Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Hawaiian Holiday by Michele Paige Holmes - release day sale



Grab your copy before the sale ends.
Click on the image or here to purchase


Ten strangers. Six days in paradise. One unforgettable Christmas.

Hailey Walsh has always loved Christmas, and this year the holiday was supposed to be the most magical of all, spent with her large family and her fiancé in preparation for their wedding just two days after. Then Gage broke their engagement. 

Now, instead of playing in the snow with her nieces and nephews, Hailey’s building a playground with children she’s never met before, spending her Christmas with strangers in Hawaii, on a service program she hopes will lift her spirits and help her begin to pick up the broken pieces of her life and heart. 

Gage Stevens didn’t want to spend Christmas in Hawaii any more than he wanted to break his engagement, but sometimes fate has a way of slamming a guy against a wall and forcing him to tough decisions— for the good of others, be that his ex-fiancée or his mom. And while he’s certain that no ocean breeze or tropical wonderland can heal what’s wrong, one glimpse at a familiar head of red hair and Gage realizes fate may not be done with him yet.

Saturday, December 8, 2018

Bound Beauty by Jennifer Silverwood


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Bound Beauty
By Jennifer Silverwood

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

...Bound Beauty is the third and (mostly) final volume in this series. Not only do we finally get a peek inside the true nature of the prince’s curse, but we get epic romance, epic journeys and one very epic beastly battle. And because this is Gothic fiction, plenty of ghosts, magic and heaving bodices. ;) Thanks for coming on this adventure with me, fantasy avengers!

—Jennifer

Mythical Books - Guest Post

10 Fun Facts About Wylder Tales

1. Wylder Tales takes its name from the borderland between our world and the magical world across the Veil, Wylderland.

2. Vynasha’s journey is loosely based on Beauty and the Beast, but written more like a “the legend behind the fairy tale” than a strict retelling...

J.L. Mbewe - Excerpt

Vynasha stiffened as familiar sensations washed over her, the sound of dripping water on cobblestone, the scent of her beast. She opened her eyes in fear and released a breath of relief to meet a pair of emerald rather than silver.

“Baalor?” Her voice was scratchy from sleep, strained from more nightmares, no doubt.
Concern creased a faint line between his brow, but then his fingers brushed her curls from her face and he smiled. “I have missed your face, witch.”

Vynasha bit her lower lip and didn’t mind the prick of sharp teeth, not when his were sharper. “Wish I could say the same, brute.” She reached to touch his beard and took in his haggard look. “You just got back.”

Baalor’s smile widened, though it couldn’t disguise his fatigue. Or the darkness lingering in his eyes. “Do you always sleep by the fire when I am away?”


It said something of the nature of majik, that Vynasha found Grendall’s amulet so easily. She clawed at the snow until she reached a hole in the dirt and uncovered Erythea’s hiding place. The sight of Old Ced’s towsack wrenched a dry sob from her chest.

“Nothing is as it seems…” Father had said before he died. Before she killed him.

She tore a hole in the sack in her haste to retrieve the amulet and snarled at the ----ed amethyst in her hands. Her hands shook as she fell back into the snow at her feet and gripped the talisman. Grandmother had once called this a key and a burden. Thea saw it as a weapon. Vynasha yearned to welcome the security of the bond, longed to feel in control of her majik again. She wanted to throw it as far as the east is from the west.


Wishful Endings - Guest Post

What's in a Cover?

I have a very unique relationship with my cover designer. I first discovered Najla Qamber in 2012, when I was scouring Deviantart for talented artists. I had drawn a cover for one of my novellas, but knew it wasn’t quite up to snuff. Also, I wanted someone to design my cover for my current WIP, Silver Hollow. I stumbled across Najla’s profile, messaged her and the rest is history. Well, not quite. Najla has covered every single one of my novels (and recovered...bless her). Every time I gave her a concept stirring around in my brain, she broke through my expectations with her brilliance...


"...I enjoyed this retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It ends with a cliffhanger that makes me want more. . . . Scarred Beauty is a pretty good addition to the Wylder Tales series. . . . I cannot wait to get my hands on Bound Beauty to see what happens next. I enjoy Jennifer Silverwood's story telling."

Colorimetry - Guest Post

Final Page from Soraya’s Journal

I suppose it best to finish an enchanted text with a proper introduction. After all, the spells shall not take effect without the name of the caster. Everything begins with a name. My name was Soraya Wenderdowne and I was born to the most noble royal house among all the Fayere of Lunnae. The other peoples call us “lightwings,” but only the royal houses still bore wings of honor. I had always been proud of my wings. Not only were they my most beautiful feature (and trust me when I tell you I was not unpleasant to look upon) but my wings allowed me to fly...


Vynasha sucked in a sharp breath of cold air and leaned heavily on her walking stick.

A firm, but gentle hand squeezed her shoulder. “Alright then, beasty?” Wolfsbane turned his head, before she could catch more than a glimpse of his concern.

Vynasha touched his glove with her clawed hand and smiled. “Just need a moment.” This was a lie, of course. Her calves no longer burned from endless days of hiking up and down mountains and through slippery brambles.


“Aren’t you disgusted by me?”

He jerked back as though struck and she could feel his temper brewing. “Why would I be disgusted by you?”

Vynasha’s knee ached with a sharp pang and she closed her eyes, unconsciously squeezing his arm tighter.

His free hand clasped her waist as he came to face her. “Vynasha,” he beckoned her look at him. “Allies?”

She laughed so she wouldn’t cry, then held up her clawed hand. “Look at me. I’m not what I was before.” She grimaced and shook her head. “I have never been beautiful, I know, but…”


"Embark on an epic retelling of Beauty and the Beast with a twist and a gothic flare!"

Bookworm Lisa - Excerpt

In the beginning, all the prince of Bitterhelm could see was the curse.

By day he walked the shadowed halls of his forefathers, the bitter remnant of his kingdom. By night his bones snapped in a moment of agony, until his cries fell into roars. He learned quickly, after wreaking havoc to all the furniture in his stately chamber, to confine himself to the dungeons. There, only the other beasts could hear his screams.

Once the night was through, his manservant, Odym appeared with keys to lead his master back to his chambers. The broken furniture had been discreetly cleared away by the other servants, replaced by pieces from the king’s vacant rooms. Grendall had been too weary to punish them, though his skin crawled for different reasons, lying in the bed of his father.


Erythea’s sigh interrupted Vynasha’s darker thoughts. The girl was always chattering about every thought which entered her head. “I’ve never seen spring, did you know?”

Vynasha blinked and for a moment, saw the valley of Whistleande, carpets of fuchsia heather and sage grass.

Thea touched stray branches, infusing blue tendrils of energy into the sleeping buds. “My majik is tied to the earth like Mother’s. It wants to end this winter and let things grow.” She glanced over her shoulder at Vynasha with a crooked smile. “Did you know the last true spring hasn’t come in an age?”

Vynasha pressed her claws into her palms. “Since the curse,” she whispered. Her voice held a rasp she couldn’t shake, ever since the fire. Not even her transformation under the curse could hide what she was before.

We Write Fantasy - Guest Post

Finishing a Trilogy: Part 3

First off, apologies for the misleading title. This is not the third part of a blog serial. It is, however, a post about trilogies, specifically mine. Wylder Tales is a darker (often Gothic) fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast. When I approached what I simply titled “Vynasha” I wanted to tell the classic fairy tale with a legendary bend, much like Snow White and the Huntsman. My first incarnation of Volume 1 was a little different from what you know today. It was also extra heavy on the prose. I can’t help myself sometimes, being a life-long fan of L.M. Montgomery, to love the beauty of language. But I learned over the following two years that the story was too stagnant and bogged down. On the encouragement of my writing coach, I returned to Vynasha and added more characters like Hvalla, Wolfsbane and Resha, cut off most flashbacks and expanded the dialogue. Thus, Craving Beauty was born...


That night, they danced among the Hall of Mirrors, as summer moonlight filtered through the windows. He had kept them closed for so long, but wanted to see the way the stars played off her hair. She was light and laughter incarnate.

He proposed after their prancing steps fell into a sensuous lilt. She sucked in a breath, indeed every servant and even the walls seemed to still, waiting for her reply.

Her smile was soft as she whispered, “Yes.”

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Bound Beauty
(A Wylder Tale #3)
By Jennifer Silverwood
YA Dark Fantasy
Paperback & ebook
December 21st 2018

Beware the bond between blood and beasts...

Vynasha has united the warring human and forgotten clans of Wylderland, claiming her majik and power as curse breaker. Her brother, Ceddrych keeps their nephew safely hidden away while Vynasha and her new allies fight against the feral beasts roaming their borders.

Meanwhile, her friendship with the Iceveins family deepens, unveiling a love she never expected. But her majik is still bound to the cursed prince she left behind and he isn't done fighting for her soul.

Darker forces walk in the forests, all drawn to Vynasha's light and the shade of a corrupt Enchantress haunts her waking dreams. A war is about to begin, between the forgotten people of Wylderland and the evil power of Bitterhelm.

Prophecy and Forgotten unite in the epic third chapter of the Wylder Tales Series, a gothic re-telling of Beauty and the Beast.

The Wylder Tales Series
Craving Beauty (Vol. 1)
Wolfsbane's Daughter (Vol. 1.5)
Scarred Beauty (Vol. 2)
Bound Beauty (Vol. 3)

Other Books in the Series


Grab the first book, Craving Beauty, for FREE
You can find your preferred format here
Or grab the compilation of volumes 1, 1.5, and 2 on Amazon.

About the Author


Jennifer Silverwood was raised deep in the heart of Texas and has been spinning yarns a mile high since childhood. In her spare time she reads and writes and tries to sustain her wanderlust, whether it’s the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania, the highlands of Ecuador or a road trip to the next town. Always on the lookout for her next adventure, in print or reality, she dreams of one day proving to the masses that everything really is better in Texas. She is the author of two series—Heaven's Edge and Wylder Tales—and the stand-alone titles Stay and Silver Hollow.


Tour Giveaway


PRIZE PACK #1: Print copies of Wylder Tales Vol 1-2 along with a "Gothic fairytale" themed basket. (US only.)
PRIZE PACK #2: $10 Amazon eGift Card and winner's choice of two of the author's ebooks (if a novella series is pickes, i.e. Heaven's Edge, then all three novellas will be included). (Open internationally.)

Ends December 12, 2018

Grab Our Button!

Northern Deception by Laurie Wood -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Northern Deception
By Laurie Wood

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

I’m thrilled to bring you my first book from Anaiah Press: “Northern Deception: Heroes of the Tundra, Book One”. I’ve dreamed of writing Canadian stories and Anaiah Press made my dream a reality. Northern Deception takes place in Churchill, Manitoba which is aptly called the “Polar Bear Capitol of the World”. Canada has more to offer than ice, snow and polar bears but I wanted to catch an editor’s eye with our well-known Canadian icon, and I did!...


"The thrilling ride that is Northern Deception captures readers from the first word and keeps them riveted throughout the remainder of the story. Non-stop action, stunning twists and chilling suspense (quite literally) combine seamlessly with a sweet second-chance romance and poignant reflections on faith. Wood has skillfully created layered characters and a vivid setting, and I look forward to more books from her in the near future!"

Mythical Books - Excerpt

Kira Summers shivered as she stood beside her brother’s open grave. Winnipeg Memorial Cemetery stood bleak and empty. The November sky churned with rain clouds as purple as bruises.

Her fingers trembled on the handle of her black umbrella. Sleety snow swirled across the grass and lashed around her ankles in her short dress boots. Kira’s pulse roared in her ears, and for a split second she swayed, feeling light-headed. She stifled her sobs with a tissue.

“I’m sorry I’m late.”

“Oh,” she gasped. Her heart thrummed against her chest. She didn’t need to turn around to know who was behind her.


"I absolutely love this intense and truly romantic story. The story line is fantastic. Once I started to read I couldn't put it down. . . . I highly recommend this book!"

E-Romance News - Excerpt

A van screeched up beside her driver’s door, sliding sideways onto the grass as it came to a stop. She glimpsed a male driver with sunglasses and a ball cap just before her door was thrown open by another man.

“Out, out, out!”

The man wore a navy blue ski mask. He grabbed her by the shoulders and hauled her halfway out of the car. Muscle memory allowed her to shove her right palm hard against his nose. It gave a satisfying crunch even as he pulled her from the safety of the driver’s seat. He clasped her arms like a vise, but she kicked hard and felt the solid heels of her boots connecting with his shins.


"I enjoyed the fact that the readers were brought immediately into the action, and it is great that realism is seen from page one and following. Sometimes these romance stories have little real conflict and they follow the same, exact formula. The author departed from the formula and added her own special touches thus making this book truly her own."

Wishful Endings - Guest Post

Interview with Character Ruby Gallagher

AUTHOR: Hello, Ruby thanks for taking the time to speak to us today. I guess you know plenty about Churchill, Manitoba, and Kira Summers and Lukas Tanner.

RUBY: Hi, thanks for having me. I was born in Churchill and I met my husband Rob when he came here as a commercial pilot in the early ’70’s. We bought a bakery on the main street and built on to it until we made it into a Café and a store for essentials like cold weather clothing and tourist gifts...

Remembrancy - Review

"Debut author Laurie Wood transports readers to the barren and dangerous Canadian tundra while delivering a story that doesn’t let up from the first page to the final one. . . . Great character development, intense action, and the unique setting make Northern Deception a debut you don’t want to miss."


"Ahhh … this was a great book. Mystery! Suspense! Dogsleds! Canadian spelling! LOL. . . . a fast-paced read that I’d happily revisit. I especially enjoyed the medical components, working in that industry myself, as well as the Canadian setting."

Colorimetry - Guest Post

The Story Behind The Story

To be honest, I decided to set my romantic suspense in a small sub-arctic Canadian town because polar bears are such a Canadian icon. And I had fun delving in to the research about Churchill, Manitoba, researching polar bears and the conservation efforts preserving their species...


"I loved Northern Deception! . . . The characters in this book are ones you’ll fall in love with….Kira, Lukas, Ruby, Sophie….even the minor characters are great…well not the bad guys. But, you probably won’t be able to figure out who the bad guys are…at least not all of them…until close to the end. . . . You won’t want to put it down once you start! I give this five big stars!"

Uplifting Reads - Guest Post

Kira Summer’s Fun Polar Bear Facts:

I love doing research and learning about polar bears was no exception. Some of these facts made it in to the book and some didn’t:

- Canada is home to about 15,000 polar bears
- Adult males weigh 772-1,543 lbs and measure 7ft 10in–9ft 10 in in total length...


Recurring Themes

NORTHERN DECEPTION is my first published novel but I’ve written three others which will never “see the light of day”, as the cliché goes. The recurring theme of what I write is loss and forgiveness and every novel has dealt with it in various ways. NORTHERN DECEPTION is no different.

Splashes of Joy - Review

"There is quite a bit of action going on here, several twists to the story that will have you wondering what is going on and the question of whodunnit! And you might just be surprised just who is behind all of the suspense! This debut novel is sure worth your read. Pick up this new thriller from new author Laurie Wood and have a seat for a few hours of thrills and chills!"

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...

Northern Deception
(Heroes of the Tundra #1)
By Laurie Wood
Inspirational Romantic Suspense
ebook, 170 Pages
December 4th 2018 by Anaiah Press

Reunions can be deadly.

After a savage attack in university, Kira Summers fled to the safety of northern Canada and her work as a polar bear scientist. But when her whistleblower brother dies in a mysterious car crash, she must return home to bury him and pack his belongings. Unaware she’s carrying explosive evidence someone’s willing to kill for, she has no choice but to rely on the one person she never thought she’d see again.

Lukas Tanner, a widowed single father of a special needs toddler, moved to Churchill five years ago. As the proud owner of Guiding Star Enterprises, a wilderness tour company, he and his daughter lead a simple life. But when Kira comes crashing back into his world, he realizes God has other plans. Now, Lukas and Kira must confront a merciless killer as their past and present collide in a deadly race—a race they must win if they have any hope of a future together.


About the Author


Laurie Wood has followed her RCAF serving husband across Canada, raising their two special needs children to adulthood, and "keeping the home fires burning" while she began her writing career. She's a member of Romance Writers of America, where she's finalled in several prestigious contests, as well as American Christian Fiction Writers. She writes romantic suspense and historical novels.

Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a 100 page hardcover Journal + matching pen, magnetic bookmarks, wooden Christmas ornament, and Abalone and Silver Polar Bear necklace, ebook of NORTHERN DECEPTION. (NOTE: wooden box holding up bookmarks and ornament pictured is NOT included.)
Open to US and Canada
Ends December 12, 2018

Grab Our Button!

Friday, December 7, 2018

My Brother's Bride by Rachael Anderson - blog tour

My Brother's Bride

Author: Rachael Anderson

Publisher: HEA Publishing

Published: November 24th, 2018

e-book/paperback: 253 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

Miss Abigail Nash is no stranger to loneliness. Her mother died giving birth to her, her father's business dealings took him away more often than not, and her ailing great-aunt, unable to provide much in the way of companionship, was a lack-luster guardian at best. When her dear friends offer to launch her into London society, her life takes a turn for the better. An instant success, with suitors, social engagements, and offers aplenty, it seems Abby will at last settle into the life of her dreams. But appearances aren't always what they seem, and dreams often become disappointments. Just months into her marriage with a proclaimed darling of the ton, Abby finds herself widowed, penniless, and increasing. Even more precarious are the feelings she’s developing for a man she shouldn’t love, a man the law prohibits her from marrying—her late husband’s brother, the Marquess of Brigston.

My review

I love Rachael Anderson's books. My Brother's Bride was particularly touching because it dealt with a series issue. This topic you don't see often in regency books, but the author handled it well. I loved Abby. She is a sweet and thoughtful character. I loved how she interacted with the brother's mother. After Jasper's death, I loved the tender moment of Abby telling the story of her childhood love of rainbows. Jasper was also an added surprise, and what an honorable man. Even though his role in the book was short, he made an impact. Morgan was also a fantastic character. I loved how he and Abby interacted. There was a certain scene in the kitchen between Morgan and Abby where I was laughing out loud. The pacing and plot of this book are perfectly laid out. Just the right things would happen at just the right time. 

5 out of 5 stars. 


Purchase links


Author links




Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Lies, Love, and Breakfast at Tiffany's by Julie Wright -- blog tour

Lies, Love, and Breakfast at Tiffany's

Author: Julie Wright

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: November 6, 2018

Paperback/e-book: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Summary

The Lie
Women in Hollywood are just pretty faces. But Silvia Bradshaw knows that’s a lie, and she’s ready to be treated as an equal and prove her worth as one of Hollywood’s newest film editors.
 
The Love
She and Ben Mason had worked together as editors before Silvia got her big break, so he’s the perfect person to ask for feedback on her first major film. But even as their friendship begins to blossom into something more, a lawsuit surfaces, jeopardizing both Ben and Silvia’s jobs—as well as their fledgling romance. Audrey Hepburn once said: “The most important thing is to enjoy your life—to be happy—it’s all that matters.” Silvia agrees. Or she used to. It’s one thing to risk her job and her heart, but can she really risk Ben’s, too? Does she have the right to make decisions for her own happiness when they affect so many other people?
 
The Breakfast
With everything to lose, Silvia meets Ben for breakfast at his favorite diner, Tiffany’s, for one last conversation before the credits roll on true love.


My review

Lies, Love, and Breakfast at Tiffany's is a very fun, well written triumph by talented author Julie Wright. What a different and creative choice to have a main character with a glass eye and to have her name that eye, was just as creative and fun. (I got a kick out of the back story on that!) Silva is a strong, stand-up-for-herself character. I did question a couple of her choices during the course of reading, but I was thrilled with her ah-ha moments. Ben was also a great character. I loved it when he was around. Grandma was another added joy, as was Emma. The author did a fantastic job with her characters. Each were important and had a place. Even annoying Dean. I thoroughly enjoyed the "behind the scenes" glimpse of Hollywood. 

5 out of 5 stars. Julie Wright's books are always full a humor, romance, and strong characters. I loved this book!

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Author links

Amazon author page / Website / Goodreads / Twitter


Tuesday, December 4, 2018

The Songs That Brought Me Back by Mylissa Demeyere -- release day blitz


The Songs That Brought Me Back by Mylissa Demeyere
 Have you ever made a mistake? One so monumental you lost everything? I did, and I hate myself for it! All I want to do is close my eyes, and let the darkness consume me. Make it all go away. The end.
Ainsley is drowning in the depth of her despair. One wrong decision left her alone, with only regret as her constant companion. To escape it all, she makes another choice. One she hopes will end everything. Instead, she’s thrown into a whole new world filled with opportunities she doesn’t believe she deserves.
Ethan gives the appearance of breezing through life. But underneath his bright facade, he’s scarred by loss. When fate leads him into Ainsley’s world at the exact moment she needs someone the most, he can’t ignore the chance to right the wrongs of his past.
Ainsley and Ethan will struggle to help each other heal and start anew.
They’ll learn that the secret to conquering their pain lies within their power, if only they can do it together.
Always together.
Sometimes the ending is really the beginning.
Purchase is available on Amazon e-book/paperback

EXCERPT


AINSLEY

Beep… Beep…
Floating…I was floating. My body…weightless. For the first time in almost three years, the constant pain that had been pushing on me, threatening to suffocate me…lifted and was gone.
I felt…free.
Beep… Beep…
Finally, I was done and untied, drifting in this place that no longer held me in its terrible grip.
Beep… Beep…
I hovered near the edge, staring down at that empty shell as the doctor and nurses fought to save me. The scene should have sent more anguish through me. The ripped clothes, the chaos, but all I felt was peace.
The body left behind looked like me, but it wasn’t, not really. It hadn’t been me for so long. I had lost myself in that person ages ago.
Something tugged at me, pulling me down, away from the peacefulness I felt and back toward that cold, empty body. My prison. I grasped out around me but only caught handfuls of air. Nothing to hold on to. The pull got stronger. Dread washed over me as I realized what was happening.
I had to go back.
“Push a dose of ketamine, now!”
The weightlessness was out of reach, leaving me confused and exhausted. A new, heavy sensation pushed down on me.
No! I screamed, but no noise left my mouth. Even as the weight of my body and my illness pressed down on me, I longed for the weightlessness I’d felt, the brief glimpse of freedom. I wanted it back.
“Give me a laryngoscope.”
A sharp pain coursed through me, down my mouth, into my throat.
I tried to raise my hand, trying to yank whatever was there away. But it wouldn’t move. The weight was pushing on my hand as well.
No! I screamed again, but no one heard me. It was pointless.
I’m in. Tube her.”
Finally, I surrendered to the darkness as it closed in, and everything went completely black.
What Readers are Saying:
A heartfelt romance with a powerful message about the sanctity of human life. If you’ve ever simply needed a friend, The Songs That Brought Me Back will resonate–and leave you thankful for the people in your life. -Taylor Dean, author of I’m With You and Chasing Fireflies.
 Another remarkable read by Mylissa Demeyere. Ethan and Ainsley had me laughing and crying as they face their own demons and fall in love while doing it. This book adds even more depth as it confronts suicide head on. Suicide has become an epidemic that some are afraid to address; Demeyere brings it to light from both the victims and the survivors giving us insight on the struggles of so many. It does not disappoint and I, again, am excited to see what comes next from this talented writer.  – Amazon Reviewer
 A beautiful sequel to The Songs of You and Me that cleverly illustrates that there are always two sides to every story and that it is never too late for love to overcome any challenge. – Amazon Reviewer
 “This poignant redemption story about second chances and forgiveness yanked my emotions all over the place. I cried, I yearned, I hoped. A beautiful story about what true love is and does.” – Charissa Stastny, author of Between Hope and the Highway and The Ruled Out Romance Series
Also by Mylissa
The Songs of You and Me
A SECOND CHANCE AT FIRST LOVE.
Jane Hartford fell head over heels for Jackson at the tender age of fifteen. She spent most of high school pining for him, until she realized he wasn’t going to see her as anything more than his baby sister’s best friend. Now she finds herself single with a daughter, a broken heart, and songs that remind her of a long lost love.
Jackson Wright is a man living with regret. His biggest one, never acting on his feelings for Jane. When he returns to Bellebrook, the town they grew up in, he literally runs into her and his world gets tossed upside down and sideways.
This time, Jackson isn’t willing to give up. With a meddling sister eager to push both of them together, he believes things might actually work out. That is, if they can overcome the heavy baggage they both carry. Follow Jackson and Jane as they revisit their past, figuring out what went wrong so long ago.
Will they learn they have the power to make things right in the present?

$50 Amazon Gift Code or $50 in PayPal Cash
Ends 12/30/18

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use money sent via Paypal or gift codes via Amazon.com. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. This giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Until We Kissed by Heather B. Moore

Until We Kissed

Author: Heather B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published date: December 4th

ISBN: 9781947152533

e-book/paperback: 219 pages

FTC FYI: I received an e-book from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Livvy knows Dr. Slade McKinney is the perfect man for her, but when she keeps running into Mason, Livvy discovers fate has a different plan.

USA Today bestselling author Heather B. Moore welcomes you to Pine Valley!

Pine Valley librarian Livvy Harmon has big dreams, which include marrying Dr. Slade McKinney. Trouble is, he’s only kissed her once in their four months of dating, and it wasn’t all that great. But Livvy isn’t ready to give up yet on hooking such an amazing man, even though Slade seems to have time for everyone but her.

When Livvy keeps running into writer Mason Rowe, who seems to be camping out in her library to finish his book under strict orders from his agent, Livvy at first keeps him at arm’s length. But the more their friendship grows, the more she finds that her dream relationship with her doctor boyfriend isn’t so dreamy after all.

PINE VALLEY SERIES:
Worth the Risk
Where I Belong
Say You Love Me
Waiting for You
Finding Us
Until We Kissed


My review

Until We Kissed is another great book in the Pine Valley series. Each of these books are so entertaining and are quick, fun reads. It’s easy to fall in love with these Pine Valley characters and stories. I especially loved this plot, as there was an author and a librarian as the main characters. Livvy and Mason have fantastic chemistry and I loved how they interacted. And wow! Their kisses were amazing, and the best part? There were lots of them. The ending is one of my favorites of the series.

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon author page / Website


Thursday, November 29, 2018

The Mona Lisa Key by Liesl Shurtliff

The Mona Lisa Key: Time Castaways #1

Author: Liesl Shurtliff

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Published: September 18th, 2018

ISBN13: 9780062568137

Hardcover/e-book: 400 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Summary

From Liesl Shurtliff, the New York Times bestselling author of Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, comes a thrilling new middle grade trilogy about three city kids who get on the wrong subway train and wind up on a wild, magical mystery-adventure throughout time.
Imaginative, daring, and packed with fun, Time Castaways is perfect for fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and Percy Jackson.
Mateo, Ruby, and Corey Hudson’s parents don’t have too many rules. It’s the usual stuff: Be good. Do your homework. And never ride the subway without an adult, EVER. But when the siblings wake up late for school, they have no choice but to break a rule. The Hudson siblings board the subway in Manhattan and end up on a frigate ship in Paris…in the year 1911.
As time does tell, the Hudson family has a lot of secrets. The past, present, and future are intertwined—and a time-traveling ship called the Vermillion is at the center. Racing to untangle the truth, the kids find themselves in the middle of one of the greatest art heists of all time.
And the adventure is just getting started.

My review

I am a huge fan of Liesl Shurtliff's books. She always writes fun, sweet, all out wonderful books, so I was excited to read this new series from her! The Mona Lisa Key is a nonstop, time traveling, thrill ride of an adventure. I absolutely loved it. The characters are fantastic and the siblings are great together. Corey made me smile lots of times and Ruby is a doll. Mateo (Matt) is the anchor of the group. He is super smart and a bit of a mystery himself. I really enjoyed their time traveling adventures, but I was very suspicious of their company. They travel to Paris, India, and the famous Game Six (which I personally thought was so fun, I love baseball), to name a few. There are many secrets and twists and turns I don't want to spoil, but it has me eagerly waiting for the next book!

5 out of 5 stars. There are so many enjoyable twists and the author does a great job of planting hints throughout to keep the reader guessing! I didn't want to stop reading at times. I had to find out what happened next. 

Purchase links


Author links

Dream of Me This Christmas Eve by L.A. Sartor -- Release Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Release Blitz for
Dream Of Me This Christmas Eve
By L.A. Sartor

Dream Of Me This Christmas Eve
(Star Light ~ Star Bright #4)
By L.A. Sartor
Contemporary Romance, Christmas
ebook, 127 Pages
December 1st 2018

Boulder, Colorado, attorney Maximillian Henderson III is in a bind. His new law office won’t open on schedule unless he finds immediate help to finalize his building’s renovation.

Award-winning designer Caroline Young is visiting Boulder for a family wedding and has promised to stay through Christmas. Meeting Max at the wedding and hearing his problem, she accepts his plea for help. But if she can make him see past his own nose, she could make it even better.

Creating a new design only works if she commits to staying longer. By doing so, she puts her heart and her treasured independence at risk.

Max is aware her life and business are in California, and a long-term relationship is impractical. Still she adds vibrancy to his plain black and white world, and his dream of her on Christmas Eve convinces him to try.

On Christmas Day, Caro reveals that she must return home for a vital meeting, breaking her promise and his heart.

Max has new plans for his office but no Caro. Can he convince her to return to him and find a way to meld their lives?


Excerpt

Feel this? Seriously, she wanted him to do what? After that sigh, he wasn't sure he should. “Why are you so excited about an afghan?”
“Not just any old afghan, this one is vicuña. Seriously, feel it.”
If he hadn't reached out to take it from her, the throw would have fallen to the floor, and Max had an idea that would have been akin to sacrilege in Caro's eyes.
Despite himself, he held it up to his cheek. Soft, supple … Whoa, his thoughts were spinning in wild directions, all because of the woman sitting in front of him. “Nice.”
“Nice? Do you know what vicuña is?”
“Nope, can't say that I do.”
“It's the wild relative of the llama. Pretty rare these days. The Incas believed the critters were reincarnations of lovely young maidens, so only Incan royalty were allowed to wear the fleece. Their wool is incredibly expensive. Nevertheless, I'd love to find some.”
Max handed her back the throw, only to see her again bury her face into its softness. And damn if his body didn’t heat up a few degrees thinking about her nuzzling his neck with the same passion. Sucking in a lungful of the chilly air wafting through the front door cleared his mind. Just. “First, how do you know all this? And second, what would you do with the wool if you were to find and then afford it?”
“First, I love random facts. My teachers hated that, especially when I spouted off in class, answering a question with a fact or even another question.”
“And yet you were valedictorian of your high school class. Phi Beta Kappa, and magna cum laude at university.”
“How’d you know?”
“Brice. He talks about you all the time.”
“Oh, did he tell you that I knit?” She gestured Vanna White style to the sweater still topping her maid-of-honor gown.
Max felt his brows rise in surprise, and there was nothing he could do to stop his obvious reaction to her last reveal. Knitting seemed like such an old-fashioned art for a free spirit like Caro.  He prided himself on reading people—it was one of the traits that made him a successful attorney. Yet Caro, in the past few hours, delivered him one surprise after another. His interest level in her ratcheted up and went beyond his physical attraction.
If she agreed to his plan, this could be an interesting week ahead, matching wits and wherever anything else led. “You read structural and interior design plans, right?”
“I create design plans for structural engineering. So yes.”
“My designer has the flu and can't finish the work on my new office building. I could use your expertise to help complete the final phase so it's open by the new year.”
“I'm not really an interior designer.”
“It's a bit more than that.”
“How much more?”
She pulled the afghan up on her lap a little higher and he realized the draft continued.
“Hold on a sec, I’m going to see if the door was left open. It’s letting in minus-degree cold.”
Everyone had left the house. He closed the slightly ajar door, feeling instantly warmer, then returned to Caro and perched on the sofa’s arm.
“Okay, so you’re not an interior designer. And you asked how much more.”
She nodded, then poured a bit more champagne into her glass and sipped.
“The building is old and I’m having a lot of work done to the interior. And some new windows added. And—"
He stopped when she held up her hand. Uh oh.

Other Books in the Series


About the Author

I started writing as a child, really. A few things happened on the way to becoming a published author … a junior high school teacher who told me I couldn’t write because I didn’t want to study … urk … grammar. I went to college, moved a few times, came home and found the love of my life (that is another novel worthy story, but for later), and got married.

We were super busy with our respective careers, mine a custom jewelry business with my mom, who was also teaching metalsmithing at the time, and my husband a crazy law career. We had two fur babies, Fudge (and briefly her brother Smudge, but sadly he didn’t live very long) and Two. Our cats would sleep with us and when they’d stretch out to their full length, we’d end up sleeping on the edge of the mattress.

I have always been a voracious reader and one night after throwing a particularly bad book at the wall (even putting a small ding in said wall), I realized that I could do better. I told my husband, and he said go for it. I called Mom and she revealed the junior high teacher story and she told I’d been writing all the time up to that point.

That blew me away. I didn’t remember any of it. But I started writing again, nearly the next day, pen and paper, learning, making mistakes, winning contests, nearly getting an agent, becoming disenchanted with the publishing industry and moving away from novel writing to screenwriting, getting a contract for a script and doing really well in screenwriting contests.

But none of that was making me much money. After numerous scary robbery drills I wanted to move away from my bank job (yes, this is many years later and a lot of stuff in between) and write full time for the green stuff.

My husband told me repeatedly that independent publishing was becoming a valid way to publish a novel and people were making big dollars. I didn’t believe him even after he showed me several Wall Street Journal articles. I thought indie meant vanity press.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I started pursuing this direction seriously, retired from the bank and hit the keyboard, learned a litany of new things and published my first novel. My second book became a bestseller, and while I’m not rolling in dough, I’m absolutely on the right course in my life.

So if you have a dream, pursue it as hard as you can. Life can get in the way, but never give up.

Please come visit me at www.lasartor.com, see my books, some pictures, some screenplays and sign up for my mailing list. I have a gift I’ve specifically created for my new email subscribers. And remember, you can email me at Leslie@LeslieSartor.com.

WebsiteBlogGoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterestBookbubAmazon

Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive ebooks of all four books in the Star Light ~ Star Bright Series and a $15 Amazon eGift Card
US only
Ends December 2nd

Grab Our Button!