Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Rewind to You by Laura Johnston -- Free ebook

Links to FREE eBook:

Rewind to You FREE on Amazon Kindle

FREE on Barnes and Noble

FREE on eBooks
FREE on Kobo


   “Johnston’s debut spotlights romance and familial relationships, including themes like grief and self-sacrifice. It’s an ideal story for readers looking for a deep-rooted YA love story with the emotional ups and downs and poignancy of a Nicholas Sparks contemporary. There’s also a touch of wit and a sigh-worthy hero – a definite on your TBR list.”
– RT Book Reviews



Wish You Were Here

One last summer before college on beautiful Tybee Island is supposed to help Sienna forget. But how can she? This is where her family spent every summer before everything changed, before the world as she knew it was ripped away.

But the past isn’t easily left behind. Especially when Sienna keeps having episodes that take her back to the night she wants to forget. Even when she meets the mysterious Austin Dobbs, the guy with the intense blue eyes, athlete’s body, and weakness for pralines who scooped her out of trouble when she blacked out on River Street.

When she’s with Austin, Sienna feels a whole new world opening up to her. Austin has secrets, and she has history. But caught between the past and the future, Sienna can still choose what happens now…



Contemporary YA romance
Published by Kensington Publishing Corp.


"I love a good YA summer romance and for me, this one totally hit the spot!...I loved the journey; I loved the story; I loved the romance; I loved the little surprises and twists; and I loved the ending! Content: no language; mild violence; lots of kissing. Clean!" - Katie's Clean Book Collection

"I loved this book!...It caught my attention from the beginning and didn't let up the entire time." - Mel's Shelves

"This is a really remarkable love for me, to be honest. Definitely worth my 5 stars." - Book Inspections/Silly Readers

"Rewind to You is a fantastic young adult book. It has it all and it does it all so very well. Romance, heartbreak, loss, growth. You really can’t ask for more with a book. Laura Johnston created a little master piece in this otherwise unassuming young adult contemporary. "- Book Briefs

"This is why I LOVE reading YA! Rewind to You is a sweet romance with such awesome lyrical writing that I couldn't help but be swept up in the feelings of the characters." - A Writer's Dream

"I've read a lot of contemporary books the past two years, and I can safely say that Rewind To You is easily one of the best that I have ever read." - Justin's Book Blog

"...This was so much more than a sweet love story, it was a wonderfully done tale of learning how to deal with pain, loss, and moving on while still keeping your heart open to new experiences, new people, an new challenges." - My Guilty Obsession

"The writing is excellent and the story only deepens as the summer draws to a close, leaving the characters with resolution and the reader with a satisfying ending." - Heidi Reads

"5 out of 5...but I think it deserves another star!!! It's AWESOME!...This story was such a sad, and beautiful story all at the same time." - My Love for Reading Keeps Growing

"Laura Johnston has written a beautiful story with wonderful characters that have so much depth to them, I could have sworn they were real." - The Written Adventure

"Laura Johnston's debut novel Rewind to You is a perfect summer read ! A stunning soul touching story about finding love and forgiveness." - Lady A, Literature Junkie Extraordinaire 

"Rewind To You is a beautiful, heart touching romance. Laura Johnston deals with a subject we don't want to think about, the loss of a loved one, but she did it with heartfelt tenderness and a beautiful romance. I recommend Sienna and Austin's love story as a must read." - I Heart YA Books 

"I really enjoyed this book from Laura Johnston. The characters were solid and the story was fast paced and sweet." - Min Reads and Reviews

"This book was soooo good!" - Mylissa's Reviews and Books Thoughts

"I went through every emotion more than once. I can't find enough words to convey just how much I LOVED this book" - Crazy Four Books

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade -- Spotlight/Giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Order your copy of A Love Like Ours by April 17th to have part of your proceeds go to the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund (more details on the Launch).
(Pin this image linking to the Tour Launch for an extra giveaway entry.)

A Love Like Ours (Porter Family #3)A Love Like Ours
(Porter Family #3)
by Becky Wade
Christian Contemporary Romance
Paperback, 368 Pages
May 5th 2015 by Bethany House Publishers


Deeply scarred from a day he wishes he could forget during his military service, Thoroughbred trainer Jake Porter has given up on love. He struggles against symptoms of PTSD, lives a solitary life, and avoids relationships.

When Lyndie James, Jake's childhood best friend, returns to their hometown of Holley, Texas, Jake cautiously hires her to exercise his Thoroughbreds. Lyndie is tender-hearted, fiercely determined, and afraid of nothing, just like she was as a child. Jake trusts her with his prized racehorse, Silver Leaf, then battles his hopes for his horse against his increasing fear for Lyndie's safety.

Though Jake and Lyndie have grown into very different adults, the bond that existed during their childhood still ties them together. Against Jake's will, Lyndie's sparkling, optimistic personality begins to tear down the walls he's built around his heart. A glimmer of the hope he'd thought he'd lost returns. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?

Excerpt

Jake turned up the collar of his brown corduroy hunting jacket, then rested his forearms on the top rail of the wooden fence that enclosed the thirty-acre pasture. His careful attention catalogued numerous things about the colt within, only a handful of them visual. Call it horse sense. Or instinct. Jake understood things about these animals that most people didn’t.
A few days ago he’d decided to back off training this particular colt, Desert Willow, and give him more time to recover fully from his arthroscopic knee surgery. Willow liked to complain about his sore knee, which meant Jake needed to freshen him longer before Willow would be ready to resume training. Five more days maybe—
Jake heard the crunch of a twig breaking and flinched at the unexpected noise, then cursed himself for flinching. He could already tell that the sound had been made by nothing but footsteps.
Turning, he squinted beneath the brim of his black Stetson and tried to make out who was coming toward him. A small woman with long, wavy blond hair. She wasn’t on the barn staff; that he knew. He angled toward her more fully.
And then, very slowly, recognition began to slide over him. The hair on his arms rose.
It couldn’t be her. Not after all this time. And yet the rational part of his brain understood that it could be. He knew she’d moved back to Holley. His mom had been nagging him to see her ever since, but he’d wanted no part of that, no part of her.
Yet here she was.
He went to stone, inside and out. Only his heart kept moving, knocking inside his chest, hard and sure. He didn’t want her to look at him.
He was ugly. And she was beautiful.
He’d already lived the life and died the death of the boy she’d known. She wouldn’t recognize him now, same as he no longer recognized himself.
She wore jeans tucked into black riding boots. A white shirt under a pale green sweater that hung open down to her hips. Big hoop earrings. Her scarf, which had a lot of green, pink, white, and gray on it, didn’t have ends. It just rested in a loop around her neck.
She no longer looked like a Texan. She looked like a Californian to him now.
She came to a stop a few feet away and stuck her hands into the back pockets of her jeans.
He couldn’t speak, and she had the grace not to say anything trite. She only took him in, her head tilted slightly, a half smile on her face, softness in her gaze.
He hadn’t felt any emotion forcefully since his accident. Yet the sight of her caused bitterness to blaze through him, true and clean. You left me behind, he wanted to accuse. You. Left. Me.
It surprised him, the anger turning in his gut like a blade. She’d been a kid back then. Her father had gotten a better job in California, and so they’d moved. It hadn’t been Lyndie’s fault. But that’s not what he was feeling, standing here all these years later. He was feeling a betrayal so strong it nearly took his breath.
“Jake,” she said at last, her smile growing.

He dipped his chin. “Lyndie.”


During her childhood in California, Becky Wade frequently produced homemade plays starring her sisters, friends, and cousins. These plays almost always featured a heroine, a prince, and a love story with a happy ending. She's been a fan of all things romantic ever since.

Becky and her husband lived overseas in the Caribbean and Australia before settling in Dallas, Texas. It was during her years abroad that Becky's passion for reading turned into a passion for writing. She published three historical romances for the general market, put her career on hold for many years to care for her kids, and eventually returned to writing sheerly for the love of it. Sheís delighted to be penning warm, wry, and heartwarming contemporary romances for the Christian market. She's the Carol Award and Inspirational Reader's Choice Award winning author of My Stubborn Heart, Undeniably Yours, and Meant to Be Mine.

These days Becky can be found failing but trying to keep up with her housework, sweating at the gym, carting her kids around town, playing tennis, hunched over her computer, eating chocolate, or collapsed on the sofa watching TV with her husband.


Other Books by the Author
Tour Schedule:
April 20th - Launch
May 27th - Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway

$50 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
Signed copy of A Love Like Ours (US Only)
1 Kindle ebook (gifted through Amazon) of A Love Like Ours (INT - if available in your area)

LIFT: Authors Raising Autism Awareness -- Giveaway

LIFT banner justified
Week 3 of LIFT doesn't let up! We have such incredible donations from amazing authors this week.
If you missed the LIFT t-shirts, there's still a chance! Reserve yours in our "round two" LIFT order today! Don't be left out when we have LIFT selfie day!

LIFT tshirt
This week's MegaGiveaway benefits The Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation.

Thank you to the generous authors donating!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 20, 2015

The Impossible Race by Chad Morris


The Impossible Race (Cragbridge Hall #3)

Author: Chad Morris

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 2015

ISBN13: 9781609079796

Hardcover: 432 pages

FTC FYI: Received a hardcover copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Every year the futuristic school, Cragbridge Hall, holds its most popular tournament--the Hunt: a series of challenges that range throughout the school and require the use of its amazing inventions like its holographic time machine! But this year is different. Rather than a monetary or academic reward, this year's winner will be the recipient of a carefully guarded school secret: a secret that could prove both powerful and dangerous.

Afraid that the secret may be one of their Grandfather's inventions, Abby and Derick gather several friends and enroll. But when Derick gets a mysterious message from the future, the team of friends must figure out how to succeed even when they know they are destined to fail. The stakes have never been higher. A page-turning, time-travel adventure that teaches powerful lessons about choice and consequence, believing you can do hard things, and valuing our history.

My Review

I knew this was going to be a fantastic end to a great series, and I was right.  I was so excited for this book to come out.  Books like these are why I love middle grade.  Abby, Derick, and their friends are amazing and Carol still makes me smile.  After receiving some news about Derick, the twins and their friends are faced with another impossible task, to win the school's race to save all the secrets they hold dear.  I love how they have to really think their way out of situations and rely on each other, all while figuring out if someone among them has betrayed them.  I couldn't have been more pleased with the end result and I was turning pages as fast as I could to see what would happen next!  So many twists and turns and such a fun read.  Well done, my friend.

5 of out 5 stars.  Another wonderful book from this talented author.  If you haven't read this series yet, definitely start with book 1.

Author Links


Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book

Thursday, April 16, 2015

The Violet Hour by Brynn Chapman -- Release Blitz

Through Prism Book Tours.

We're celebrating the RELEASE of 
The Violet Hour
By Brynn Chapman

Check out the book and author info, exclusive excerpt, and enter the giveaway below...

The Violet Hour
Brynn Chapman
YA Romantic Historical Fantasy
ebook, 209 Pages


Secrets.

Allegra Teagarden, a musical prodigy, flees her father’s dominance and abuse while touring in pre-civil war Charleston, South Carolina. Plagued by depression over her mother’s suicide during their previous visit, she escapes in an effort to piece together the details behind her mother’s mysterious demise.

Secrets.

Down to her final coin, Allegra happens on Charleston’s Fancy, the first southern amusement park, which is searching for musicians for its orchestra. At first, the park seems her salvation; but she quickly realizes she has traded the dominance of her father, for the even more terrifying madness of the owner, Silas.

And more secrets.

Allegra meets the dashing Brighton LeFroy, Fancy’s engineer and pyrotechnics master. His shabby clothing cannot conceal the brilliant mind beneath. The musician’s whisper he is a witch, is obsessed with storms, and is rumored...to fly. And despite the danger, despite her own misgivings, Allegra is inexplicable drawn to him.

She ventures to his reclusive home on Fire Isle during a thunderstorm and together they seek to unravel an ancient mystery.

Exclusive Excerpt

     LeFroy stares out the window, his brow creased in thought. He remains statue-still, as he has for the past quarter hour, oblivious to the late afternoon sun that bathes his face in a beautiful golden-amber.
     I stare intently, reveling in the rare opportunity to drink in his features.
     His dark curly hair is in need of a cutting and his thin lips turn down as he absently bites the side of his nail, lost to himself. He is not a classic beauty—but the singularity of his face demand’s attention.
     Not all women would swoon for him. But something about him draws me…makes him utterly irresistible.
     The warmth on my chest again. Almost hot this time. I struggle not to look down my dress to examine what I imagined to be an inevitable rash, but all I see is the Magnolia pattern—the patch on my dress, lovingly sewn by my mother’s hand.
     I banish the thought. I shall not think on her now.
     Brighton clears his throat, driving away my mother’s ghost and I struggle for words. When he regards me, my tongue seems to shrivel in my mouth.
     It is his eyes. They…speak. Sometimes whisper, sometimes shout.
     They now squint, as whatever vexing scenario playing on his mind continues to dominate his demeanor. He doesn’t move. Doesn’t speak.

Brynn ChapmanBorn and raised in western Pennsylvania, Brynn Chapman is the daughter of two teachers. Her writing reflects her passions: science, history and love—not necessarily in that order. In real life, the geek gene runs strong in her family, as does the Asperger’s syndrome. Her writing reflects her experience as a pediatric therapist and her interactions with society’s downtrodden. In fiction, she’s a strong believer in underdogs and happily-ever-afters. She also writes non-fiction and lectures on the subjects of autism and sensory integration and is a medical contributor to online journal The Age of Autism.

She also writes under the pseudonym R.R. Smythe .


Release Blitz Giveaway

$10 Amazon Gift Card, ebook of The Violet Hour, and Bracelet with: "Well behaved women seldom make history." - Eleanor Roosevelt 
Open internationally (bracelet to US entrants only)
Ends April 21st

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Prism Book Tours

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Scion by Kelly Oram -- Release Day/Giveaway

Scion (Supernaturals #3)
from bestselling author Kelly Oram
NOW AVAILABLE!
Just $3.99 on AMAZON
Title: Scion
Series: Supernaturals #3
Author: Kelly Oram
Publisher: Bluefields
Release Date: April 14, 2015
Other books in the series: ChameleonUngifted
Summary: Russ Devereaux used to have it all—loving father, beautiful best friend, a carefree life in a town he loved, and strong magic. He was the king of his happy universe. Five months ago, that life was taken from him. Do not pass Go. Do not collect two hundred dollars. 
He’s spent months fighting back and building himself a new life, in a new city, with new friends he now considers family. But suddenly, his new life might be in jeopardy of getting shot straight to hell just like the last one. Literally, this time. 
He’s discovered power inside of him—an ancient, dark power that he shouldn’t have, can’t explain, can’t control, and definitely needs to keep secret. He needs answers, but before he can get them, he finds himself arrested and on his way to face the supernatural council. The same council that stole everything from him the first time. 
As Russ struggles to keep his new power under wraps, his old life and he new one are about to collide and it’s bound to be explosive. He may not have all the answers he needs, but one thing is certain: he’ll be damned if anyone is taking his new life from him. That is, if he’s not just plain damned.
***TEASER***
BONUS CONTENT:
Each book in the supernaturals series focuses on a different character and is told in there point of view. Scion (Book 3) is Russ's story, and he is excited to finally have his voice heard. If you'd like to get a sneak peek inside of his head, please enjoy this bonus scene from Chameleon written in his perspective. It's the very first chapter of the entire series, so even if you haven't started the Supernaturals series yet, you can still read it. It's totally spoiler free! (And hey, then you'll know what you have to look forward to in book three!) Here's a short excerpt:
I was trying to make her nervous on purpose. My whole intent tonight was to make her see me in a new way. What better way to do that than to crawl into bed with her in the middle of the night?
We hadn’t been in bed together since we were kids. Back when the fact that we were the opposite sex didn’t matter. It definitely mattered now. She looked so incredibly sexy at the moment that I could hardly think of anything other than the fact that I wanted to obliterate the word “friendship” from all known languages.
“What happened to the Disney Princess nightgown you wore the last time we were in bed together? That was hot.”
But not nearly as hot as the tank top and panties she was wearing right now. Damn. I hadn’t expected her to sleep so risqué. I’d genuinely been prepared for Captain America pajamas or something, considering her infatuation with Chris Evans. But this…she looked… Double damn. Even if this plan totally backfired on me tonight, right now it felt like the best idea I’d ever had.
As I took a mental picture of her, Dani finally realized she wasn’t wearing a bra and freaked out, pulling her covers up over her chest while glaring at me. If she hadn’t been awake before, she definitely was now. “You’d better have a damn good reason for being here or you’re going to be very sorry.”
She was pissed but it was worth it. I gave her a pout. “Since when do I need a reason?”
She opened her mouth to unleash a verbal tirade but I lifted a hand to stop her. I didn’t need to hear her rant. No lecture in the world was going to make me feel bad for sneaking in here and catching a semi-naughty glimpse of her. Am I shameless? Why, yes. Yes I am. It’s one of my many talents. Click here to read the entire RUSS POV Bonus Scene from Chameleon.
Or you can get started reading the series now. Chameleon, the first book in the series, is available for FREE DOWNLOAD on Amazon now through April 18th. 
It's a limited time offer, so don't miss out on the promotion! Snatch it up, while it's free!
Chameleon (Supernaturals#1)
For small-town rebel Dani Webber magic and monsters are no more real than the Easter Bunny… until the day she accidentally stops time. Dani quickly discovers that not only do supernaturals exist, but she herself is one of them. This is great news for her life-long best friend Russ, who can finally come clean about his own supernatural status and his undying love for her. Before the two can start to enjoy the long overdue relationship, Dani is taken by a powerful council of supernaturals who believe she is the Chosen One destined to save them from extinction. 

As if being kidnapped and expected to save the world isn’t bad enough, an ancient prophecy warns of the Chosen One’s dark nature: “Only the truest love will keep her an agent for good.” The council believes they know who this “true love” is and, unfortunately, that person isn’t Russ. The mysterious, powerful and devastatingly handsome Seer is the last person Dani wants in her life, but when she starts having visions of a horrific future, she has no one else to turn to for help. 
Soon Dani finds herself torn between two very different boys with two very different opinions of whom she can trust. With the visions getting worse and time running out, Dani is forced to put aside her feelings and work with both the Seer and Russ before an ancient evil is unleashed upon the earth.
Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen–a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which family and friends still tease her. She's obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and loves to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, four children, and a cat named Mr. Darcy.
Connect with her through social media:
Never miss a new release! Subscribe to my newsletter for new release, events, and giveaway updates. SUBSCRIBE

Saturday, April 11, 2015

Miss Burton Unmasks a Prince by Jennifer Moore -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Miss Burton Unmasks a Prince

Published: April 1st, 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-913-1

Paperback: 183 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

1812

Southern belle Meg Burton is her parents’ last hope of avoiding financial ruin, and a distant cousin’s kind gesture seems an ideal solution: he will sponsor Meg for a London Season. The pursuit of a wealthy husband was not exactly how the bookish young woman had envisioned her first trip abroad—after all, what does a girl from Charleston, South Carolina, know about being a lady?

Amidst the stunning gowns and extravagant balls of the ton, Meg feels like an imposter. Thankfully, she has one friend who knows her true self—Carlo, a handsome stable hand. Despite their difference in station, love blossoms between the unlikely pair, and Meg is sure of one thing: she wants nothing to do with the insufferable European aristocracy.

Prince Rodrigo de Talavera has lost everything to Napoleon. Jaded by war, he has become bitter and miserable—until he meets Meg, an American woman whose eccentric schemes and passion for life remind him what it is to laugh and to love. If only she knew him for himself and not as Carlo the stable hand. With the shadow of deception looming over their happy acquaintance and the dangers of war drawing ever more near, can Meg and Rodrigo find the courage to put aside their pretenses and discover if they can be loved as they truly are?

My Review

This book is another triumph for Jennifer Moore.  I loved it!  Meg is a joy.  Her character bursts off the pages.  I loved what went on in her head.  I especially loved all of her spunk and her adventurous spirit.  Carlo/Rodrigo was a great character too.  I also enjoyed how Meg and Rodrigo got to know each other and the adventures they had to try to make the other happy.  One in particular had me laughing out loud.  I truly loved how Meg was her own person, and I loved everything about her, she brought a smile to my face many times.  I also enjoyed Meg's relationship with Serena.  I love (sorry, I'm using that word a lot) how Jennifer's three books intermix.  They are their own story, of course, but the characters are familiar, and I was happy learn more about Serena and her family.

5 out of 5 stars.  I have loved every word that Jennifer has written so far, and can't wait to read more.

Author Links

Purchase Links



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, April 10, 2015

What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know by Rachelle J. Christensen/Connie E. Sokol -- Cover Reveal

10 secrets to connect
What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know by Connie Sokol & Rachelle Christensen
Is your daughter asking questions about friends, peer pressure, school, and even her weight?
As a mom, are you wondering how to answer them?
Welcome to the club.
But you can relax. Because we’ve asked real sixth-grade girls to dish on their top secret questions. And, we’ve provided time-tested real-life answers that work.
Add to that an enjoyable format. The “Just for Girls” section speaks right to your daughter in words and ways she understands. The “Just for Moms” section talks straight to moms, giving you information, resources, and easy-to-share answers. We include tips for how to start, handle, and enjoy the conversations no matter the situation.
Create connected conversations with your daughter as you explore these life questions together. Get plain facts and jumpstart questions. Discuss the provided scenarios so she can practice responses to use in real-time. Download decorative cards with positive statements and fun fill-in sentences.
Use What Every Girl Needs to Know About 6th Grade to make it happen. Together, answer questions and create connection.
You got this.
Enter the Goodreads 3 Book Giveaway
add to goodreads
Praise for What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know
10 Secrets to Connect Moms & Daughters
“At a time when so many barriers are straining mother/daughter relationships, and our daughter’s esteem is being attacked from every side, “What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know” gives mothers the tools they need to communicate (even about the tough stuff). It gives daughters the confidence to know that they have what it takes to survive the unique transitional years. Whether your relationship with your daughter is strained, or you want to strengthen what is already strong, use this smart and savvy information. You and your girl(s) will learn how to thrive through the teen years.”
–Heather Ann Johnson M.S. Adjunct Faculty, BYU, Mother to 5 girls
“With conflicting messages today, it’s easy for moms and daughters to get confused and overwhelmed. This book bestows all the wisdom you want to pour into your daughter’s heart and mind in a fun, non-threatening way. Dread turns into confidence as you realize you have the tools to face those teenage years TOGETHER and have a ball doing it.”
–Rachel Skinner, Mother of nine, Social Worker
“This book provided a wonderful bonding experience for me and my daughter. As parents we always think we know how our child is doing. Then we get into a deep conversation and realize that compared to what we thought, they are doing either so much better or are suffering so much more. But they hold those feelings back to protect us. Sometimes they fear that talking about it means more pain, but this books shows that talking is healing, especially when we know how.”
—Karrie Glazner, Mother of Three Wonderful Kids
connie sokol1Author Connie E. Sokol
Connie E. Sokol is a mother of seven and a favorite local and national speaker for over fifteen years. She is a core contributor on KSL TV’s “Studio 5 with Brooke Walker” and a national blogger for “Motherhood Matters” at www.ksl.com. She is a former TV and radio host for Bonneville Communications and newspaper and magazine columnist. Mrs. Sokol is the author of twelve books including Faithful, Fit & Fabulous; Create a Powerful Life Plan; The Life is Too Short Collection; 40 Days with the Savior; and Caribbean Crossroads. Mrs. Sokol marinates in time spent with her family and eating decadent treats.
rachelleAuthor Rachelle J. Christensen
Rachelle J. Christensen is a mother of five who loves connecting with her children and wrote this book in answer to questions from her two daughters. She also has an amazing husband, three cats, and five chickens. An award-winning author, she has written several mystery/suspense novels, and she solves the mystery of the missing shoe on a daily basis. Rachelle graduated cum laude from Utah State University with a degree in psychology and a music minor. She enjoys singing and songwriting, playing the piano, running, motivational speaking, and, of course, reading.

$25 Giveaway
Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 5/1/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by readinglight.com. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

A Heart Revealed by Josi S. Kilpack

A Heart Revealed


Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: April 7th, 2015

ISBN13: 9781609079901

Paperback: 336 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Amber Marie Sterlington, the Rage of the Season in Regency-era London, has her pick of men, and she knows what she wants most in a husband: a title and a fortune. Why would she ever marry for something as fickle as love? And why would she ever look twice at Thomas Richards, a third son of a country lord?

But when Amber’s social standing is threatened, the character of her future husband becomes far more important than his position. After a public humiliation, she finds herself exiled to Yorkshire. Alone except for her maid, Amber is faced with a future she never expected in a circumstance far below what she has known all her life. Humbled and lonely, Amber begins to wonder if isolation is for the best. Who could ever love her now?

My Review

First off, I want to congratulate Josi on this amazing book.  It is already getting rave reviews, and I now that I am finished I can see why!  Kirkus, Publisher's Weekly, and so on and so on, all agree it is a fabulous book.  Way to go, Josi!!

This book was beautiful.  The writing was flawless and the characters were strong and developed well.  I loved how the author took her time in helping the reader learn to like Amber, because I admit, I didn't like her at first.  I LOVED Suzanne.  She was so wonderful.  I loved how she was with Amber and how she didn't take any guff from her, and was brave enough to tell her.   I loved how their relationship grew into a treasured friendship.  I also loved when Amber was sent to Yorkshire, her friendship/relationship with Thomas took time and I appreciated the fact that Thomas knew some things about her that Amber didn't know and how they learned to love each other.  One of my favorite things happened at the end of the story with Amber's sister Darra, I was in tears.  As the story progressed, my heart broke for Amber, not knowing what was happening to her and learning her new life in her tiny cottage.  I loved how she learned to take care of herself and appreciated her friendship and need for Suzanne.  I honestly could go on and on, but you will need to read it for yourself, and love it as much as I did.

5 ouf 5 stars!  Josi is also the author of the Sadie Hoffmiller culinary mystery series, another favorite of mine.  Plus many other novels and novellas.  She is amazing, and I am a huge fan of her writing and Josi herself.

Author Links


Purchase Links