Thursday, February 14, 2019

Bloodline by Kathi Oram Peterson -- blog tour/giveaway

Bloodline

Author: Kathi Oram Peterson

Publisher: Covenant

Published: February 1st, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524409234

Paperback: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary


France, 1371. The old Queen of France lies on her deathbed with a secret she will take to her grave: there is one true heir to the throne, one who would have the power to ally France and Scotland. But after her death, all that will be left are a few shreds of evidence revealing the stunning identity of her successor.
Flight attendant Skye Armstrong has heard the voice of warning before, and as she’s returning home from London, she recognizes the feeling of dread that accompanies her sixth sense. Walking from the airport terminal to get to her car, she pauses in the middle of the road. Her hesitation gives a Good Samaritan the split second he needs to pull her out of the path of a speeding car, saving her life. But her misfortunes are just beginning. When she arrives home, she discovers that Auntie Marjorie has been kidnapped, and cryptic instructions have been left behind: Skye must retrieve the contents of a safe deposit box and deliver it to the captors . . . No police. Her feelings of dread return.
What Skye discovers in the bank box is baffling: a single page. The ancient document is certainly valuable, and with no time to lose, she goes to the rendezvous to discover the next step. A cell phone rings beneath a park bench. She answers the call, and on the screen is a picture of Auntie, unconscious. Now the kidnapper demands Skye find two more pages or her aunt will die.
What secrets are hidden within the illuminated pages, and who believes they are worth killing for? And what role does the Good Samaritan play in all of it?

My review

Bloodline is a non-stop thrill ride. I enjoyed this book a lot. It seemed that poor Skye found herself in one bad situation to the next. I thought the pacing was written well and the characters were mysterious and always kept me guessing. There was no one to trust and I enjoyed that!

4 out of 5 stars.

Author links


Purchase links



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Beneath an Italian Sky by Stacy Henrie - cover reveal

Check out this lovely cover for the next book in the An American Heiress series by Stacy Henrie.

BENEATH AN ITALIAN SKY is coming soon!

Add to your Goodreads shelves



Monday, February 11, 2019

YA Love - Book Tour Launch post

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Launch for
YA LOVE

We're excited to be sharing books from four contemporary young
adult authors with you this week along with a fabulous giveaway...

Tour Schedule


February 16th: Grand Finale

Books on Tour


Tour Giveaway


GIVEAWAY PRIZES:
- 1 winner will receive a $15 Amazon eGift Card (open internationally)
- 1 winner will receive a paperback copy of LOVE AT FIRST FIGHT by Maggie Dallen (US only)
- 1 winner will receive a signed paperback copy of PERFECTLY YOU by Robin Daniels (US only)
- 1 winner will receive copies of SECRET GIRLFRIEND & SECRET LIFE by Bria Quinlan (if in the US: choice between the 2 paperbacks or the ebundle, if outside the US, the ebundle)
1 winner will receive a paperback copy of COURTSIDE CRUSH by Kayla Tirrell (US only)

Ends February 20, 2019

Saturday, February 9, 2019

Winning the Cowboy's Heart by Karen Rock - Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Winning the Cowboy's Heart
By Karen Rock

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

The Cade and Loveland family drama continues with the fifth book in my Rocky Mountain Cowboys series! The Cade and Loveland ranching families, neighbors who’ve been feuding for over a hundred years, are full of such interesting and complicated characters who face, and overcome, personal challenges in unique and inspiring ways to find true love and happiness. . . . I hope you enjoy this long awaited love story where opposites truly attract and learning to love yourself is the first step to truly loving another.

— Karen


"This is an entertaining tale of two "sworn enemy" families who were forced to look "deep within themselves and in others". This story is somewhat predictable, yet, keeps the reader interested until the very end.

This will surely inspire all who read it. The characters are very realistic and the scenes easily visualized."


"What a great story! This book is part of a series, yet I had no trouble jumping in and understanding some of the backstory between the two main families that was established in previous novels.


I really liked Heath and Jewel and wanted things to work out for them. They had such great chemistry . . . . I really liked this story and hope to read future books in this series."

Hallie Reads - Review

"Another delightful cowboy story from Karen Rock, Winning the Cowboy’s Heart puts Jewel Cade and Heath Loveland at the forefront of the action. Their families may be feuding, but the chemistry and attraction they share is undeniable—and seeing their romance unfold is well worth the read. . . . If you love cowboy romances, definitely check out Winning the Cowboy’s Heart. It reads well on its own, so don’t worry if you haven’t read the rest of the series yet (but those books are wonderful, too!)."


"Winning the Cowboy’s Heart is an excellent story, as is the whole Rocky Mountain Cowboys series. It’s well written, highly entertaining, almost impossible to put down, engages the emotions, and is clean. . . . Woven throughout this story is the off-the-charts chemistry between Heath and Jewel, with some kissing scenes guaranteed to leave you weak at the knees, but there’s also tons of atmosphere, character depth and relational drama. . . . I don’t think I’ll ever tire of this series and hope for more stories to come. Highly recommended."


"This has been such a fun series so far. I am loving it. Finally we get to Jewel, one of the rare women in the midst of this family of mostly men. . . . I really loved Jewel. . . . One thing I love about this book was Heath's perspective. . . . The family dynamics continue to play a large role in the book as with all the other books in this series. The bigger story is playing out and shifting with each of the main characters from previous books contributing their part. I love the ongoing feeling of family and, well, the drama that only family can bring.

I can't wait for the next book which is coming soon!"


"Karen Rock does a fantastic job of portraying her character's feelings with vivid imagery that completely sings to my soul. . . . I thoroughly enjoyed the small-town, cowboy feel to the story and loved the grit and determination of both Heath and Jewel, as they work hard to prove themselves and to follow their individual dreams. . . . The chemistry simmers from the start and the gradual release was well worth the wait. I think this one is my favorite of the set so far! I loved every juicy minute of this book and I can't wait for more."


"The beauty of this installment is not just keeping the continuity in tact for the Loveland/Cade adverse relationship stemming from water rights but for giving us a glimpse into how hard it is to recognise needing the time to learn "who you are' before you can consider becoming a 'partner' with someone else. . . . Rock hasn't disappointed me - she's crafted together a wicked lovely fifth installment of a series that is enduring as it is nurturing . . . its a series that once it grabs your emotional bookish hearts, your not going to want to 'let it go' until you get the chance to read the next story!"


"This is a great book inspired by Romeo and Juliet. It has the arts in it (music) and it has a family rivalry. . . . Even though their families are feuding, they are thrown together. As they work side by side they start to fall for each other. . . . I am giving this book a 5/5."


"This is a great book for readers who enjoy clean romance, big families, ranching, music, and happily ever afters. Although I’m sure the previous books in this series are equally enjoyable, this story can be read independently and I definitely recommend it!"

Remembrancy - Review

"With the pull of attraction getting stronger between Heath and Jewell, a looming lawsuit between the families, and discovering what’s most important in their lives, Karen Rock gives readers another thoroughly enjoyable and fulfilling story. Winning the Cowboy’s Heart one is the best in the series yet!"

onemused - Review

"#WinningTheCowboysHeart is a Romeo and Juliet style cowboy romance. . . . Heath and Jewel are a great, complimentary couple. Notably, as a heartwarming book, you won't find more than a kiss in the book- but boy, are there some kisses! I highly recommend!"

EmpowerMoms - Review

"This story was really fun to read! I enjoyed the characters, family dynamics and reading about daily life on the ranch. I can’t wait to read more books in this “Rocky Mountain Cowboys” series! . . . Highly recommend this book and series-it’s a lot of fun to read!"

Harlie's Books - Review

"Okay, I still haven’t told you why I loved the book. Simple. Ms. Rock wrote it and I love the Cades and Lovelands, warts and all. With this story, my emotions and reactions were all over the place and I love her for it. She made me stop and think about it. I’m writing this review the night before its due and I finished the book over a week ago. Yes, I’m still thinking about it and my emotions are still strong."


"Since I read the first book in the series and then ones after that I have looked forward to Jewel’s story. This book did not disappoint. . . . I am enjoying this series. They can be read as a stand alone but I recommend the whole series, they are all great."


"This has been a fun series so far and I have to admit that I’ve been anxiously waiting to read, Winning the Cowboy’s Heart. . . . Ms. Rock certainly made the wait worthwhile by focusing on Heath and Jewell. I absolutely loved the banter between them . . . I love novels that focus on family, friends and hard work something the author covers so well throughout this series. . . . It’s a fast-paced story filled with sweet and loveable characters, Although this is the 5th book in the series it can be read as a standalone but I recommend you read them in order so that you can follow the families and their history."


"I loved Winning the Cowboy’s Heart. Heath and Jewell were fun together. The chemistry between the two was undeniable. I never knew what would happen with them and had to keep turning the pages to find out. . . . I highly recommend it for readers who love a well written, clean and heartwarming romance. "


"It’s like coming home again! Every time I open the latest book in Karen Rock’s Rocky Mountain Cowboy’s series, it’s like being among family. . . . I loved the complexity of their situation, and getting to catch up with news from how our favorite past couples are doing. Great characters, compelling drama and a sweet happily ever after … loved Jewel & Heath!"


"This is a story of learning to trust yourself and to do things that will benefit yourself rather than striving always to please others. It is an exploration of how expectations and dreams can be revised, especially when you discover what your thought were facts really aren’t. . . . I’ve enjoyed every book in this series. They probably work well as standalones but they are about the same families and relate to events in chronological order – I highly recommend them all and can’t wait for the next one, A Rancher to Remember, to be released in April!"


"Winning The Cowboy's Heart by Karen Rock is absolutely amazing. I don't know how but Rock always makes me feel like I am right there with her characters as I am reading. . . . I hope you are ready for a modern day Romeo and Juliet."


"I have been waiting for Jewel and Heath’s story since book one and boy howdy it did not disappoint. With one party already in full crush mode and the other party pretty much oblivious at first, it makes for some interesting tension in close quarters. But whew – once Heath figures things out he’s a man on mission. And since some of that mission involves sizzling kisses, you know I’m on board!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post, if you haven't already...

Winning the Cowboy's Heart
(Rocky Mountain Cowboys #5)
By Karen Rock
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 379 Pages
February 1st 2019 by Harlequin Heartwarming

Jewel Cade wants two things—

One is Heath Loveland

The Rocky Mountain cowgirl has her heart set on becoming range boss of the Cade ranch. But first she has to accompany the son of her family’s longtime enemy—and her off-limits secret crush—on a cattle drive across Colorado. Discovering Heath shares her attraction only makes for a rockier road. Because Jewel has a sneaking suspicion that if she drops her guard, the cowboy might ride off with her heart.


Other Books in the Series


And coming in April 2019...

About the Author

Award-winning author Karen Rock is both sweet and spicy—at least when it comes to her writing! The author of both YA and adult contemporary books writes sexy suspense novels and small-town romances for Harlequin and Kensington publishing. A strong believer in Happily-Ever-After, Karen loves creating unforgettable stories that leave her readers with a smile. When she’s not writing, Karen is an avid reader who also loves cooking her grandmother’s Italian recipes, baking and having the Adirondack Park wilderness as her backyard, where she lives with her husband, daughter, dog and cat who keep her life interesting and complete. Learn more about her at http://www.karenrock.com or follow her on twitter at http://www.twitter.com/karenrock5.

Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $50 Amazon eGift Card - Open Internationally
1 winner will receive signed, print copies of the first four books in the Rocky Mountain Cowboys series (Christmas at Cade Ranch, Falling for a Cowboy, Bad Boy Rancher & A Cowboy's Pride) - US Only
- Ends February 13, 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

Monday, January 28, 2019

Heart of Red, Blood of Blue by Rebecca Belliston

Heart of Red, Blood of Blue

Author: Rebecca Belliston

Publisher: Gated Publishing

Published: December 11th, 2018

Paperback/e-book: 410 pages

ISBN13: 9780998377650

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

A girl on the run. A kingdom to save.

Princess Gisela of Steinland was born without color. Albino. To add to this curse, her betrothal to Prince Jerrik of Kronga ends in his death and starts a ten-year war her father is determined to win, even if it means bringing her out of hiding to do it. Now the savage Krongon war commander, Bloodless Kristoff, seeks the hearts of the entire royal family, especially Gisela's.

Desperate, her father agrees to another alliance that involves her marrying an old brute of a king. Unwilling to be the sacrificial lamb, Gisela goes on the run. Thrown into the center of a battle between three kingdoms, she finds herself fighting for her life and the right to be truly loved.

Can the girl who started the war find a way to end it?


My review

This book is a masterpiece! I absolutely loved it. Everything about it wonderful. Gisela is the perfect heroine. Naive at first, with reasons I don’t want to disclose but her journey is incredible and revealing. Secrets and lies and huge revelations. The plot is engrossing and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. There were amazing twists I didn’t see coming and the climax was so heart pounding I read it twice! Blood of Red, Blood of Blue is one of my top reads of the year.

5 out of 5 stars! I have loved every book I have read of Rebecca's. She is a fantastic writer.

Purchase links

Amazon (FREE in Kindle Unlimited) / Amazon paperback

Author links

Amazon author page / Goodreads / Website

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford -- grand finale post

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
No Safe Place
By Sherri Shackelford

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Welcome to this blog tour! I'm excited to share the journey with you. My latest release is near and dear to my heart because this book starts a new adventure for me...

The Power of Words - Guest Post

Forensic Accounting
“Follow the Money”

Accounting might not seem dangerous, but hiding money is integral to nefarious activities. In the opening scene of Jack Ryan on Amazon, Jack is seen tracing the financial dealings of a suspected terrorist. What Jack discovers leads him on a harrowing adventure to the Middle East, but the spark of his investigation was a rather mundane series of financial transfers...

Splashes of Joy - Review

"I thoroughly enjoyed “No Safe Place” by Sherri Shakelford! I love fast pace detective stories and this one kept me on the edge of my to seat the entire time I was reading it. In fact, I read this one in one setting! . . . “No Safe Place” will take you on a wild and scary journey, through more horrific scenes than you want to think about, but in the end, it will leave you thinking about this book and the characters long after you finish reading."


Her heart racing, Beth took the stairs two at a time and pushed open the door to the parking garage. Only a couple other cars remained. Keeping her back straight and her gait purposeful, she crossed the distance.

The sound of her heels striking the concrete echoed through the cavernous, empty space. Pausing beside the car, she dug in her purse for her keys. Normally she kept them at the ready when exiting a parking garage. Corbin’s unexpected appearance upstairs had distracted her.

As she fumbled with her purse, she dropped the bag. “Calm down, Beth.”


"In my experience, this particular imprint is notorious for grabbing you by the throat straight-off the first page and never quite letting you feel released til you conclude the story! No Safe Place accomplishes this. . . . Ms Shackelford has a knack for Contemporary drama - she alights you inside her scenes with a certain kind of polish and flair for understanding the ready details you need to see in a scene to know its the modern era. . . I love finding Contemporary authors who are in-tune with this modern era and who can write realistic impressions of the people any of us could meet on the street."

Colorimetry - Guest Post

Homeland Security

The details are sketchy, and the government has been tight-lipped, but various reports have concluded that the worst cyberattack in US history started in a cybercafe in Afghanistan. An American Pentagon worker (presumably), using the internet services of a foreign café, picked up a ‘cyber worm’ on his computer. He then transferred data from the infected computer to a thumb drive. The virus hitched a ride. When that same thumb drive was plugged into the Pentagon computer system, the worm went wild...


"This is an action packed, suspenseful, romance novel you will not want to miss! . . . Each chapter leaves the reader anxious to discover, "What happens next?" . . . The characters seemed very real, and the scenes were well described so the reader felt he/she was a part of them."

Simply Kelina - Review

"I really enjoyed the writing style. This is not the first book written by the author, but it is the first within the suspense genre. I would not have known this while I was reading. I think she did a great job with the pacing and thrilling aspects of the story."


"Great tension between the characters, and a well paced plot, there is a lot going on. I liked the complexity of the plot perfect within this format, it fit well and kept me hooked, there was a lot going on but I never got lost. A book well worth reading, and great first foray into suspense for Ms. Shackelford!"

By The Book - Review

"If you are looking for an adrenaline-laced, romantic suspense to start off your reading new year, then you need to check out No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford! This book has it all — engaging characters, danger and intrigue aplenty, and romantic sparks. . . . All in all this book would be a great companion for a weekend getaway or staycation. Suspense and HEA — what are you waiting for!"

Wishful Endings - Guest Post

My Favorite Suspense Books

Like many people, I got hooked on romantic suspense after reading the classic, Rebecca by Daphne DuMauier. Lately, I’ve been addicted to the Orphan X series by Gregg Hurwitz. Another favorite is Alex Kava, whose first book was set near where I live. The latest book I read was The Far Empty, by Scott J. Todd...

Heidi Reads... - Review

"This is my kind of suspense book. Not so intense that I'm biting off all my nails and can't go to sleep, but engaging and compelling and has me turning the pages to see what happens next. . . . This is a story that I didn't want to put down and felt that great feeling of satisfaction as I finished. Highly recommend to fans of light romantic suspense!"

Faithfully Bookish - Guest Post

Tips on Hiding

When I bought the book, Playing Dead: A Journey Through the World of Death Fraud, my husband was a little worried. The book was written by Elizabeth Greenwood, and I used her name as the inspiration for my heroine, Beth Greenwood.

The book is a fascinating look into the underground world of ‘making people disappear.’ Believe it or not, there’s an entire underground industry dedicated to helping people fake their death—should the need arise...


"I enjoyed No Safe Place. . . . Beth and Corbin’s story was one that kept me on the edge of my seat. I never knew where they would end up. I could not put the book down until the end."

Among the Reads - Review & Interview

"Sprinkling just enough wit throughout the story to keep it from being overly suspenseful, author Sherri Shackelford has Corbin and Beth fleeing from one place to another in an attempt to elude their pursuers. . . . Readers who enjoy authors such as Dana Mentink and Tanya Stowe are bound to enjoy this one as well. . . . I want to be sure to read more books by this author!"

Can you tell us a little about what inspired No Safe Place?

I really enjoy stories about regular people who are forced into extraordinary circumstances. I liked the idea of someone with a very ho-hum job in a boring office building who is thrown into incredible danger. I also like stories where people are ‘on the run’.

Book by Book - Review

"No Safe Place by Sherri Shackelford gives readers a quick, suspenseful (and romantic!) read, and I quite enjoyed it. . . . I recommend adding it to your TBR today!"

The Becca Files - Review

"Fast paced with plenty of action, No Safe Place was a rather quick read for me. I finished the whole book in just two sittings and in less than a day. It quickly grasped my attention and held me until the end. . . . I’d easily recommend it to fans of suspense."

EmpowerMoms - Review

"I absolutely loved it! . . . Great characters, great story line, clean romance. I highly recommend reading this suspenseful, action packed book! I read it in one night because I couldn’t put it down-it was awesome! I can’t wait to read more books by this author."


The accountant was running. Innocent people didn’t run. She’d been Corbin’s first suspect since her name had come up in the previous audit. Didn’t help that she’d spent the past week behaving like a textbook example of a guilty person. She was edgy and jumpy—rarely leaving her desk—even for meals. She didn’t want anyone messing with her computer. She didn’t want anyone to know what she was doing. Innocent people had nothing to hide.

Strike one.

Corbin pushed open the door to the garage, and his blood froze.


"I loved the page turning suspense and the push-pull of the romance. . . . This was a fast paced suspense with a good romance topped with relatable characters."


"Sherri Shackelford delivers up non-stop adventure and suspense in a race for survival that crosses state lines. . . . I really enjoyed this book and I am definitely looking forward to more exciting romantic suspense from this talented author."

Harlie's Books - Excerpt & Review

There was a bullet hole in the hood of his car, and the woman sitting next to him had become a liability to a terrorist cell laundering money. Corbin didn’t know the extent of her knowledge, and he wasn’t letting her out of his sight.

She raised the canister once more. “All right. But I have the pepper spray, remember?”

“I’m not likely to forget.” That stuff was potent. Residue had both their eyes watering in the confined space of the car. “I don’t mean to be rude, but I did save your life. A simple ‘thank you’ would suffice.”

"Corbin is a dream. He is definitely going on the book boyfriend shelf for me. . . . Beth is just one of those heroines that you truly root for in a book. . . . The plot itself is [relevant], very fast paced (love), realistic and interesting. Yes, interesting. . . . I really loved this book. Corbin and Beth stole my heart and I have a new author to read from a beloved Harlequin line."


"No Safe Place is a fast past and well written book. From beginning to end I found myself completely caught up in the lives of Beth Greenwood and Corbin Ross. . . . I thought this book had the perfect amount of suspense, well-developed characters and most important, a surprise and oh so sweet sending."

Min Reads and Reviews - Excerpt/Review

Beth shut the train’s inner door and tugged the curtains over the square window of her private 
roomette—a tiny space featuring two facing seats and an overhead bunk that pulled down. The heels finally chugged, and the train lurched. She exhaled her pent-up breath. As the station faded into the distance, her pulse gradually slowed to a normal rhythm.

An hour into the trip, she almost felt as though she could breathe normally again.

A knock on the door sent her heart leaping into her throat.

"No Safe Place is enjoyable and had many intense suspenseful moments. There was also well-written romantic tension between Beth and Corbin. Beth is on the run from those who want to keep her silent. She is very detail oriented, but because of that she is a suspect in the money laundering scheme. Corbin is a homeland security agent who is there to protect her, but can he trust her? Together they are running until the answers come together."

Remembrancy - Review

"Shackelford maintains a perfect balance of intense action and personal moments between Corbin and Beth, making their building attraction natural and authentic. . . . Corbin and Beth are people of faith with an inner strength that makes them do the right thing no matter the personal cost which had me rooting for them from the get-go. . . . I hope to see more romantic suspense reads from Shackelford in the (near) future."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

No Safe Place
By Sherri Shackelford
Christian Romantic Suspense
Paperback & ebook, 224 Pages
January 1st 2019 by Love Inspired Suspense

He lives by the law.

She’s running for her life.

After forensic accountant Beth Greenwood uncovers a money-laundering scheme tying her company to the organization that murdered her mentor, she knows she needs to go into hiding. With ruthless killers in pursuit, she’s forced to rely on homeland security agent Corbin Ross’s protection—even as his investigation suggests Beth is complicit in embezzlement. Can their uneasy alliance develop into something deeper—and keep them alive?


About the Author


A former naval reservist with a top-secret security clearance, Sherri writes rapid-fire suspense featuring captivating characters and heart-pounding romance. She's authored more than a dozen novels for Harper Collins publishing, including both historical and contemporary suspense.


Tour Giveaway


1 winner will win "A Little Bit More Romance Box," which includes the following items in a Decorative Box (pictured):
- Romance Bubble Bath
- Classic Cover Harlequin Notebook
- Collectible Addition Book of Romance Poems
- Romance Bath Bomb
- Scented Candle
- Fuzzy Socks
- Books: No Safe Place and His Substitute Mail-Order Bride by Sherri Shackelford, and Undercover Memories by Lenora Worth

US only
Ends January 23, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

With the Magic by Donna K. Weaver

With the Magic: Twickenham Time Travel Romance #7

Author: Donna K. Weaver

Publisher: Emerald Arch Publishing

Publish Date: February 14th. 2019

ASIN: B07MP4FTX2

e-book/181 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When Gareth Hildebrand travels from the year 1850 to a future time, he’s not expecting to fall in love.

As the eighth Earl of Kellworth, Gareth is accustomed to getting what he wants. Then he encounters a woman he suspects is from the future--a utopian future that he feels compelled to see. He intends to get what he wants, but it will involve dealing with fae magic. And that could lead to disaster--for his heart.

Dr. Catherine Ryan is drawn to the handsome guest at Twickenham Manor, with his odd combination of childish excitement and old eyes that have seen too much pain. She loses her heart to him before she discovers the truth of when he’s from. Now she faces the biggest decision of her life!

Also part of the Twickenham Time Travel Series:
— P.S. I Love You by Jo Noelle
— Love's Past by Laura D. Bastian
— Against the Magic by Donna K. Weaver
— Mistletoe Mayhem by Jo Noelle
— Love Match by Jo Noelle
— An Unexpected Gentleman by Laura Beers
— With the Magic by Donna K. Weaver
— Dating the Duke by Jen Geigle Johnson
— There's Always Tomorrow by Laura D. Bastian
— Enchanted Heart by Jaclyn Hardy


My review

It only took reading a couple pages and then I was completely immersed in the story. I enjoyed how this book stands alone, but all the books in the series intertwine. When I started reading, I felt like I already knew the characters. "Aunt" Nellie was quick to love and Gareth also won we over quickly. He had a certain quality that I eagerly wanted to read more about. Catherine too was wonderful. In fact, all of the characters were fantastic. I enjoyed Gareth and Catherine's "lessons" when Gareth was in the present time. I especially thought the first time Gareth tried on jeans was particularly fun. It made me smile when he asked why they looked so "worn". I loved Gareth and Catherine's "lessons" and how they got to know each other. It was also funny when Catherine told Gareth he couldn't carry a sword around London. I enjoyed the turn the story took and why the two had to travel back to Gareth's time. The couple's quiet moments were sweet and enduring, but they were both torn between their two worlds. 

5 out of 5 stars. The ending is quite perfect for the story. I will be checking out the other books in the series to get to know the other characters. 

Purchase links

FREE on Kindle Unlimited (when available) / Kindle e-book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Goodreads / Twitter

Monday, January 21, 2019

Escaping Neverland by Melissa Lemon - cover reveal

I am thrilled to share the cover of ESCAPING NEVERLAND by Melissa Lemon!

Book description

After being branded and threatened by pirates, Peter finds the perfect girl to bring back to Neverland. He plans to leave as soon as she's settled and abandon the Lost Boys and the promise of eternal youth forever. What he doesn't calculate into his plan, however, is the magnitude of Jane's charm.



Author links







Melissa Lemon began twisting fairy tales in the fifth grade when she wrote a story about George of the Jungle making his way to Neverland. She has since published several novels including Cinder and Ella (2011), Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem (2012), and Sleeping Beauty and the Beast (2014).  Melissa is married to a frog prince and has three princesses. She is also the warden of a tolerant cat named Matilda. Melissa loves yoga, hiking, making yummy treats, and especially spending time with family and friends. She lives at the mouth of a windy canyon where she is always working on her next project. Escaping Neverland will be published in June.

Excerpt

“I’ll only ask once more, Peter. After that, the boy dies.”
It seemed an eternity since the pirates had killed one of the Lost Boys. So long that Peter had to dig for the memory, but only just. How could he forget something like that? The image of Neverland’s lonely graveyard came to mind, situated at the top of a wide hill with only a handful of marked graves. Peter sighed, his only outer display of the defeat consuming him. How had their rivalry come to this? How had things gotten so messed up? “My age calculator is with the mermaids.”
Peter listened to Sven’s angry footsteps cross the floor followed by a short struggle, presumably with another pirate. Without warning Peter was falling fast. The ropes had been let go. He barely had time to flail his arms and legs before his head and back slammed onto the rock below. Peter’s mind spun, and a trickle of wet blood crept from underneath his head.
We’ll keep it safe, the mermaids had told him in their own language. Nobody will ever find it.
“I’ll go and get it for you,” Peter whispered. After speaking, Peter decided his lungs hurt worse than anything else.
He would go to the mermaids, ask for the dial, and bring it to Sven. Peter knew exactly why Sven wanted it, he just hadn’t wanted to admit it before—or perhaps he’d never dared to hope. His time in Neverland was coming to an end.

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Boneseeker: Here Walk the Dead by Brynn Chapman -- grand finale

On tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Here Walk the Dead
By Brynn Chapman

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

The year is 1910, and Arabella Holmes has met her lifelong dream of becoming a purveyor of abnormal science for the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Philadelphia. But academics and forensics were never a problem for Bella. People. Navigating people and the nuances of relationships is far more vexing than any anatomical puzzle or mystery...

Mythical Books - Review

"...the author succeeded to get my attention with the main plot but also with the romantic aspects well embedded in the general flow of the story. . . . The pace is an allegro, but there are also scenes in adante and presto tempos, depending on their nature and purpose. As the whole, they support the increasing tension that culminates in a life and death situation. Casualties? Yes. The possibility of a new chapter? Yes, and I cannot wait to read it!"

Oh Hey! Books. - Interview

Did you ever have a rough patch in writing, where nothing in the story seemed to fit or make sense?

Writing, is rough. Period. I’ve never met a writer who didn’t have periods of extreme productivity, and then periods of desolation. For me, the words are never the issue, its whatever extraneously may be happening in my life that whisks me away from my inner vortex.


"It goes deeper into the relationship between Arabella and Henry and the book is also generally a bit darker with lunatic asylums, social darwnism and shady medical practices. . . . I might add that it's also a bit refreshing seeing characters with Aspergers written in a "proper" way and not being a comic stereotype."


"I enjoyed the banter/romance between Bella and Henry, and can see readers really enjoying this! . . . I’m so happy that I read this series!"

Kimber Li - Guest Post

For Fans of the BONESEEKER SERIES, Why the wait?

BONESEEKER was released several years prior, with accolades from NY TIMES BEST SELLER Grace Burrowes, “Meticulously researched and terrific fun!” and was that years winner of the Young Adult Golden Leaf Award. Then…..several years past….

Wishful Endings - Excerpt & Review

“Frostbite can occur at zero degrees within five minutes for the first stage, which results in pain and tingling and most likely a full recovery. The second degree, the body pulls blood away from the extremities, resulting in blisters that may harden and blacken.”

I then recall the moulages he crafted of stage-four frostbite. My heartbeat goes wild. “Find! Newton! Find!”

He yips.

Newton bounds out of sight, and we all stumble forward, awkwardly plowing through the gathering mounds of snow.

"HERE WALK THE DEAD is a thrilling ride as Bella and Henry try to fit into society's expectations while also trying to figure out why girls keep disappearing and where they go. Recommended to readers who enjoy gritty Gothic mysteries with sizzling romance."


A Visual Tour of Here Walk the Dead

In case you’re new to the series…here’s where we are.

Arabella Holmes—yes, daughter of that Holmes—wants to return to her job as a purveyor of abnormal science. She has temporarily been demoted to a botanist, until her love interest, Henry Watson—yes, that Watson—can help her get her less-than-professional outbursts in check. Henry is tired of his new role as doctor, tired of the lack of adventure, and tired of keeping Bella's escapades out of the papers. Five girls are missing. Gone from locked rooms in their own houses. Arabella and Henry are called upon to help solve the kidnappings, but all they unearth is more danger...


"a spellbinding adventure, with friends and fiends both old and new, embroiled in one over-arcing sinister plot. . . . Filled with thrills and chills and let's not forget about romance, fans of Sherlock Holmes will love the world this talented author has expanded upon. I adored the development of these characters and the way the plot echoed the struggles our heroes were going through. Excellently paced and rife with wit and charm, Boneseeker is a historical suspense series you will gladly sink your teeth into."


Prologue

The Lost

The reek of chloroform.

I thrash, instinctively wrenching away from the stench of the cloying rag, but too late. There is a simultaneous prick and burn as a needle jabs the crook of my arm.

I’ve had too many inhalations. I battle my eyes open.

Two men rummage through my personal effects.

The carriage—gone. In an instant, I am slung over one of their backs, dangling limp as a child’s rag- doll.


Oliver

I leave The Bell in Hand and stand stock-still in the middle of the road. The moon is white and full as a pearl, suspended in the black, sooty sky. I cannot go home and face my dreary one-room solitary confinement at the boarding house. Staring at the ceiling as the uninvited images of Arabella enter my weary mind.

That ruddy Englishman. He has ruined every plan I made. All I needed was time, first to befriend her. Then…

Sleep will not come, regardless, but…

Baroness Book Trove - Review & Interview

"Boneseeker: Here Walk the Dead by Brynn Chapman is a compelling novel. Very different from the first one but still very Sherlock Holmesy. His daughter though is at it again and getting things done her way. . . . I am still in love with Holmes and Watson the next generation. . . . I recommend this book to fans of Sherlock. It is a good read."

What was your favorite character to write and why?

Henry and Bella have been living in my head for a very long time now…so, just like my children, I love them for different reasons.

I love Henry for his heart, his compassion, and his fearlessness under fire. And his uncompromising love for Bella, no matter what the rest of the world thinks.

I love Bella for her complexity. Her innocence, and her pain, and her courage to continue to try to connect with Henry and others she loves, despite it being nearly unnatural for her.


"This is an eerie, compelling tale. . . .The characters are diverse, intriguing and the reader will feel involved in their lives. . . . it was a very captivating tale."

"Book two of the Booneseeker is even better than the first book! . . . The added characters are [just] as diverse and interesting as those in the previous novel. . . . The tale ends solidly, leaving the reader eager for more."


"This is one suspense filled and fun read. I had to have it read in one sitting. . . . I hope there will be another book in The Boneseeker Chronicles series. I enjoy catching up with Arabella and Henry and seeing what adventure they will get into next. They are quite the pair and I love how they interact with one another. . . . I recommend Here Walk the Dead, as well as, the beginning to this series, Boneseeker. "

Colorimetry - Guest Post

WHERE ARE WE?

Setting. It matters.

As I write historicals, I do my utmost to visit if not the actual place, then a facsimile of it. There is not a substitute for experiencing the sights, smells and sounds of wherever a book takes place.

That goes for readers and well as writers. For HERE WALK THE DEAD, I toured an asylum in the state of West Virginia, twice...


"Here Walk the Dead is a wonderful follow-up to Boneseeker. . . . you are going to love Here Walk the Dead. . . . I love this story because it is super suspenseful, and much of the plot is historically accurate. . . . I highly recommend Here Walk the Dead and Boneseeker!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Here Walk the Dead
(The Boneseeker Chronicles #2)
By Brynn Chapman
Historical Romantic Suspense, Gothic
Paperback & ebook, 250 Pages
January 14th 2019 by The Wild Rose Press, Inc

Arabella Holmes—yes, daughter of that Holmes—wants to return to her job as a purveyor of abnormal science. She has temporarily been demoted to a botanist, until her love interest, Henry Watson—yes, that Watson—can help her get her less-than-professional outbursts in check.

Henry is tired of his new role as doctor, tired of the lack of adventure, and tired of keeping Bella's escapades out of the papers.

Five girls are missing. Gone from locked rooms in their own houses. Arabella and Henry are called upon to help solve the kidnappings, but all they unearth is more danger.

Bella ventures undercover into a lunatic asylum, where a mute woman assaults her and scrawls the chilling words—Here the dead wake. Plus, a vial of Bella's research poison has gone missing. Bella and Henry must find it, and the missing girls, before charges can be brought against her.

Praise for HERE WALK THE DEAD:

"Dark twists and turns abound in this fast-paced and riveting gothic thriller. I consumed it in one sitting!" ~USA TODAY BESTSELLER, Lea Nolan
Other Books in the Series

Boneseeker
(The Boneseeker Chronicles #1)
By Brynn Chapman
Historical Romantic Suspense, Gothic
Paperback & ebook, 213 Pages
January 10th 2018 by The Wild Rose Press, Inc

Aspiring scientist Arabella Holmes doesn't fit the role of a 1900s lady. Her father, Sherlock, landed her a position at the Mütter Museum to pursue her dream of becoming a purveyor of abnormal science, or what her father calls a "Boneseeker."

Henry Watson’s two-fold mission at the Mütter Museum is to join their team of forensic anthropologists in unearthing unusual antiquities and to watch over Arabella. If only he could get her to speak to him, instead of hurling knives in his general direction. Assigned to a most secret expedition to investigate a mysterious skeletal hand discovered in upstate New York, Arabella and Henry are soon caught in a scientific debate, and the search for the truth may have deadly consequences for those involved.

Are the bones from a Neanderthal? Or are they living proof of fallen angels known as Nephilim?

Watson and Holmes must put aside their differences, trust their instincts, and rely on one another to survive to uncover the truth.

*This is a new version of a previously published edition

Praise for BONESEEKER:

Winner of the New Jersey Romance Writers Golden Leaf Contest

"Creative, meticulously researched, and terrific fun!"  ~Grace Burrowes, NY Times Best Selling Author

"The characters, the setting, the descriptions and the mysteries and relationships all work together seamlessly to create a truly wonderful story that I completely adored." ~Best Books Ever Blog

"The settings are intriguing and the way they are described make you feel as if you are immersed in the story. I could feel the gloom and damp. That is rare in so many books! Boneseeker is a book I highly recommend, and I give it 5 stars!" ~Christy's Cozy Corners Blog

About the Author


Born and raised in western Pennsylvania, Brynn Chapman is the daughter of two teachers. Her writing reflects her passions: science, history and love--not necessarily in that order. In real life, the geek gene runs strong in her family, as does the Asperger's syndrome. Her writing reflects her experience as a pediatric therapist and her interactions with society's downtrodden. In fiction, she's a strong believer in underdogs and happily-ever-afters. Her ancestry tree claims she's a descendant of the House of Stuart.


Tour Giveaway


- GRAND PRIZE: One winner will receive a $10 Amazon eGift Card and a Print Copy of BONESEEKER
Two winners will receive an Audiobook of BONESEEKER
One winner will receive a Print Copy of BONESEEKER
- Open internationally
- Ends January 23, 2019

Grab Our Button!