Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Evie's Knight by Kimberly Krey -- Blog Tour Grand Finale!

Evie's Knight

Author: Kimberly Krey

Publisher: self

Published: September 2012

ISBN13: 9781475177190

Paperback: 391 pages

FTC FYI: I received an ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

When Evie falls in love with Calvin Knight, their young, virtuous romance conjures a truly wicked spell. 

Evie always thought her eighteenth year would be magical, but so far it's not what she hoped for. Her best friend has gone wild, her love life is void, and she misses her mom more than ever. But life for Evie is about to change. Calvin Knight, the object of her fascination, is about to fall madly in love with her. Just one problem: Their love conjures a murderous woman from beyond the grave who wants Evie dead. The same demon who has haunted the Knight men for over four generations. Soon Calvin is forced to make a choice: Set Evie free and hope to evade the wrath of The Raven- haired Ghost, or use his newly gifted strengths to fight against her. If he chooses to fight and wins, Calvin will free the Knight men of this demonic witch. If he loses, Evie will become her next victim.

My Review

I was very excited to be a part of the Blog Tour for Evie's Knight.  In reading the book I found heart stopping romance, heart pounding suspense, and all around enjoyment.  There were some parts of the book;  Evie's past with her mother, and an ex-boyfriend that kept being mentioned that I thought didn't need to be in there, but I liked getting to know Evie and Calvin and their growing relationship.  At times, I thought it took too long to get the "fantasy" part of the book where we find out about Calvin and Parker's family secret.  That being said, I enjoyed the story, and think Kimberly did a fabulous job in creating an exciting clean romance for all readers that was exhilarating too.

3 1/2 out of 5 stars.  Scroll down for exciting info on the Grand Finale of the Blog Tour.  Kimberly is graciously offering Evie's Knight free on Amazon, starting (today) January 29th - 31st.  Don't miss this chance!

GRAND FINALE!!

On tour with Prism Book Tours

Our awesome Tour in images:

We announced the NEW COVER on the Tour Launch:

Original Cover                                   Our Shiny New Cover






1 – Kimberly Krey – Cover Change!


1 – Kelly Fox – Goodreads Review
"The action scene in the end had me on my toes wondering what would happen next."
1 – I Am A Reader, Not A Writer – Clean Romance I
2 – Monique Morgan - All You Need is Love I
3 – Getting Your Read On – Review - Clean Romance II
4 - Christy’s Cozy Corners – Review
6 – Passion and Life – Passionate Peaches Cobbler Recipe & Smokin' Hot Excerpt – English/Spanish
6 - Paulette’s Papers – All You Need is Love II
7 - Bookworm Lisa – Review - Clean Romance III
"This book caught my imagination from the beginning."
7 – Pages of Forbidden Love – Review
8 - Vanessa Morgan – All You Need is Love III
9 - Proud Book Nerd – Review
9 - Kari’s Crowded Bookshelf – Review/Interview
Watch for Fiona's Fight ~ coming soon ~.
10 - Geo Librarian – Review
"Whoa, baby. What a ride!"
10 - The Literary Forest - Exerpt
11 - InfectedLoser – Excerpt
13 - Welcome to Couch Potato Reader – Review
14 - Letters to the Cosmos – Review
"...the story took on a deeper tone..."
14 – One A Day YA – Drafts Guest Post
14 - Little Miss Bookworm – Review
15 -  Magical Manuscripts – Review/Top Ten things you would do if you could not write!

  1. Cry.  2. Muse story ideas in my head.  3. Cry some more.  4. Listen to characters converse inside my head.  5. Eat illegal amounts of chocolate.  6. Work through plots and scenes for the stories stuck within my head.  7. Throw up the chocolate.  8. Stubbornly search for a way to get the stories onto paper & out of my head.  9. More crying would take place here.  10. Slowly slip into a mind-numbing stupor.

Ultimate Grilled Cheese16 - Musings of a Reader Happy - Excerpt
17 – Proud Book Nerd – Ultimate Grilled Cheese

17 - Books, Books, the Magical Fruit – Interview
17 - Book Sake – Review
"...uber romantic."
18 - Kari’s Crowded Bookshelf – Aromatic Noodles Recipe

20 - A Life Bound by Books – Excerpt I
21 - Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Reviews – Excerpt II
21 - Oh, The Books You’ll Read – Review
22 - A Backwards Story – Excerpt III
22 - Passion and Life – Review – English/Spanish
"This is a perfect clean romance story, with some creepy moments when you will feel chills down over your spine!"
23 - Framed In Words – ART Exerpt
23 - Colorimetry – Random ART thoughts
24 – Unputdownable Books – The Raven-haired Ghost ART
24 - Living a Goddess Life – Crepe Cake Recipe










25 – icultgen – Review, The Raven-haired Ghost ART
25 – Pieces of Whimsy - Review

27 – The Reading Diaries – Review
"a perfect mix of romance and fantasy."
28 – Stressed Rach – Review
28 - Literally Jen – Review
"...modern day fairy tale where the damsel in distress is rescued by her one true love who just happens to have superhuman abilities."
29 – Min Reads and Reviews – Review
29 – Grand Finale, WINNERS drawn

Two original works of art of the Raven-haired Ghost:

  resenha_eviesknight_1
from Anna


From Naj

Kimberly Krey, the awesome author:



Grand Finale Giveaway!!

From January 29 - 31 - Evie's Knight will be available for FREE to download from Amazon.






Super Swag-a-licious Giveaway Winners:


Grand Prize: $50 Amazon gift card, a signed paperback of Evie's Knight, SoftLips chapstick, recipe cards, E.K. calendar card, postcard of The Storm, and bookmark.

2nd Prize: $25 Amazon gift card, a signed paperback of Evie's Knight, SoftLips chapstick, recipe cards, E.K. calendar card, postcard of The Storm, and bookmark.

3rd Prize: $10 Amazon gift card, a signed paperback of Evie's Knight, SoftLips chapstick, recipe cards, E.K. calendar card, postcard of The Storm, and bookmark.

Five more winners will receive an ebook version of Evie’s Knight!

Paperback winners may choose between old cover (shown below) or the new cover, featuring Calvin Knight (shown above).

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced on Colorimetry & Rafflecopter as well as emailed to winners who will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Laura, Burgandy Ice, @ www.burgandyice.blogspot.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

(Winners will be drawn & notified 1/29 Pacific Time - will also show on Rafflecopter!!)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, January 28, 2013

Adversarius (Shadow of the Rose) by M.L. Chesley -- Blog Tour


Adversarius (Shadow of the Rose)

Author: M.L. Chesley

Publisher: Hellfire Publishing

Published: December, 2012

ASIN: B00AJA967O

ebook

FTC FYI: I received an ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Two kingdoms, two goals.

The king of Relavia is determined to wipe out his warring neighbors in Paridzule, a worthy adversary for over five hundred years. News of an arranged marriage between his son and the daughter of his lifelong enemy has fueled the temper of Relavia's tyrannical king. What he doesn't realize is the true measure of his son's honor and how far he is willing to go to gain peace.

Mindy's Review

Shadow of the Rose, is a very enjoyable story.  However, at times in the beginning, I struggled with names I couldn't pronounce, phrases repeating, and too much introduced all at once, but I liked the characters and the story is engaging once I read further and got into it more.  There are many characters to keep track of, but the two I enjoyed the most were Black Rose, and Nightshadow.  They were both very intriguing and Nightshadow especially, was awesome.  She was raised as an assassin, and the events of the book have her changing her mind about her upbringing.  I also thought  Farrehn was a great character too, for a half-ogre.

3 1/2 out of 5 stars.  The different story lines did keep my interest, and the book reads at a quick pace.  There is a cliff-hanger ending, and I'm excited to see what happens next.  

Purchase Links


Author Links


Jack Templar: Monster Hunter by Jeff Gunhus -- Book Blast

Tour Schedule



Jack Templar: Monster Hunter

Orphan Jack Templar has no memory of his parents and only the smallest details from his Aunt Sophie about how they died. The day before Jack's fourteenth birthday, things start to change for him. At first it's great: A sudden new strength helps him defend his nose-picking friend "T-Rex" from the school bully, and even his crush, Cindy Adams, takes notice. But then a mysterious girl named Eva arrives and tells him two facts that will change his life forever. First, that he's the descendent of a long line of monster hunters and he's destined to be in the family business. Second, that there's a truce between man and monster that children are off-limits...until their fourteenth birthday! Jack has only one day before hundreds of monsters will descend on his little town of Sunnyvale and try to kill him.

As if that weren't enough, things get even more complicated when Jack discovers that the Lord of the Creach (as the monsters are collectively known) holds a personal grudge against him and will do anything to see that Jack has a slow and painful death. To stay alive and save his friends, Jack will have to battle werewolves, vampires, harpies, trolls, zombies and more. But perhaps the most dangerous thing he must face is the truth about his past. Why do the other hunters call him the last Templar? Why do they whisper that he may be the "One?" Why do the monsters want him dead so badly? Even as these questions plague him, he quickly discovers survival is his new full-time job and that in the world of monster hunters, nothing is really what it seems.



Author Jeff Gunhus

Jeff Gunhus grew up in Cyprus, Greece, and Saudi Arabia where there was a distinct lack of television. He quickly found books were the gateway to incredible adventures, fascinating characters and unbelievable discoveries. Now, with five children of his own (all who watch too much television, in his opinion), he has enjoyed revisiting his old books and reliving those adventures all over again.





Kirkus Reviews

"Gunhus brings young readers a monster-filled romp to read at their own risk. In the first few pages, Jack, the storyteller and main character, warns readers not to read about these real-world monsters that would seem to only exist in fiction. The tone is set--sarcastic, tongue-in-cheek and likable; rooting for Jack is easy...Gunhus masterfully introduces fully realized characters with whom readers can connect almost instantly. The pacing is quick but not rushed, and events seamlessly progress, complete with action, cliff-hangers and surprise reveals. "

Amazon Reviews

Watch out Percy Jackson here comes Jack Templar
Move over Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, there's a new kid in town - Jack Templar, and he will take you on a wonderful adventure of good vs evil, with friends and enemies at every turn. The twists and turns keep the reader on a roller coaster of entertainment in the way of JK Rowling and Rick Riordan. ~ Penny Brein

Fast paced adventure through and through
Written for middle school aged students, this book is action-packed from the beginning and will hold the attention of young readers. Not only that, as an adult reader, it was hard to put down, so parents will enjoy it as an easy read. ~ bluejellybean

Kids will love it!
Not only will kids love it, adults will too! I don't want to give the plot away but this is a book worth reading. This book is creatively written drawing in the reader to be a participant in the story. There is lots of action with enough blood and guts to be interesting without being gross. Girls will like it too with the strong female role models and the hint of romance. Even though this is a children's book, I couldn't put it down. I will definitely be adding this to my classroom library. I am looking forward to reading the book in this series and sharing it with my students. Awesome book! ~ pixiep


Purchase


Book Trailer




WARNING

Yeah, you read it right. I’m a monster hunter. Back before I actually became one, I would have thought that sounded totally awesome. And don’t get me wrong, in a lot of ways it is. But most of the time, I’m either running for my life or hiding in the shadows, praying the monster chasing me doesn’t pick up my scent. And I’m almost always scared to death. In a few pages, I think you’ll see why.
     But there are a few things I need to warn you about before I tell you my story.
     First, this isn’t a cartoon. These are bloodthirsty creatures who will stop at nothing to kill. They are scary. Very scary. Second, the only way to stop them is to kill them first…and that gets gross and messy. Third, this is all real.
     You think I’m kidding, don’t you? I can almost see you smirking as you read this. But this isn’t a joke. Monsters are real and the story I’m about to tell you really happened. If you’d rather walk through life believing that monsters are only found in books or on the movie screen, then you should shut this book right now and go do something else.
     I give you these warnings because the story I’m about to tell you isn’t for everyone. Not everyone can handle it. The blood. The gore. The monsters.
     This life was thrust onto me. I had no choice but to take up a sword and fight. But you can still walk away and pretend this dark world doesn’t exist. Or you can walk through the door that I’m about to open and find out the truth about the world around you.
     But I warn you (and this is a big warning), if you read this book, if you learn about the monsters that roam among us and the hunters who fight them, if you decide to learn the truth, then you will become fair game for the monsters to chase.
     Make sure you understand what I’m saying.
     If you read this book, you will be part of this world and the monsters will come after you too. You will start to see things that no other humans can see. The shadows will move when you walk near them. The creatures of the night will seek you out, testing the doors and windows of your house, looking for a way in.
     And, at some point, they will find you, just like they found me, and you will be forced to defend yourself.
     So, think carefully before you turn the page, because once you do, there’s no turning back.
     Ever.
     Once a monster hunter, always a monster hunter.
     See you on the other side.
     If you’re brave enough.





Blog Tour $50 Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash + Swag
Ends 2/18/13
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

The Guy Next Door by Kate Palmer

The Guy Next Door

Author: Kate Palmer

Publisher: Covenant

Published: September 2012

Paperback: 235 pages

ISBN: 9781608612

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Goodreads Summary

On the surface, Eva Black’s life seems practically perfect. The small-town kindergarten teacher is set to wed ambitious lawyer Sean Langley, and their plans for a dream wedding are well underway. Eva accepts that she will soon live life in the spotlight as a member of the prestigious Langley family, but can she overlook her fiancĂ©’s tendency to dominate the details of her life and push the limits of her standards?

Mere weeks before the wedding, Eva is thrown into a traumatic, life-changing event that changes her view of family commitment and creates a sharp contrast between her ideals and Sean’s. With her engagement to Sean in jeopardy, Eva finds herself relying on the support and encouragement of Peter, her kind and attentive next-door neighbor. Faced with a choice between her penitent fiancĂ© and the increasingly mysterious Peter, Eva is unprepared for the consequences—and peril—that come with her decision.

My Review -- Possible Spoiler

I really enjoyed this book.  I would say my one complaint was Sean.  He was such a jerk.  Some very tragic events occur in Eva's life, and what she has to cope with is big and life changing.  Sean treats her poorly, and she doesn't see it as first.  Only when Peter comes into her life, is when things start to change with their relationship.  However, Peter has some secrets of his own.  Although I didn't like that one character, I really liked Eva, Peter, and the other supporting characters.  Through the time when Peter and Eva were getting to know each other, while he was away for work, Peter would send Eva notes.  I really liked how he saw her and the way their relationship developed.  Eva goes through a lot in the book, and I really enjoyed what she learned about herself, too.

3 1/2 stars.  I was on the edge of my seat at times, wondering what would happen to these characters.  The Guy Next Door is well written and an enjoyable, fast read.

Author Links

Website / Facebook / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Seagull / Deseret Book

A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr -- Book Launch


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Only on this Tour... the author shares the Creation, his Goals, some Visuals and Excerpts on each of these mini-themes:

The Herbwomen of secret lore
The World of The Staff & the Sword
The Readers of the cast lots
The Watchmen, elite warriors
The Clergy of power

See the Tour below to catch all the great Guest Posts and Reviews!!

A Cast of Stones (The Staff and the Sword, #1)A Cast of Stones
by Patrick Carr
Paperback, 400 pages
Expected Publication: February 1st 2013 by Bethany House Publishers

Premise:

In the backwater village of Callowford, Errol Stone's search for a drink is interrupted by a church messenger who arrives with urgent missives for the hermit priest in the hills. Desperate for coin, Errol volunteers to deliver them but soon finds himself hunted by deadly assassins. Forced to flee with the priest and a small band of travelers, Errol soon learns he's joined a quest that could change the fate of his kingdom. 

Protected for millennia by the heirs of the first king, the kingdom's dynasty is near an end and a new king must be selected. As tension and danger mount, Errol must leave behind his drunkenness and grief, learn to fight, and come to know his God in order to survive a journey to discover his destiny.


Available 2/1/13:



About the Author:


Patrick Carr was born on an Air Force base in West Germany at the height of the cold war. He has been told this was not his fault. As an Air Force brat, he experienced a change in locale every three years until his father retired to Tennessee. Patrick saw more of the world on his own through a varied and somewhat eclectic education and work history. He graduated from Georgia Tech in 1984 and has worked as a draftsman at a nuclear plant, did design work for the Air Force, worked for a printing company, and consulted as an engineer. Patrick’s day gig for the last five years has been teaching high school math in Nashville, TN. He currently makes his home in Nashville with his wonderfully patient wife, Mary, and four sons he thinks are amazing: Patrick, Connor, Daniel, and Ethan. Sometime in the future he would like to be a jazz pianist. Patrick thinks writing about himself in the third person is kind of weird.

Awards: ACFW Genesis Competition 2010 Finalist for “A Cast of Stones” in Speculative Fiction.

Find & Follow:


Tour-Wide Giveaway:


Grand Prize (USA & Canada):  Print copy of entire series of three books (#2 & #3 as they are published) + A Cast of Stones Mug + Lend your name to a character in book #3!!

2nd Prize (USA & Canada): Print copy of A Cast of Stones

International: eCopy of A Cast of Stones



Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and the winner will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Burgandy Ice @ Colorimetry and sponsored by Bethany House & the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Catch the entire Tour!!

LAUNCH-DAY BLAST! 
1/23 - Backing Books - Herbwomen
1/24 – Christian NovelsReviewWorld
1/25 – I Am a Reader, Not a WriterReaders

1/27 – Reads to ReelsWatchmen
1/28 – LDS & Lovin’ It - Clergy
1/29 – Proud Book Nerd - World
1/30 – Open the Page - Herbwomen
1/31 – Wonderings of One PersonReview - Readers
2/1 – RELEASE-DAY BLAST! 

2/3 – Simple Wyrdings - Watchmen
2/4 – Bookworm Lisa – Review – Clergy
2/5 – Passion & LifeReaders
2/6 – Kari’s Crowded Bookshelf – Review Herbwomen
2/7 – Coffee, Books & Me - Readers
2/8 – Backing Books – Review – World

2/10 – Letters to the Cosmos - Watchmen
2/11 – Jill WilliamsonReview – Clergy
2/12 – ADD Librarian Herbwomen
2/13 – Worthy 2 ReadReviewWatchmen
2/14 – Hey, Tara!World
2/15 – Pieces of WhimsyReview - Readers

2/17 – CTF DevourerReviewClergy
2/18 – Pause Time - Readers
2/19 – A Backwards StoryReviewWorld
2/19 - Christy’s Cozy CornerHerbwomen
2/20 – Min Reads & ReviewsReview Watchmen
2/21 – FINALE BLAST, Winner announced

Friday, January 11, 2013

Kindle Fire HD Giveaway -- January 2013




20 Amazing Authors plus more than 100 of the Best Bloggers have joined together to bring you 1 Amazing Giveaway!

The winner will have the option of receiving a Kindle Fire HD (US Only)


Or $199 Amazon.com Gift Card (International)


Or $199 in Paypal Cash (International)




This giveaway is sponsored by these Awesome Authors:

The Essence (The Pledge, #2)Alaina Claiborne (British Agent Novel #1)Excuse Me, My Brains Have Stepped OutUncontrollable (#2, Nature of Grace series)Hunted (The Guardian Legacy, #3)Cliffhanger (The Belinda & Bennett Mysteries, Book 1)I Was Here—Before You CameEverlostBlood OathReaper's Novice (Soul Collector  #1)BulletproofLancaster HouseTwo HalvesMurder on Potrero Hill (A Peyton Brooks' Mystery, #1)Bellyache: A Delicious TaleKill ShotSkid Out (Heavy Influence Trilogy, #0.5)Between (Crossroads Saga, #2)Dragon Stones: Book One of the Dragon Stone Saga (Dragon Stone Saga, #1)Rapunzel Untangled


The Essence by Kimberly Derting
Alaina Claiborne by MK McClintock
Excuse Me, My Brains Have Stepped Out by Pandora Poikilos
Uncontrollable by S.R. Johannes
Hunted by Ednah Walters
Cliffhanger by Amy Saunders
I Was Here - Before You Came by Camelia Miron Skiba
Everlost by Brenda Pandos
Blood Oath by T.L. Clarke
Reaper's Novice by Cecilia Robert
Bulletproof by Jeff LaFerney
Lancaster House by Taylor Dean
Two Halves by Marta Szemik
Murder on Potrero Hill by M.L. Hamilton
Bellyache by Crystal Marcos
Kill Shot by Anne Patrick
Skid Out by Ann Marie Frohoff
Between by Mary Ting
Dragon Stones Saga by Kristian Alva
Rapunzel Untangled by Cindy C. Bennett


Giveaway Details
1 winner will receive their choice of a Kindle Fire HD (US Only), $199 Amazon Gift Card or $199 in Paypal Cash (International).
Ends 1/31/13

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://iamareader.com and sponsored by the authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Heart of the Ocean by Heather B. Moore -- Blog Tour/Guest Post

Heart of the Ocean

Author: Heather B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: January 4th, 2013

Genre: historical romance

ISBN13:

ebook: 305 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary:

A dark secret . . . a grieving ghost . . . a handsome stranger . . . What more could Eliza Robinson want?

Except for maybe her life.

In Heather B. Moore’s enthralling 1840’s historical romance, Heart of the Ocean, Eliza Robinson has turned down the very pretentious Mr. Thomas Beesley’s marriage proposal. As a business partner of Eliza’s father, Thomas quickly discredits the family and brings disgrace to the Robinson name.

While her father scrambles to restore his good name in New York City, Eliza flees to the remote Puritan town of Maybrook to stay with her Aunt Maeve. Although relieved to be away from all- things-male and unforgiving gossip columns, odd things start to happen to Eliza, and she is plagued by a ghostly voice. Her aunt’s explanation? That Eliza is being haunted by a woman who died of a broken heart twenty years ago.

After Aunt Maeve is tragically killed, Eliza's life is put in danger as she tries to uncover the mystery of her aunt's death. She encounters Jonathan Porter in Maybrook, whose presence in the town seems suspicious, yet she finds herself drawn to him. When she discovers that Jonathan’s dark secrets may be the link between the dead woman who haunts her and her aunt’s murderer, Eliza realizes that Jonathan is the one man she should never trust.

Guest Post from Heather

MinReads: Heather, you have released many books, with many out right now. What is your favorite genre to write? Why?

Heather: Although I've had a lot of fun writing contemporary, I think I still prefer to write historical. There is more world-building that goes on and details that are neat to include that don't really have a place in contemporary. I love to read historical, so it's probably natural that it's my favorite genre to write. It's more of an "escape" from the demands of life around me, and it's fun to imagine how the constraints of the era would have played a role in the characters' lives.

MinReads: Thank you Heather!

My Review

Eliza is going through a hard time. She has turned down the proposal of her father's business partner, and flees to Maybrook, a Puritan town, to stay with her aunt. While she is there, Eliza keeps hearing voices in the wind. Her aunt Maeve tells the story of a Puritan woman who's heart is broken by the love of her life, and how she died of a broken heart. Eliza can't escape what the voice is trying to tell her. When Maeve dies, her life is put in danger and she is rescued by Jonathan Porter, who has secrets of his own.

Heather is such a talented writer and has a magical way of drawing you right into her books with her well-written characters and page turning plots.  There is a lot to this story, and I really enjoyed the journey of these great characters.  

4 out of 5 stars. Heather is the author of many fabulous books.  Read them, and you will see what I am talking about. Her latest book Athena is part of the Newport Ladies Book Club and is out now! 

Author Links

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Newport Ladies Book Club

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble