Friday, March 29, 2013

The Power of Starting Something Stupid by Richie Norton

The Power of Starting Something Stupid

Author: Richie Norton

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 5th, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-60907-009-0

Hardcover: 320 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

In The Power of Starting Something Stupid, Richie Norton redefines stupid as we know it, demonstrating that life-changing ideas are often tragically mislabeled “stupid.” What if the key to success, creativity, and fulfillment in your life lies in the potential of those “stupid” ideas? This deeply inspiring book will teach you

-How to crush fear, make dreams happen, and live without regret.

-How to overcome obstacles such as lack of time, lack of education, or lack of money.

-The 5 actions of the New Smart to achieve authentic success. No more excuses.

Learn how to start something stupid—the smartest thing you can do.

Drawing on years of research, including hundreds of face-to-face interviews and some of the world’s greatest success stories past and present, Richie shows you how stupid is the New Smart—the common denominator for success, creativity, and innovation in business and life.


My Review

For a while now, I've been wanting to write a book.  I had an "idea" for a book, and have been to writing conferences.  I've written a few details about characters, and had a general idea of where I wanted the story to go.  But, that is it.  I have found with all the reading and reviewing books that I do, I enjoy doing that more then writing.  I don't discount the idea of writing one day, because I don't think I have given writing a fair shake, but after reading The Power of Starting Something Stupid, I have realized what my stupid idea is.  I want to be an editor.  I have know that deep down for awhile, but it's fun to finally put it out there.  At times, while I was reading this book, many things the author expressed, applied to me.  The most important chapter for my stupid idea was Chapter 10: Overcome Procrastination: Breaking the "Tomorrow" Habit.  I think I've used every excuse in the book, literally. :)  I learned that procrastination doesn't necessarily mean the things I do in my life aren't important, I need to make room for editing.   Schooling, experience, and basically knowing where to start are my first steps.  I am excited to pursue this new "stupid" idea in my life.

Walt Disney said, "All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them." page 115

5 out of 5 stars.  This book is very inspiring.  A really great kick in the pants, especially for me.  One of my favorite parts was the beginning chapter about Gavin, his son.  I really enjoyed all the stories throughout the book.  Many successful people sharing their stupid idea.  I also liked how the author also used examples that are opposite of each other.  For that to make more sense, see chapter 11.  I would recommend this book to anyone, whether you have a stupid idea or not.  This book is a great motivator in all aspects of life.  

Author Links

Goodreads / Blog / Facebook / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book








Happy Easter Eggstravaganza Giveaway Hop


Welcome to the Happy Easter Eggstravaganza Giveaway Hop!  Here is the link for the other stops. 

I am giving away a paperback copy of When the Butterflies Came 
by Kimberely Griffiths Little


Goodreads Summary

Everybody thinks Tara Doucet has the perfect life. But in reality, Tara’s life is anything but perfect: Her dear Grammy Claire has just passed away, her mother is depressed and distant, and she and her sister Riley can’t seem to agree on anything. But when mysterious and dazzling butterflies begin to follow her around after Grammy Claire’s funeral, Tara just knows in her heart that her grandmother has left her one final mystery to solve.

A strange butler brings Tara and Riley to Grammy Claire’s house, where Tara finds a stack of keys and detailed letters from Grammy Claire herself. Note by note, Tara learns unexpected truths about her grandmother’s life. As the letters grow more ominous and the clues more difficult to decipher, Tara realizes that the secrets she must uncover could lead to mortal danger. And when Tara and Riley are swept away to the beautiful islands of Chuuk to hear their grandmother’s will, Tara discovers the most shocking truth of all — one that will change her life forever.

From Kimberley Griffiths Little comes a magical, breathtaking mystery full of loss and love, family and faith.

I like to my Hop Stops easy.  :) Leave a comment and random.org will select the winner April 6th, 2013

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Fire and Ash by Anne Patrick -- Book Blast


Fire and Ash by Anne Patrick

Fire and Ash is the story of female fire investigator Sadie McGregor.  When she was a child, Sadie lost her family in a horrific fire that still haunts her.  She's now been called in to investigate a fatality fire in her hometown of Emerald Point, Missouri. What Sadie and the handsome new police chief discover will not only affect those close to them, but will rock the entire community.








Reviews and Awards
"This is a beautiful, yet hard-hitting story, fluently written, presenting characters you fall in love with." 
~ Reviewed by Fennel at LASR

"A Top Pick! Another Fantastic Novel!!!! Anne Patrick's novel, "Fire and Ash" is a well-written novel that flows wonderfully. A fantastic read!" 
~ Night Owl Reviews

"A wonderful read, this book had me laughing and crying. True to life characters and vivid descriptions, along with comedy and heart stopping moments, make this a page turner you'll want to read again." 
~ Happily Ever After Reviews

"As a forensics show enthusiast, I found that Anne Patrick, in her book, Fire and Ash, goes into great, minute detail of the fire investigation, that puts you on the scent of a perpetrator.  Her unique ability to incorporate multiple plots to throw you off course makes the pages fly by to connect the dots."  
~ Onedesertrose's Christian Book Reviews Blog

"As a retired fire investigator I have to say kudos to Ms Patrick on her research. I normally don’t read romantic suspense, but this book sounded intriguing so I couldn't resist. I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED
~Review from 'Fireboy' at Christianbook.com

Received Four Stars from Romantic Times Book Reviews!

LASR BEST BOOK of 2010 Nominee!

'Best Inspirational' 2010 at The Romance Reviews!

#1 Bestselling Suspense eBook, and #1 Bestselling Romance eBook at Christianbook.com!

Amazon Top 100 Bestseller in Christian Fiction!


Author Anne Patrick

Anne Patrick is the author of more than a dozen novels of Romance, Mayhem & Faith, including the award winning and bestselling WOUNDED HEROES SERIES, FIRE AND ASH, and TIES THAT BIND. When she isn't working on her next novel she enjoys spending time with family and friends, and traveling to foreign countries to experience new cultures and adventures. Born and raised in Oklahoma, she now makes her home in Kansas. 





She loves to hear from her readers!



Book Blast Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 4/10/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Winner of The Inventor's Secret


Congrats to

Mandi Slack! You won Cragbridge Hall: The Inventor's Secret
by Chad Morris

An email has been sent to you...

One of my next giveaways is all three books of the Farworld series.

Stay tuned!

40 Days With the Savior by Connie E. Sokol

Tour Schedule



40 Days with the Savior 
by Connie E. Sokol


Do you desire a more Christ-centered Easter?
You’ll experience a more fulfilling Easter season with this collection of inspirational thoughts on trying to become more like the Savior. For forty days, enjoy a daily scripture and personal insight on a character trait of Jesus Christ. Learn more of who He was and what He taught.
As you read these daily devotionals, you’ll feel a joyful connection to the character of Jesus Christ, understand how much He is involved in your life, and discover how knowing Him better makes your life better, too.



Purchase
~Connie donates 100% of the profits from her books to charity~

My Review

This book is perfect.  It was exactly what I needed to have the Spirit with me, and remember what is important.  Each day is written with wonderful insight and asks the reader a question at the end of each day.  I read this book all at once, and while I was reading, I wrote down each of the questions asked at the end of each chapter, printed off the questions and read it daily so I can remember the meaningful advice of the author.  I also gifted a copy to my neighbor for her birthday. 

5 out 5 stars.  You may need a kleenex when reading.  Connie has an incredible way of pulling at your heart strings all while teaching you, too. 

Praise

"Connie Sokol, the queen of simple yet effective, has done it again. What a great resource for quick, daily things that we can do to draw closer to the Savior. This easily fits into our busy lives, reminding us of what matters most."
~Peggy Urry, President-elect, American Night Writers Association

“I LOVED this book! Connie brings these scriptures home with real, everyday moments. I can savor these bite-size gems throughout my busy day with little ones. The teachings are powerful, and her added insights brought them home for me in a new way."
~Amy Chandler, Founder My Story Matters

“Connie Sokol’s new book, “40 Days with the Savior”, is just the little push I needed to feel the Savior’s presence in my daily life. Using personal stories, scriptural accounts, and meaningful insights, she helps readers draws closer to Jesus Christ and become a more Christ-centered person. I loved her daily nuggets of wisdom, with titles like, “He Did the Right Thing” and “He Gently Corrects”, to prompt a change of behavior. My Easter will be more meaningful this year!”
~Jodi Marie Robinson, Author of “Women of Virtue” and “A Royal Guardian”

“Connie Sokol has thoughtfully shared fresh insights to well know scriptural phrases. The simple meditations in 40 Days with the Savior are enlightening and empowering. This is an easy way to draw closer to Jesus Christ throughout the Easter season and during the rest of the year. After reading this book I feel my burdens are lighter.”
~Margaret Turley, Author of Save the Child, Administrator Writers Unite to Fight Cancer



Author Connie Sokol

Connie Sokol is a mother of seven, and a sought after national and local speaker. She is a monthly contributor on KSL TV’s “Studio 5” and regular blogger for KSL’s "Motherhood Matters" blog. She is a former TV and radio host for Bonneville Communications, and columnist for Deseret News and Utah Valley Magazine. Mrs. Sokol is the author of several books including the award-nominated romance Caribbean Crossroads, Faithful, Fit & Fabulous, Life is Too Short for One Hair Color Series, and Motherhood Matters as well as talk CDs and podcasts. Mrs. Sokol marinates in time spent with her family and eating decadent treats.


Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card
Ends 3/31/13
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, March 25, 2013

A Timeless Romance Anthology: Spring Vacation Collection

A Timeless Romance Anthology: Spring Vacation Collection

Authors: Josi S. KilpackAnnette LyonHeather JustesenSarah M. EdenHeather B. MooreAubrey Mace

Published: February 1, 2013

Publisher: Mirror Press

ebook

FTC FYI: Received an ePub copy in exchange for an honest review

Goodreads Summary 

Six Award-Winning Authors have contributed new stories to A Timeless Romance Anthology: Spring Vacation Collection. Readers will love this collection of six sweet contemporary romance novellas, centered on a Spring Vacation, all with one thing in common: Romance.

In Moonlight Kiss, a delightful story by Josi S. Kilpack, Sarah is looking forward to the company retreat, namely because she’ll finally meet Clint—the man she’s been Instant Messaging for a few months. As a single mom, Sarah gets out . . . well, never. So adding vacation days onto the retreat so she can spend time with Clint is daring, yet exciting. She just hopes that the suave on-line Clint will live up to the man she hopes to share her heart with.

In Annette Lyon’s charming novella, Chasing Tess, Tess had been patiently waiting through three years of law school for James to pop the question. The night has finally arrived—at his graduation party. But his big announcement turns out to be completely unexpected . . . and devastating. Tess flees the party, promising herself she’ll never let herself waste time on James again. But as she makes a desperate cross-country drive, James makes his own plans on how to win her back.

Dancing at the Flea Market is a sweet romance by Heather Justesen. Mara, fresh out of the cold North Dakota tundra, spends her spring break in Texas with close friend, Anna. When the two women run into Carter, an impatient man with a painful past, it takes hearing Mara’s stunning voice at the local Karaoke club to thaw his heart. But as Mara gets to know Carter, she has to decide if the distance between their lives and homes is worth trying to bridge.

In Sarah M. Eden’s captivating novella, The Best Laid Plans, Madison gives up a vacation to CancĂșn with her office friends to return home and babysit her mother, who is in another sketchy relationship. The only problem with returning home is running into Derek, her ex-boyfriend who she decided to break up with before he could break up with her—Madison believes in always being one step ahead. When Derek teams up with Madison to investigate whether her mother is dating the right guy, Madison has a hard time ignoring what her heart is telling her about giving Derek another chance.

Picture Perfect, an exciting story by Heather B. Moore, follows Gemma who has never done anything out of the ordinary, until her boyfriend Randy starts to ignore her. But even cutting and dyeing her hair doesn’t get his attention. She decides to join her old high school friends for spring vacation, only to be faced with Drew, her best friend who suddenly seems interested in her as more than a friend. Gemma must determine if her heart is on the rebound or if it’s finally met its true match.

In Aubrey Mace’s enchanting romance, The Science of Sentiment, Rosie will do anything to forget Kevin, his completely perfect kisses, and the fact that he dumped her. When she arrives at her grandfather’s mountain cabin for a spring getaway, she discovers her worst nightmare—Kevin has been invited to stay the weekend too. Since there is only room for one in such a small space, Rosie is determined to kick Kevin out. But Kevin has other plans . . . which might include a reminder of why he’s the perfect kisser.

My Review

This is a very enjoyable book full of six well-written and fun short stories.  Each one is very unique, and most importantly, clean romances with awesome characters.  I was quickly taken into each story with their fun plots and spring settings.  As I was reading each story, I was sure it was my favorite, then I would start the next one, and it became my new favorite.  Each story has its share of great kisses.  The kiss in Heather Moore's Picture Perfect... WOW! 

5 out of 5 stars.  As you finish each story, you will be happily wanting more.  I can't wait for Summer Wedding Collection in May.  

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Author links are listed above.

Anthology Links

Goodreads /  Facebook


Saturday, March 23, 2013

Lucky Leprechaun Winner

 
 
Congrats to Kara, she won the ARC copy of After Hello by Lisa Mangum.
 
She has been notified by email.
 
 
Thank you to all who entered, and enjoy the rest of your weekend.
 
Mindy

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Cragbridge Hall: The Inventor's Secret by Chad Morris

Giveaway details below!

Cragbridge Hall: The Inventor's Secret

Author: Chad Morris

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 5th, 2013

ISBN: 978-1-60907-326-8

Hardcover: 256 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback ARC in exchange for a honest review.

Backcover Summary

Imagine a school in the year 2074 where students don't read history, but watch it happen around them; where running in gym class isn't around a track, but up a virtual mountain; and where learning about animals means becoming one through an avatar.

Welcome to Cragbridge Hall, the most advanced and prestigious school in the world. Twin siblings Abby and Derick Cragbridge are excited as new students to use their famed grandfather's inventions that make Cragbridge Hall so incredible. But when their grandfather and parents go missing, the twins begin following a trail of clues left by their grandfather. They must find out where their family is, learn who they can trust, and discover what secrets are hidden within Cragbridge Hall.

Abby and Derick soon realize they are caught in a race with a fierce adversary to discover their grandfather's greatest secret--a dangerous discovery that could alter both history and reality.



Mindy's Review

5 out of 5 stars.  Oh my goodness, where do I start?  I loved everything about this book.  Cragbridge Hall: The Inventor's Secret is one of the biggest reasons I love reading and reviewing middle grade.  It is one of my favorite reads of the year so far.  Everything about this book is so exciting and fun.  It is a non-stop thrill ride.  You will not be able to stop reading until you are finished.  My favorite thing about The Inventor's Secret was The Bridge.  To be able to see events from history unfold before your eyes, but be amazing.  There is another great message in this book about facing your fears, and being brave.  Abby is faced with many obstacles when she arrives at school.  She already feels that she shouldn't be there.  She feels out of place for not being magnificent at something, like her super genius brother Derick.  Her grandpa gives her some advice before school starts.  
  
"Grandpa slammed the bottom of his cane onto the floor.  "Abigail Cragbridge, you are just as good as, if not better tan, every other student in that academy.  
When they said "no", I had to prevent them from making a terrible mistake.  you'll be one of the best things that every happened to that place."

"You don't have to--"

"I'm completely serious," Grandpa interrupted.  He grabbed Abby's face by the chin.  "You have heart, Abby." page 7
Abby learns right away that she is not "welcome" because others think she got in to Cragbridge because her grandfather made it so.  She finds a friend, Carol, who accepts her for who she is.  By the way, Carol ends up being one of my favorite characters.  This book has humor, heart, and is tons of fun.  I recommend it anyone who loves a great adventure.


Author Links

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook / Publisher / Blog

Purchase Links

Deseret Book / Amazon / Barnes and Noble


I am excited to say I am giving away a copy of Cragbridge Hall: The Inventor's Secret by Chad Morris.  US ONLY.  Fill out this easy Rafflecopter and you're entered. 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Ixeos by Jennings Wright -- Book Blast


Ixeos

The McClellands are enjoying a lazy summer vacation at the beach when they are lured from our world into Ixeos, an alternate Earth. Finding themselves lost in a maze of tunnels under Paris and surrounded by strangers, they discover that they have been brought to Ixeos for one purpose:  to take the planet back from humanoid aliens who have claimed it. With the aid of the tunnels and a mysterious man named Landon, the teens travel the world seeking the key that will allow them to free Darian, the long-imprisoned rebel leader. But the aliens aren't the only problem on Ixeos -- the McClellands have to deal with brutal gangs, desperate junkies, and a world without power, where all the technology is owned by the aliens, and where most of the population has been killed or enslaved. The worst part? There's no way home.





Author Jennings Wright


Born and raised in Florida, Jennings spent her early years reading anything she could get her hands on, when she wasn't spending time in and on the water. She won a prize in the 6th grade for her science fiction stories.

Jennings attended the University of Tampa, graduating with a B.A. in Political Science, and almost enough credits for B.A.s in both English and History. She attended graduate school at the University of West Florida, studying Psychology. She spent time over the years doing various kinds of business writing, editing, and teaching writing, but mostly having and raising her family, homeschooling her children, owning and running a business with her husband, and starting a non-profit.

Thanks to a crazy idea called NaNoWriMo Jennings got back into creative writing in 2011 and hasn't stopped since. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband, also a business owner and writer, and two children, and travels extensively with her family, and her non-profit in Uganda.



Tour Schedule





Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 4/7/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, March 16, 2013

Hashbrown Winters and the Phantom of Pordunce by Frank L. Cole

Hashbrown Winter and the Phantom of Pordunce

Author: Frank L. Cole

Publisher: Bonneville

Paperback: 88 pages

ISBN13: 9781599553986

FTC FYI: Received a PDF review copy.

Goodreads Summary

Life at Pordunce is back to normal - well, as normal as ever in the three-ring circus that passes for Hashbrown's elementary school. But everything changes when a ghostly presence starts roaming the halls. And even worse, Hashbrown's club may be about to lose one of its founding members. Can Hashbrown save the day? This snort-worthy, fun-filled roller-coaster ride of a book is guaranteed to get you giggling - assuming you can pry it away from your kids long enough to read it yourself.

Back Cover

"A ghost in Pordunce!"  Butter Bibowksi said in disbelief.  "How's this even possible?"

"It's not that hard to believe."  Snow Cone tucked the transmitter in his back pocket.  "We've all heard the rumors about the ancient burial grounds beneath the septic tank."

"But those are just rumors," Whiz said.

"There are never just rumors at Pordunce," I reminded him.

Hashbrown Winters is finally settling into the good life.  But when a mysterious phantom begins haunting the school and Hashbrown's treehouse is hijacked, he knows he's up to his armpits in trouble.  And if that weren't enough, there's a new girl in school who might just be his match--in marbles, that is.  Not to mention the fact that Bubblegum Bulkins, an original member of the treehouse club, is moving in just two weeks.  Now Hashbrown will have to rely on a few unexpected allies to save his friends, his treehouse, and his entire school.

The third installment in the best-selling Hashbrown Winters series takes the adventure to a whole new level.  Stuffed fill of pitch-perfect humor the whole family will love, this book all your old favorite characters along with some awesome  additions.  A guaranteed page-turner and laugh-out loud winner, this is one story you just can't miss.  

My Review

4 out of 5 stars.  Another hit for Hashbrown and the gang.  I loved the fun twist of Hashbrown having a rival marble champion.  Melanie is a great character and her brother Nugget is a hoot.  Just don't get him mad... Look out if you do.  Hashbrown and his gang's antics are enjoyable for kids and adults.  You will enjoy helping them figure out who the phantom is, and why he or she is out to get everyone.  Including innocent hamsters.  I can't wait to see what is in store for them in Book 4.  Hashbrown Winters and the Whiz-tastrophe comes out next month.

Author Links

Blog / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Cedar Fort

Friday, March 15, 2013

Lucky Leprechaun Giveaway Hop!



Welcome to the Lucky Leprechaun Giveaway Hop! 
Hosted by I Am a Reader, Not a Writer
Books Complete Me & Author Cindy Thomas

I am giving away an ARC copy of 
After Hello by Lisa Mangum


Here is the link for the other stops!

To enter, please leave a thoughtful comment below with your email address.  US ONLY.

Hop runs March 15th - March 22nd.  
Winner will be chosen March 23rd by random.org
The winner will have 48 hours to respond, if no response, a different winner will be chosen. 

Replacing Gentry by Julie N. Ford -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Tour Schedule



Replacing Gentry

When Marlie agrees to attend a cadaver ball at Vanderbilt Medical School, she did not expect to actually see any cadavers. Or, that a strange apparition would issue her a chilling message.

Despite the cadaver's warning, Marlie is married a year later to Tennessee State Senator, Daniel Cannon, and living in a plantation-style mansion with two step sons. Add to the mix her growing suspicion that something is amiss with the death of Daniel’s first wife, Gentry; and newlywed Marlie is definitely in over her pretty Yankee head.

What begins as an innocent inquiry into her new husband’s clouded past, ends with Marlie in the midst of a dangerous conspiracy.

A modern twist on the classic Gothic romance novels of Rebecca and Jane Eyre, Replacing Gentry follows Marlie’s precarious journey as she learns the truth about the man she married.

My Review

4 out of 5 stars.  I was taken into this story very quickly.  Marlie is a spunky character that goes after what she wants, no matter what the cost.  Replacing Gentry is quite the page turner too.  It's a fast paced story with very cool twists and turns.  I had my suspicions about the "big reveal", but it was written well.  This book is full with lots of surprises and you really don't know who to trust.

FTC FYI: I received a PDF review copy.

Replacing Gentry will be released on April 9th
Preorder on Amazon


Author Julie N. Ford

Julie N. Ford graduated from San Diego State University with a BA in Political Science and a minor in English Literature. In addition, she has a Masters in Social Work from the University of Alabama. Professionally, she has worked in teaching and as a Marriage & Family Counselor. She is the author of two women’s fiction novels, The Woman He Married and No Holly for Christmas, published in 2011. In addition, she wrote a romance/chick-lit novel, Count Down to Love, also published in 2011. Count Down to Love was a 2011 Whitney Award finalist. Her next novel, Replacing Gentry, is due for release April 9th, 2013.

Currently, she lives in Nashville, TN with her husband, two daughters and one hedgehog.




Tour Giveaway
$50 Barnes & Noble Gift Card
Open to US only
Ends 4/30/13

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Finding June by Shannen Crane Camp

Finding June

Author: Shannen Crane Camp

Publisher: Sugar Coated Press

Published: December 20, 2012

ISBN13: 9781480260825

Paperback: 184 pages

FTC FYI: I received a review PDF copy.

Goodreads Summary 

Standing up for what you believe in is hard for any teenager in the battleground known as high school. It's even harder in the world of Hollywood, which is where sixteen-year-old June Laurie dreams of being. Thanks to the constant training from her agent/grandmother and the support of her best friend Joseph, June is positive she's ready. But is an innocent little Mormon girl like June ever really ready to be cast as the love interest for the country's hottest star, Lukas Leighton? When June lands a role in Hollywood's most popular crime drama, Forensic Faculty, she finds herself caught off-guard by the fast-paced world of tabloids and paparazzi, and swept off her feet by her gorgeous co-star. Now June must decide what she's willing to give up to achieve the title of Hollywood starlet—or more importantly, what's too sacred to lose.

My Review

I loved this book.  I thought it was adorable.  I immediately loved June and Joseph.  Gran was a hoot and I loved all of her homemade beauty regimens.  A few times I found myself thinking that I needed to try one of them, too.  As much as I loved the people in June's life, I also really liked her TV show cast mates.  Especially, Candice, Benjamin, and of course Ryan.  I love a books based on LDS fiction.  The author does of great job of letting reader know our believes without being preachy.  June is a doll, and loved her journey of self discovery.  There were many parts that I was smiling big and many more that made me laugh.  I also really enjoyed the behind the scenes glances of the TV world.  I appreciated how June would stand up for herself, and I loved the ending.  I can't wait for Chasing June.    

4 out of 5 stars.  Finding June is a 2012 Whitney Aware Finalist.  Her first book, The Breakup Artist, was also a 2011 Whitney Award nominee.  There is a sequel in the works for Finding June.  Chasing June, hopefully, comes out this year. 

Author Links

Blog / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook 

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble 




Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Baked Alaska by Josi S. Kilpack -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Baked Alaska

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: February 18th, 2013

ISBN13: 9781609073282

Paperback: 368 pages

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy in exchange for an honest review.






Tour Schedule



Baked Alaska by Josi S. Kilpack

An Alaskan cruise is the setting for amateur detective Sadie Hoffmillers latest adventure. Sadie plans to spend time relaxing with her two grown children, Breanna and Shawn, and her boyfriend, Pete, while enjoying the luxury and cuisine of an elegant cruise ship and helping to plan her daughters upcoming wedding. But even as the crew prepares to leave port, Sadie has suspicions about the voyage ahead and the relationship between her normally easygoing son and a mysterious female passenger he obviously knows but refuses to discuss. When the woman is discovered unconscious during the second night at sea, Sadies apprehension escalates. Over the last few years, Sadie has developed an extreme dislike for secrets and it would seem her son is keeping one from her. *Includes eight new mouthwatering recipes, tested and approved by the official bakers of Sadies Virtual Test Kitchen.


My Review

5 out 5 stars.  As with reading all of Josi's books, make sure you clear your schedule, because you will be reading Baked Alaska until it's finished.  Josi is a master at her craft.  What I love most about these books is Sadie's inner voice.  The things she thinks sometimes make me smile.  Every book in this series just get better and better.  And, every book is uniquely different.  I really enjoyed the way this book plays out.  There was so many wonderful twists that had me eagerly reading until the very end.  Speaking of the ending, it had me crying happy tears.  Well done, Josi.

Praise for Baked Alaska
Josi Kilpack has done it again. You would think that all these events that occur in Sadie's life wouldn't be natural, but Josi Kilpack has a way of making you believe that it just "happens" and it is normal. I have grown to love Sadie's character, even if she is a busybody, you can't help but cheer for her as she attempts to solve a mystery or crime. One of my favorite series. :)
~Goodreads Reviewer Lacey McNeill









Author Josi S. Kilpack

Josi S. Kilpack grew up hating to read until she was thirteen and her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and credits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began her first novel in 1998 and hasn’t stopped since. Her seventh novel, Sheep’s Clothing, won the 2007 Whitney Award for Mystery/Suspense, and Lemon Tart, her ninth novel, was a 2009 Whitney Award Finalist. Josi was the Best in State winner in literature for 2012 and currently has two books (Banana Split and Tres Leches Cupcakes) as finalists in the 2012 Whitney awards.

Josi currently lives in Willard, Utah, with her family.





Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 3/20/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Winner of Icefall

A big thanks to all who entered the No Strings Attached Blog Hop

The winner of Icefall is...

Grace (Young).

An email has been sent to you.  You have 48 hours to reply and claim your book!

Thanks again for visiting my blog for the hop.

To Love or Die in a Steamy-Reamy World by Emily White -- Book Blast


To Love or Die in a Steamy-Reamy World


10 Tales of Steampunk Silliness and Spookery
In the cozy seaside village of Steamville, New Hampshire, an unfaithful zombie, out of control werebots, succubi in corsets, and more wreak havoc in this short story collection from the author of Elemental.


Purchase
Just .99 cents





Praise

"Well written and very fast paced. You won’t get bored or find your mind wandering. I’d love to see a sequel to this collection and see what happens next. I give this book five out of five donuts."

"This book starts off dipping its toe right into the heart of the story, not unlike Ms. White's YA novel Elemental, and the story never really slows down to a lazy pace; making it a very easy and fast read."

"Ms. White wonderfully succeeded in instilling humor into ten short stories about vampires, zombies, ghosts, and one mad scientist. Each story is brilliantly linked. The Victorian era setting delightfully adds to the humor."

"This is a wonderful mix of Steampunk and Horror written in Emily White's unmistakable brilliance and style. Does it get any better than that?"



About Author Emily White

Emily White lives in NY, wedged between two of the Great Lakes and a few feet of snow and ice. She's spent most of her life running away from the cold, and even spent a year in Iraq, but now contents herself with writing her characters into warm, exotic places in faraway galaxies. When not tapping away at her computer keys, she can be found reading, reading, and reading some more. And when she's not doing that, she's usually playing video games with her husband, peek-a-boo with her kids, or walking through her garden, wondering why the bugs insist on eating all her vegetables.



Also by Emily White






Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 3/24/13


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, March 11, 2013

Isabella and Penelope by Maggie Grinell -- Book Blast











Isabella and Penelope by Maggie Grinnell

Isabella is a young girl who loses her father in a tragic accident. She has such a close connection with her dad that she decided not to speak for 2 years. Then she encounters Penelope, a pink caterpillar who changes her life forever.

Purchase





Author Maggie Grinnell

I have been writing since 1992. I am a children's author who writes poetry and also the co editor of the children's newsletter, Kite Tales. Writing is a part of me. Writing is my heart and soul.















Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 3/21/13


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 8, 2013

Winner of Tide Ever Rising

Thank you to all who entered the giveaway for Tide Ever Rising by Mandi Slack.

Winner of the ebook copy is Andrea L. Frisby.

Have a great weekend!

Giveaways coming up...

Cragbridge Hall by Chad Morris and all three books in the Farworld series by J. Scott Savage. 

Aura by Rebecca Lynn Talley -- Blog Tour

Tour Schedule


Aura

"I half-turned to her and shrugged, still processing what I'd seen, or at least what I thought I'd seen, in Ms. Neal's eyes—like they weren't hers. Obviously, they were her eyes, but it looked like she'd plucked them from someone else's head. A dead someone else's head."

In the fight between good and evil, Light is your only weapon.

Crystal Scott finally feels like a normal teenager. She has a lead in the high school play, a best friend, and a gorgeous boyfriend. With prom only a few days away, Crystal’s ordinary life seems perfect.

Endowed with great Light because of her virtuous choices and her inherent gifts, Crystal’s aura has become visible to those with the ability to see auras. Unfortunately, her power has also attracted the attention of demons intent on destroying all Light.

When Vincent Crandall, the human host for a powerful demon, discovers that Crystal’s Light is strong enough to disrupt the connection between demons and their hosts, he realizes she may be able to sever the connection altogether. Determined to stop her from interfering with his plans to rule the world, he sends operatives to neutralize her Light.

After the operatives fail to disable Crystal, Vincent decides he must harness her power for himself. He kidnaps her parents, and Crystal is thrust into battle against a demon army she didn’t even know existed. With the help of a mysterious young man and his mother, Crystal must learn to use the power within her before Vincent kills her parents and exploits her Light.

My Review

I really enjoyed Aura.  I thought Crystal was an amazing character who stands up for herself no matter what the cost.  There was one part towards the end I thought was a little too "trusting" on her part.  But, all in all, there was some great action and suspense.  Crystal is a great example to teen-age girls everywhere.  In real life, they won't have demons chasing after them, but it's a great example of standing up for what you believe in, and letting your Light shine.

3 1/2 out of 5 stars.  Giveaway info and purchase links below!





Author Rebecca Lynn Talley

Rebecca Lynn Talley grew up in the gorgeous seaside city of Santa Barbara, CA. She met, and married, her husband, Del, while attending Brigham Young University. She graduated from BYU with a degree in Communications. She currently lives in rural Colorado on a small ranch with a dog, too many cats to count, and a herd of goats. She and Del are the proud parents of ten wildly-creative, multi-talented children.

Rebecca is the author of a children's picture book, Grasshopper Pie (WindRiver 2003), a children's chapter book, Gabby's Secret (DuBon Publishing 2011), four novels, Heaven Scent (CFI 2008), Altared Plans (CFI 2009), The Upside of Down (CFI 2011), and Aura (DuBon Publishing 2012). She has also authored numerous children's stories and articles for both print and online magazines.

When she isn’t writing, Rebecca loves to date her husband, play with her kids, swim in the ocean, and dance to disco music while she cleans the house. She has folded at least one million loads of laundry, baked hundreds of batches of chocolate chip cookies, and eaten 5,478 gallons of ice cream.





Reviews

This YA urban fantasy is fantastic! The story grabbed me from the start and kept me enthralled until the end! I love books that keep me thinking about the characters and events and possibilities even after putting them down...Aura is one of those books! Rebecca Lynn Talley has created characters you care about in a world begging for the special gifts they possess. I love the premise of Aura and imagine I'll be enjoying many more Light vs. Demon novels in the future....at least I hope there are more to come!
~KindleQueen

I loved the clasic good VS evil in Aura. I loved that Crystal made the conscious choice to be good inspite of feelings and doubts. I also loved the idea of demons posessing somone who had made dark choices, or greedy bargains. The book is clean and well handled inspite of the serious subject matter.Well done.
~C. Michelle Jefferies

This is one of those books that you hope will become widespread enough to make a positive impact in this world. Personally, I think this is a book every teenager should read and I will definitely be passing it along to my own kids. Thank you, Rebecca, for writing a beautiful story with a wonderful message! I hope you keep at it because now I want a sequel!
~Rachael Anderson

Aura sucked me in from the first page. The book is intense and well-written. I loved that Crystal is innocent and makes a conscious choice to stay that way in the face of intense pressure. I would recommend Aura to young adults on up.
~Cami Checketts

Wonderful, wonderful message. Probably the most solid moral message I’ve ever read in contemporary literature, but without being too heavy or feeling like a lecture. You could almost look at it like an allegory, I think, representing real life with fictional symbols. I’m trying to explain without giving anything away, and I think I’m doing a bad job. Anyway, I have four boys, but if I had a girl, I would definitely have her read it. The story is imaginative and creative, Crystal is a strong but believable heroine, caught up in high school cares and not realizing her own potential or the battle that is waged around and for her. I thought at times it was a bit predictable, and that the first half of the book drug a little. It probably could have been told quicker or perhaps made a little more interesting. But all in all, I enjoyed it. The story kept me going and the characters were sweet and compelling.
~May Abbey

Wow! I got this book for free and LOVED it! I can't wait to read any follow up books! (There WILL be follow up books, right?) In this story Crystal is full of light, thanks to making good choices, and she has to figure out how to keep the light in the midst of high school where temptation runs rampant and where she just wants to be an average girl! I like that things never went too far, and I felt like it was very well-written, with rounded out characters!
~Tamera Westhoff

Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 3.21.13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway