Wednesday, November 23, 2016

My Father's House by Rose Chandler Johnson -- Grand Finale Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
My Father's House
By Rose Chandler Johnson

Suspense and romance mix in this inspiring story. We hope you enjoyed the tour!
If you missed any of the stops, go back and check them out now...

Launch - The Inspiration for My Father's House

The setting needed to play a critical part in the story as well. So, with my roots firmly planted in Georgia, I modeled my fictional town after so many small Southern towns, and I set in some of my love of nature. Being a Southerner, I had definite ideas about elements I needed for this story to come alive. Besides fascinating characters and a distinctive setting, there had to be a little crazy, eccentric, and some downright meanness, mixed with suspense, romance, and lots of southern charm. And if the story makes you long for dirt roads and blackberry picking, shade trees and front porch visiting, then I’ve done my job.

The Silver Dagger Scriptorium - A Sketch of Lily Rose’s Father, Michael Cates

Lily Rose’s relationship with her father sets the stage for her life and the story, My Father’s House. Although the reader gets only glimpses of her “Daddy”, they are telling glimpses which reveal who he is. Michael Cates takes the dominant role in his daughter’s early life and development. In that brief first chapter, the reader learns he takes particular pride and joy in his wife and daughter.



Wishful Endings - Excerpt

I followed him out onto the porch and watched him walk to the truck, stop, and turn. He fixed his gaze on me, and I knew he didn’t want to leave. I smiled then, and he nodded before getting in and backing down the driveway. He waved, and something about his smile and the gentle blue of the sky strengthened my heart. I watched him disappear down the street before I turned and walked back inside.

Falling Leaves - Excerpt

Something about his presence excited me. Maybe it was the way he lingered beside me and caressed me with his eyes. It was hard for me not to stare at his smooth olive hands as they moved back and forth around our table.

I suppose I got caught up in the moment because without thinking, I asked, “Would you take our picture?” I held the camera out at arm’s length to the dreamy eyed waiter. I smiled before saying “please” as sweet as pie.



Rockin' Book Reviews - Review

"What an excellent story! I really enjoyed reading it. . . . It was a good clean story with lots of action and suspense. I would recommend this book to all readers."

Tell Tale Book Reviews - Character Sketch of Lily Rose Cates

This dark-haired, green-eyed, slip of a girl is the protagonist of My Father’s House and the emotional heart of the story. The reader is drawn into her story that pulses with life, and can’t help feeling her joys, fears, and hopes. The development of Lily Rose’s character is central to the novel. As a child, she was nurtured and sheltered from the harsher realities of life. Innocent, good-hearted, with no experience with the evils of the world, the reader watches her struggle with her own naiveté and illusions of love.


Jessica and Gracie's Tree - The Antagonist and His Foil in My Father’s House

Sam is a foil to Manuel. Whereas Manny is controlling and harsh, Sam is soft spoken, easy-going and kind. Lily associates Manuel with cars, work, and high powered city living; whereas she constantly associates Sam with the animals, the outdoors, and community.

Don't forget to enter the giveaway below...

My Father's House
My Father's House
by Rose Chandler Johnson
Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Paperback & ebook, 314 pages
March 13th 2016

Growing up, life is idyllic for Lily Rose Cates due to her one constant – her father’s love. But in her sixteenth summer, all that changes without warning with her father’s sudden death. There begins Lily’s struggle to find herself and a life she thinks is gone forever.

Marriage to her prince charming promises fulfillment, but their happily-ever-after barely survives the honeymoon. Beneath the sophisticated façade lies a brooding man who hides dark secrets. When all Lily’s illusions of happiness shatter, she must make hard choices – abandon her husband or risk losing much more than her marriage. She flees their home in Detroit and sets out on a fearful journey to a house in Georgia that her husband knows nothing about.

In spite of heartbreak and regrets, will she find the strength to survive whatever comes? Or will her husband find her and shatter all her hopes . . . again. This is one woman’s compelling tale of love and survival as she finds her way back home to faith and who she’s meant to be . . . in her father’s house.



My Father’s House is Rose’s first novel. Her devotional journal, God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea: Experiencing God in the Midst of Everyday Moments won the Georgia Author of the Year Finalist Award in 2014. It was also awarded the Selah Finalist Award in the same year. Rose enjoys writing for her blog, Write Moments with God and engaging with her readers. A native Georgian, Rose has lived in a suburb of Augusta for the last thirty years. Before retiring from Georgia’s public school system, Rose taught English, French, and ESOL. She is currently an adjunct English instructor at a community college. In addition to reading and writing, Rose enjoys cooking, sewing, gardening, and spending time with her six children and their growing families. And yes, sweet iced tea is her beverage of choice.

Tour Giveaway

Copy of MY FATHER'S HOUSE (signed print if US, ebook if outside the US) and a $20 Amazon eGift Card
Ends November 26th
Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Fablehaven Book of Imagination by Brandon Mull

Fablehaven Book of Imagination

Author: Brandon Mull

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: October 2016

ISBN13: 9781629722412

Paperback: 160 pages

FTC FYI: Received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Fablehaven has sold more than 3.5 million copies and readers made The Caretaker's Guide to Fablehaven, the first visual discovery and definitive guide to all the mythical creatures of Brandon Mull's wildly brilliant imagination, a bestseller in Fall 15. Now it's the READER'S turn to tap into your imagination in the very first interactive guide to Fablehaven!

Tuck this journal into your backpack, tote it along and use it as a fun activity book for all things Fablehaven and to reflect on the mythical creature metaphors found in the series.
Examples:
If you owned your own invisibility glove like Seth, how would you use it today?
Learn how to draw a dragon’s head with step-by-step instructions.
You have found the legendary Totem Wall. Choose a face to speak with. What question would you ask?
Within the pages of this book are secret codes what will help the reader discover a secret message from Brandon Mull about Dragonwatch, the sequel to Fablehaven.
Dragons can create paralyzing fear. Imagine your hands and arms were literally paralyzed from encountering a dragon, but you still needed to write a message. Use your feet or mouth to write a note on the page.
Create your own art: draw your own magical preserve. Include your home, landmarks, trees, trails, areas to avoid. Where is it located? What is it called?
Draw your family pet as if it were a guardian to a hidden, ancient artifact. What special power does your pet have to protect the treasure it is guarding?
Fans will also find coloring book pages, mazes, scavenger hunts, and instructions for origami creatues of Fablehaven characters like Raxtus!


My Review

This book is so fun!  I guess, it's more of an activity book than an actual book, but very enjoyable nonetheless.  Imagination is definitely a perfect way to describe this book.  What a great way for kids to use their imaginations while doing the crafts and activities.  There are fun crafts, coloring pages, activity pages, and thoughtful quotes throughout.  I'm excited for my daughter to dive in to all the fun on our way to Grandma's for Thanksgiving.  

Here is a fun video of Brandon Mull's daughter making the green slime from the book.

More videos will be posted as the week progresses.  Find them all on Shadow Mountain YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCex-JMU7bMUV5SbXkyrVNlQ) or on the Shadow Mountain Publishing Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/ShadowMountainPublishing).

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter 

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book

Monday, November 21, 2016

Cinnamon Moon by Tess Hilmo

Cinnamon Moon

Author: Tess Hilmo

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Published: October 2016

ISBN13: 9780374302825

Hardcover: 256 pages

FTC FYI: Received a complimentary copy from the author, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

On the same day as the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, 250 miles away in Peshtigo, Wisconsin, there was an even more devastating fire. Twelve-year-old Ailis and her younger brother, Quinn, survive, but their family does not. Ailis and Quinn are taken by a family acquaintance to live in a boarding house in Chicago, where they meet six-year-old Nettie, an orphan displaced by Chicago's fire. But the woman who runs the boarding house makes their lives miserable, and Ailis vows to find a way for the three of them to leave. Ailis finds a job at a millinery shop and Quinn plays his fiddle on the streets so they can save money. Then Nettie disappears, and Ailis and Quinn discover she's been kidnapped by a group that forces children to work in the sewers killing rats. Can they find a way to rescue her? 

My Review

Cinnamon Moon is another wonderful book from a talented author.  Tess writes children well, and writes wonderful lessons along with way.  I loved this book. The characters were amazing.  What I loved about them most, was how they tried to make their terrible situation better by helping themselves.  I loved Ailis.  She was smart, resourceful, and strong.  As was Quinn.  I loved how Quinn had his father's talent in playing the fiddle.  She and Quinn are put in a hard situation with Miss Franny.  Together, they wanted to have a life with each other and Nettie away from Miss Franny, and they come up with a great plan.  Then Nettie disappears, and the two stop at nothing to help her.  There are many tender moments, especially when the siblings talked about and remembered their parents and baby sister that died in the Peshtigo fire.  Ida was a complete joy.  I loved how she took Ailis under her wing. I felt the ending was beautiful.  There is nothing wrong with a happy ending that leaves you feeling good and happy you invested your time in a well-told story. Remembering also, this is a story aimed for readers 10 - 12 years old.  We all could use a little happy in our lives. 

5 out of 5 stars. 

Author Links

Twitter / Goodreads / Website

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Saturday, November 19, 2016

Life: The Citizens of Logan Pond by Rebecca Belliston -- Giveaway

Giveaway link at the bottom of the post!

Life: The Citizens of Logan Pond 


Publisher: Crescent Moon Press

Published: September 15th, 2014

ISBN13: 9780990627425

Paperback: 367 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Summary

Her home. Her parents. Her freedom. Gone.

His dreams. His sister. Himself. Lost.

Two people.

One future.

The economy crashed, the country is floundering, and Carrie Ashworth struggles to keep her siblings alive. She has two jobs in her newly-formed, newly-outlawed clan: grow crops to feed thirty-six people, and keep Oliver Simmons, their local patrolman, happy. Carrie’s life is almost content when Greg Pierce shows up. A man with the ambition to help them survive. A man determined to hate her.

When a government raid nearly wipes out their clan, Greg realizes the true reason behind their safety. Patrolman Simmons has fallen for Carrie. Greg takes it upon himself to give the socially-awkward patrolman what he wants. Only Carrie doesn’t like Greg throwing her in Simmons's path, especially when Greg’s brusque exterior melts, and she catches a glimpse of the real man underneath. Carrie is forced to choose: follow her heart or save her clan.
Life won’t let her choose both.

My Review - Review was originally posted Sept. 2014

Carrie and her brother and sister live in their old neighborhood.  Under the protection of a kind patrolman, their clan is able to do things most people can't.  Live in their own homes, grow gardens, etc.  May and CJ's daughter and grandson come home after years of being away, Greg and Mariah.  Greg right away starts shaking things up in the clan.  Some of his ideas ruffle some feathers.  Most in the clan sees that change is good for them, but not all take it in stride.  They are getting too comfortable in the haze of Oliver's protection.  Greg realizes Oliver can't protect them forever and he tries to help the clan see that.  But, at the expense of Carrie.

Wow!  What an emotional ride.  This book is excellent and you really feel for these characters.  It is truly heartbreaking what these people had to endure with the collapse of the dollar and government take over.  The expectations that are placed on Carrie, at the expense of her own happiness, was unfair at times.  Carrie is an amazing example of strength, endurance, and kindness.  She takes the heat for something huge and it made me appreciate her character even more.  She wants what is best for her family and clan, but I was glad when she started sticking up for herself.  Greg was an interesting character.  I didn't know what to think of him at first.  He was a mystery, but later, I realized that was what I liked most about him.  His past is full of tragedy, like everyone else's, but I respected that he was a thinker and tries to help the clan.  I really enjoyed the POV switches.  That must be so challenging to do as an author and Rebecca did it well.  You have to know your characters well and she did.

5 out of 5 stars.  I can't wait for next book!

Author Links


Purchase Links



New giveaway link! Rebecca is giving away a signed paperback copy of the whole series!

Thursday, November 17, 2016

The Crush Saga Box Set by Chrissy Peebles -- Blast

crush-saga
The Crush Saga Box Set by Chrissy Peebles
I was born to die… But to defy fate is to control your own destiny.
Moving to Big Bear Lake was supposed to be a fresh start, but when Taylor Sparks is thrown into a supernatural world, her reality comes crashing down around her when she finds out she’s a KEY player in a dangerous game created 1,000 years ago that will give the witches and werewolves the upper hand against the vampires. Blood will be spilled and secrets will be revealed in this action-packed thrill ride and paranormal romance.
Will Taylor dive into a paranormal world she knows nothing about to be with the one her heart can’t live without?
Or will her life spiral out of control when she learns her blood is needed, just the serum necessary to lift an ancient curse from a group of supernatural beings and give the witches back their magic?
Werewolves will serve as her guardians and protect her until the first full moon of the new year, the night of her sacrifice…
Will she accept her destiny?
Or will she refuse to let evil swallow her up?
amazon get it
Excerpt
Grabbing my purse, I hurried out of the car and locked the doors. Just as I started to walk up the driveway, I felt the cold steel of a muzzle against my neck. My heart hammered against my ribs.
“One sound, and you’re dead,” a harsh, male voice said.
I froze in panic as somebody slipped a black blindfold over my eyes, then gagged me. A man duct-taped my mouth, while another tied my ankles, legs, and wrists with rope. He hoisted me over his shoulder in a fireman’s carry, and horror ripped through me. Help! I’m being kidnapped! my brain yelled, but I dare not cry out for fear of what they would do to me. I did try to fight back, at least to some degree, but I was tied and gagged and could do little about being manhandled.
“Put her in the trunk!” a man yelled.
As I fought, I was thrown, neck-first, into the trunk of a car, and my mind began to race. This can’t be happening! I tried to call out for my parents. If only they could hear me. If only I could scream, maybe Max would bark, and Mom or Dad would come to the door. If only…
Tires screeched, and the vehicle took off down the street. The smell of gasoline made me gag. I tried to kick and scream, but it was tight quarters, and I was still all tied up. I cringed at their muffled voices, wondering what they wanted from me.
“I’m tellin’ ya,” one of the guys said, “we oughtta just kill her now.”
My skin crawled at his nonchalance.
“He’s right,” the other said. “Just do it, right here, right now. We’ve outsmarted her protectors, but for how long? We need to do it swiftly and quickly, before they return.”
“You know the rules,” a low voice hissed. “If we just kill her, they’ll have the legal right to choose another, and we’ll be right back at square one again. We’ve gotta do this by the book.”
“I agree,” a woman said. “We need to stop the Millennium ceremony from happening.”
“I don’t want to kill her,” another woman said. “She’s just…an innocent victim in all this. It isn’t right.”
“If we don’t kill her, they’ll win,” another said. “They’ll gain the upper hand when she gives them what they need.”
“Our enemy will stop at nothing to destroy us,” another said tensely. “Killing her will keep them from becoming more powerful than they already are.”
“It will bring them to their knees!” another shouted.
Great, I thought. A case of mistaken identity is the last thing I need. By their talk, I assumed that killing me was some way to get back at their rivals, though I had no idea who those rivals were. The mafia? Some kind of…street gang? I had absolutely no idea, but I desperately wanted to tell them who I really was, to let them know they obviously had me confused me with somebody else. Maybe if I explain that, they’ll let me go. After all, I hadn’t seen their faces, so I wasn’t a threat. Then it dawned on me: Jesse had just revealed his identity to me. Maybe his clan wants to kill me because I know too much. I wanted to scream at them and tell them, to assure them that I’d never reveal Jesse’s identity, that I’d take his deep, dark secret to the grave with me. Jesse meant everything to me, and I would never betray his trust like that; unfortunately, my captors didn’t give me a chance to explain that to them. I wasn’t completely sure if it was vampires that had me. But they had heard me messing with my ropes and that took Immortal hearing. No human could hear that over the sound of the engine, the radio, and voices talking.
We drove down the lonely stretch of road, and I didn’t hear one car pass by. I considered trying to pop the trunk open so I could jump for freedom. I figured the car was going about eighty, but I figured it’d be easier to heal from a broken neck than a bullet to the head. The rope bindings cut into my skin and began to sting and burn. I wiggled my numbing hands, trying to find some relief, when a man yelled back at me.
“Stop it!” he said. “Or else I’ll kill you right here.”
I shivered at his voice, then obeyed his commands. There was no way he could have seen me no way he could have heard me picking at the ropes. I contemplated how they were going to kill me. It had to be a contract hit, but I wondered why there were so many of them there just to take out a defenseless woman. I also wondered how they could be so heartless.
The vehicle stopped, and my stomach dropped when I heard the doors swing open. This is it, I thought. My time has come. When footsteps approached, I held my breath. The trunk popped open, and strong arms lifted me out and set me down on a hard surface, maybe concrete or asphalt. My legs were wobbly, but one of the men steadied me and untied my ankles. Jerk, I sarcastically seethed. The cold night air hit and my hair blew around. I tried to see through the blindfold, but all I could see was darkness.
A man shoved me forward. “Walk!”
I let out a trembling breath and stumbled to the edge of the hard surface, then felt my shoes sink in grass and damp earth. As I carefully walked forward, a towering fern brushed softly across my face. I took tiny steps because my imagination was in overdrive; I couldn’t help picturing all those pirate films I’d seen of people walking off the plank, and I knew there were a lot of cliffs around. The man behind me kept pushing and shoving, making me go faster than my hesitant feet wanted to carry me, forcing me to trip over what I assumed to be a very long log. Twigs snapped and crunched underfoot. An owl hooted, and crickets chirped. The smell of wet moss, damp dirt, and decaying leaves mingled with the scent of pines, wafting up my nostrils; any other time, the aroma would have been beautiful. My heart lurched. I was sure they were leading me to some isolated location for my execution, a place where no one would ever find me, and that thought sent droplets of nervous perspiration rolling down my face, perhaps mingled with tears.
I refused, however, to go quietly. I couldn’t do much to fight them off, but I wanted to make it harder on them. They’ll have to carry my corpse, because I’m not gonna walk out to the middle of nowhere and shovel my own grave. I’m not doing their dirty work for them! I took a huge step to the left, and then bolted.
Strong arms caught me within seconds, and I flailed and thrashed like a gazelle in a lion’s grasp.
“If we don’t keep movin’, we’re not gonna make it to the designated spot on time,” a man said.
“Maybe I oughtta just snap her like a twig, right here, right now,” said a deep-voiced man.
I screamed through my gag at the thought that the guy wanted to rush my demise.
“No!” another said. “She must be sacrificed at midnight.”
Sacrificed?
Trembling with fear, I thrashed even harder in the guy’s grasp. I suddenly realized that my abduction had nothing to do with a mafia hit, vampires, or a street gang initiation; rather, I was in the hands of some strange cult. I could barely breath, terrorized by fear.
“How much farther?” a man asked.
“We’re here,” another answered.
At that point, I was gasping for breath at the thought of being sacrificed in some weird ritual. I recalled what Fred had said about witches and realized it wasn’t so farfetched of a theory. My heart had never raced so hard. The man held me tight in his grasp, and I tried to fight, but he was so strong, and I was no match for him. My feet suddenly left the ground as he picked me up and carried me. I turned and twisted in his grasp, to no avail. He gently set me down on a cold slab of concrete and forced me to lie down, and I’d never been so terrified in my entire life.
Fingers gripped my ankles and wrists as the rope was tightened around me, securing me to a cold slab. It didn’t make sense to me that they left my blindfold on and my gag in, since they were clearly going to kill me anyway. For all I knew, maybe they thought it was more humane to kill me that way. Perhaps they want to spare me the misery of watching the dagger pierce my heart. I listened intently as they shuffled around, and then I struggled in my bindings.
Get the entire boxed set for just 99 cents this week! Ends 11/19/16
99-cents
Praise for the Series
This was a fantastic box set with magic, action, mystery, twists and turns, vampires, werewolves, witches, and gargoyles. Each book gets better and better and takes you deeper into the mystery!
Book 1 is about Taylor moving to Big Bear Lake and learning it’s a supernatural place and that her crush is something more. Book 2 gets deep! And this is when all hell breaks loose! Taylor is tossed into the supernatural world. She thought she was observing it from the outside, but little does she know that she’s a major player! And she didn’t even know it!
She comes from an ancient line of witches and is supposed to be sacrificed in The Millennium Ceremony. She’s stubborn and fights her supernatural enemy with everything she has. I loved how tough she becomes. There’s a paranormal battle raging and I loved every page. This is one of my favorite paranormal romances ever. 
 Author Chrissy Peebles
Chrissy Peebles has always loved reading and writing fantasy from the earliest age she can remember. She lives in a busy city with her husband, two children, and one cat (Shadow) and three dogs. (Sparkles, Rosie, and Jack) Chrissy also loves to snap photos as her favorite hobby.
Newsletter

amazon or paypal$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 12/2/16
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Heir of Thunder by Karissa Laurel -- Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Heir of Thunder
By Karissa Laurel

An epic fantasy about a girl who must face losing all to gain what is hers. We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops, go back and check them out now...

Launch - Author Interview

1. What is your motivation behind HEIR OF THUNDER? Why did you want to write it?

Quite a few years ago (2008 to be precise) Cold Play released 'Viva La Vida', and I fell in love with that song, particularly the opening lines:

I used to rule the world
Seas would rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sleep alone
Sweep the streets I used to own

Listening to that song, I got a pretty instant vision of a character who was powerful, but lost her kingdom somehow. That idea evolved into HEIR OF THUNDER. Evie was never really the ruler of her kingdom, but she had always supposed that she would be. That possibility is ripped away from her before she gets the chance to find out what kind of queen she could be.

Katie's Clean Book Collection - Excerpt

A rumble of thunder woke me. I shifted under my quilts, turned towards my window, and searched the sky for clouds. Storms always made me smile; made me feel a little less lonely.

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

My bedroom door flew open, and Gerda rushed in still wearing her rumpled nightgown. The braid she wore for sleeping had slackened during the night, and stiff rust-colored curls sprang around her face. Fear and worry crackled from her like static from a wool blanket. “Evie, my dear, you’ve got to get dressed.” She pulled me to my feet and yanked my sleeping gown over my head.

Rockin' Book Reviews - Excerpt

Gerda backed out of my wardrobe, wide rump first, and turned to face me. A stern expression hardened her face as she clamped her hands to her hips, and in a sharp tone said, “You are our main concern, Evie. Let’s get you safely away, and then I’ll worry about myself.”

Live Laugh & Love Books - Excerpt

Another explosion rocked the floor, and Gerda stumbled against the wardrobe. She leaned on the heavy piece of furniture until she regained her footing. The house shook and groaned as something structural gave way. Yells and shouts carried up from the lower floors.

Beck Valley Books - Excerpt

I hugged her again and dashed out the door.
In the hallway, several of the house’s other occupants hurried past me in various states of dress. Tolick, the all-purpose houseboy, ran toward the stairwell. He had managed to button on his trousers but had neglected to remove his nightcap.

The Silver Dagger Scriptorium - Excerpt

Would we return before the ivy took over? Would the house survive long enough for it to matter?
I ran past the garden’s iron gates and my breath puffed in thin, vaporous spurts. Spring had arrived less than two weeks ago, and the mornings still lingered in the recent days of winter. I pulled up my hood and wrapped my cloak tighter around me as a shield against the cold.

Falling Leaves - Excerpt

“Evie, what are you doing?” Gideon’s unmistakable bellow interrupted my thoughts. My father’s young horse master waited at the gate of the small paddock beside the stables, clutching two reins in his fist. One leather line led to his giant black stallion, Gespenst—a Dreutchish name meaning specter, or ghost. The other tether led to my horse, Nonnie, a gray-coated mare with a dappled rump.

Christy's Cozy Corners - Excerpt

“Gideon, what’s happening?” I jogged toward him. Something exploded behind me, and the aftershock sent me stumbling, but Gideon’s free hand shot out and latched around my elbow. I locked eyes on his stoic face and refused to look back.


Don't forget to enter the fabulous giveaway below...

Heir of Thunder (Stormbourne Chronicles, #1)
Heir of Thunder
(Stormbourne Chronicles #1)
by Karissa Laurel
YA Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 288 pages
October 14th 2016 by Evolved Publishing

The Lord of Thunder’s sudden death leaves his daughter, Evelyn Stormbourne, unprepared to rule Inselgrau in his place. Weeks before Evie’s ascension to the throne, revolutionaries attack and destroy her home. She conceals her identity and escapes under the protection of her father’s young horse master, Gideon Faust. Together they flee Inselgrau and set sail for the Continent, but they’re separated when a brutal storm washes Evie overboard.

In her efforts to reunite with her protector and reach allies on the Continent, Evie befriends a band of nomads who roam the world in airships fueled by lightning. She also confronts a cabal of dark Magicians plotting to use her powers to create a new divine being, and she clashes with an ancient family who insists her birthright belongs to them.

If she’s to prevail and defeat her enemies, Evie must claim her heritage, embrace her dominion over the sky, and define what it means to be Heir of Thunder.



Karissa Laurel lives in North Carolina with her kid, her husband, the occasional in-law, and a very hairy husky. Some of her favorite things are coffee, chocolate, and super heroes. She can quote Princess Brideverbatim. She loves to read and has a sweet tooth for fantasy, sci-fi, and anything in between.

Sometimes her husband convinces her to put down the books and take the motorcycles out for a spin. When it snows, you’ll find her on the slopes.

Karissa also crafts, paints, draws, and harbors a grand delusion that she might create a graphic novel someday.

Midnight Burning (The Norse Chronicles, #1) Arctic Dawn (The Norse Chronicles, #2)

Tour Giveaway

2 winners will receive a signed copy of HEIR OF THUNDER (US only)
1 winner will receive a $20 Amazon eGift Card (open internationally)
Ends November 19th
Grab Our Button!

Monday, November 14, 2016

By the Stars by Lindsay B. Ferguson - Giveaway!

By the Stars

Author: Lindsay B. Ferguson

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: March 2016

ISBN: 9781462118151

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, all views and opinions are my own.

Goodreads Summary

When Cal finally gets a chance with Kate, the girl he's loved since grade school, their easy friendship quickly blossoms into a meaningful romance. Spirited and independent, Kate keeps a guarded heart due to a painful past, and Cal wants nothing more than to gain her trust. But World War II soon cuts their time far too short, and Cal prepares to part from her – possibly for good. After he's gone, what Kate does next changes everything. 

In the suffocating jungles of the Philippines Cal encounters the chilling life of a soldier and deadly battles of war. With Kate's memory willing him on, Cal must put his trust in God to survive if he hopes to ever return to her. Inspired by a true story, By the Stars is a romance that stands the test of time and the most intense obstacles.

My Review

By the Stars is the beautifully told story of Cal and Kate.  Cal loved Kate since the 8th grade, and always admired her from afar.  When they did "meet" again, I loved the progression of their relationship.  I loved how Cal saw Kate, really saw her. Not only for her beauty but for the type of person that she was.  Cal is sent away many times. First with his mission before they courted, then a second time when he is called to war.  I loved seeing Cal's character grow through these experiences.  I enjoyed their courtship before Cal leaves for war, but what I loved most about it, was the regret Kate felt when he leaves, and what she does after that, it was very clever and sweet.  And well, quite sneaky too.   I love stories about World War II, that time period is very fascinating to me.  The author does an incredible job of depicting war, the horrors of war, and the battles of war. Cal was amazing to me.  Not only was he a loyal and caring person, but incredibly brave and a hero.  What I loved most about the story was how it is based on real people.  I loved the Afterword and the author's thoughts and feelings on why she wrote the book in the first place, truly amazing.  I love hearing the "back story" on why a book is written.

One of my favorite quotes was right at the beginning. 
If there's one thing I've learned throughout my experiences, it's that in life there are no coincidences.  In my life there have been no coincidences.  God's hands are in everything.  As I have given my life to Him, He has shaped it.
This statement stuck with me as I read this book, and has stayed with me since.  While reading, it was clear that Cal stayed faithful and God blessed and protected him.  What a wonderful lesson for us all.

5 out of 5 stars.  These characters will always have a special place in my heart.

Author Links

Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Book and Things / Deseret Book

Thank you to Cedar Fort and the author. They have graciously offered a paperback copy of the book as a giveaway! Use the Rafflecopter for the giveaway. US ONLY a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Not a Word by Stephanie Black -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Not a Word

Author: Stephanie Black

Publisher: Covenant

Published: November 1, 2016

ISBN13: 9781524401245

Paperback: 270 pages

FTC FYI: I received a complimentary copy, all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Goodreads Summary

Psychologist Natalie Marsh is a pro at keeping secrets. She not only guards her clients’ confidences but also expertly hides her own pain after being disinherited by her dying mother. As fresh personal challenges begin heaping on top of professional ones, Natalie’s best friend, Camille, confides that she thinks someone is stalking her. Natalie suspects that stress, not a stalker, is shadowing Camille—but Camille’s fear only continues to grow when the widow of a local businessman starts whispering that her husband was murdered and a new client of Natalie’s seems to be concealing something much more frightening than her inability to stand up for herself. Soon a shattering crime proves the danger is real. But when everyone has something at stake, is there anyone Natalie can trust? Or will she fall victim to a killer who will do anything to keep secrets hidden?

My Review

I love finishing a book with a headache.  I know that sounds weird, but it's true.  I will take a Stephanie Black "book headache" any day.  The action and suspense in this book does not stop until the last page.  There are so many twists that had me at the edge of my seat.  Stephanie truly is a master at writing books.  She plants the perfect seeds throughout, many times I was flipping back and forth to remind myself of things.  The POV switches in NOT A WORD are perfect.  It was the perfect way to keep me turning pages fast and to see differen't character views.  I can't even talk about characters in fear of giving the whole thing away.  I did really enjoy Natalie's character, Gideon too was a surprise.  I was also thrilled with the outcome of certain characters, too.  I can't say anything else! 

5 out of 5 stars.  Don't plan on getting much done until you finish reading!

Author Links 

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Schedule


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

The Order of the Eternal Sun by Jessica Leake -- Grand Finale Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
The Order of the Eternal Sun
By Jessica Leake

There's something magical about mixing Edwardian England and magic, and even more so when the heroine is a debutante who is not only coming out, but also figuring out who she must hide her magic from. We hope you enjoyed this tour! If you missed any of the stops, go back and check them out... 

Launch - Welcome from the Author

Lucy’s story, The Order of the Eternal Sun, is a little heavier on the fantasy, which I had so much fun writing. With travels to Bath, England, visits to another realm, and threats from a dangerous enemy, I hope The Order of the Eternal Sun will satisfy both the old fan of Arcana and the new reader of the whole series. I’m excited to share it with all of you!



Rockin' Book Reviews - Review

"From that point on the intrigue, mystery, action, and romance propells. . . . it was captivating and the characters the characters all “came to life ” and the scenes were easily visualized."

Mel's Shelves - Excerpt

“You needn’t leave on my account,” a voice calls out softly, and I stop. And stare.

Frozen, I can do nothing but stare as the beautiful man from my vision of my court presentation walks out of the shadows.



Letters from Annie (Douglass) Lima - Interview

Brief description of the world or location you created for this series:

Sylvania is a realm outside of our own where its inhabitants practice an ancient magic called arcana. Their power is supplied by spirit animals—everything from the tiny ferrets to soaring phoenixes—and the Sylvani and animal form an unbreakable bond. When a Sylvani chooses to live in our realm, though, their spirit animal cannot follow, and they must seek out an alternate source of power—like our sun.

Christy's Cozy Corners - Review

Sylvania is an amazing world and the author totally immerses you in this book! . . . If you are a fan of fantasy with awesome world building and strong, believable characters, you are going to love The Order of the Eternal Sun!

Katie's Clean Book Collection - Lucy's Fashion in 1908



One of the fun parts about writing The Order of the Eternal Sun was doing research on the fashion in 1908. The Edwardian Era was sort of the last hurrah for the aristocracy as far as opulence and decadence went, and I think the fashion reflected that. While there were still gorgeous gowns and day dresses, simpler clothing items like blouses and skirts were making their appearance. The fashion was still very much modeled after the Gibson Girl, who was admired for not only her beauty but also her sportiness, competiveness, and freedom in look and dress—funny that she wasn’t even real! She was created by artist Charles Dana Gibson.

Wishful Endings - Review

"...a story that pulls the reader into Edwardian England with a unique fantasy element and characters who come alive. There is a strong feel of family and friendship, some definite swoon-worthy romance, along with an ever-growing feel of danger. Recommended to those who enjoy historical fantasy with a strong heroine and plenty of romance."



Falling Leaves - Excerpt

The night is clear and dark as Alexander Radcliffe enters his motorcar, bound for his father’s—now Alexander’s—townhouse. He settles on to the buttery soft leather seat. Outwardly, he is perfectly calm and still as deep water. Inwardly, though, his thoughts and emotions are violently at war with each other. And all because of that girl.

Nicole's Book Musings - Surprising Technological Advances in 1908



So by 1908, there were planes, trains, and automobiles! Electricity was wide spread in households that could afford it, and messages were being sent across the ocean via the telegraph. With so many advances in technology happening so rapidly, I doubt the Edwardians would even be surprised by computers and smart phones were we to travel back in time.

Adventures Thru Wonderland - Review

"This second book can also be read as a stand alone. I am so glad a read both though, because I love Leake's writing style! This was another exciting read, and equally enjoyable!"

The Silver Dagger Scriptorium - The Sylvani Series and Sisters



In Arcana, the main character was Katherine, a headstrong and passionate girl who reluctantly makes her debut into London society, all the while trying to guard her heart and her abilities from potential suitors she meets along the way.

Her sister, Lucy, is the focus of The Order of the Eternal Sun, and she’s quite different from Katherine in many ways. For one, she has always looked forward to her debut—also called a lady’s “coming out” in Edwardian society.

Jessica and Gracie's Tree - Excerpt

Lucy, a voice calls, and I stiffen. It’s not a familiar voice, and yet…

Lucy, it says again, and I slowly turn.

A snow-white fox watches me, its eyes the most beautiful shade of aquamarine, the tips of its fur shimmering silver. It’s the color of the Himalayas, but one glance at the ethereal creature and I know it’s from another world altogether.

Zerina Blossom's Books - Arcana in The Order of the Eternal Sun



In the Sylvan world, ancient magic is known by the name arcana. As half-mortals, Lucy and her sister Katherine derive their power from the sun, but as they both learn, in their mother’s realm of Sylvania, their power and arcana is derived from their spirit animals.

Don't forget to enter the awesome giveaway below, if you haven't already...

The Order of the Eternal Sun: A Novel of the Sylvani
The Order of the Eternal Sun
(A Novel of the Sylvani #2)
by Jessica Leake
Adult Historical Fantasy
Hardcover & ebook, 308 pages
August 23rd 2016 by Talos

Lucy Sinclair’s debut will be a parade of everything opulent Edwardian London society has to offer. Most importantly, it will be nothing like her older sister’s dangerous experience—especially if her overprotective brother-in-law, Lord Thornewood, has his way. As if screening her dance partners isn’t enough, Thornewood insists that his brother, James, train Lucy in self-defense. She wouldn’t mind so much if her treacherous mind didn’t continue to replay the kiss they once shared.

But awkward defense lessons are the least of her problems. Her arcana, a magical talent that allows her to mentally enter any scene that she draws, grows stronger by the day. Again and again Lucy is compelled to draw a portal to her mother’s realm of Sylvania—and with each stroke of her pen, she risks attracting the attention of the Order of the Eternal Sun, the sinister brotherhood that steals the power of Sylvani blood for their own dark ends.

When a bold new suitor arrives from India, Lucy can’t help but be intrigued—though her family questions his mysterious past. But as Lucy’s own suspicions grow, and the threat of the Order looms larger, Lucy will have to learn to harness her unpredictable power or risk falling under the Order’s shadow forever.


Other Books in the Series

Arcana
Arcana
(A Novel of the Sylvani #1)
by Jessica Leake
Adult Historical Fantasy
Hardcover, Paperback & ebook 288 pages
November 18th 2014 by Talos

Amid the sumptuous backdrop of the London season in 1905, headstrong Katherine Sinclair must join the ranks of debutantes vying for suitors. Unfortunately for Katherine, she cannot imagine anything more loathsome—or dangerous. To help ease her entrance into society, Katherine’s family has elicited the assistance of the Earl of Thornewood, a friend and London’s most eligible bachelor, to be her constant companion at the endless fetes and balls. But upon her arrival in London, Katherine realizes there will be more to this season than just white gowns and husband hunting.

Through her late mother’s enchanted diary, Katherine receives warning to keep hidden her otherworldly ability to perform arcana, a magic fueled by the power of the sun. Any misstep could mean ruin—and not just for her family name. The Order of the Eternal Sun is everywhere—hunting for those like her, able to feed on arcana with only a touch of the hand.

But society intrigue can be just as perilous as the Order. The machinations of the fashionable elite are a constant threat, and those who covet Katherine’s arcana, seeking the power of her birthright, could be hiding behind the facade of every suitor—even the darkly handsome Earl of Thornewood.

With so much danger and suspicion, can she give her heart to the one who captivates her, or is he just another after her power?



Jessica Leake has been in love with historical England ever since her first literary crush: Mr. Darcy. After embarking on a quest to bring her own intriguing and headstrong characters to life, she decided to quit her day job as a clinical therapist and spend her time weaving arcana with words. She lives in Greenville, SC with her brilliant husband, four painfully cute children, and two mischievous dogs.

Tour Giveaway

$25 Amazon eGift Card and an ebook of ARCANA (open internationally)
Print copy of ARCANA plus swag (US only)
Ends November 11th
Grab Our Button!