Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Breaking Jess by H. B. Moore

Breaking Jess

Author: H. B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: October 2nd, 2018

ASIN: B07FLG1C2V

e-book: 197 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the author, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

What do a crooked detective, an upstanding psychiatrist, and a teenager who can’t remember killing her parents all have in common? Nine years of lies.

He hid her away from society so she couldn’t turn him in. But, in the end, he couldn’t hide her forever.


My Review

Breaking Jess is a non-stop thrill ride! I almost read this book in one sitting, but I had to get up early the next day, so I had to stop. Even then I had a hard time putting it down. The characters are gripping and the scenes keep you at the edge of your seat. I was constantly guessing what would happen next. I kept reading and reading, worrying if it everything will work out in the end. The author does a great job of keeping a steady pace throughout the book. And oh boy, the bad guy was bad! Every time this person was on the page I cringed.

5 out of 5 stars. There is a little bit of language, nothing I found offensive. 

Purchase links

Purchase on Amazon or read for FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Author links

Goodreads H. B. Moore / Goodreads Heather B. Moore / Website / Amazon author page

Monday, October 22, 2018

Christmas by Accident by Camron Wright -- blog tour

Christmas by Accident

Author: Camron Wright


Publisher: Shadow Mountain


Published: September 2018


ISBN13: 9781629724768


Hardcover: 240 pages


FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.


Goodreads summary


Carter is an insurance adjuster whose longing for creative expression spills over sometimes into his accident reports. Abby works for her adoptive father, Uncle Mannie, in the family bookstore, the ReadMore Café. Carter barely tolerates Christmas; Abby loves it. She can't wait past October to build her favorite display, the annual Christmas book tree stack, which Carter despises.

When an automobile accident throws Carter and Abby together, Uncle Mannie, who is harboring secrets of his own, sees a chance for lasting happiness for his little girl. But there are so many hurdles, and not much time left. Will this Christmas deliver the miracle everyone is hoping for? Where love and Christmas are concerned, there are no accidents.
 


My Review


Christmas by Accident is very fun and an all around sweet book. Camron Wright is great author that can write serious and it turns out, very funny books too. Carter, Abby, Mannie, all of the characters were written well and a fun surprise. Yin, Seven, Rosa, all of them were a delight. The story is fun and very clever. I especially enjoyed the game they played about guessing books titles. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links


Goodreads / Website / Twitter


Purchase Links


Amazon e-book / Amazon hardcover / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book




Friday, October 19, 2018

Squint by Chad Morris and Shelly Brown -- blog tour

Squint

Authors: Chad Morris and Shelly Brown

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: October 2018

Hardcover/e-book: 256 pages

ISBN13: 9781629724850

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

My name is Flint, but everyone in middle school calls me Squint because I’m losing my vision. I used to play football, but not anymore. I haven’t had a friend in a long time. Thankfully, real friends can see the real you, even when you can’t clearly see.

Flint loves to draw. In fact, he’s furiously trying to finish his comic book so he can be the youngest winner of the “Find a Comic Star” contest. He’s also rushing to finish because he has keratoconus—an eye disease that could eventually make him blind.

McKell is the new girl at school and immediately hangs with the popular kids. Except McKell’s not a fan of the way her friends treat this boy named Squint. He seems nice and really talented. He draws awesome pictures of superheroes. McKell wants to get to know him, but is it worth the risk? What if her friends catch her hanging with the kid who squints all the time?

McKell has a hidden talent of her own but doesn’t share it for fear of being judged. Her terminally ill brother, Danny, challenges McKell to share her love of poetry and songwriting. Flint seems like someone she could trust. Someone who would never laugh at her. Someone who is as good and brave as the superhero in Flint’s comic book named Squint.

Squint is the inspiring story of two new friends dealing with their own challenges, who learn to trust each other, believe in themselves, and begin to truly see what matters most.

My review

Squint is another hit for this talented husband and wife author duo. I loved it! These authors really know how to tug at your heart strings, all while having you think, laugh, and smile at the same time. I loved how this book wasn't just Flint's story, but McKell's, Danny's, Grandma's, Grandpa's journey too. I appreciated and loved the lessons learned along the way. A great one was when Flint realized things about himself that he needed to change. No doubt he had been through some hard things with his keratoconus. He wasn't perfect either and tried his best to make changes and be brave himself, all while helping McKell with her challenges. McKell was a doll and Danny was a fun character too. His role was small, but he had a big impact on everyone. I absolutely loved Grandpa's football analogies. He was a hoot!

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Goodreads (Chad) / Website / Goodreads (Shelly) / Website

Purchase links

Amazon hardcover / Amazon e-book / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book




Thursday, October 18, 2018

Echo Ridge Romance Collection by Rachelle J Christensen

Echo Ridge Romance Collection: Four Contemporary Christian Romances: Rachelle's Collection 


The Echo Ridge Romance Collection by Rachelle J. Christensen
Kindle Edition, 545 pages
Published October 10th 2018 by Peachwood Press 
Come back to Echo Ridge and delight in 4 contemporary romances from Award-winning and Bestselling author Rachelle J. Christensen! Each heartwarming, inspirational story is set in beautiful upstate New York. This box set includes bonus epilogues and a sneak peek of Rachelle's new book! Savor a recipe with each of the stories and come back for more.

HOPE FOR CHRISTMAS Anika Fletcher hates Christmas--its promises of good tidings and hope for the future are as tinseled as the ornaments on Kenworth's Hope Tree. Despite her feelings, Anika wants to maintain her daughter's faith in the magic of the season and gladly accepts a second job working with the handsome Carlos Rodriguez to restore Kenworth's old fashioned soda fountain. Carlos is no stranger to hard times and slowly shares his life of light and joy with Anika as they work together. Just as her fragile soul begins to feel hope again, an ill-timed act of charity changes everything. Anika isn't sure who she can trust or if hope is worth nurturing--especially at Christmas when it's easy to enjoy a kiss and believe love can last longer than the season.

THE KISS THIEF As the head librarian of the Echo Ridge Library, Britta Klein thrives on order and categorization. Unfortunately, the old church-turned-library is in desperate need of a renovation. The Harvest Hurrah fundraiser seems to be the answer, but plans keep going awry. With help from Milo Geissler, accomplished musician, piano tuner, and kiss thief, each catastrophe is narrowly avoided. When Milo goes to great lengths to help Britta find a key classic book, she begins to wonder if there is more to life than books and order. Can she allow this man who speaks the language of music to tune her heart to a new song? Welcome to Echo Ridge, New York where romance finds its way into the hearts and lives of the people who walk the streets of the close-knit community.
NOTE TO READER: THIS VERSION of The Kiss Thief contains a BONUS EPILOGUE!

THE PRINCESS BRIDE OF RIODAN When a mysterious man offers to help Elise redecorate the old Bed & Breakfast, she gladly hands him a wallpaper steamer. After she discovers his true identity, she doesn’t know whether to curtsy or run and hide. Unfortunately, hiding isn’t an option because her heart is already tangled up with the handsome prince. At the same time, Elise’s old crush from high school wants a relationship and she’s forced to decide whether to chase after a fairy tale ending or stay grounded in reality.

COMING HOME TO LOVE Do you remember your first love? Have you ever wondered what would happen if you had a second chance to follow your heart? When Laney Richins left Echo Ridge, New York eight years ago, she vowed she’d never return, but life had other plans. Those plans included her cute little boy and a divorce, so Laney moved back home and started over. Working in the flower shop seems like the perfect plan until Billy Redford, the man she should have married shows up. Billy Redford’s heart was broken when his high school sweetheart turned her back on him and fled Echo Ridge for the big city lights. Running into Laney in Echo Ridge now brings up past feelings he thought were long gone. She’s prettier than ever, still seems to read his mind, and despite his protests ends up on the building and decorating committee with him for the Homecoming dance. Billy knows how to build just about anything, but he isn’t sure he knows how to mend a broken heart.

Purchase your copy here!
 

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Night at the Opera by Stacy Henrie -- blog tour

Night at the Opera

Author: Stacy Henrie

Publisher: Mirror Press

ISBN13: 978-1947152397

Paperback/e-book: 276 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary


From USA Today bestselling author Stacy Henrie, comes NIGHT AT THE OPERA, an American Heiress Novel.


NIGHT AT THE OPERA - An American Heiress Book 1 (1908)


When American heiress Gwen Barton aids an injured gentleman in an opera box in London, she shares a kiss with the stranger that changes her life. More determined than ever to be herself, in spite of the limp she’s sustained since childhood, she will marry for love and not a title. She also resolves to learn the identity of the man she helped—and kissed. Surely he can’t be the irritating Avery Winfield, though. But as circumstances continue to throw Gwen and Avery together, she begins to wonder if there is more to this man than she first thought.


While most of London only knows him as the nephew of a duke, Avery Winfield is actually working for the Secret Service Bureau to ferret out German spies from among the ton. It’s a profession that gives him purpose and a reason to remain a bachelor. But the more he interacts with Gwen Barton, an heiress from America, the more he begins to question his plans and neglected faith. Then he learns Gwen is the young lady from the opera box who helped him. Now his most important mission may have nothing to do with saving Britain from danger and everything to do with risking his heart for the woman he met that night at the opera.

My review

Night at the Opera is an absolute delight. There is mystery, spies, POV changes, intriguing characters and of course romance. Gwen is a wonderful character full of heart and determination. Avery is a smart, carrying spy who is trying to figure out who hurt him, all while deciding his future and faith. I loved how Avery and Gwen didn't get along at first and I enjoyed their heart felt discussions, especially on faith in God and the trips to the doctor for Gwen. These were beautifully written. 

5 out of 5 stars. A wonderful book from a talented author. 

Author links

Facebook / Goodreads / Amazon / BookBub

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble

Tour schedule


Oct. 19 - Singing Librarian Books / Wishful Endings




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Piper Prince by Amber Argyle -- cover reveal


Piper Prince
Amber Argyle
(Forbidden Forest #2)
Publication date: April 2019
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
All magic is light. If that light be darkened, shadow and punishment come.
Long ago, a curse fell upon the land—a curse of forgetting and wraiths, a curse that ensured no daughters were born to the pied pipers in over three centuries. The pipers were all that stood between the humanity and utter destruction, so they did the only thing they could: they stole the daughters of the nearby kingdom with their hypnotizing melodies. With the sons born from those unions, they continued to defend against the wraiths and fight the curse, even though they were slowly losing.
Larkin was one of those daughters. Stolen by Denan and married against her will, she found herself falling in love with the very man who had taken everything from her, the man who had made her a princess. Together, they discovered that she was the first woman in three centuries to possess the magic of the pipers, and therefore, the only person capable of breaking the ancient curse.
But breaking the curse means unraveling the very past the curse is intent on keeping secret. The answer lies buried in the crypts of the Black Druids, men who consider Larkin a traitor they’ll kill on sight. Embedded in the intrigues of their court, she unearths a dark conspiracy destined to hasten the destructive power of the curse—a conspiracy aimed at destroying her piper prince.

Sequel to:


Author Bio:
Bestselling author Amber Argyle writes young-adult fantasies where the main characters save the world (with varying degrees of success) and fall in love (with the enemy). Her award-winning books have been translated into numerous languages and praised by such authors as NYT bestsellers David Farland and Jennifer A. Nielsen.
Amber grew up on a cattle ranch and spent her formative years in the rodeo circuit and on the basketball court. She graduated cum laude from Utah State University with a degree in English and physical education, a husband, and a two-year-old. Since then, she and her husband have added two more children, which they are actively trying to transform from crazy small people into less-crazy larger people. She's fluent in all forms of sarcasm, loves hiking and traveling, and believes spiders should be relegated to horror novels where they belong.
To receive her starter library of four free books, simply tell her where to send it: http://amberargyle.com/freebooks/

XBTBanner1

Monday, October 15, 2018

Tabitha's Folly by Jen Geigle Johnson

Tabitha's Folly (Regency House Party: Somerstone)

Author: Jen Geigle Johnson

Published: September 30, 2018

e-book/paperback: 164 pages

ASIN: B07GF5KMQ7

FTC FYI: I received an e-book copy from the author. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Tabitha's Folly is one of Five books all set at the same Regency House Party Series. While each is a standalone story, watch our characters mingle together with others from the books in the series. The stories can be read in any order. 

Lady Tabitha Easton recklessly dodges four over-protective brothers while trying to gain attention from the man who holds her heart. She has many choices of suitors, and with Henry as disinterested as ever, she turns to what is wholly forbidden, an irresistibly handsome footman. While their friendship grows, her trust in him increases while her hurt and doubt in her childhood love and friend pushes her away from all she's ever known as family. 

When Lord Henry Courtenay discovers a new attraction to his childhood friend, his role as one of her chaperones at the house party becomes near impossible. Irrationally defensive about any potential suitors and seeking time alone with the enticing Tabby, maintaining friendship with her brothers proves more difficult than he ever imagined. His task becomes all the more difficult when she refuses to understand his growing attraction and often finds herself in almost compromising situations. 

When Tabitha's choices might lead her to danger, and doubt and distrust are high, Henry must prove himself or lose her forever.


My Review

Very fun story with humor and heart. Henry’s struggle was real when it came to Tabitha. I loved his ah ha moments. Their wager at whist was fun to read. Tabitha’s brothers were enduring, sometimes over the top, but their hearts were in the right place. Damien was intriguing at first. I really liked this book, it was a quick, fun, and enjoyable read.

4 out of 5 stars.

Author links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback


Sunday, September 30, 2018

Promises and Primroses by Josi S. Kilpack

Promises and Primroses

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: Sept 4, 2018

ISBN13: 9781629724577

Paperback: 336 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ARC from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Lord Elliott Mayfield aims to correct the very messy marital mistakes and spousal scandals of his brothers and sisters by requiring his nieces and nephews to choose worthy companions.  If they choose wisely, they will receive their generous share of the family’s inheritance.

Peter, Elliott’s eldest nephew, thinks the entire idea is ridiculous. A widower with two young daughters, he simply needs a governess, not a wife. Julia Hollingsworth certainly has the credentials and the experience, but is altogether too young and pretty for such a job. So why can’t he stop thinking about her?

Julia loves working as a governess, despite the objections of her mother, Amelia. And as it turns out, Amelia has a lot to say about the Mayfield men—none of it good. But Julia dismisses the rumors of ruined reputations and instead concentrates on helping Peter with his children and his fledgling business in canine husbandry. His kindness and gentleness is endearing—and increasingly attractive.

But Amelia, whose heart was broken thirty years ago by none other than Elliott Mayfield, is determined to prevent any relationship from blooming either between Peter and Julia—or between herself and Elliott.

Hearts and history collide as both couples must face their pasts and decide if risking it all is worth the promise of new love and a new future.

My review

Promises and Primroses is another wonderful book by Josi Kilpack, and I am looking forward to more books about the Mayfield family. I loved everything about this book. The characters were wonderful. I enjoyed the alternating point of views immensely. It brought a wonderful depth to the story and added an intriguing take on situations, whether they were past misunderstandings, or current aspirations. I especially loved Julia. Her kindness was what I loved the most, but her amazing knowledge of raising dogs, won me over the most. Peter and Elliott were also wonderful. Peter is honorable and kind. Amelia, well, it took time for her to win me over, but her intentions were there. I loved how the story revolved around all four people and the challenges of getting them together. There was one scene (well, actually two scenes) with Peter and Julia that I read several times because I loved them so much.

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author links

Goodreads / Amazon / Website 

Purchase links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book


Friday, September 21, 2018

Six Sisters' Stuff - Copycat Cooking


This cookbook is so much fun. Every recipe in it, is food I love from my favorite restaurants. My favorites to try were the Texas Roadhouse Rolls, In-N-Out burger. My daughters are anxious for me to make the Chick-fil-A chicken nuggets.

My favorite thing about this cookbook were the pictures and descriptions of each recipe. Flipping through this recipe book will make your mouth water! The recipes are easy to follow and give you an idea of how long from start to finish it will take to start enjoying these classic recipes.

Enjoy!

Purchase your copy today!



Friday, September 14, 2018

The Neverland Inn by K. C. Grant -- Blog Tour

The Neverland Inn: A Culinary Romance

Author: K. C. Grant

Publisher: Covenant

Published: September 2018

ISBN13: 9781524405915

Paperback: 192 pages

FTC FYI: I received a copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Daniel Cavanaugh has it all—a lucrative career as a lawyer, a gorgeous fiancée, and his future mapped out for him. So why is he feeling increasingly dissatisfied with his life? When the assignment to handle his late grandmother’s estate takes him to the California coast, Daniel welcomes the escape. Staying at the nearby bed-and-breakfast isn’t really his style, but he soon realizes the inn may hold the key to the answers he’s been seeking. Spindrift Cove has few opportunities for a young unmarried woman like Sarah Michaels. Even so, she enjoys her solitude as owner and chef at the Neverland Inn. She thrives on catering to the needs of her guests and treating them to her fantastic cooking. But when Daniel walks through her door, he immediately tests her patience. Though he is handsome and well-bred, she finds him insufferable. Soon, however, the tranquility of the inn works its magic, and Daniel and Sarah forge a sweet and unexpected connection—until the life he left behind in the city demands his return and it seems that a happily ever after may not be on the menu after all. 

My Review

The Neverland Inn is an absolute pleasure to read. Sarah is a delightfully pleasant character. She has the characteristics of someone I would want to be friends with. Sarah is  an all-around genuine, kind person. I admit it took me some time to warm up to Daniel, he was too much of a stuff shirt, but once I did, I couldn't wait to see how their relationship would develop. This book also had a fun "treat", all the recipes sound amazing. I love books that incorporate recipes, and when I was reading, it definitely made me hungry and I wished I was a good cook. :) The Cheer-Up Chocolate Chip Cookies would be amazing and wow, did they look good. I liked the turn the climax took and it made me appreciate Daniel more and more. 

4 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Goodreads / Website

Purchase Links

Amazon e-book / Amazon paperback / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book


Tour Schedule:



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 10, 2018

Long Journey Home by Sarah M. Eden -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Long Journey Home (Hope Springs series)

Author: Sarah M. Eden

Published: Sept. 4, 2018

Publisher: Mirror Press

ISBN13: 9781947152298

Paperback: 400 pages

FYC FYI: I received an e-book from the publisher. All views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

From Sarah M. Eden, the USA Today Bestselling author of the Longing for Home series, LONG JOURNEY HOME is a new romance novel set in the beloved world of Hope Springs.

Widowed by war, Maura O’Connor has raised her son alone under the weight of poverty in the unforgiving slums of New York City. That harsh and difficult life has taken a toll on them both. Desperate to save her son from the misery around them, she moves them both to the tiny western town of Hope Springs, where her late husband’s family lives, hoping that the decade of silence between them does not mean she and Aidan will be rejected outright. Her son needs family, and she would endure anything to see him happy.

Ryan Callaghan has worked the land belonging to the late Granny Claire for years, dreaming of one day claiming it as his own. Living in his brother’s home affords him no freedom, no stability, no joy. The arrangement is even harder on his mother, whose health is quickly deteriorating. A risky investment in the land has finally begun to pay off, and he is at last in a position to secure a better future for them both. When use of the home is, without warning, offered to a newly arrived widow and her son, that future is entirely uncertain.

Both Maura and Ryan desperately need the Claire farm, for their own futures as well as those of the loved ones who depend on them. Neither can remain in Hope Springs without the house and land, but only one can claim it in the end.


My review

Long Journey Home is another masterpiece from beloved author Sarah M. Eden. I truly love this series of books and Long Journey Home is a perfect addition to the series. Maura and Ryan were wonderful characters. I enjoyed the plot and the conflict the characters had between wanting to be friends and remaining rivals on who keeps the farm each person desperately needs. Maura is keeping a secret, and when Ryan finds out, he can't help but feel for her. I loved the connection with the wonderful O'Connor family. They brighten up every page they are on. I enjoyed their continued story through these characters. I laughed, I cried, and when the story ended, I had a big smile. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase Links

Amazon paperback / Amazon Kindle / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book

Author Links


Sarah M. Eden on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SarahMEden/
BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/sarah-m-eden

Tour schedule








a Rafflecopter giveaway