Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Kiss of the Spindle by Nancy Campbell Allen -- Blog Tour

Kiss of the Spindle: A Steampunk Sleeping Beauty

Author: Nancy Campbell Allen

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: July 3rd, 2018

ISBN13: 97816297224140

Paperback: 360 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Doctor Isla Cooper is cursed. Literally. Each night, at the stroke of midnight she falls into a death-like sleep from which she cannot be awakened for six hours. To make it worse, the curse has an expiration date—after a year, it becomes permanent. And the year is almost up.

In a desperate attempt to find Malette—the witch who cursed her—Isla blackmails her way onto Daniel Pickett's private airship bound for the Caribbean, only to discover she's traveling with three illegal shapeshifters and the despicable Nigel Crowe, a government official determined to hunt down and exterminate every shapeshifter in England. Isla and Daniel must work together to keep the identities of the shapeshifters hidden while coming to terms with their own hidden secrets, and their blossoming attraction to each other.

Filled with suspense, intrigue, and plenty of romance, Kiss of the Spindle is steampunk Sleeping Beauty story. It is a race against the clock as Isla and Daniel try to hunt down the elusive Malette before Isla's death-like sleep becomes permanent.


My review

Kiss of the Spindle is another amazing book from this talented author. Sleeping Beauty is my favorite Disney movie, I was so excited to read book and I was not at all disappointed. I loved it. The characters were spot on. Isla and Daniel are perfect. I also enjoyed the supporting characters too. Isla was so amazing. Her "no nonsense" way was fun and I loved the back and forth between her and Daniel. Not only is Isla tough, but is also extremely compassionate and caring. She had a great relationship with the others on the voyage. I enjoyed the mystery of the spell Isla is under and how she had to learn to rely on others for help. Daniel, oh Daniel. He was a dreamy delight. So protective and charismatic. I appreciated how the author planted several plots to keep the story going and didn't dump all the information. It was a perfect way to keep me reading and wanting more. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads / Twitter / Amazon author page

Purchase Links

Amazon Kindle / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Barnes and Noble


Saturday, July 28, 2018

My Brother's Bride by Rachael Anderson -- Cover Reveal/Giveaway


Coming in November!

I love Rachael's books and I am excited to share this cover with you.

Add to Goodreads shelves



Abigail Nash leads a lonely existence. Her mother died giving birth to her, her father's business dealings took him away more often than not, and her ailing great-aunt, unable to provide much in the way of companionship, was a lack-luster guardian at best. So when her dear friends offered to launch her into London society, it appeared Abby's life was taking a turn for the better, with suitors and social engagements aplenty. When she marries a proclaimed darling of the ton, it seems she will at last settle into the life of her dreams.

But appearances aren't always what they seem, and dreams often become disappointments.

Just months into her marriage, Abby finds herself widowed, penniless, increasing, and determined to never hope again. But when her late husband's brother, the Earl of Brigston, attempts to thaw the numbness surrounding her heart, Abby must decide if she has it in her to risk another chance at happiness, knowing the odds are not in her favor.
 


Author Rachael Anderson
A USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can’t sing, doesn’t dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.

Enter the giveaway!

$25 Amazon Gift Code or $25 in Paypal Cash
Ends 8/31/18
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 23, 2018

As Wide as the Sky by Jessica Pack

As Wide as the Sky

Author: Jessica Pack

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.

Publish date: July 31st, 2018

ISBN13: 9781496718167

Paperback: 352 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Five a.m.: Amanda Mallorie wakes to the knowledge that her son Robbie is gone. And a new chapter of her own life must begin. She has spent four years as her son's only support, desperately trying to understand the actions that landed him on death row and to change his fate. Now Amanda faces an even more difficult task--finding a way, and a reason, to move forward with her own life.

Before the tragedy that unfolded in a South Dakota mall, Robbie was just like other people's sons or daughters. Sometimes troubled, but sweet and full of goodness too. That's the little boy Amanda remembers as she packs up his childhood treasures and progress reports, and discovers a class ring she's never seen before. Who does it belong to and why did Robbie have it in his possession? So begins a journey that will remind her not only of who Robbie used to be, but of a time when she wasn't afraid--to talk to strangers, to help those in need, to reach out. Robbie's choices can never be unmade, but there may still be time for forgiveness and trust to grow again. For a future as wide as the sky.
 


My review

Where do I begin? I absolutely loved this book. It is one of my favorite reads of the year. The way the author told this story was thought provoking and inspiring. You are truly able to see so many sides of this heartbreaking, yet triumphant story. The pages turned quickly as I wanted to see how Amanda and the others try to pick up the pieces of their lives. Each character is a treasure and each character has a purpose. Without giving too much away, I loved how this story was told. I loved the "countdowns" that began each chapter. I enjoyed figuring out what each one meant for each character. Every character was important and cherished each one. A couple were wonderful surprises that brought smiles every time they were on the page. And the ending, well, basically the last few chapters, are the perfect ending to a beautiful story. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Goodreads / Website / Amazon page / Twitter

Purchase links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Saturday, July 21, 2018

The Golden Plates Blog Tour





Purchase the collection here!

What are the Golden Plates? 
Watch the video 

The Golden Plates: Premium Edition Six Issue Collection, contains all 6 issues of an adaptation of the fifth best selling book of all time, The Book of Mormon, which has sold over 120 million copies. This graphic novel/comic book adaptation was first illustrated in 2005 by award winning artist Michael Allred. This book includes 207 full color pages as well as 10 pages of commentary from Michael Allred on what inspired him to step out of his successful career in the comic book industry to create the series. His decision to leave high paying jobs for almost a year to create The Golden Plates was hailed as “the biggest announcement in Mormon comics ever.” Allred described his work on The Golden Plates as “the most significant thing I’ll ever be a part of” and “by far my most personal work ever...this is something I simply had to do.” “Anyone interested in stories about human beings rising to their highest and most heroic potential will find that here...I’ve never been more alive with drawing anything in my life.” The Premium Edition has replaced the full scriptural text originally included in the first edition with simplified, reworded text, making the story easier for younger readers to follow and also showcasing more of the stunning artwork. This book covers from 1st Nephi through the Words of Mormon (27% of the Book of Mormon) and contains all the artwork from the six issue series as well as bonus artwork that includes black and white art, alternate covers, and some of the original promotional materials created for the first release.

Review:
The Golden Plates is a fun and creative way to read the scriptures. I enjoyed the illustrations and the dialog/story was true to the scriptures (with some changes for creative purposes). My younger daughter enjoyed reading them too!

Giveaway link


Friday, July 20, 2018

The Matchmaker's Match by Brittany Larsen -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

The Matchmaker's Match

Author: Brittany Larsen

Publisher: Covenant

ISBN13: 9781524406769

Paperback: 240 pages

Published: July 2018

Goodreads Summary

Eliza Woodhouse has everything a girl could want: a delightful little beach side flower shop, a loving family, and the best friend a girl could ask for. And while she suffers a chronic lack of romance in her own life, the bohemian beauty is a self-proclaimed matchmaker extraordinaire, as evidenced by her recent successes. Having found a fiancĂ© for her sister and a boyfriend for her best friend, she is now taking her lovelorn new employee under her wing. Yes, life is working out quite nicely for Eliza. Until Parker Knightley walks back into her life.

After three years in Hong Kong, Parker is in town for his brother's upcoming wedding to Eliza's sister. They've all known each other their whole lives, and Eliza will never be anything but Little Liza Belle to her handsome childhood tormentor. So the fact that their siblings are getting married simply puts Parker one step closer to becoming the big brother he and Eliza have always joked about him being. But the more time they spend together, the more confused Eliza's feelings become. Because she has come to the shocking realization that the role of brother is the last role she wants Parker to play in her life.
 


My review

I was excited to read another book from Brittany Larsen. Her books are just fun and make me happy!  And a modern-day retelling of EMMA, yes please! The Matchmaker's Match is a fun, enjoyable read. Eliza did experience a lot of growth and that was appreciated. She is a self proclaimed matchmaker and had success twice so with that success she felt she was a pro, but was a little clueless. As with EMMA, Eliza's intentions are good, but sometimes, I felt her judgement wasn't the best. There is fun humor that had me smiling and the story progresses nicely. 

4 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Twitter

Purchase links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book



a Rafflecopter giveaway .

Thursday, July 19, 2018

Night at the Opera by Stacy Henrie -- Cover Reveal

I am so excited to share this new cover with you!

NIGHT AT THE OPERA by Stacy Henrie
Release date: October 16th, 2018
Pre-order available on Amazon




Goodreads Summary

From USA Today bestselling author Stacy Henrie, comes NIGHT AT THE OPERA, an American Heiress Novel.

NIGHT AT THE OPERA - Book 1 (1908)

When American heiress Gwen Barton aids an injured gentleman in an opera box in London, she shares a kiss with the stranger that changes her life. More determined than ever to be herself, in spite of the limp she’s sustained since childhood, she will marry for love and not a title. She also resolves to learn the identity of the man she helped—and kissed. Surely he can’t be the irritating Avery Winfield, though. But as circumstances continue to throw Gwen and Avery together, she begins to wonder if there is more to this man than she first thought. 

While most of London only knows him as the nephew of a duke, Avery Winfield is actually working for the Secret Service Bureau to ferret out German spies from among the ton. It’s a profession that gives him purpose and a reason to remain a bachelor. But the more he interacts with Gwen Barton, an heiress from America, the more he begins to question his plans and neglected faith. Then he learns Gwen is the young lady from the opera box who helped him. Now his most important mission may have nothing to do with saving Britain from danger and everything to do with risking his heart for the woman he met that night at the opera.

More American Heiress books:
Beneath an Italian Sky (April 2019)
Among Sand and Sunshine (October 2019)

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

The Irresistible Groom by Cami Checketts -- $0.99 sale



Purchase on Amazon here!


Goodreads Summary

A vivacious sports agent loses her memory and her safe, perfectly-planned life. The only hope is a tough security specialist who for some reason she’s never allowed herself to fall for.
Claire Tucker is a feisty and successful sports agent. When she wakes up with amnesia she has to rely on a handsome security specialist, which doesn't seem too bad ... until she learns she's known him for years and has repeatedly rejected his date offers. When Brig proves irresistible to her, she realizes she needs to guard her heart until she gets some answers or her past will catch up to her. 
Brig Hunsaker has everything he needs, except the sassy lady he’s had a crush on for years. When Claire is injured, and the hospital staff believe he’s her fiancĂ©, he finally gets the chance to protect her and prove he’s worth taking a chance on.

Add to Goodreads here



Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Veins of Gold by Charlie N. Holmberg -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Veins of Gold

Author: Charlie N.  Holmberg

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: July 17th, 2018

ISBN13: 9781947152229

Paperback/e-book: 310 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

A new historical fantasy novel from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Charlie N. Holmberg: VEINS OF GOLD Desperate to save her siblings from poverty, a young woman discovers magic fueled by gold . . . and a love for the man who wields it. Abandoned by their father for the gold rush, Gentry and her siblings labor to survive alone in the inhospitable west. When bizarre natural disasters begin wreaking havoc on the land, Gentry discovers a world of magic. Desperate for help, she accepts aid from a mysterious stranger. Winn not only sees the magic, but controls its hunger by feeding it gold-the very thing Gentry's father left to acquire. But the earth's unrest only grows worse, and Gentry's fear leads her to a terrible choice: marry a wealthy man she does not love, or trust in Winn's unpredictable power to save her family. 

My review

I absolutely love Charlie's books. I was so excited to read Veins of Gold and it was an excellent read. Gentry is a wonderful caretaker to her siblings and is faced with a lot once her father leaves for the gold rush and takes on the stresses that come with caring for a family on her own. Gentry keeps having strange encounters with wild magic and is thrown into that world. I really liked Gentry's character. She is faced with some tough choices. Pearl and Rooster were both fantastic. Pearl is a doll and Winn immediately stole the show for me. He was so intriguing and has a heart of gold. (No pun intended:)

5 out of 5 stars. Veins of Gold is full of  mysterious magic and adventure. A great read!

Author links




Purchase links


Giveaway Rafflecopter!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, July 13, 2018

Secret of the Spirit Walls by Dorothy Keddington

Secret of the Spirit Walls

Author: Dorothy Keddington

Publisher: Brigham Distributing

ISBN13: 9781732123304

Paperback: 275 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

His footsteps halted and there was a heart-stopping moment when the only sound was that ominous dry rattle. Then a large stone came hurtling down the hillside, striking the snake squarely on its head. Another rock followed, this one crushing the viper beneath its weight. The echoes died and the rattling was still. Then Gabe was beside me, his strong arm around me, helping me to my feet. My fear-frozen muscles melted at his touch and suddenly I was too weak to stand. My arms found their way around his neck, and I realized that his breathing was as rapid as mine.

Anna O'Neill is guiding her students through the last days of school when she gets the call that her brother has disappeared in the wilds of southern Utah. But when she arrives in Moab, she realizes that things just aren't adding up. With the help of filmmaker Gabriel Mahoney, Anna initiates her own search, pursuing leads into rugged Nine Mile Canyon, the seat of an ancient civilization whose lure may have pulled her brother to his death.


My Review


I was lucky enough to read an early version of this book and I loved every page. I was hooked right from the start and was immediately pulled in to this fast paced story and its amazing characters. Anna is instantly likable and right away you are rooting for her as she searches for her missing brother. Gabriel was a hero right from the start and I loved his adventurous and kind heart. Fans of Dorothy Keddington will not be disappointed as they read Anna’s journey. This book is so full of romance and suspense, you won’t want to stop reading until the last page.

5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase links

Amazon 

Author links

Goodreads

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

The Hope of Azure Springs by Rachel Fordham


The Hope of Azure Springs by Rachel Fordham
Seven years ago, orphaned and alone, Em finally arrived at a new home in Iowa after riding the orphan train. But secrets from her past haunt her, and her new life in the Western wilderness is a rough one. When her guardian is shot and killed, Em, now nineteen, finally has the chance to search for her long-lost sister, but she won’t be able to do it alone.
For Azure Springs Sheriff Caleb Reynolds, securing justice for the waifish and injured Em is just part of his job. He’s determined to solve every case put before him in order to impress his parents and make a name for himself. Caleb expects to succeed. What he doesn’t expect is the hold this strange young woman will have on his heart.
Debut author Rachel Fordham invites historical romance readers to the charming town of Azure Springs, Iowa, where the people care deeply for one another and, sometimes, even fall in love.

Praise for The Hope of Azure Springs
“With unusual charm and warmth, Rachel Fordham opens the door to Azure Springs, a place as memorable as the people who inhabit it—namely the unique Em, a hero of a sheriff, and an assortment of heart-tugging, endearing townsfolk. A memorable story of faith, family, and happy endings!” ~Laura Frantz, author of The Lacemaker
“The Hope of Azure Springs is full of love and laughter, hope and happy endings. This delightful book about the resilience of the human spirit and the power of love will keep you turning pages until the very end. After you read Rachel Fordham’s satisfying story, you’ll want to give the world a hug.” ~Jennifer Beckstrand, author of A Courtship on Huckleberry Hill
“A tender story about loss, life, and the beauty that lies within each of us.” ~Stacy Henrie, USA Today bestselling author and RITA award finalist
“Authentic. Strong. Memorable. The Hope of Azure Springs and its refreshingly realistic heroine will remain in readers’ hearts long after they’ve reached the stirring conclusion. With eloquently drawn scenes that will tug at a reader’s heart and a beautifully redemptive love story, Rachel Fordham’s debut offers a tender look at the meaning of beauty and self-worth.” ~Joanna Politano, author of Lady Jayne Disappears
“As The Hope of Azure Springs unfolds, readers will find a well thought out and intricately put together love story about an uncommon heroine. Fans of Melissa Jagears and Jane Kirkpatrick will enjoy Rachel Fordham’s books now and for years to come.” ~Dawn Crandall, author of the award-winning series The Everstone Chronicles.

Purchase is available now.

CONNECT WITH RACHEL

Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Code or $25 in Paypal Cash
Ends 7/24/18
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, June 8, 2018

Loving Lieutenant Lancaster by Sarah E. Eden -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Loving Lieutenant Lancaster

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Publisher: Covenant

Published: June 2018

ISBN13: 978-1524405250

Paperback: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Amazon Summary

Orphaned as a child, Arabella Hampton was the unwanted and unloved charge of a cruel aunt and neglectful uncle. The only light in her young life was the kindness of the Jonquil family, and she clung to the childish dream of someday living with them at Lampton Park. Now, years later, that opportunity is presented to Arabella in a most unexpected way: she is to be the lady's companion to the dowager countess. As she takes up residence at the estate, the young woman soon finds that life at the Park is far more complicated than she imagined. The lines of her position are blurred, and she is neither family nor servant. So when the countess plans a grand house party, Arabella is content to hide in the shadows. But one gentleman sees her there.
Lieutenant Linus Lancaster has retired from the navy and is not looking for love, especially when he finds himself entangled in his sisters' scheme to trap him into finding a wife at a house party at Lampton Park. Yet amid the festivities, he's impossibly drawn to the dowager's quiet companion, Arabella. Their regard for each other is undeniable, but they are haunted by their pasts. Can the two find a way to bridge their two worlds?

My Review

This book is an absolute dream come true for Sarah Eden fans! The Lancasters and the Jonquils in one glorious book. I absolutely loved this book. Every page is a treasure. The writing is flawless, the characters are fantastic. Each of these characters holds a special place in my heart, and to have them in one book was wonderful. There is a particular paragraph on page 55 that shows how well the author truly knows her characters and what a talented author she is. Arabella was fabulous and instantly likable. Linus too, and he has a heart of gold. There are so many enduring and sweet moments that had my emotions on high, all the while leaving me smiling also. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase Links


Author Links


Tour Schedule



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Take a Chance on Me by Kaylee Baldwin -- Unforgettable Love


Take a Chance on Me by Kaylee Balwin
Madelyn Stewart knows how to have fun, no matter what her ex-husband claims, but between working two jobs and taking care of her five-year-old son, opportunities for fun are few and far between. So when she is given tickets to take her son to see a live taping of the MyHeartChannel show Take a Chance, they go, even though it means she’ll have to stay up all night to turn in her latest article on time. To her shock, the daredevil star, Chance Risk, is none other than Graham Sawyer, the quiet accounting major she’d dated in college—someone she’d cowardly broken up with by note and hoped to never see again. When she makes a major mistake on her article, she has to swallow her embarrassment and reach out to Chance for an exclusive or risk losing her job.
Chance Risk doesn’t talk to reporters. Not after the way he’s seen them destroy his brother’s marriage and career. But Take a Chance is starting to lose viewers, he’s desperate. Despite his better judgment, when Madelyn reaches out, he can’t resist the opening to figure out why she broke his heart eight years before. His only condition: she has to come to three filming locations with him and his crew to get a real sense of what the show is about.
Swept up in adventure, they start to feel the chemistry from college rekindling. But the reason Madelyn left eight years before still looms between them. If Chance can’t convince Madelyn to take a chance on love, she’ll walk away again. This time forever.


Click on the image, or purchase here


Click on the image, or purchase here


Click on the image, or purchase here

Author Kaylee Baldwin
A glamorous day in the life of Kaylee Baldwin includes: chasing after her four children, checking for a new season of Serial, writing her latest book, binge-watching reality cooking shows, hanging out with her husband, and reading in every spare second she can find. She graduated from Arizona State University with a degree in English lit and currently lives in southern Arizona with her family. Her books include the Whitney Finalist Meg’s Melody, Hearts in Peril, a story in the Timeless Romance Anthology: California Dreamin’ which was recently translated into Norwegian, and Take a Chance on Me.

Giveaway Details
Ends 7/1/18
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use money sent via Paypal or gift codes via Amazon.com. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. This giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.




a Rafflecopter giveaway