Friday, May 17, 2019

Charlotte's Promise by Jennifer Moore -- blog tour

Charlotte's Promise

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: Covenant
Published: May 2019

ISBN13: 9781524409333

Paperback/ebook: 218 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary


One year ago Charlotte Bower’s life was ripped apart when Creek Indians attacked, killed her parents, and separated her from her young brother—now, she will stop at nothing to find him. After a year of captivity, she has finally made her escape. Her search will begin in New Orleans, where captives were taken after the raid. But how to reach a city hundreds of miles away? As she watches men boarding a waiting ship, Charlotte formulates a bold plan: if it’s men they need for the ship’s crew, it’s a man they’ll get. Taking on her childhood nickname, Charlie, it is all too easy to gain passage on the New Orleans-bound vessel. Easy, that is, until Charlie is caught . . .
From the moment he sets eyes on the new deckhand, Captain Alden Thatcher knows one thing for certain: Charlie Bower is no man. But for reasons of his own, he keeps her secret. As their journey progresses, however, the voyage is increasingly ill-fated. With danger ever present, Charlie and the captain find themselves relying on one another in ways they’d never imagined. As they draw closer to her goal, Charlotte is faced with the most perilous adventure of all—an adventure that may risk her heart.

My review

Charlotte's Promise is another wonderful book from Jennifer Moore. I absolutely love her books. They are always full of heart and adventure. I instantly loved Charlotte. Her determination and drive were inspiring. Alden too was wonderful. I really enjoyed how "Charlie" did not fool him and I was glad he knew the secret so early on. This author always delivers an enjoyable story, all while giving the reader a history lesson too. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Daisies and Devotion by Josi S. Kilpack -- blog tour/giveaway

ARC GIVEAWAY!

Daisies and Devotion

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Expected publish date: May 14th, 2019

ISBN13: 9781629725529

Paperback/e-book: 304 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Timothy Mayfield is ready to marry for love, but, since his personal finances are thinner than he’d like, he knows he’ll also need to find a wife with wealth. After receiving an unexpected inheritance, Timothy’s circumstances change, and he is free to pursue his “perfect woman”—one with blonde hair, blue eyes, a light laugh, arched eyebrows, elegant fingers, and a dazzling smile, among nearly twenty other characteristics. 

Maryann Morrington doesn’t match anything on Timothy’s list—except for wealth. An heiress in her own right, she is tired of men pursuing her only for her money. But at nearly twenty-two years old, and not a particularly stunning beauty, she can’t be as picky as her friend Timothy is.

The two friends end up playing matchmaker for each other. Timothy will find a decent gentleman for Maryann, and Maryann will prove to Timothy that his “perfect woman” doesn’t exist.

Until Miss Shaw comes to London.

Now, with Timothy’s heart captivated by the blonde, blue-eyed beauty, Maryann must decide if she should risk her heart and reveal her true feelings for her friend, or if she should settle for someone else. It’s an up-and-down game of “he loves me, he loves me not” with both hearts and friendship on the line.


My review

This book is another triumph for this talented author. I look forward to every book Josi Kilpack releases. This book was no different. I loved it! Each character is unique and simply wonderful. I appreciate the character growth. There is a warmth to the story that I love. You truly feel and care for these characters, especially Maryann. She is a fantastic character. I loved her direct "no nonsense" way. Wonderful character growth throughout. 

5 out of 5 stars

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice by John Grisham -- Spotlight/Kids Know Best

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice

Author: John Grisham

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Expected publish date: May 14th, 2019

ISBN13: 9780525556268

Hardcover/e-book: 224 pages

Goodreads Summary

Theodore Boone is back on the case in an all-new adventure! Bestselling author John Grisham delivers a page-turning legal thriller for a new generation of readers.

Theo has been worried about his good friend Woody Lambert. Woody is struggling at school and making bad choices. But when Woody is arrested—an unwitting accomplice to armed robbery—Theo knows he is innocent. Racing the clock while Woody sits in jail, Theo will do everything in his power to help his friend and save Woody from an unforgiving system where justice is not equal for all.

Brimming with the intrigue and suspense that made John Grisham a #1 international bestseller and undisputed master of the modern legal thriller, Theodore Boone’s trials and triumphs will keep readers hooked until the very last page.


Purchase links

Amazon hardcover / Amazon e-book / Barnes and Noble

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website


About the author

John Grisham is the author of thirty novels, one work of nonfiction, a collection of stories, and six novels for young readers.




















Monday, May 6, 2019

A Song for the Stars by Ilima Todd -- blog tour

A Song for the Stars

Author: Ilima Todd

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: April 2nd 2019

ISBN13: 9781629725284

Hardcover/ebook: 352 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Inspired by a true story

Hawaiian Islands, 1779

As the second daughter of a royal chief, Maile will be permitted to marry for love. Her fiancé is the best navigator in Hawaiʻi, and he taught her everything he knows—how to feel the ocean, observe the winds, read the stars, and how to love.

But when sailors from a strange place called England arrive on her island, a misunderstanding ends in battle, and Maile is suddenly widowed before she is wed.

Finding herself in the middle of the battle and fearing for her life, Maile takes John Harbottle, the wounded man who killed her fiancé, prisoner, and though originally intending to let him die, she reluctantly heals him. And in the process, she discovers the man she thought was her enemy might be her ally instead.

John has been Captain James Cook’s translator for three voyages across the Pacific. He is kind and clearly fascinated with her homeland and her people—and Maile herself. But guilt continues to drive a wedge between them: John’s guilt over the death he caused, and Maile’s guilt over the truth about what triggered the deadly battle—a secret she’s kept hidden from everyone on the island.

When Maile is tasked with teaching John how to navigate using the stars so he can sail back to England, they must also navigate the challenges of being from very different cultures. In doing so, they might also find the peace that comes when two hearts become one.
 


My review

I absolutely loved this book. The way it is told, is very enjoyable. I loved the two perspectives of Maile and John. John's was told in journal form, the pages in the book even reflected that. A very nice touch. Maile is wonderful. Such a strong, ambitious leader in so many ways. The story is lovely and the setting itself is a character. I loved the author's descriptions of the ways of the Hawaiians, their cultures and beliefs. I didn't want the book to end.

5 out of 5 stars.  

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website


Friday, May 3, 2019

Heaven's Edge by Jennifer Silverwood -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Heaven's Edge Box Set
By Jennifer Silverwood

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

. . . Over the years and between releasing my “big” books, I worked with editor and friend, Jessica Augustsson to breathe back life into this mini series. It’s been one epic steam-clunking ride, reinventing this world from my childhood. I hope you’re ready to take a tour to the Rim with me.

Enjoy the adventure!

—Jennifer


Book One: Qeya

My childhood lullaby was the metallic blend of grinding gears, of hissing hydro fans and the growl of plasma engines burning. It had been so long since our feet had trodden the soft soils of Datura that we would have tripped on solid ground. No other mining vessel had spent as long in the heavens as us. Explorers were few and far between, so deep on the rim of the universe, that when we chanced upon each other, our visits turned into one long party.

Mother and Father, who led because they had been born to lead and couldn’t function any other way, asked the usual questions. “Have you been to the Center of late? What changes have come to the core worlds?” And their answers were always the same. No change, no reassurance that our home world was free from tyranny and the royal family could return at last. We were cursed to float eternally on this hunk of scrap metal, doomed to never set foot off of it.

Colorimetry - Excerpt

QEYA

Moments pass through life that are impossible to take back, stepping stones that may lead you on a path you were meant to take. And sometimes a stepping stone breaks loose and you plunge into the river instead. This was one of those moments.

Glancing at the keypad fastened to the inner lift wall, I hesitated only a moment before pressing the wrong button. Shutting my eyes, I wondered what my punishment for this would be and then squashed the idea out of my head. Though I would never admit it to them, the twins had a point about taking risks. What else was life worth living in the end?


QEYA

There are moments in time when the axis of the universe shifts, when life as you knew it is irrevocably altered. When the hiss and grind of the gears fell silent, some deeply rooted instinctive part of me knew this was one of those moments.

The constant dull clanging and press of our engine faded into an oppressive silence, where I could hear the beat of our hearts and shaky breaths. I wondered if I was losing my water because I knew the idea of Datura 3shutting down was impossible. Even though we were still orbiting above the hostile world while Pioneer explored, our ship had not ceased in motion since we stepped on it seven years before. I counted the quiet by the beats of my heart. What took an instant to process in my mind was not much longer than the wait. The ship echoed a pained groan and then the floor beneath our feet began to shift. Ohre’s hand was on my arm instantly, steadying me before I could tip into the pipework lain against the wall.

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

OHRE

The first time I saw Qeya was the moment my life began. I wasn’t supposed to be on third deck that day, when she came to watch the miners cook and avoid the Royals. I learned after this that she often did that, came to sit with her mealtime bowl and watched us work. It seemed strange to see so much wisdom and sorrow on a face so young.

Living in the eternal darkness of the lower decks I had heard rumors about the Royal family. We all knew it was because of them we were stuck on Datura 3, forever sailing the stars without a port of call. Yes, there was plenty to mine and every pirate ship we came across paid us thousands for our goods. For some below it was the dream life, far better than scrapping it in the deep cave wastes on home world. But I hadn’t spent all my days on a miner ship. I still remembered the smell of salty sea air and the glow of the undersea palaces at night. As a boy I slipped out of the slums, past the guard and into that sea to catch a glimpse of it. Something the Royals didn’t know—or had chosen to forget—was that we all came from the sea.


"A quick and interesting read. . . . I liked the unique way this world is set up, and the ‘humans’ and other characters I met. . ."


Adi stalked off to the camp and the ruined ship to continue her search after throwing the scanner onto the sand at my feet. I was satisfied she would take her fire out on tearing the deck apart. Meanwhile, I readied Qeya for our journey.

The best defense in alien waters was not our biosuits, which were designed for heaven and hostile environments. But her eyes grew to new depths when I told her to strip down. She subconsciously covered her chest. “I’m not taking this off. And I need my tool belt anyway.”

Bri's Book Nook - Review

"I loved the characters and I loved the romance in this novella! . . . I can’t wait to read the next books in the box set and figure out what happens to the characters after this story ends!

I would definitely recommend this novella to anyone looking for a new YA fantasy/Scifi/romance novel."

We Write Fantasy - Excerpt

I glanced at Qeya while keeping my eyes on the cave we had called home for too short a time.

Now we were alone, I wanted to ask her more questions, about this valley, and especially why the Nuki stayed in the interior. I squashed the harder questions that insisted on rising to the surface, like why she chose to stay in her village instead of coming with us. Not that I didn’t agree with her choice. But maybe I was regretting leaving without asking her first.

Hallie Reads - Review

". . . the Heaven’s Edge series is a quick, enjoyable read.

With unique “world”-building, characters in plenty of danger, and some unexpected turns, these stories kept me entertained from start to finish."


TAMN

My life both began and ended with a crash.

“Strap in! Shields are down!” Captain shouted over the alarm blaring throughout the shuttle.

I barely had time to make sure the rest of my crew was strapped in before the second shudder hit their outer hull. “Qori, hang onto our chole packs!” I shouted, the same moment Adi, the miner swung in front of me, wrapping an arm around my waist.

“Hang on to your scythe, Royal,” she said with a cheeky grin. Her arm was the only thing that kept me from colliding with the pipes and gears overhead. For a moment, we hung together suspended midair, legs flailing, as the lights flickered inside the compartment.

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post, if you haven't already...

Heaven's Edge Box Set
(Heaven's Edge #1-#3)
By Jennifer Silverwood
YA SciFi, Steampunk
ebook, 290 Pages
July 10, 2018 by JayHenge Publishing

Only by working together will they survive...

A group of refugees from a powerful, sophisticated Core World planet have been on the run for seven years. The mission was to get away and give their children some time to grow up and help them carry on the cause. The cause was to help the rebellion, win the war and go home. But things didn’t quite turn out the way they planned.

QEYA #1

Qeya, the future Queen of Datura, can't do much about her red hair, but she knows how to wield a scythe blade and suck the life out of her enemy, literally. Life seems great, if a little boring on heaven's edge. Until her ship is attacked and nearly everyone on board is murdered. Now, the miner who saved her is the only thing standing between her and the hungry beasts hunting them.

OHRE #2

All Ohre wants is the kind of freedom a life in the sea can give. But he doesn't want to live it alone anymore. He wants the princess and if Qeya won’t come willingly, he’ll make her.

TAMN #3

Tamn has always lived by a code. He doesn't question his duty. Until his crew is stranded on a hostile alien world and he's forced to watch the girl he loves burn in the sky. Stripped of his reason for living, the voices from his past haunt and guide him in a path of endless retribution. Only the strongest will survive the trials ahead and Tamn is determined to keep the family he has left alive.

MEET THE CREW HERE

**Box Set includes first three Heaven's Edge Novellas**


About the Author


Jennifer Silverwood was raised deep in the heart of Texas and has been spinning yarns a mile high since childhood. In her spare time, she reads and writes and tries to sustain her wanderlust, whether it's the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania, the highlands of Ecuador, or a road trip to the next town. Always on the lookout for her next adventure, in print or reality, she dreams of one day proving to the masses that everything really is better in Texas. She is the author of three series--Heaven's Edge, Wylder Tales and the Borderlands Saga--and the stand-alone titles Stay and She Walks in Moonlight. She recently released her first serialized Urban Fantasy, Angel Blue in August 2018.


Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $50 Amazon eGift Card
3 winners will receive a digital/print copy (print to US only) of any book of their choosing in Jennifer's backlist
- Open internationally
- Ends May 8, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Friday, April 26, 2019

Wizard for Hire: Apprentice Needed by Obert Skye -- blog tour

Wizard for Hire: Apprentice Needed

Author: Obert Skye

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: April 2019

ISBN13: 9781629725291

Hardcover/ebook: 416 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Ozzy Toffy’s adventure, which began in Wizard for Hire, continues when one dark and windy night, he gets out of bed, jumps out his window, and walks straight into the ocean.

More than ever, Ozzy could really use the services of Rin, the wizard he hired to help find his parents — but Rin is missing, despite Ozzy’s continual attempts to contact him. And Clark, the mechanical bird his father left him, is as peculiar and vain as ever.

When a mysterious package arrives, Ozzy and his good friend Sigi are sure that the plane ticket and thumb drive they find inside are from Rin. Trying to get Clark through security at the airport proves complicated — as most things are with Clark. But when they arrive in New York, they discover there’s even more adventure in store for them.

Will Rin return and save the day? Will Ozzy figure out why he keeps walking into the ocean? Can Sigi find a way to trust her delinquent father? Will someone please appreciate Clark the way he’d like to be appreciated? For once?

Wizard for Hire: Apprentice Needed is a story filled with humor and excitement that shows us the magic in everyday things.
 


My review

I really enjoyed this sequel. I liked just as much, if not more, than the first one. Obert Skye's writing is unique and very styled. I like the way he interprets humor in his books too. This book is such a fun adventure. I really loved it.

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon hardcover / Deseret Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page


Wednesday, April 17, 2019

The Spitting Post by Jason R Barden -- book blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Blitz for
The Spitting Post
By Jason R. Barden

The Spitting Post
By Jason R. Barden
Dark Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 220 Pages
December 8th 2017 by The Wild Rose Press

Vincent Carpenter’s life is a wreck. He has given up his dreams. He has lost his job after an economic disaster. His ten-year marriage is crumbling. Then he awakens in a maniacal land of frighteningly vivid realism with skull trees, glowing forests, ravenous beasts, and other psychologically haunting adversity.

While traveling through this demented unearthly world, he has a chance encounter with a beautiful maiden dressed in green; before he can start a conversation, she disappears into the unknown. Vincent must try to find her at a fantastical place known as the Spitting Post. But first he must overcome many macabre misfortunes and face nightmares that question his sanity. Will he reach her? What will the Spitting Post reveal? Will he suffer more disappointment and tragedy? Or will he find peace at last?


Excerpt

I was lost in thought when again I heard the violin’s call. It was close this time—too close. I stopped and surveyed the land with terrified eyes, growing more anxious with each passing note. The ambient tune working itself into a manic frenzy. Can’t they shut up? With that racket the beast would find us, and I knew what would happen when it did. There would be no more violin playing for that musician, and I would never find The Green Maiden.

I scanned the countryside for the insane violinist and spotted him on a small hill just to my right. When I saw his ghastly appearance, I almost wished I hadn’t found him. He was a stout man dressed in total blackness with a red violin resting against his shoulder. His skin was a brilliant white, as white as a bed sheet. On his head was a black top hat, and he wore a twisted grin on his porcelain face.

“What are you doing?” I yelled. “It will hear us!”

The man said nothing and kept playing his maddening melody.

“Are you crazy?”

The man opened his mouth wide and without moving his lips, he said, “Precisely.”

Then he began to cry tears of blood, yet still he played. The blood rolled down his face and pooled on the grass. Then I came to a grotesque realization. He was not playing for amusement; he was calling the beast.

Looking for Reviewers

We're looking for reviewers to post to online sites by May 31st. If interested, SIGN UP HERE.

About the Author


Jason R. Barden began writing poetry around the age of thirteen. At age thirty-three, he transitioned into dark fantasy and horror fiction. His first novel The Spitting Post is available at Amazon and other online retailers. In addition to writing, he enjoys hiking and photography.


Blitz Giveaway


1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon eGift Card
Ends April 21, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Thursday, April 4, 2019

Miss Adeline's Match -- blog tour/giveaway

Miss Adeline's Match

Author: Joanna Barker

Publisher: Covenant

Published: April 1st, 2019

ISBN13: 9781524408800

Paperback/e-book: 263 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Miss Adeline Hayes is the perfect lady's companion: pleasant, conversational, and unceasingly proper. But when her closest friend, Charity Edgeworth, breaks off her arranged marriage without explanation, even Adeline's superior skills are put to the test. Charity's father banishes the two young women to the country, sending Adeline with a charge to find Charity a husband or suffer dire consequences.

As Adeline takes on the role of reluctant matchmaker, she discovers more than one obstacle in her path. Not only does Charity prefer escaping in books to socializing, but Adeline soon finds her own attentions distracted by the standoffish—and irritatingly handsome—Mr. Evan Whitfield. Amidst an eventful foxhunt and the unexpected arrival of Charity's former betrothed, Adeline simply doesn't have time for a battle of wits with Evan. But the two are continually drawn together until Adeline begins to question her tightly guarded convictions about love and marriage. 


However, when secrets are revealed and truths made known, Adeline must face her most fearsome obstacle yet: herself.
 


My review

First of all, this cover is amazing! It really sets the tone for this book. I absolutely loved this book. It is enjoyable from start to finish. The setting is fabulous too. The authors plants intriguing seeds that kept me reading and reading (without giving away everything at once.) Adeline is a wonderful character, who plays her part of lady's companion, almost too well. I love the progressive way Adeline and Evan's relationship was written. This book is full of charm and hope. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Facebook author page


Tour schedule




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 1, 2019

A Monster Like Me by Wendy Swore -- blog tour

A Monster Like Me

Author: Wendy Swore

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 5, 2019

ISBN13: 9781629725550

Hardcover/e-book: 304 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

There are trolls, goblins, and witches. Which kind of monster is Sophie?

Sophie is a monster expert. Thanks to her Big Book of Monsters and her vivid imagination, Sophie can identify the monsters in her school and neighborhood. Clearly, the bullies are trolls and goblins. Her nice neighbor must be a good witch, and Sophie’s new best friend is obviously a fairy. But what about Sophie? She’s convinced she is definitely a monster because of the “monster mark” on her face. At least that’s what she calls it. The doctors call it a blood tumor. Sophie tries to hide it but it covers almost half her face. And if she’s a monster on the outside, then she must be a monster on the inside, too.

Being the new kid at school is hard. Being called a monster is even harder. Sophie knows that it’s only a matter of time before the other kids, the doctors, and even her mom figure it out. And then her mom will probably leave — just like her dad did.

Because who would want to live with a real monster?

Inspired by real events in the author’s life, A Monster Like Me teaches the importance of believing in oneself, accepting change, and the power of friendship.


My review

This is a very sweet book with a wonderful message. I loved the beginning of each chapter. Some of the entries, I felt, could be over a younger reader's head, but I enjoyed each one. I appreciated Sophie's enduring journey of self discovery. What she learned about herself and how she thought she was a "monster". Autumn, "the Witch", and Mom were wonderful, as was Kelsi. As much as I enjoyed the book, the ending where Sophia was "breaking her spell" brought tears to my eyes. It hurts my heart knowing how children and people are treated for their differences. I loved how this book was based on true events that the author experienced. This book has a wonderful message of courage, love, bravery, and believing in the magic that is in all of us. 

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon hardcover / Deseret Book

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website / Twitter


Author's Note

Sophie’s story is dear to my heart because I know how it feels to be bullied because I looked different from everyone else. When I was a child, I had a hemangioma on my forehead that stuck out so far my bangs couldn’t cover it, no matter how hard my mother tried. Because the tumor was made up of blood vessels, I could feel my heart beating inside it when I was playing hard or really upset.
The incident at the grocery store where the hydra lady says, “Hey, look kids! That girl doesn’t need a Halloween costume. She’s already got one!” is an exact quote of what a woman once said to my mother and me. Another woman told a classroom full of kids that I had the mark of the devil. Kids asked if it was a goose bump, or hamburger, or if my brains had leaked out. My dad had to chase away some bullies who had followed me home, called me names, and pushed me into the street. Sometimes, after a bad day of bullying, I wished I could just rip the mark off my face and be like everyone else—but it was a part of me, and wishing didn’t change that.
My parents decided to take an active role in educating the people around me so they would know what a hemangioma was and understand that it wasn’t icky, or gross, or contagious. Whenever we moved to a new place, my dad would go with me to the elementary school and talk to the kids about my mark and let them ask questions. After those talks, kids befriended me and noticed when bullies came around. Like Autumn, my school friends would speak up when they saw someone being mean to me, and sometimes they would stand between me and the bullies until they left me alone. I didn’t let the bullies stop me from doing what I wanted to do. I climbed trees, went swimming, wrote poetry, brought my tarantula and snakes to show-and-tell, and played in the tide pools.
This is my message to anyone who experiences bullying: Don’t let the bullies define you! I’ve been there, I know it hurts to be teased, but don’t let it stop you from doing what you want. Find something you enjoy—a hobby, talent, or challenge—and practice that skill. Know that someone out there, maybe even someone in your same school, needs a friend as much as you do. Be that friend. Stand up for each other. And know that you are not alone.

You can always find me at WendySwore.com, and I would love to hear your stories and what you thought of the book.

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

The Five Legends by Anasazi Foundation -- spotlight/giveaway

The Five Legends

The Anasazi Foundation

Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers

Published: January 2019

ISBN13: 978-1523098255

Paperback/e-book: 120 pages

Summary

Drawing on 30 years of helping families, this profound fable by the Anasazi Foundation illustrates the true anguish of conflict and explains how we can end war within ourselves, within our families, and even between nations.

Created in 1988 by renowned wilderness pioneers Larry D. Olsen and Ezekiel C. Sanchez (a Totonac Indian whose native name is Good Buffalo Eagle), the Anasazi Foundation invites young people, through a primitive living experience, to effect a change of heart. For over thirty years, their teachings have helped families begin anew and walk in harmony in the wilderness of the world. 

Inspired by their wisdom, this book tells the story of two brothers whose warring hearts threaten to destroy their lives and their community. Trapped in a canyon, the two brothers are rescued by a mysterious old man who perceives their need for peace. He offers to guide them home -- inviting them to open their hearts toward a New Beginning. When they agree, he teaches them the five legends of peace. And as they walk forward, they learn that we are free to create peace in our own lives--and how to do it. This discovery saves not only the brothers but ultimately their people. This poetic narrative offers us all a hopeful way out of the canyons of war, leaving behind the warring within.


Spotlight

This is a fascinating book with a good message.

Purchase links

Amazon paperback / Amazon e-book 

Amazon author page



a Rafflecopter giveaway