Saturday, June 30, 2012

Daisy by Josi S. Kilpack


I am giving away a copy of Daisy!


Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Deseret Book

Published: April 2012

ISBN13: 9781609070083

Paperback: 269 pages

FTC FYI: Review copy

Goodreads Summary:  Motherhood is not for the faint of heart. And no one knows that better than Daisy. Raising two kids as a divorced, single mom, Daisy has faced each and every one of the obstacles in her life with courage and determination.
Now with her oldest daughter ready to have a baby of her own, her youngest daughter ready to graduate from high school, and her new husband, Paul, ready to embrace the life of an empty-nester, Daisy feels like she might finally be able to check "motherhood" off her list of things to do.

Except life often has a mind of its own. When, at age of forty-six, Daisy suddenly finds herself facing a very different future than the one she had planned--and an uncomfortable evaluation of the past she thought she understood--she realizes that there is still some growing up she needs to do.
Looking for a distraction to escape the growing tension at home, Daisy joins the Newport Ladies Book Club, where she meets Paige, Athena, and Olivia--unlikely friends who offer encouragement and support when Daisy's perfectly crafted life is turned upside-down.

My Review

Daisy has had a difficult life.  She was pregnant at 17, and never married her daughter December's father.  They broke up, and Daisy went home to her Catholic parents.  She worked, while her mother helped by taking care of December.  She then met Jared about 10 years later, and had Stormy.  They married, but things weren't perfect.  Daisy got pregnant again, and this baby was supposed to save their marriage. Daisy miscarried, and her and Jared divorced.  Daisy knew all about the life of a single mother.

Daisy know has been married to Paul, her "prince", for 3 years.  They both have older kids, and are looking forward to a life without kids and responsibilities they bring.  Every though Paul's daughter Mason is older, as well as Stormy, Daisy seems to be counting the days Stormy moves out, and her and Paul can have the life they have both always dreamed of.

Life doesn't always happen the way you plan...

I loved this book.  I enjoyed getting to know the characters of the Newport Ladies Book Club through Daisy's eyes. Enough time has passed since I read Olivia by Julie Wright, and the details of the book club meetings are now in Daisy's perceptive.  I enjoyed the book club meetings, and it was as if reading them for the first time.  I loved Daisy's character, she is a very strong, smart gal.  I enjoyed her journey, and the lessons she learns about herself, her family, and also the joys of close friendships.  Most of all, how she needed to ask others for help.

4 1/2 out of 5 stars.  Read more about the Newport Ladies Book Club.  The next book is Paige by Annette Lyon, and it comes out in August of this year.

Follow Josi S. Kilpack on FACEBOOK and  TWITTER.


I am giving away of copy of Daisy.  Please leave a comment below.  I would love it if you would follow this blog, but it is not required.  Contest ends Wednesday the 4th of July.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Winner is

The winner of Journey to the Fringe is...

Marnie Mounteer!

Congrats to the winner.  My next giveaway is Daisy by Josi S. Kilpack

Friday, June 22, 2012

Journey to the Fringe by Kelli Swofford Nielsen

I have an ARC to giveaway! Kelli was featured on LDSWBR's Countdown to Summer yesterday. Lots of stuff being given away there too.

Stone Mage Wars, Book 1: Journey to the Fringe

Author: Kelli Swofford Nielsen

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: May 2012

ISBN: 978-1-60908-852-1

FTC FYI: Review Copy

Paperback: 368 pages

Goodreads Summary:  Long ago, Stone Mages were revered in Lyria. They were men and women who could use powerful tradestones to harness their unique gifts of wind, rain, and earth to help those around them. But war with the Southern realm has threatened the mages with extinction. The truth about the tradestones has been lost, and the remaining magic is dwindling. When Princess Ivy, the beloved daughter of the king, is abducted, it seems that all hope for Lyria is lost as well. But when an unlikely group of loyal subjects embarks on a dangerous journey to the far-distant Fringe, the hope of restoring crown and kingdom is renewed. Among the group is Simon, a fool with wisdom beyond his years; Gilda, a nonmagical witch; Burr, a young thief; and Merrick, a jaded sea captain. Their quest will test their courage, their strength, and their friendship. But at the Fringe, they encounter a truth that will change everything they thought they knew about themselves, and this small band of heroes must embrace the power that is their birthright and stand together as Stone Mages of Lyria.


Review


This book had me hooked from page 1.  I loved the story, and the characters.  I really enjoyed the point of view changes.  It kept me wanting more, and left me wondering what was going to happen, so I would read more and more.  The POV changes also kept the story going, and kept it very exciting.  My favorite characters were Simon, Princess Ivy, and Princess Mara.  Each character is unique and a few have some secrets.  There is tons of action, and suspense.  I loved the creative way the author used the stones to harness their gifts. 


4 out of 5 stars.  Great start to series from the author.



I am giving away an ARC copy of Journey to the Fringe. Just leave a thoughtful comment below. Following my blog is not required, but if you have a second, I would appreciate it.
Contest ends Wednesday the 27th.
Also check out LDSWBR's Countdown to Summer 2012. Lots of prices to giveaway, plus a $25.00 Amazon gift card.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

The Kindling by Braden Bell


The Kindling

Expected Publish Date: July 10, 2012

Publisher: Cedar Fort

ISBN13: 9781462110278

Paperback: 304 pages

FTC FYI: Review copy

Goodreads Summary:  All thirteen-year-old Conner Dell wants to do is pass pre-algebra, play lacrosse, and possibly kiss Melanie Stephens. He didn’t mean to set anyone’s gym shorts on fire or make school lunches explode. But now that the strange powers inside him have been ignited, Conner’s normal teenage life is about to go up in flames!
This fast-paced novel is non-stop fun for kids and parents alike. With characters you can’t help but root for, a plot that keeps you guessing, and plenty of humor, it’s a guaranteed thrill ride from cover to cover!

My Review

Conner, Lexa, and Melanie are noticing strange things that keep happening around them.  A creepy guy that no one else can see, kids being set on fire, and teachers that are acting really odd.  The three notice that the teachers seem to be getting them in trouble on purpose. That's when they start to really worry.

That is the only summary I'm going to give you, I don't want to give anything away. There are some great twists and turns, and so much action.  You are just going to have to read it and see.  I will say this, my favorite part is when the kids go to Disneyworld, and they have quite an adventure in It's a Small World.

This is such a fun book, with some great action scenes and dangerous tense moments.  It also has great humor, and lots of heart.  I loved the relationship between the 3 kids, and the teachers.  The author writes teenagers very well, and you can tell has had experience in that area.  A very fun read that will keep you turning pages until you are through, and wanting more.

4 out of 5 stars.  The Kindling is Braden's 2nd book.  His novel The Road Show was released in 2010.  Find out for out the author here, and on his blog.


The Kindling has not been released.  Look for it with these links below coming soon.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Knee Deep by Jolene Perry


*Due to subject matter, please see content warning in review*


Author: Jolene Perry

Publisher:  Tribute Books

Published: May 1, 2012

eBook: 240 pages

ISBN: 9780983741886, 9781476060316

FTC FYI: Review Copy

Summary:  Shawn is the guy Ronnie Bird promised her life to at the age of fourteen. He's her soul mate. He's more uptight every day, but it's not his fault. His family life is stressful, and she's adding to it. She just needs to be more understanding, and he'll start to be the boy she fell in love with. She won’t give up on someone she’s loved for so long.

Luke is her best friend, and the guy she hangs with to watch girlie movies in her large blanketopias. He's the guy she can confide in before she even goes to her girlfriends, and the guy who she's playing opposite in Romeo and Juliet. Now her chest flutters every time he gets too close. This is new. Is Ronnie falling for him? Or is Juliet? The lines are getting blurry, but leaving one guy for another is not something that a girl like Ronnie does.
Shawn’s outbursts are starting to give her bruises, and Luke’s heart breaks as Ronnie remains torn. While her thoughts and feelings swirl around the lines between friendship and forever, she’s about to lose them both.

Content and Review

First of all, I feel I need to start with a content warning.  This is a very well-written book, with a very heavy subject matter.  There are two F-Bombs, sexual content, and some violence.  The characters don't have sex, but there is a scene where Ronnie is attacked by Shawn.  She is not raped, but almost.  You may ask, why I would even review a book with this heavy subject matter, the answer is simple.  I'm sure there are girls out there, parents out there, friends of girls out there, who this is happening to.  It is a subject that possibly isn't talked about much, and this book would start a great dialog.

Ronnie keeps making excuses for Shawn.  She is always doing what she can to make sure he is happy.  Even down to not wearing the type of shoes she wants because they make her too tall, or performing in the school play because it takes time away from being with him.  Luke is her friend, and is always there when she needs him.  Mindy is Ronnie's best friend.  At first Ronnie can't understand why Mindy doesn't want to constantly be with her boyfriend, she truly is so blindingly in love with Shawn, that it takes her a while to see his flaws.

3 1/2 stars.  It would of been 4 if not for the language and sexual content.  That being said, there was a lot that I liked.  I loved Ronnie's relationships with her father, Luke, and Mindy.  Her dad did stand back a times, but I think it was to help her make her own decisions.  He wanted her to ask for help.  Although, he didn't know the scope of what was happening to Ronnie until later, he would of interfered sooner if had known all the facts.  Ronnie was good at keeping secrets, especially from herself.

Jolene is a talented author with many great books out now.  Her latest Left to Love is available now on Amazon.  It is Book 2 after The Next Door Boys.  Look for my review of Left to Love in July.  She has also written Night Sky.

Follow Jolene on FACEBOOK / TWITTER and her writing blog.  Tribute Books FACEBOOK / TWITTER pages. Purchase links:

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Thanks to Random.org, 

The Winner of Edenbrooke is...

Jennifer Holt

Thank you to all who entered and visited the site. My next giveaway is 
Journey to the Fringe by Kelli Swofford Nielsen.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Becoming Bayley by Susan Auten


Becoming Bayley

Author: Susan Auten

Publisher: Deseret Book

Published: May 2012

eBook

ASIN: B008224CBQ

FTC FYI: Review copy

Partial Goodreads Summary:  Bayley Albrecht's dream is to play soccer on BYU's South Field. When she is invited to soccer camp the summer before her senior year in high school, she just knows she's one step closer to her dream. Things get even better when she meets Matt Macauley, the star of the men's soccer team. When they decide to write each other while Matt is on his mission, Bayley figures her life can't get any better. But it certainly can get worse...
Becoming Bayley is the story of one girl's journey through self-discovery, of the definition of true love, and of the realization that as a daughter of God, she is of infinite worth.

My Review:

Bayley is a tom boy.  Her sister is always teasing her because Bayley doesn't like to wear make-up, and Bayley is always teasing Fin, saying she won't walk down the driveway with out it.  When we meet Bayley she is packing up for soccer camp at BYU.  All Bayley wants is for the girls coach to see her play.  As Bayley soon realizes, life doesn't turn out how you want it to.  The coach is called away for a death in her family, and Bayley is bothered by a rival's little brother.  At a devotional, she listens to fellow soccer player's testimony on how he decided to go on a mission.  Immediately she is attracted to him.  With the help of her roommates, she gets a makeover and is ready to meet Matt after the last big game.  Only one problem, will Matt even be there?

I was lucky enough to read this for the author last year.  I was immediately drawn in to the story, I read it in one day.  I was so thrilled for Susan when she told me Deseret Book was publishing it as an eBook.  Bayley is a great character to read about.  All of her life she wanted to play soccer, and during a practice, something happens to her that could change all of that if she lets it.  One character that really surprised me throughout was Fin.  She really helped Bayley through her trials.  Fin does something for Bayley that had tears flowing.  Matt was also a favorite.  I loved the letters they would write to each other while he was on his mission.  This book is a perfect example of how we need our Heavenly Father's strength and guidance through our lives.  There were so many parts of the book where there was a big smile on my face.  Especially when Matt and Bayley are at the South field at BYU.  Many times there were tears also.  The author does a great job of character development.  Each character was important and was written well.

4 out of 5 stars.  Very enjoyable read, and make sure a kleenex is handy too.  This is the author's first published novel.  Read more about Susan here.

Friday, June 1, 2012


Edenbrooke           I'm giving a copy of Edenbrooke away, read review and see below.

Author: Julianne Donaldson

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: March 2012

ISBN13: 9781609089467

Paperback: 240 pages

FTC FYI: Review copy


Goodreads Summary: Marianne Daventry will do anything to escape the boredom of Bath and the amorous attentions of an unwanted suitor. So when an invitation arrives from her twin sister, Cecily, to join her at a sprawling country estate, she jumps at the chance. Thinking she’ll be able to relax and enjoy her beloved English countryside while her sister snags the handsome heir of Edenbrooke, Marianne finds that even the best laid plans can go awry.
From a terrifying run-in with a highwayman to a seemingly harmless flirtation, Marianne finds herself embroiled in an unexpected adventure filled with enough romance and intrigue to keep her mind racing. Will she be able to rein in her traitorous heart, or will a mysterious stranger sweep her off her feet? Fate had something other than a relaxing summer in mind when it sent Marianne to Edenbrooke.

My Review

This book is an absolute delight.  I loved everything about it.  Especially the twirling. :) I loved Marianne.  My heart would break for her at times, but it was all worth it in the end.  Phillip is a dream, he was my favorite.  He would light up the pages.  I laughed out loud at times, and smiled a lot while reading Edenbrooke.  Not only is this a great romance story, there is some page-turning suspense as well.  The author did an excellent job with the setting, and language of the characters.  I felt very regent while reading this. :)

5 out of 5 stars.  This is the Julianne's first book, and she did an excellent job.  I can't wait to read more from her.  

Find out more from the author here.  I also have the book trailer for you too.  Enjoy!

I have an extra copy of Edenbrooke to giveaway!  I won a copy at Storymakers.  Just leave a comment, and it could be yours (I would love it if you would follow this blog, but it's not required).  Contest ends next Wednesday.