifully written 50 Hours and to put it down or to go on with their own lives as they had before reading about the remarkable, emotional and insightful relationship between dying Aubrey and the lost Franco. As a recent widow myself, the strength, humor and respect between the main characters shot close to home, but delivered so much hope and love that even as I march forward to tomorrow, my perspective has altered---all to the positive. In her last days in this life, Aubrey finally lives out the dreams she's been too browbeaten by her mother and ex-husband to accomplish. She can only do this with help from Franco, who risks imprisonment to see her wish come true. Emerson said, "To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived, this is to have succeeded." Aubrey and Franco succeeded. Believe me when I say, THIS IS THE KIND OF BOOK THAT WINS PULITZER PRIZES.Catherine Lanigan, Author of Romancing the Stone, The Jewel of the Nile, and over forty-five novels and non-fiction

50 Hours is a moving story about love, loss, friendship, and last chances. It’s a reminder that our lives are precious stories, no matter how long or short. This is a must-read for all of us who have been touched by cancer – victims, caregivers, family, and friends. This poignant and touching tale will inspire hope in the midst of even the darkest hours. — Cerella Sechrist, author of the popular Findlay Roads series from Harlequin

Excerpt

He hustled down the hall and stood beside her. “What’s up, kiddo? Thirsty? Need a pain pill?”

“No, no, I’m . . . I’m so cold.”

She was only using half the bed, so he doubled the blanket and bedspread over her.

“Better?”

When she shook her head, he raced back down the hall to gather up his linens. But even with the extra quilt, Aubrey continued shivering.

“I could pile bath towels and jackets on top of that . . . or get into bed beside you, let my body heat warm you up.”

She patted the mattress, then rolled onto her side. “Would you? Please?”

Franco slid under the covers and tucked in close behind her. It took a full five minutes before her breathing slowed and she stopped shaking—he knew exactly how long it had taken, because he’d watched every flick of the glowing blue numbers on the LED alarm on the night table.

Being this close to her was the oddest sensation, because not once in their hours together had she roused sexual feelings in him. She still hadn’t. And yet, he’d never felt this way about any woman, not even Jill. Franco held her a little tighter. With time running out, this was as close as they’d ever be. If only he could share good health and stamina the way he was sharing warmth.

Aubrey moved, and he whispered, “Sorry. Didn’t mean to wake you.”

“I’m the most selfish woman on earth.”

“That’s crazy talk.”

“You realize how much trouble you’re in?” was her sleepy reply.

“Trouble?”

“If the cops find us, you might have to serve time. And not just fifty hours of community service.”

Yeah, he knew, and didn’t care. It felt good, felt right, doing these small things for her. The ugly truth was, when he got out of jail—however long that might take—he’d still be alive. And Aubrey? Aubrey would be—

“I’m positively evil, asking you to take such a risk.”

“You didn’t hold a gun to my head. I’m a big boy. Could have said no, if I’d wanted to.”

“I know.”

About the Author


Bestselling author LOREE LOUGH once sang for her supper, performing across the U.S. and Canada. Now and then, she blows the dust from her 6-string to croon a tune or two, but mostly, she writes novels that have earned hundreds of industry and "Readers' Choice" awards, 4- and 5-star reviews, and 7 book-to-movie options. The Man She Knew, #1 in her “By Way of the Lighthouse” series, her 3rd for Harlequin Heartwarming, is available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Harlequin.com.

Blitz Giveaway

- 2 winners will win a copy of 50 HOURS (print if US/ebook if international)
- 1 winner will win a $10 Amazon e-gift card
- Ends July 5th

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Dating the It Guy by Krysten Lindsay Hager -- Book Blast

Dating the It Guy by Krysten Lindsay Hager
Emme is a sophomore in high school who starts dating, Brendon Agretti, the popular senior who happens to be a senator’s son and well-known for his good looks. Emme feels out of her comfort zone in Brendon’s world and it doesn’t help that his picture perfect ex, Lauren seems determined to get back into his life along with every other girl who wants to be the future Mrs. Agretti. Emme is already conflicted due to the fact her last boyfriend cheated on her and her whole world is off kilter with her family issues. Life suddenly seems easier keeping Brendon away and relying on her crystals and horoscopes to guide her. Emme soon starts to realize she needs to focus less on the stars and more on her senses. Can Emme get over her insecurities and make her relationship work? Life sure is complicated when you’re dating the it guy.
Excerpt 
I took a drink of water, and it dribbled down my chin. Lovely—I was sure all the girls at the country club drooled openly. Brendon walked over to my side of the court and asked if he could have some of my water because he had finished his sports drink. I never share drinks since I saw a story on the news about how meningitis was spread through stuff like that, but I handed him the bottle. I was surprised he’d want to drink after me, but maybe he was a step away from dehydrating, and it was between sharing my spit or death.
“Wanna quit?” he asked. I nodded and went to change. There was only one other girl in the locker room as I washed up and pulled my hair up. I went out to meet Brendon, and he asked if I wanted to get some frozen yogurt. I started to answer when the girl in the locker room came out behind me.
“Hey, stranger. Haven’t seen you around lately,” she said, putting her hand on Brendon’s arm.
“Hey, Cassie,” he said.
“What have you been up to?” she asked.
I’ve seen dogs chase the mail carrier with more dignity. Brendon shrugged and said he had been busy. He introduced me, and her eyes darted over to me just long enough to size me up. I hated girls who acted like having another female in the room was competition.
“Well, give me a call sometime,” she said, walking away.
What was her problem? She didn’t know whether or not we were dating. It was like it didn’t matter if I was his girlfriend or not because I wasn’t “good enough.”
Praise for Dating the It Guy:
“Dating the It Guy is an entertaining story that is as absorbing as it is hilarious.” Reviewed by Arya Fomonyuy for Readers’ Favorite
“A satisfying YA romance that is really about growing up and learning how to deal with life.” Writing Pearls book review blog
“There is so much to love about this book. Krysten Lindsay Hager knows how teens think and speak, and she understands why Emme would feel overwhelmed by everything about Brendon – his looks, his popularity, his feelings for her, his exes, his family.” Vox libris: the voice of books book review blog


Author Krysten Lyndsay Hager
Besides mining her teen years and humiliating moments for her novels, Krysten is also a book addict who has never met a bookstore she didn’t like. Krysten writes about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, frenemies, crushes, fame, first loves, and values. She is the author of True Colors, Best Friends…Forever?, Next Door to a Star,  Landry in Like, Competing with the Star (The Star Series: Book 2), and Dating the It Guy. Her debut novel, True Colors, won the Readers Favorite award for best preteen book and the Dayton Book Expo Best Sellers award. Krysten’s work has been featured in USA Today, The Flint Journal, the Grand Haven Tribune, the Beavercreek Current, the Grand Blanc View, the Bellbrook Times and on Living Dayton.
amazon or paypal$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 7/23/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 23, 2017

Mormon Girl: Incognito by Kari Iroz

Mormon Girl: Incognito

Author: Kari Iroz

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 1st, 2017

ISBN13: 9781524402730

Paperback: 288 pages

FYC FYI: I received a paperback copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Hilarious heroine Jacklyn Wyatt is back—this time in a dicey Vegas adventure! Jacklyn “Jack” Wyatt is just your average Mormon girl—other than her brief stint with the FBI, her subsequent brush with death, and her dreamy boyfriend, Special Agent Damon Wade. But in the eight months since she helped save a kidnapping victim, Jack’s life has returned to its mostly stagnant state. She’s still trapped in a dead-end job, and even her relationship seems to be stuck in a rut. These days, adventures are few and far between. So when Damon heads to Las Vegas on assignment, Jack sees the perfect opportunity to surprise her boyfriend and rekindle the spark in their relationship. But the surprise is on her: she has just landed herself in the middle of a high-stakes operation involving Russian criminals. Unwittingly drawn undercover once more, Jack is all too aware that the survival of Damon and his associates depends on the success of her charade. In the unfamiliar world of luxurious limos, exclusive nightclubs, and gambling, Jack must convince the high-rolling hustlers that she is a terrifying international arms dealer. If only she knew anything about poker. Or guns . . .

My Review

Mormon Girl: Incognito is another hit for this author. The book is so funny and it has the perfect balance and suspense and romance.  Jack, oh Jack, she is the best.  She is very enduring and her insecurities make her an all-around great character.  She really knows how to get the job done. Damon is so dreamy and love them together.  He is protective, kind and generally cares about Jack.  There are lots of enjoyable twists and turns and how the couple get out of the mess that Jack accidentally got them in. The author does a great job with the setting as well.  The scene with the "list" from her mother's warnings about Vegas, had me laughing out loud. The ending is amazing.

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book


Schedule: 


a Rafflecopter giveaway