Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Prejudice Meets Pride by Rachael Anderson -- Featured Freebie

featured freebie
Don’t miss this fabulous freebie! Grab your copy of Prejudice Meets Pride by Rachael Anderson today!! Rachael is a fabulous author and her books are always clean and entertaining.
prejudice-meets-pride
Prejudice Meets Pride by Rachael Anderson
After years of pinching pennies and struggling to get through art school, Emma Makie’s hard work finally pays off with the offer of a dream job. But when tragedy strikes, she has no choice but to make a cross-country move to Colorado Springs to take temporary custody of her two nieces. She has no money, no job prospects, and no idea how to be a mother to two little girls, but she isn’t about to let that stop her. Nor is she about to accept the help of Kevin Grantham, her handsome neighbor, who seems to think she’s incapable of doing anything on her own.
Prejudice Meets Pride is the story of a guy who thinks he has it all figured out and a girl who isn’t afraid to show him that he doesn’t. It’s about learning what it means to trust, figuring out how to give and to take, and realizing that not everyone gets to pick the person they fall in love with. Sometimes, love picks them.

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Condemn Me Not by Heather B. Moore - Cover Reveal

I am excited to announce the 
cover reveal of 
USA Today Bestselling Author 
Heather B. Moore's 
CONDEMN ME NOT.

CONDEMN ME NOT releases 
March 14th, 2017!

Preorder links ebook / paperback







Here it is!





Monday, December 19, 2016

Forgotten Carols 25th Anniversary -- Review


Popular Musical Production ‘The Forgotten Carols’ celebrates 25th Anniversary
The Forgotten Carols, a seasonal concert favorite, celebrates its 25th anniversary this year.  Michael McLean, a well-known performer, composer, songwriter, author and director staged his first one-man concert in 1991 with the hopes of it becoming a tradition families would enjoy. For those first performances McLean played all the parts to give people a sense of how families could create their own narration at home.
Over the course of the last 25 years, McLean’s modest one-man show has evolved into a huge theatrical production with over 1 million concertgoers enjoying the music that has become a time-honored Christmas tradition and attracts repeat attendance from guests of all ages. The show has been produced all over the world in limited runs, including shows in Ireland, Germany, England and even Ukraine. “One of the great things about touring is seeing the familiar faces that have been coming for years and are part of the Forgotten Carols family,” shares McLean. “New comers and longtime devoted fans of this production keep the magic of the performance alive. We embrace, giggle, and sometimes cry at these reunions.” 
The Forgotten Carols 2016 concert schedule includes performances in four states Utah, Idaho, Nevada, and Arizona. The production has arranged over 20 shows in 12 different cities and showcases an elegant arrangement of special musical choral performances and solos. McLean stars as one of the musical’s primary characters, John, an elderly gentleman who helps Constance, a young nurse who can’t be bothered with Christmas, discover a new love for the season.   
Each year, local community and student choirs are invited to perform alongside the professional Forgotten Carol company members during the concert in their cities. It’s important to McLean and the show's producers to preserve this tradition that keeps the magic alive for an enchanting experience each year.
Performance tickets are on sale now. For a complete listing of concert dates and locations or to purchase tickets visit the website at www.forgottencarols.com.

My Review

My husband and I were fortunate to see The Forgotten Carols last week.  I have seen The Forgotten Carols before, but it had been a long time, and I was really excited to see it again.  The songs were beautiful, just as I remember.  Michael McLean does a fantastic job playing John.  The actors were great for their rolls and Constance was perfect.  I had forgotten how funny it was too, especially John.  I also get teary when I hear "Mary Let me Hold Her Baby", this time was no different.  

There are still some shows left this week!






Thursday, December 15, 2016

The Last Descent --Movie Blog Tour/Giveaway


The Last Descent
DVD Release: November 22nd

When John Edward Jones climbed down into Nutty Putty Cave in November of
2009 he wasn’t prepared for the adventure a head of him. As he explored a 
lesser-known area of the cave, he slid down into a narrow impasse 10 inches high
and 18 inches wide. Stuck upside down for over 28 hours, John was left with few
options but to call for help. The unique topography and geological makeup of
Nutty Putty cave created intense difficulties for the rescue team that risked
everything to save John’s life. Over 150 feet below the surface and the end of
over a thousand feet of tunnels, a unique friendship is formed as John and his
rescuers share their lives, loves, losses and dreams. As the rescue attempt
proceeds John unfolds the turns in his life that show what is most important, and
he tells the story of a love worth risking everything for.


My Review

When I sat down to watch The Last Descent, I had forgotten what took place in the mine 7 years ago. The writer/director of this film does an incredible job of depicting the events of that sad day.  The rescuers were depicted as one fictional character, Aaron.  The way the actor played that roll was a perfect example of the selflessness of rescuers and what they go through, too.  My daughter and I watched it together, and we both had tears in our eyes.  I could feel the emotion along with the actors, and I think each of them did an incredible job.  I enjoyed the flashbacks of how John and Emily met and were eventually married.  How John's baby boy is brought in was what had me crying even more. There are sad moments in the movie for sure, but there is also joy and happiness.

I received a complimentary copy of the DVD, all views and opinions expressed are my own.  

5 out of 5 stars.


PURCHASE LINKS

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Christmas Greetings from the Presidents

Christmas Greetings from the Presidents

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

ISBN13: 9781629722207

Hardcover: 87 pages

FTC FYI: Received a complimentary copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own

Goodreads Summary

Christmas Greetings from the Presidents takes a comforting, nostalgic look back in time to when Americans viewed the annual Christmas message to the nation as the embodiment of a national spirit of unity and goodwill through both the best of times and the darkest days of national trials. The book, the first of its kind by a national publisher, chronicles presidential Christmas messages from the inception of this tradition in 1927 with Calvin Coolidge to President Obama. It provides the historical context of the era, rarely-seen archival photographs that offer us a window into the history unfolding at the time, and a sidebar “Did you Know” feature with trivia that often shines a new light on the personality of the president as he responds to unplanned Christmas-time events. 

My Review

This book is a wonderful addition to your holiday book collection.  The words from our presidents are inspiring and meaningful.  I loved how God was mentioned in most of the messages and reminders of "Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself."  Many presidents talked of faith, love, acceptance, and to trust in God.

Calvin Coolidge said: "Christmas is not a time or a season, but a state of mind.  To cherish peace and good will, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas.  If we think on these things there will be born in us a Savior and over us all will shine a star -- sending its gleam of hope to the world."

There were many messages that brought tears to my eyes, especially considering what was going on in the world and in our country at the time.  Wars, The Great Depression, hunger, The Cold War, assassinations.  In some messages I could feel the weight of responsibility and the want of peace and hope.  I enjoyed the pictures and the historical reminders of the what was happening during their presidency before each message.  

5 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase Links

Deseret Book / Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book

Monday, December 5, 2016

The Wrong Side of Magic by Janette Rallison

The Wrong Side of Magic

Author: Janette Rallison

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Published: August 2016

ISBN13: 9781250074287

Hardcover: 336 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary PDF from the author, all views and opinons expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary:

The Phantom Tollbooth gets a modern-day spin in this magical middle grade fantasy filled with adventure and humor that will whisk readers away!

Hudson Brown stopped believing in magic long ago. That is, until the day he is whisked away to the magical land of Logos by a curious compass given to him by his off-beat neighbor, Charlotte.

Hudson discovers that Logos is a land ruled by words, thoughts, and memories. A fairy might ferry you across the river for the price of one memory. But be sure to look out for snarky unicorns, as they will see through those who are not pure of heart.

Not understanding the many rules of Logos, Hudson is quickly saddled with a troll curse. Charlotte, who, along with her father, was banished from Logos, can help get rid of the curse--but only if he agrees to find the lost Princess of Logos in return.

My Review

Janette Rallison is one of my favorite authors, her book are always amazing.  I was thrilled to review her middle grade book, The Wrong Side of Magic.  This book is so clever.  The clever ways Charlotte was able to disguise them in Logos, how they were able to sail to the Cliffs of Faces, the use of candied hearts, riding unicorns, so many fun and creative adventures.  I loved the play on words and humor.  There were so many events that made me smile and laugh out loud.  Hudson was a great character, and I adored Charlotte.  I loved their adventure and the things they learned along the way.  Hudson and Charlotte both realize some pretty great things.  There isn't much else I can say without giving away the book, but know you are in for a fantastic adventure.  

5 out of 5 stars.  This book can be enjoyed by boys, girls and their parents.  The ending is especially awesome.

Author Links

Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Love For All Season by Stacy Henrie -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Love for All Seasons
By Stacy Henrie

Love is something that is perfect for every season of the year. We hope you enjoyed finding out more about this newest novella collection set during each of the four seasons. If you missed any of the excerpts or review, go back and check them out now...

Launch - Note from the Author

In these four novellas - one for each season of the year - you'll meet four couples who overcome a myriad of obstacles to love with faith and determination. Each story takes place in a different time period and setting, one that I felt really showcased that particular season.


"I love this author's writing style and loved how well the novellas came together into stories that felt complete. For as much as I complain about certain seasons (namely winter because I hate being freezing cold all of the time...and maybe autumn because right now, I'm pretty tired of raking leaves), I LOVE having seasons. There are things that I love about each and every one and having a sweet story set in each season is truly magical."

Heidi Reads... - Review

"Love for All Seasons was a perfect reading experience! . . . It was too hard to pick a favorite from the four stories set in each of the four seasons, so I recommend reading them all and deciding for yourself ;) Can't wait to read more from this author!"


"I enjoyed each novella very much and won’t even try to pick a favorite. Love for All Seasons is filled with sweet, touching stories – perfect for any time of the year when you’re looking for a satisfying shorter read."

Bookworm Lisa - Review

"I loved this anthology! The stories are short and super sweet. I loved all of the characters and wanted to see their romances bloom. The book has a romance for each season of the year."


"If you are looking for some sweet historical romances, set in different eras, tied together with a similar inspirational thread, look no further than Love For All Seasons by Stacy Henrie. It’s a collection that easily be read in one sitting, but you’ll also find yourself wanting to savor each story, reluctant to leave the characters behind. An excellent set of novellas, all four strong and each one unique."


Samantha knew the voice without turning. It was Rex. Her best friend. Her longtime neighbor. And the boy she’d bested as many times as she’d lost to during their shared years at the one-room schoolhouse up the road. Their competitive dares hadn’t ended, either, when Rex, two years her senior, had graduated. Though Samantha had enjoyed being the shining star of the classroom for those two years.


If he stayed here long enough, maybe Mr. Whitefield would give up the idea of Rex accompanying Samantha, in this too-small sleigh, for the evening.

Not that he didn’t want to help deliver the gifts—he hated to see the older man’s traditional
Christmas Eve activity halted by illness, and Rex agreed that Samantha shouldn’t go out alone.
But tonight’s outing would make keeping his promise to stay away from Samantha impossible.

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

Tempest leapt up to find the hammer sitting innocently on top of the ledger at the far end of the counter. “Aha.” She lifted the tool off the account book and brandished it in the air in triumph. She’d remembered after all.

“Do you greet all of your customers as if you mean to bash them over the head?”


"As always, Henrie delivers lovely and wonderful stories that readers will absolutely love. I would recommend this magnificent novella collection to readers that enjoy Henrie’s previous work, as well as are fans of historical romance stories."


Bram charged into the street, heedless of the traffic, his bag of unneeded nails gripped inside his hand. He hadn’t expected his competition to be a woman. And certainly not one as passionate and pretty as Tempest Blakely. When she’d leapt up from behind the counter, brandishing that hammer like some fierce Roman goddess, he quite forgot his purpose in entering the store in the first place.

Mel's Shelves - Review

"Even though the stories are short, they feel complete. The characters and situations are so different and I enjoyed each one of them. I loved how faith and belief in God played an important role in each of their stories. This is the type of book you can enjoy in bits and pieces or all at once. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading clean, historical romance!"

Bookworm Nation - Excerpt

After gathering up the bundle of towels and clean linens to deliver to the next room, Loralee slipped out the door—only to crash into a firm chest clad in a damp bathing shirt. A hand clasped her elbow to keep her from joining the towels and sheets that had spilled onto the carpet.

Don't forget to enter the awesome giveaway below as well...

Love for All Seasons: Four Inspirational Historical Romance NovellasLove for All Seasons
(Four Inspirational Historical Romance Novellas)
Inspirational Historical Romance
ebook, 164 pages
November 9th 2016

If you like the inspirational historical romances of Deanne Gist and Lauraine Snelling, you’ll love USA Today bestselling author Stacy Henrie! With four novellas—one for each season of the year—you’ll find a heartwarming collection of couples from a simpler time in America who discover the redeeming powers of faith and love.

A Long Winter Kiss

As Samantha and Rex’s childhood friendship matured into young love, they promised their hearts to one another, even as Rex headed off to war. But their hope for a bright future was shattered when Rex succumbed to his belief that the horrors of war had made him a man no woman could love. Now he has returned, and Samantha must help Rex see that he still has much to give—and much more to gain—by replacing fear with faith and opening himself to love.

An Unlikely Spring Courtship

Tempest worked hard to secure her independence as a woman running her own mercantile, so when Bram has the audacity to open a competing shop in a town with only enough room for one, Tempest is driven to despair. And then to retaliation. But when tragedy strikes their community and threatens everything they both hold dear, will they be able to recognize that what they share is far more important than what separates them?

A Summer for Love

Loralee’s life has changed dramatically in the eight years since she’s last seen the resort town of Bayocean, but one thing that has never changed is her feelings for Wyatt, a man she promised to meet at the resort on a specific day if they were both still unattached. When Wyatt appears on that date, as hopeful and uncertain as Loralee, the two must see if an old and abiding love has outlasted the changes wrought by time—and begin to build a new life together.

Romance in Autumn

Phoebe and James grew up together but apart in the same beautiful mansion, he as the son of the owners, she as the daughter of a servant. In the years since, Phoebe’s fortunes have changed dramatically, and she carries the dream of one day owning the mansion that is still close to her heart. Until James—now a deeply compelling man—delivers the bad news that securing the purchase will be all but impossible. As Phoebe reluctantly relinquishes her dream, she will also look deep into her soul to learn that a true home might exist in her budding love for James.



USA Today bestselling author Stacy Henrie is the author of western romances and the Of Love and War series, which includes Hope at Dawn, a 2015 RITA Award finalist for excellence in romance. She was born and raised in the West, where she currently resides with her family. She enjoys reading, road trips, interior decorating, chocolate, and most of all, laughing with her husband and kids. You can learn more about Stacy and her books by visiting her website at stacyhenrie.com.


Tour Giveaway

$40 Amazon eGift Card and Winner's Choice of an ebook of Any of Stacy Henrie's Books (you can see her books listed on Amazon here)
Open internationally
Ends December 8th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!